As long as we got the performance right in the 2012 final, that was the sweetest one of all. A day to savour for all time up here in the hills. Surprised you brought the subject of All Ireland finals?
Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3672 - 22/01/2026 20:54:09 2652600 Link 0 |
Hurling has a top 7 All Ireland contenders as well. Evasive would be saying something like 9 in hurling and 11 in football. If Meath see themselves as creditable strong Leinster contenders, they'd want to be gaining promotion this year. legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9373 - 22/01/2026 21:05:06 2652605 Link 0 |
Dublin be better off having crack at league and getting new team used to winning. Not a chance of All Ireland. BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3944 - 22/01/2026 21:15:08 2652610 Link 0 |
They've released a commemorative jersey to celebrate the 75 year famine as well.
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1423 - 22/01/2026 21:30:34 2652613 Link 1 |
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/2025/06/28/turnstiles-click-for-a-game-transformed-and-the-most-open-championship-in-decades/
rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 665 - 23/01/2026 07:43:21 2652642 Link 0 |
Yeah we gave ye a soft all Ireland that year got ye back in 2013 though . I was delighted for Kerry last year.... great day ..
S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 716 - 23/01/2026 10:01:41 2652654 Link 0 |
Hurling hasnt 7 AI contenders this year. Any more than Football has. Cork and Limerick are favourites, Tipp have to go back to back, tough in general and for some strange reason statistically really tough for them historically, and Clare might do it if they keep their key players fit. Noone else is going to win it. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18111 - 23/01/2026 10:37:28 2652663 Link 0 |
I'm not going to split hairs over 7 All Ireland contenders or not. There was a clear top 7 in Division 1 last year. Tyrone were most unfortunate to slip to D2. There were strong challengers outside that 7 then who on their day could deliver big performances. legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9373 - 23/01/2026 11:00:33 2652667 Link 0 |
I feel like every thread I click into on here it's Mayo fans arguing with fans of some county or other PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 347 - 23/01/2026 11:13:23 2652672 Link 2 |
I'm surprised you have such an infatuation with Mayo despite winning that final but there you go..
MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 504 - 23/01/2026 11:37:20 2652680 Link 1 |
You need to deliver multiple big performances against other counties delivering big performances to win an AI. I agree a county outside that top 5 might surprise 1 of the top 5, happened last year in both the Hurling and Football QFs. Neither of those 2 teams won the next day. League is irrelevant. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18111 - 23/01/2026 12:01:39 2652689 Link 0 |
Well maybe if ye don't continue to post ridiculous comments about us we wouldn't be simple as...
S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 716 - 23/01/2026 12:02:33 2652690 Link 0 |
You need to deliver multiple big performances against other counties delivering big performances to win an AI. I agree a county outside that top 5 might surprise 1 of the top 5, happened last year in both the Hurling and Football QFs. Neither of those 2 teams won the next day. League is irrelevant. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18111 - 23/01/2026 12:09:30 2652691 Link 0 |
Can you name 7 All-Ireland contenders and give a little detail on each team as to why you think they would be contender to win the 2026 All-Ireland as clearly the Kerry poster above won't or Is unable to answer me.
Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3820 - 23/01/2026 12:20:08 2652698 Link 0 |
Cut out the wum nonsense. There wasn't close to 7 All-Ireland contenders last year and won't this year Don't want the old rules back but if we still had them I'd give Armagh,Galway,Tyrone all a better chance of reaching the All-Ireland final at least this year. Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 664 - 23/01/2026 12:24:26 2652700 Link 0 |
Why, what did Mayo win the following year Clare? Oh yeah, nothing. Again.
WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 128 - 23/01/2026 12:46:13 2652703 Link 1 |
I also feel thread your on you are giving out or saying something ridiculous about Mayo as quite a few of your Galway ones are .
S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 716 - 23/01/2026 12:50:13 2652706 Link 0 |
I have had a few problems with Mayo fans over the years but most of em on here seem grand bar one muppet who the Mayo contributors dont even like.
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 425 - 23/01/2026 14:05:43 2652728 Link 3 |
Lol
S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 716 - 23/01/2026 14:47:44 2652735 Link 0 |
Right now it's hard to come up with any credible challenger to Kerry but things can change. Before the quarter finals last year they weren't fancied much at all but then absolutely trounced the 3 top Ulster teams. MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 504 - 23/01/2026 14:51:02 2652737 Link 0 |