On the Monaghan thread, you claim you won't go because you won't pay to watch them again? Are you planning a picnic elsewhere over the weekend?
D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 319 - 30/01/2026 17:26:06 2654080 Link 0 |
Ah we all say them things after bad defeats i have said it myself before and few days later mad to go again
dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1354 - 30/01/2026 17:52:38 2654083 Link 0 |
Unchanged from last week, was expecting the Strokestown players to at least make the bench with them back in training the last few weeks. Round 3 v Armagh the earliest return for some of the Brigids players it appears. The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4265 - 31/01/2026 12:02:14 2654126 Link 0 |
Should be straightforward for Roscommon tomorrow. Monaghan are at a low ebb just now. Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1283 - 31/01/2026 15:15:51 2654148 Link 0 |
Everyone in Roscommon knows it's never straightforward when Monaghan come to town and I don't expect tomorrow to be any different. Hoping our lads can back up last weeks performance again and if they do we have a chance. Monaghan will be out to kickstart the league and will have targeted us as a game they should be looking to win so there will be nothing easy got tomorrow
D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 319 - 31/01/2026 17:36:56 2654163 Link 0 |
Roscommon are missing around 15 players nothing straightforward about that. Monaghan man trying to play mind games
Charliepace (Donegal) - Posts: 12 - 31/01/2026 17:56:21 2654166 Link 0 |
Lmao
Michaelbeag (Roscommon) - Posts: 47 - 31/01/2026 20:59:19 2654201 Link 0 |
You aren't alone in the rumoured changes to the published starting team and all shall be confirmed before throw in tomorrow.
The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4265 - 31/01/2026 21:51:01 2654214 Link 0 |
2 Division 2 sides on show I'm afraid. And we have been the worst of the 2. Big improvement needed in 2nd half D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 319 - 01/02/2026 14:54:38 2654299 Link 0 |
Less of the negativity plz
moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1245 - 01/02/2026 15:34:27 2654305 Link 2 |
Deserved six point win in a sunny Dr Hyde park well done to players and management for winning a must win game. The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4265 - 01/02/2026 16:14:59 2654327 Link 0 |
And you got that improvement 2nd half yet I don't see you as quick to post about it on here? Not a bad days work for the Rossies without a number of first choice players and scoring 3-16 (25) plus Monaghan had a stronger line up today with Beggan and Co back.
Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 674 - 01/02/2026 16:19:11 2654328 Link 1 |
Thought it was going to tough day at the office, but credit to the lads who eventually got the better of a sticky Monaghan side. We really need to tighten up in the defence as Monaghan ran through our defence on numerous occasions in the first half. Great to see new players settling in well especially Keogh and Darragh Heneghan hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 153 - 01/02/2026 17:01:57 2654340 Link 0 |
Lovely win today. Second half was very good but we really need to plug them holes Monaghan found today on a few occasions. Darragh henaghan was brilliant today. Himself and Conor hand will be hard handled dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1354 - 01/02/2026 19:04:26 2654395 Link 0 |
Nice crowd in a sunny Hyde today. Definitely a step down on last week's performance and defensively quite open at the back in the first half, but a big improvement in the second half. Enda was excellent today and the standout player. But also big performances from Senan Lamb, Caelim Keogh, Paddy Gavin, Diarmuid, Darragh Heneghan and Dylan. Ronan Daly was impressive also. Thought the midfield done well also and overall I would say they won the midfield battle comfortably. Still lots to brush up on though. Some of the decision making is still a bit suspect. Quicker ball in and we could have had at least 2 more goals. We ran into the tackle at times when there was no need to and ball got turned over. Aaron Brady has been very impressive since he has come in. He looks very comfortable under the high ball and apart from one kickout today I think the rest were excellent. Conor Carroll will have a job to wrestle back the No.1 jersey. I think overall we have to be very satisfied with the result today. Loads of young lads getting game time and yet lots of quality players to come back in. Huge test in two weeks time against Armagh. That'll be the litmus test to show where we are really at. Ros Comáin abú
ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 168 - 01/02/2026 20:13:56 2654433 Link 1 |
Was the first half poor? Was there an improvement needed? I think you can agree that both were true. 2nd half was much better for sure and fair play to the lads for lifting it. Looked flat in 1st half and like we thought it was going to be an easy afternoon but thankfully we were able to go through the gears when needed. Still plenty to work on, I felt Monaghan cut through us too often and we got caught with players getting in behind us which a better team would have punished us more from. Enda showed again what a leader he is and continues to be, outstanding again today. As has been said, decision making needs to improve going forward. Senan Lambe was good again but I felt he sometimes took the wrong option and carried ball into contact when there was an opportunity to lay the ball of but I like his enthusiasm and his will to try and drive forward. Darragh Heneghan was very good, his pace caused real trouble to Monaghan and is a great asset to have. Brady has been very good the last 2 days and it's great we have competition for the number 1 jersey. Great to get the win and get up and running, massive challenge coming in 2 weeks but with players to come back in the squad is getting stronger and that's a great thing. Only negative today is the news of Cian's injury and he is a loss, a real shame for him but hopefully he will be back fit for New York. D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 319 - 01/02/2026 20:57:11 2654446 Link 1 |
Slow start but a brilliant result. Sets us up for the rest of the league. 2 more wins well achievable with our home fixtures in succession. Best part is the competition for places. Haven't seen it since 2017-2019 or 2001-2003 1998 when we had decent panels. Another test for Mark will be to avoid the outside noise that'll come Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 612 - 01/02/2026 21:29:57 2654463 Link 0 |
Not a Roscommon supporter but I can certainly understand why any supporter would be concerned after losing by 13 points to Mayo and losing plus conceding a big score to Division 3 Sligo. Now you can say in hindsight those FBD results was a blessing in disguise and got Roscommon players and management to knuckle down and improve for their opening league games and in truth poor officiating in Killarney is why Roscommon aren't locked on 4 points with Donegal,Mayo right now. Long way to go in the league yet and it's not inferiority complex to say Roscommon will likely be underdogs for the remaining 5 games with bookies and their punters Out of interest are you the same poster that was saying Brigids would walk Connacht? Went on to win deservedly so but were never going to walk it when up against a strong Galway champion. Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3829 - 01/02/2026 22:10:32 2654480 Link 0 |
I think Conor Hand is a definite starter for us too. Shane Cunnane will be there or there abouts also. Pearse Frost has to be close to starting in defense also. A serious defender. Paddy Gavin was excellent today along with Caelim Keogh. Pearse Frost would make up a tidy full back line for me. Not sure if Davy Murray will start this year. Eoin McCormack was very good against Kerry but I'd have him in the half back line along with Stack and Fallon. Great to see lots of quality players covering so many positions and giving us depth. Fingers crossed we stay injury free for the most part this year
ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 168 - 01/02/2026 22:23:13 2654483 Link 0 |
With stack out for awhile Fallon maybe the only starter from brigids vs Armagh … Great to see competition for every position.The ball carrying today by d heneghan and e smith was brilliant and when you add the ability of the returning c hand - hopefully see all 3 together soon. B o Carroll not guaranteed Ryan and Doyle have been steady -s cunnane is better on the ball than both, but overall it will it's hard pick 2 out of the 3 Can't see p frost starting yet anyways, Gavin , McCormack , Higgins ,Keogh all have done well and be good to see m Richardson get a start in a league game to see how goes Think Brady has done enough to stay no 1 for now , kickouts were very good today Bigsam88 (Roscommon) - Posts: 19 - 01/02/2026 22:36:16 2654492 Link 2 |