Bit harsh on Matk Diwd. He will the geto in the spring when D1 football was secured and in Nay when the Connacht titcame come. Now that we lose to 2 Ulster teams in AI race people are questioning Mark???
Jack L (None) - Posts: 3218 - 13/06/2026 21:13:08 2679365 Link 0 |
With the talent available there is no question Roscommon seriously underachie in the All-Ireland series. When you are competitive in Division 1 and win the Connacht championship by beating Division 1 opposition makes the underachieving all the more puzzling. Might add and he's only one player but Roscommon with Enda Smith most if not all of the good displays this year came from his huge contributions but today they were totally lost without him and was panic stations when he was brought on with 7 minutes to do and clearly injured. Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3998 - 13/06/2026 21:16:00 2679368 Link 0 |
The Connacht final really mattered and Roscommon performed well and won a tight match. Today was a shocking performance from Roscommon. It's hard to understand how we were so bad. Monaghan could have won that match by 20 points. Perhaps the hype after winning Connacht got to the players. A lot of our players are young though and they should learn a lot from this season. Roscommon need to aspire for more than a provincial title. We do seem to struggle outside Connacht. Even our great team of the late 1970s lost three All Ireland semi finals before winning one. It's a very disappointing end to the inter county season for Roscommon and the minors were really poor last week as well against Ulster opposition.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2704 - 13/06/2026 21:24:14 2679371 Link 1 |
Two of those three losses were to Kerry and Dublin of course, sides that in the 1975-1979 era were only being beaten by Kerry and Dublin in championship football.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4802 - 13/06/2026 22:50:06 2679402 Link 0 |
I'm not even mad or upset it's just funny how bad we are in the all Ireland series one quarter final since 2018 with the clubs and under age why is last 12 our ceiling what is the psychological block Gavlar (Roscommon) - Posts: 22 - 13/06/2026 22:50:35 2679403 Link 0 |
I had a bad feeling about the upcoming games when I seen what was in my opinion a totally over celebration of a Connacht title. The link up play between some of our forwards today was appalling and one ridiculous pass to a double marked Murtagh lead to the Monaghan goal. superos (Roscommon) - Posts: 51 - 13/06/2026 23:21:15 2679414 Link 0 |
Are you serioiuy suggesting Roscommon forfeit connacht titles in future to focus on winning All Irelands? Its a mental thing. If your goal is to win Connacht and you achieve it. Its very hard to park that and win an All Ireland. Its all in the head. tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1878 - 14/06/2026 04:10:48 2679433 Link 0 |
I think we have to be honest about the game. This is definitely the mentality within the squad. They just can't bring there game to the big matches. Well done to Monaghan they defended well in the second half but Roscommon were so poor they didn't have to force anything. That's as bad as anything I seen last year and I think they need to look ahead and sort out this mental block they have when it comes to the big games. Towny10 (Roscommon) - Posts: 26 - 14/06/2026 07:18:32 2679438 Link 1 |
Disappointing end to what was a fantastic year rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 685 - 14/06/2026 09:38:15 2679458 Link 0 |
I think if roles were reversed we would be in the same boat and get beaten small population and winning a provincial its what roscommon and monaghan are about and when that's achieved we fold up the tent unfortunately were very similar in footballing terms but maybe pundits talk up the rossies a small bit too much there was talk of semi finals but its not a bad year to win senior u20 and minor in 1 year someday hopefully monaghan or roscommon can put a top 3 team out in croke Park and fulfill there potential anyway congrats on connaught title and sure its something to savour and no-one can take 2026 connaught title from yous good luck in 27 Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 152 - 14/06/2026 11:18:38 2679473 Link 1 |
Roscommon were well beaten in the 1978 semi final by the great Mick O'Dwyer managed Kerry team who were at the peak of their powers. In 1979, Roscommon were National League champions and 3 in a row Connacht champions and they lost the All Ireland semi final by a point to a Dublin team in decline who were hammered by Kerry in the final. That '79 semi final was one Roscommon should have won. We beat Armagh in semi final 1980 by 6 points which remains our last championship win in Croke Park. To join the discussion here, it's not either or between Connacht titles and a tilt at the All Ireland series. Galway have just won 4 Connacht's in a row and got in that time to two All Ireland finals. I thought beforehand that yesterday's game was 50/50 so I'm not shocked Roscommon lost. I am shocked by Roscommon's performance which was dreadful and not fit for the thousands of our supporters who travelled to Clones to outnumber the home support. It's the worst championship performance by Roscommon I can remember. Yes the replay in 2017 to Mayo was a bad day but that was a great Mayo side that got to 4 All Ireland finals losing three of them by a single point to the historic Dublin team. Yesterday Roscommon were outfought and out thought by a Monaghan team who will be out of the championship next weekend or the weekend after depending on the draw. On the plus side, a lot of young Roscommon players got good experience this Summer and they'll learn from it. On the downside, we'll lose Diarmuid Murtagh and Enda Smith over the next couple of years and they'll be hard to replace. I'd hope next year we'd do back to back Connacht's for the first time since 1991 which was the year of our last All Ireland semi final. Thanks to players and management for a memorable season. They put the work in and know better than any of us that yesterday was not nearly good enough in the famous primrose and blue shirt.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2704 - 14/06/2026 12:15:43 2679485 Link 1 |
You dont know where Monaghan will be after next week but we do know whete Roscommon will be. Such a mironic statement. Show some respect.
ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1109 - 14/06/2026 13:17:30 2679492 Link 0 |
The most common phrase you use in that statement is "They were". All in the past.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2743 - 14/06/2026 13:31:43 2679496 Link 0 |
Fair play to Monaghan. Won playing by far the better football yesterday. No excuses. Best of luck in the rest of the championship. Ye will be hard bate.
moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1431 - 14/06/2026 13:32:52 2679498 Link 0 |
Monaghan were excellent yesterday against a ragged Roscommon. I don't see Monaghan as All Ireland contenders and I think they'll lose in the next round or in the quarter final. Best of luck to you if I'm wrong about that.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2704 - 14/06/2026 14:11:37 2679511 Link 0 |
Every comment is about how poor a performance they had... connaught champ means sweet FA if you can't do it in the big boy championship!
veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 14/06/2026 14:51:01 2679515 Link 0 |
Just sitting down to watch ye v Mayo. Don't worry about Roscommon at all. We're gone for the year. Tyrone in to the quarter final if ye win this.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2704 - 14/06/2026 15:23:15 2679526 Link 0 |
Still can't tell what will happen. Only a few years ago Monaghan reached the All-Ireland semi-final and about 12 of those players played yesterday. Would have won good money if one had a decent bet on Louth,Cork reaching the All-Ireland quarter-final with wins against Armagh and Donegal Two All-Ireland contenders in the eyes of most pundits.
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3998 - 14/06/2026 15:25:00 2679527 Link 0 |