Ye will be favourite but we are coming in on a high of promotion it will be good game local derby anything can happen ye will be favourites and need rrsponse and we cpming in on high after promotion
Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 1241 - 24/03/2026 10:05:03 2662757 Link 0 |
Fair play to Alan and the commentary team last night - good to hear them calling out the poor management of some of our younger lads being taken off early all year, especially a few of the forwards. Delighted they mentioned how it can hit confidence going forward. Good to hear Pat O'Brien just saying it as it is too, no sugar-coating. Podcast was a great listen, very honest and properly critical. Fighting-Cocks69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 157 - 24/03/2026 10:21:41 2662765 Link 1 |
As bad as ye feel lads and its devastating to lose like that after controlling the game gor so long . Games are nt over until the final whistle. Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 24/03/2026 10:38:45 2662775 Link 0 |
Still curious why Shane Donoghue has been removed from the podcast. Is it because he spoke up for the clubs at the last county board meeting regarding the championship structure? He was excellent on the podcast always honest and unafraid to share his views, even when they differed from others on the county board.
Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 636 - 24/03/2026 11:48:58 2662804 Link 1 |
Westmeath football feels like it's in a very dark place right now. It's hard to see how we recover from this anytime soon, and at the moment there are very few positives. We seem to think we're a Sam Maguire level side, yet we're struggling to beat teams like Laois, Wexford, or Limerick. Just four or five years ago we were on par with Louth and Meath, look at where they are now compared to us. Even a Tailteann Cup win this year doesn't look likely. There are deeper issues too. We still don't have a Centre of Excellence. There's little visible fundraising. Trust between the clubs and the county board has eroded significantly. Cusack Park, unfortunately, is considered one of the poorer grounds in the country. There was hope that the new chairperson might rebuild some of that trust, but the first major decision was to overhaul the club championship a change that few were calling for. The new format has been widely criticised and rather than being admired as it once was, it's now being ridiculed by others. At underage level, both minor and U20 teams have underperformed for well over 10 years, which only adds to the concern about the future. The only recent bright spot has been the CBS win last week, though it's worth noting that Westmeath GAA wasn't directly involved. Hopefully, the minor and U20 teams can provide something positive in the next day or so. Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 636 - 24/03/2026 12:08:21 2662817 Link 0 |
i said this on Longford page back in december, but longford have a great chance in first round. they will be licking their lips at the prospect of playing westmeath now. very confident and in good form. dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 913 - 24/03/2026 12:27:57 2662825 Link 0 |
Is that podcast funded by Westmeath GAA or do the people involved do it voluntarily?
westmeathfan25 (Westmeath) - Posts: 2 - 24/03/2026 12:33:01 2662828 Link 0 |
It's an Official Westmeath GAA initiative alright but doubt there's many getting paid save for the tech people if even. BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1246 - 24/03/2026 14:01:46 2662866 Link 0 |
Sounds like ye have lot of problems to solve. But bear in mind our footballers have progressed in spite of rather than because of support within the county . I m not saying co board aren't supportive but so many within the county would nt lift a finger to help the footballers . Football success in mid/late 2000s inc u21 leinster win senior leinster finals and all ireland senior semi final was met with Lord this cant be allowed to continue. And slowly over the years different obstacles have been put in place . Everything was thrown at hurling . Dont get me wrong I love hurling too . In last couple years dual underage players are nt permitted . Our underage football squads are less endowed with talent than they should be . The pretence being its been promoted subtly that u be better off being no 45 on hurling dev squad than in panel of 24 of football. . Imo this is partially a ploy to try stop any underage football success or progress. I hope the buzz now created by seniors will make young lads wake up and see maybe football is nt so bad after all rather than ge an also ram in hurling . If yiu are good enough the opportunity will game back around rather than sitting on ur backside watching others be parrt of something tangible . Even our hurling championship was changed to ensure more hurling than football even after 1 year everyone knew it needed changing snd had nt worked but stayed as the hurling first men could nt admit it was a mistake. No jeopardy in the round Robin series. . . But it was a disaster to be frank but will never be admitted . I m not sure how yours runs but if its not right for ye stand up and get it changed sooner rather than later . My final point is. To me i hope your lads regroup as team/panel/management and realise they are good enough just need to take control of their own destiny . Yes they need support but toughness and resilience comes from within . You never know we may cross paths also in a tailteann Cup final would nt that be some day . Revenge or consolidation Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 24/03/2026 14:25:55 2662878 Link 0 |
The Football and Hurling underage panels have been the same size for a few years now. I think its unfair to people involved in coaching and games and CnO to be perpetuating myths. The problem with having dual players is that they dont get the same number of coaching contacts as they do if they pick one or the other. Which is the way it is at club level for most players here in Wexford, underage and adult. A few chose Football rather than Hurling the last 2 years that I know of, but most who had the option of both chose Hurling. Thats really their decision at the end of the day. My eldest young lad wouldve been brought to as many Football games as Hurling ones, club and county, hes seen us play Westmeath in both codes, but I actually had to bribe him to play Football when he started secondary school. As regards our club championships the Hurling set up was a disaster from day one, thankfully its been changed now. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18885 - 24/03/2026 17:42:25 2662928 Link 0 |