Dublin GAA thread

"Its like beeping the car horn in support to the shopworkers on strike outside their shop and then passing the picket to buy something."

Great analogy brayballer!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3944 - 22/01/2026 15:43:31    2652535

Replying To brayballer:  "Ah Joe get real.Sure a gesture is a gesture but they trying to take a stance against allianz but its like attacking a bear with a feather. Many ways to show a gesture towards persecuted people without giving free advertising to the group they have a problem with.A nice gesture would be if the few players involved publicly state they will not use Allianz insurance again.As Barney stated,this is pure grandstanding. Its like beeping the car horn in support to the shopworkers on strike outside their shop and then passing the picket to buy something."
According to today's Irish Times, Ger Brennan has said he will not conduct interviews etc if there are allianz banners etc in the background, if this Irish Times report is correct you say this is grandstanding so you are saying Brennan is an insincere, self- promoting attention seeker. I don't agree, I believe Brennan has the individual right to refuse to stand by the logo and I accept his sincerety in making the decision.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 1057 - 22/01/2026 16:48:50    2652551

Replying To sligo joe:  "According to today's Irish Times, Ger Brennan has said he will not conduct interviews etc if there are allianz banners etc in the background, if this Irish Times report is correct you say this is grandstanding so you are saying Brennan is an insincere, self- promoting attention seeker. I don't agree, I believe Brennan has the individual right to refuse to stand by the logo and I accept his sincerety in making the decision."
I'd agree with you there on Ger Brennan. It most certainly is his right and I'd applaud him for taking a stand. I would have good time for him and believe he's a person of very good integrity.

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 128 - 22/01/2026 17:26:32    2652560

Replying To sligo joe:  "According to today's Irish Times, Ger Brennan has said he will not conduct interviews etc if there are allianz banners etc in the background, if this Irish Times report is correct you say this is grandstanding so you are saying Brennan is an insincere, self- promoting attention seeker. I don't agree, I believe Brennan has the individual right to refuse to stand by the logo and I accept his sincerety in making the decision."
Setting himself up for a big fall. Will Donegal give Dublin a 5 point start in "solidarity"?

Run the football team already ...

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3944 - 22/01/2026 17:27:12    2652562

Replying To BarneyGrant:  ""Its like beeping the car horn in support to the shopworkers on strike outside their shop and then passing the picket to buy something."

Great analogy brayballer!"
Im learning from the master Barney.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 425 - 22/01/2026 17:57:58    2652574

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Setting himself up for a big fall. Will Donegal give Dublin a 5 point start in "solidarity"?

Run the football team already ..."
"Run the football team already"???

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 1057 - 22/01/2026 20:52:20    2652599

Ger Brennan's Dubs squad for the League opener v Donegal has been announced.
Definitely a new look to the Dubs team/squad...:

Comerford
Murchan McMahon Byrne
Shaw Doran Kennedy
Dunne Lahiff
McGinnis Scully Howard
Small Con O'Dell

subs:
O'Sullivan, McEneaney, O'Callaghan, Tyrrell, White, O'Connor, Stephenson, Breathnach, Guiden, Bugler & Lundy.

Hopefully a 2 point shooter in there somewhere... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4771 - 22/01/2026 22:12:10    2652620

I never mentioned anything about Brennan but as you bring it up do you know that Dublin GAA management get sponsored cars from Peugeot and Peugeot have strong links to Israel.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 425 - 23/01/2026 13:54:27    2652723

Replying To Fionn:  "Ger Brennan's Dubs squad for the League opener v Donegal has been announced.
Definitely a new look to the Dubs team/squad...:

Comerford
Murchan McMahon Byrne
Shaw Doran Kennedy
Dunne Lahiff
McGinnis Scully Howard
Small Con O'Dell

subs:
O'Sullivan, McEneaney, O'Callaghan, Tyrrell, White, O'Connor, Stephenson, Breathnach, Guiden, Bugler & Lundy.

Hopefully a 2 point shooter in there somewhere... ;o)"
That is a strong team and fair play to Ger.While giving some new lads a chance he still keeping a strong unit and obviously want s to do well in the league.I think we will see a huge improvement in our two pointers this year and yes a few lads selected well able to take two pointers.Con,Scully,Howard and Paddy Small to name a few.A Win against Donegal would be nice and take a bit of pressure off.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 425 - 23/01/2026 13:58:12    2652724

Dubs Hurling team & subs named for the League opener v Clare:-

S.Brennan
Bellew Smyth EoghanO'D
Dunphy Crummey C.Burke
B.Hayes Donohoe
Keogh D.Burke Power
O'Dulaing R.Hayes CianO'S

subs:
Gibbons, O'Riain, Mostyn, Gallagher, Groarke, Lucey, T.Brennan, Madden, Purcell, Kennedy & Kenny

Strong looking team.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4771 - 23/01/2026 14:58:13    2652741

Replying To Fionn:  "Dubs Hurling team & subs named for the League opener v Clare:-

S.Brennan
Bellew Smyth EoghanO'D
Dunphy Crummey C.Burke
B.Hayes Donohoe
Keogh D.Burke Power

subs:
Gibbons, O'Riain, Mostyn, Gallagher, Groarke, Lucey, T.Brennan, Madden, Purcell, Kennedy & Kenny

Strong looking team."
It is. Championship team won't looks hugely different. A win down there - not beaten them since 1927 in league i saw! - be huge start and potentially path to winning the division.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3944 - 23/01/2026 15:47:27    2652754

Replying To Fionn:  "Dubs Hurling team & subs named for the League opener v Clare:-

S.Brennan
Bellew Smyth EoghanO'D
Dunphy Crummey C.Burke
B.Hayes Donohoe
Keogh D.Burke Power

subs:

Strong looking team."
Agree anx fingers crossed they will beat Clare which would a hige huge win.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4095 - 23/01/2026 16:18:06    2652763

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "
Replying To Fionn:  "Dubs Hurling team & subs named for the League opener v Clare:- S.Brennan Bellew Smyth EoghanO'D Dunphy Crummey C.Burke B.Hayes Donohoe Keogh D.Burke Power O'Dulaing R.Hayes CianO'S <i>subs:</i> Gibbons, O'Riain, Mostyn, Gallagher, Groarke, Lucey, T.Brennan, Madden, Purcell, Kennedy & Kenny Strong looking team."</div>It is. Championship team won't looks hugely different. A win down there - not beaten them since 1927 in league i saw! - be huge start and potentially path to winning the division."
I thonk Dublin can put it up to Clare here Barney and it would be nice.I might not be shpiting for the footballers lol but I would be thrilled for the hurlers.This year could be an intresting year for them.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 4095 - 23/01/2026 16:53:37    2652770

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "
Replying To Fionn:  "Dubs Hurling team & subs named for the League opener v Clare:- S.Brennan Bellew Smyth EoghanO'D Dunphy Crummey C.Burke B.Hayes Donohoe Keogh D.Burke Power O'Dulaing R.Hayes CianO'S <i>subs:</i> Gibbons, O'Riain, Mostyn, Gallagher, Groarke, Lucey, T.Brennan, Madden, Purcell, Kennedy & Kenny Strong looking team."</div>It is. Championship team won't looks hugely different. A win down there - not beaten them since 1927 in league i saw! - be huge start and potentially path to winning the division."
That's actually an amazing stat Barney considering you reached 9 AI finals since then, and Clare weren't strong between then and the 90s, save for the late 70s/early 80s.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18111 - 23/01/2026 17:21:31    2652777