All Ireland Football Championship 2025

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Dublin's decline and the new rules have opened things up a lot, hopefully Sams for the hills again in 2025, it's been too long since he was here!
Some craic now for 2 weeks, the hunt for tickets begins!"
Good luck and enjoy! It's a great time to be in Ireland this week and next.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2343 - 14/07/2025 18:13:09    2625704

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Since the group stage finished it's been mainly disappointing for neutrals, after all the rule changes so much more was expected yet last year neutrals had a lot better knock out games to watch. Final should be good but looks like HQ will be back tweaking once again before the NFL in 2026."
Ah yea, Donegal/Louth, Kerry/Derry and Armagh/Roscommon were mihhty games last year in the knock out stages. Cop on, we aint going back.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 715 - 14/07/2025 18:25:42    2625708

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Kildare have only been in Division 3 twice in the last 30+ years. Anyway this is not about Kildare although it is a back handed compliment you seem so obsessed with us. We have a strong body of work find into underage and schools over the past 15 years that has resulted in consistent high level performances by Kildare underage teams resulting in 4 Leinster minor titles, 4 u21/20 leinsters and two All-Irelands, plus a Hogan cup and five Brother Bosco Post Primary Leinster titles by Naas CBS, which covers a raft of clubs in North Kildare, also consistent strong last four and final appearances by other Kildare schools. Combined with a strong club championship (in 2023 all three Kildare champions reached their respective provincial finals winning two of them)

The missing piece was a competent and serious senior management setup, now we have that in place, a young manager who has already delivered 2 U20 Leinster titles and and All-Ireland and now a Tailteann Cup. What Kildare is building is based on substance not media hype.

Meath fell over the line against a zombie Dublin team, half a Kerry team in a glorified challenge match, not a knockout championship game and a Galway team who only played for 10 minutes and blew ye out of the water. Yesterday was always going to be the litmus test against a fully primed Division 1 team. We saw the outcome of that was not pretty and a stark reminder of Meath's place in the pecking order."
Firstly regards your underage sucess. Well done. But that's easy part. Because kildare have problem with underage sucess. They are one of the few counties in Ireland who cannot underage sucess into senior sucess. Meath who are always opposite to kildare always turn underage into senior.

Everytime Meath won underage All Ireland within 5 or 6 years Meath have won senior All Ireland. Everytime kildare have had underage sucess. Those players within 6 or 7 years are in div 3. I'm not making this up.

3 times kildare had underage sucess.
1 Kildare in late 60s won U21 All Ireland and reached their only ever minor All Ireland in early 1970s losing to Tyrone. Team showed bit promise got to leinster final but within 6 years those kildare players ended up in div 3.
22009 kildare won U21 leinster title and reached U21 All Ireland final losing to kerry. Again kildare howed promise but by 2015 those kildare players 6 year later were relegated to div 3.
3 kildare won U20 All Ireland in 2018. I was really impressed. But again kildare shows promise reached leinster final, but 6 later those group of kildare players in 2024 got relegated to div 3.

The key is to stop boom bust cycle of kildare foot all. Have underage sucesa show promise reach leinster final land ose than within 6 years are in div 3. Kildare have yo yoed division for ten years. 4 or 5 relegations in 10 years. Kildare have huge issue with hype. Building up young players. Not building on underage sucess. It's mystery why kildare have never built sucess on underage sucess.

If its that easy to beat Dublin. Why can kildare never bear Dubs. If its that easy to beat ublin how come kildare beat Dubs in championship once or twice every half century. If that's easy to beat kerry why can kildare only beat kerry once every 100 years. If that easy to beat Galway why have kildare not beaten Galway in 102 years. If that easy to beat the top teams why have kildare only beaten two top teams outside leinster since 1928 eg Kerry in 2018 and Kerry in 1998. Kildare have only beaten 1 top team in Croke Park outside leinster in 100 years. If its so easy why cannot kildare ever beat Dublin or a kerry or a Galway. Let see kildare next year beat Dublin Galway and keery in championship. Let see kildare in next 5 years beat Dublin or a Galway or a kerry in championship. Let's see kildare bear Dublin next year. In last 40 years Meath have beaten Dublin 9 times and 5 draws in leinster championship. Let see kildare in next 40 years beat Dubs 9 times in championship. Beating Dublin anytime in leinster by any leinster is toughest opponent for any leinster team to beat. The Dubs have always had aura in leinster. Kildare have always feared the Dubs. Let's see kildare beat Dublin next year. For first time in 26 years.

Kildare always degrade Meaths successes. Jealousy and bitterness is terrible. I have seem Meath All Irelands and kildare fans telling me Meath were lucky. I saw Meath winning leinster titles and kildare fans saying Meath are useless. If Meath won ten All Ireland in a row kildare would say Meath are lucky or dirty or crap. Jealousy of Meath is deep rooted in kildare. When Meath beat Dubs keery Galway not a peep out of kildare. Meath lose they are dancing on the Streets of kilcock and Athy.
Also Meath didn't just beat Dublin and kerry they played brillant football v Dubs and kerry. Meath were 12 pts up at half time v Dubs after outstanding exhibition of football. Kildare wins in 98 scraped over average Dublin Team and 2000 Dubd played kildare of the field in first half. Average Dublin Team. Kildare only other leinster was in 1956 v average wexfotd team. And kildare All Ireland winbs in 1920s 1910s was when very few counties took game serious. Its only in 1940s All Ireland championship because competitive nationwide competition.

Meath were outstanding v kerry. One kerry journalist said it was best performance he saw by team from leinster in championship other than Dubs in 20 years. It was kerrys biggest defeat in championship in 24 years. Let's see kildare hammer kerry next year. Kildare are curentky struggling to beat div 3 div 4. But let's see them beat Dublin and kerry. Seen it so east to do, according to you.

Meath beat Kerry Dublin Galway. Yet kildare are struggling to beat Fermanagh and Limerick. As Colm.Boyle said today in paper kildare have a long long way to go. Meath and Down in Tailtean cup played some brillant football in their finals and semi finals. Kildare were dreadful in both games. Fermanagh was worst game on tv this year. Kildare were lucky to beat brave but limited Limerick team. Kildare look like have no structure at back v div 3 teams, midfield still reliant on Feehily. Same old kildare upfront. Cannot score in Croke Park. Another thing kildare have a problem with. Kildare really struggle in Croke Park. Up to Tailtean cupI think only 3 wins in Croke Park in last 25 to 30 games. Something dreadful like that. Kildare supporters tell me always they hate playing in Croke Park. Kildare are decent in Newbridge but once they play anywhere else, they lack confidence belief and play poorly. Struggle to beat div 3 div 4 teams. Celebrate wins over div 3 div 4 teams. While if other counties beat Dublin or kerry, kildare say they were lucky. Maybe kildare will get lucky one day.

I will finish this. Kildare are already starting hype machine. I see it. This is what ex Dublin player said to Colm Parkinson on podcast a couple years ago. He said i went to college with some of the current Kildare footbalkers. He said kildare have a tendency to lick themselves after one or two wins. Lose the run of themselves. Dublin footballer and Parkinson laughed. That's what Dublin think of kildare. Yet kildare fans like Joe Molloy on Irish indo podcast says he wants Dublin to win, like Dublin team. That's kildare problem. Imagine Meath man saying he would like to see Dublin winning 5 in a row. That's what another journalist said on national radio. Yet Kildare hate Meath, jealous of Meath, but neutral towards Dublin. While Dublin players make fun of kildare on podcasts. Meath are obsessed with Dublin, that why beat them, kildare are obsessed with Meath. That's why you beat us, but no top teams. Let see if kildare can actually beat Dublin kerry Galway next year ot next 5 years. If its so easy to do, surely even kildare can beat Dublin and kerry and Galway next year.

JackieboyfromTara (Meath) - Posts: 11 - 14/07/2025 20:36:37    2625727

Replying To Lúla571210:  "Dont think a few of your facts are correct there. I remember kildare beating dublin in the league a few years ago. Also are meath the first ever team to even play dublin kerry and galway in the same championship if not 1 of the only teams so that's not much of a record to have. After today never mind kildare they can celebrate the Tailteann Cup win fair play to them. Meath should probably focus on improving themselves so they're not humiliated by 20 points again. Just a bit of friendly advice."
I said championship. I said no mention of the league. Kildare have beaten Dubs twice in championship and 2 draws in last 50 years. Kildare beat Dubs in championship in 1998 and 2000. Meath beat Dubs in championship 9 times and 5 draws. Meath 10 wins over Dubs in championship in last 40 years were in 1986, 1987, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1996, 1999, 2001, 2010, 2025 and Meaths draws v Dubs in championship were in 1983 and 3 draws in 1991 and 1 draw in 2007. I was talking about championship meetings not league games.

Meath are first team to beat kerry and Dublin in championship in 18 years. It very rare achievement. Many teams have played kerry and Dublin in one year for 140 years. Outside leinster only Tyrone in 2005 and 2008 and Armagh in 2002 and Cork in 1989 have beaten Kerry and Dubs in same championship. In leinster only Meath in 2025 2001, Offaly in 1982 and kildare in 1927 and 1998 have beaten Dublin and kerry in same championship. Think of all the times Cork have played Dublin and kerry and all leinster champions that have played kerry and Dublin. Its happened very rarely, a team to beat Dublin and kerry. And Meath are first team ever to beat Kerry Galway Dublin. These are facts.

JackieboyfromTara (Meath) - Posts: 11 - 14/07/2025 20:54:34    2625729

Replying To GreenMan1987:  "It's very different, forgetting about 2 pointers the level of scoring in games is far higher due to requirements to keep players in position making it harder to defend."
That's true, the new rules favour forwards and have made the game so much more exciting to watch, I think they need to revisit the 2 points from outside the ark and only 3 for a goal, I think the goal is easily twice as hard to score as those 2 pointers especially when a team is aided by a strong wind, 4 points for a goal might level the thing up a bit.
Hard luck to Meath yesterday, they are better than than that winning margin would suggest, they kicked a lot of wides and then took some bad options going for 2 pointers that weren't really on, Hail Mary kicks we used to call them, Meath will be back, they are on the rise.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3352 - 14/07/2025 22:21:38    2625739

Replying To Fionn:  "So we now have the All Ireland Final most expected, after 2 disappointing and very one sided semi finals.

Bookies have Kerry as 8/11 favourites
Donegal @ 6/5
and I cant argue with that tbh.

The Donegal v Meath semi final was the biggest semi final winning margin since 1993 apparently.
But Meath losing their midfield anchor Menton made a massive difference to the game.
However, that 20pt defeat brought Meath back down to earth with a bang, unfortunately.

I was impressed with the Donegal defence but that kerry forward line are a different beast altogether..
Hoping we have a great game but I am expecting the same result as their 2014 final, but with a bigger winning margin."
Fionn you have always being complementary to Meath. I think there definitely is longing for many Dubs to see Meath v Dublin rivalry. I definitely feel in next few years, we will see that rivalry reignite.
Next Meath v Dublin leinster will bring 70000 people maybe even a full house.

It's knock for these young Meath players, but they are so young, it's not like they are in late 20s 6 or 7 years together trying to make breakthrough. They were hammered by kerry by 15 pts last year and Dublin by 16 pts last year, it had no effect on them. They losr their two coach's week before the Leinster final, it had no effect on them. They lost leinster final, topped their group abd beat keery and Galway after. Being so young, means no fear and you move on real fast. Dublin were hammered by kerry by 17 pts in 2009 and 10 pts by Meath in 2010 and look what happened after.

What is really impressive about this Meath team is so many injuries and still achieving so much. Beat Dublin without Jordan Morris. Beat kerry without Matthew Costello. Cleaned kerry Dublin Galway out at midfield without their two best midfielders Ronan Jones and Jack Flynn. Menton went off, it meant Meath were missing their three best midfielders also Jack kinlough Another 6ft 5 midfielder half forward who was brillant in the league and early part of championship before he did his ACL. James Conlon and Cathal Hickey also injured. That's 6 key injuries to some of Meath best players. Meath still wouldn't have beaten Donegal. But when Menton off, and with no Jack Flynn, qnd no Ronan Jones. Any team in the country who are missing their 3 best midfielders that a huge blow.

But going forward I cannot wait for next year. The potential is huge. A couple areas Meath are super strong, especially midfield and half forward line. In terms of size and power it huge areas for Meath. Get everyone back from injury Meath have one strongest midfield and half forward in the country. Definitely huge depth here. You have got Ronan Jones 6ft 1 but you got Jack Flynn 6ft 4, Brian Menton 6ft 4, Conor Gray 6ft 5, Cian McBride 6ft 5, Conor Duke 6ft 4, Jack kinlough 6ft 4, and Adam O'Neill 6ft 2.

Flynn, Jones, Menton, Gray, Kinlough Duke, O Neill that real strength size in mid sectot now on this Meath team. Return of Jones Flynn kinlough next year from injury will really help. Also Michael Mcivor another 6ft 5 gaint on U20s looks great talent. The U20 leinster winning team had 3 huge 6ft 4 half forwards John Harkin and Rian Stafford and Cian Commins who are also brillant young talent. In my view, Meath U20s Rian Stafford and Cian Commins are better than Conor Duke. And Duke is in running for young Footballer of the year. Rian Stafford is nephew of Brian Stafford he hitting 16 pts in club games at 19 recently. I think he brillant player against huge presence on 40. He has his uncle striking style and I definitely think young Stafford is huge prospect. Can play full forward, but is outstanding talent on 40. Already training with senior. We will see in league next spring.

In next few years, Meath are definitely going to be strong around centre field. Huge depth there. Players like Conor Gray 21, Conor Duke 20 and Jack kinlough 20 are all fantastic young footballers. Definitely a strong area for Meath. For cleaning out kerry Dublin Galway without our two best midfielders Ronan Jones and Jack Flynn shows depth Meath gave in thar area. Next year Meath could start with Brian Menton Adam O Neill Conor Duke around midfield than bring on Jack Flynn Ronan Jones Conor Gray and Jack kinlough during the game. Its definitely a very strong area for Meath going forward. With player brillant at breaking ball like Sean Coffey and Ruari kinsella. Midfield with new rules decides games. Definitely strong area for the Royals.

Hogan is excellent young goalkeeper. We have never has Cluxton or Billy Morgan or even John O leary but Hogan can be Meath goalkeeper for next 15 years. He only 21. His brother Harry is also really good when he played goalie under McEntee. Defensively we have found a few gems. Rafferty ons of the gnds of the season. Along with McCole best full back in country and only made his debut this year. He did great job on David Clifford only person to keep the great man quite. Rafferty is one of the best one on one defenders this years championship. Still relatively young. Huge find. Sean Coffey only 22 came of age this year. A real leader. He is incredible at breaking ball. Best Meath player at breaking ball since Paddy Reynold. And Ciaran Caulfield is just rolls Royce footballer. I cannot believers he is 21. He is best wing back I have seen play for Meath for 20 year. His performance v keery was best performance I saw by Meath wing back in 20 years. He is very good defender, he reminds of Tyrone Philip Jordan. Not saying he is as good yet. But he that similar style wing back. Only concern is depth at the back. We have huge depth at midfield and in rhe forwards. But any injury to Keoghan Rafferty Caulfield Coffey they are irreplaceable. O' Halloran only 21 is very good prospect. But definitely area we need more depth. Hopefully those All Ireland minor winning defenders Liam Kelly John O Reagan might step up. We have good 6 defenders but we need depth in the backs.

Upfront we have struggled for 15 years. Only quality forwards were Stephen Bray and Mickey Newman. We now have forwards who up to yesterday were hitting average 24 pts a game. 6 years ago we barely scored 4 points in leinster final. Morris and Costello are class. Morris is better inside forward at 25 than Ollie Murphy was at 25. Costello is most naturally talented footballer we produced since Geraghty. He scored 10 pts v Offaly at corner forward than v Dubs gave exhibition of half forward play. Duke who is running for footballer of the year has being huge find. 20 year old scoring 5 pts v kerry. Huge talent. Eoghan Frayne made captain at 21, he is big game player. He scored 5 ots v keery and 5 pts yesterday and incredible 11 pts v Dublin. The only forwards score 9 10 11 pts v Dubs in leinster championship in last 50 years are Matt Connor and Brian Stafford. Yet Frayne even you take away 2 pointers scored 9 pts v Dubs. Incredible impact.

The best find is kinsella. Only 21 he was best player in club championship last year. Kinsella was man of the match v Cork, Roscommon and kerry. He is huge player for us. First real too class half forward we have produced since Giles. Hard to believe he js onky 21. Pity James Conlon missed last 3 games. He was Meaths best forward in championship up to that. Man of the match v Dubs with 5 pts and 6 pts play v Roscommon. Definitely new rules suit Conlon. He is only forward we habe is over 25 and aged 26 amg he is now peaking. It will great to have him back next year. Also Jack O Connor will be back from Australia next year. Before he left be was our best half forward. He bring something we need real pace to add to power of Duke kinlough Stafford Costello on 40. Jamie Murphy who has being outstanding for U20 last 2 years, looks huge prospects. Again something we need another 6ft 4 forward but real target man. His 10 pts v Dubs at U20 he reminds me so much of Joe Sheridan but bigger stronger.
So upfront with only James Conlon over 25, we have one of the most exciting young forwards in rge country. The standard of forward play v Dubs were we went 12 pts up anf 9 pt defeat of kerry, standard was top class. Definitely best forward we have had since Sherdan Bray Farrell O Rourke Reilly. But personally these are best forward we have had sonde Geraghty and Giles. Matthew Costello, Jordan Morris, Eoghan Frayne, James Conlon, Ruari Kinsella, Jack O Connor, Shane Walsh add Rian Stafford and Jamie Murphy who are already training with senior team. We have excellent group of diverse quality natural forwards.

Finally Robbie Brennan looks the real deal. The played love in. I havent seen a group of Meath player bond with manager like this since Sean. Diarmaid Connolly last week said next Dublin manager should be Robbie Brennan even if he is Meath man. It showed how good Brennan has done. Great news also you can see first time ever we have succession plan. Cathak O Bric successful minor and U20 Meath manager, in my view most impressive figure in Meath football is future Meath manager. Meath assistant manager and coach Conor Gillespie still only 34 is also future Meath manager. Next ten years or more you could see Robbie Brennan than Cathal O Bric than Conor Gillespie Meaths managers, so first time ever we have succession plan

Finally we have talented young players to come through from All Ireland minor winning team yet they are 19 20 and successful U20 leinster winning team those guys are only 19. We have very talented young team,who are only 1 and 1/2 year together, this team wouldnt peak for another 4 or 5 years. In year one we are reaching All Ireland semi final, beating kerry Dublin Galway in championship. Any leinster team who did that in last 140 years did that went onto titles. Meath are coming team with great potential and for many one teams storiess of the season. This teams story had only began. I texted player on the team after match, his response we are only beginning. Great attitude to have.

Just to see connections with Meath fans. To see the amount of young people wearing Meeth jerseys. I have never seen so many young people at Meath matchs. This young Meath team one of the youngest in the country. Have really connected with young people in Meath. Its definitely awoken a love passion for Meath football for a new generation. There was flags everywhere the whole county was alive. It was wonderful to see. I cannot wait to see what this young Meath team do in next few players. Players like Sean Rafferty, Ciaran Caulfield, Matthew Costello, Jordan Morris, Jack Flynn, Conor Gray, Conor Duke and the brillant Ruari kinsella. David Brady ex Mayo footballer said on OTB these Meath players are as good as he has ever seen come out of Meath. I would say at their age 20 21 22 they are as good as I have seen at that age. Gray is better at 21 than John McDermott was at 21. He had 3 months in hospital with pneumonia last year. Broke his leg last year nd 3 bad injuries this year. But in Galway game as Tommy Rooney said ne was like across between Liam Hayee or John McDermott. I would agree. Players like Morris Costello Caulfield Kinsella Gray are all huge talents who this year were absolutely brillant.

JackieboyfromTara (Meath) - Posts: 11 - 14/07/2025 22:29:34    2625743

Replying To Saynothing:  "Tyrone weren't in the Ulster final. Hardest working midfield in Ireland. Do you follow football? Tyrone to win. Don't care by how many. Boys like you will be the ones crying looking tickets for the final."
"Tyrone to win", sez the man who follows football, lol.

In my last 2 posts (8th and 11th July), I said, with reasons, that Kerry would win by 6.

It wasn't impossible that Tyrone might have won, but, to anyone who had looked at both team's form with a level head, a Tyrone win seemed very unlikely.

When looking at football (or anything), you'll generally fare out better if you keep the premature bragging out of it.

Otherwise, people who don't know you might mistake you for a blowhard.

Very often, it's better just to say nothing.

Good luck with the hunt for the final tickets ; )

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 304 - 14/07/2025 23:15:49    2625754

Replying To JackieboyfromTara:  "I said championship. I said no mention of the league. Kildare have beaten Dubs twice in championship and 2 draws in last 50 years. Kildare beat Dubs in championship in 1998 and 2000. Meath beat Dubs in championship 9 times and 5 draws. Meath 10 wins over Dubs in championship in last 40 years were in 1986, 1987, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1996, 1999, 2001, 2010, 2025 and Meaths draws v Dubs in championship were in 1983 and 3 draws in 1991 and 1 draw in 2007. I was talking about championship meetings not league games.

Meath are first team to beat kerry and Dublin in championship in 18 years. It very rare achievement. Many teams have played kerry and Dublin in one year for 140 years. Outside leinster only Tyrone in 2005 and 2008 and Armagh in 2002 and Cork in 1989 have beaten Kerry and Dubs in same championship. In leinster only Meath in 2025 2001, Offaly in 1982 and kildare in 1927 and 1998 have beaten Dublin and kerry in same championship. Think of all the times Cork have played Dublin and kerry and all leinster champions that have played kerry and Dublin. Its happened very rarely, a team to beat Dublin and kerry. And Meath are first team ever to beat Kerry Galway Dublin. These are facts."
Spot on Jackie! And another thing! Limerick have never beaten Fermanagh in the same year that Sligo beat Longford! People need to cop on to stuff like this! As you say, facts are facts!

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 14/07/2025 23:22:20    2625757

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Kildare have only been in Division 3 twice in the last 30+ years. Anyway this is not about Kildare although it is a back handed compliment you seem so obsessed with us. We have a strong body of work find into underage and schools over the past 15 years that has resulted in consistent high level performances by Kildare underage teams resulting in 4 Leinster minor titles, 4 u21/20 leinsters and two All-Irelands, plus a Hogan cup and five Brother Bosco Post Primary Leinster titles by Naas CBS, which covers a raft of clubs in North Kildare, also consistent strong last four and final appearances by other Kildare schools. Combined with a strong club championship (in 2023 all three Kildare champions reached their respective provincial finals winning two of them)

The missing piece was a competent and serious senior management setup, now we have that in place, a young manager who has already delivered 2 U20 Leinster titles and and All-Ireland and now a Tailteann Cup. What Kildare is building is based on substance not media hype.

Meath fell over the line against a zombie Dublin team, half a Kerry team in a glorified challenge match, not a knockout championship game and a Galway team who only played for 10 minutes and blew ye out of the water. Yesterday was always going to be the litmus test against a fully primed Division 1 team. We saw the outcome of that was not pretty and a stark reminder of Meath's place in the pecking order."
If I got a euro for every bitter jealous comment from kildare to my face about Meath, if I got every time kildare person said something negative to me about Meath. I would be richer than Elon Musk.
I have decades of kildare people telling me Meath are crap useless after we won All Ireland or leinster title. Its just another example of kildare jealously towards their more successful rivals.
You description of Meaths win over Dublin kerry Galway is good example of kildare bitterness.

Let say I use ur words and say kildare beat Dublin this year and Meath person came on and said kildare fell over like against zombie Dublin team. You would say bitter Meath fan. If Kildare beat keery this year and Meath and said meaningless challenge game ( ur description of Meaths win v kerry) it would be fair to say that was Meath supporter.
The funnier thing you said was Galway blew Meath our of the water. Only bitter kildare fan would say that. It would be like me saying Limerick blew kildare out of the water. You said Galway blew Meath out of the water. And yet Meath much better team won the match. I have being sports foe decades when one team deservedly beat another team, the team thar loses didn't blow the winning team out of the water. Its mad thing to say. That's what jealousy does to people

You said Meath fell over the line v zombie line. Than you must think in 1998 kildare fell over the line v poor Dublin team. Will kildare beat this zombie Dublin team next year. Why couldn't kildare beat this zombie 3 years ago in championship. According to Dublin player on tv after Dublin only played for 5 minutes and beat kildare. Why couldn't bear kildare bear Zombie Dublin in recent year. Will kildare beat Zombiee next year.

Anytime any beat Dublin in leinster its great result. And when beat first team from leinster to win in 15 years its brilliant result. Meath were much better team. Meath were 12 pts up at half time. In last time kildare played Dublin zombies kildare barely scored 12 pte in game. Meath were much better team. Everyone knows that. That Dublin team have players who were on greatest Dublin team ever. Here is Dublin players who were bet by Meath and you call zombie Dublin team. Stephen Cluxton, John Small, David Byrne, Ciaran kilkenny, Brian Howard, Niall Scully, Con Callaghan, Cormac Costello, Paddy Small. For you those are zombie Dublin players. For any one there are some of thr greatest Dublin players of all time, members of the greatest team of all time.

You than called Meath v kerry an meaningless challenge game. I know being B All Ireland championship Tintin Cup 2 years in a ros which we were embarrassed ( and so were we) might mean you cannot remeber what really All Ireland championship is. Meath v Kerry was All Ireland championship march. That is truth. That is a fact. To say anything else like it's challenge game is factually untrue and beyond ridiculous. But let's take your description of Meath v Kerry as meaningless what was kildare v Limerick in B All Ireland championship. So for you than kildare v Limerick two division 3 teams in All Ireland b championship in secondary championship is lower than meaningless challenge match. So were do place kildare v Ferm

JackieboyfromTara (Meath) - Posts: 11 - 15/07/2025 00:38:30    2625767

Replying To JackieboyfromTara:  "I said championship. I said no mention of the league. Kildare have beaten Dubs twice in championship and 2 draws in last 50 years. Kildare beat Dubs in championship in 1998 and 2000. Meath beat Dubs in championship 9 times and 5 draws. Meath 10 wins over Dubs in championship in last 40 years were in 1986, 1987, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1996, 1999, 2001, 2010, 2025 and Meaths draws v Dubs in championship were in 1983 and 3 draws in 1991 and 1 draw in 2007. I was talking about championship meetings not league games.

Meath are first team to beat kerry and Dublin in championship in 18 years. It very rare achievement. Many teams have played kerry and Dublin in one year for 140 years. Outside leinster only Tyrone in 2005 and 2008 and Armagh in 2002 and Cork in 1989 have beaten Kerry and Dubs in same championship. In leinster only Meath in 2025 2001, Offaly in 1982 and kildare in 1927 and 1998 have beaten Dublin and kerry in same championship. Think of all the times Cork have played Dublin and kerry and all leinster champions that have played kerry and Dublin. Its happened very rarely, a team to beat Dublin and kerry. And Meath are first team ever to beat Kerry Galway Dublin. These are facts."
Offaly beat Dublin, Galway and Kerry in the 1982 championship.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5305 - 15/07/2025 03:54:09    2625772

Sorry Jackie to burst your statement but didnt Offaly beat Dublin,Galway and Kerry in 1982?

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 15/07/2025 08:00:21    2625775

Replying To cavanman47:  "Offaly beat Dublin, Galway and Kerry in the 1982 championship."
So much for his 'facts'!!
A load of bluster! He has more bitterness himself than those he's accusing of it.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1733 - 15/07/2025 10:35:05    2625796

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "That's true, the new rules favour forwards and have made the game so much more exciting to watch, I think they need to revisit the 2 points from outside the ark and only 3 for a goal, I think the goal is easily twice as hard to score as those 2 pointers especially when a team is aided by a strong wind, 4 points for a goal might level the thing up a bit.
Hard luck to Meath yesterday, they are better than than that winning margin would suggest, they kicked a lot of wides and then took some bad options going for 2 pointers that weren't really on, Hail Mary kicks we used to call them, Meath will be back, they are on the rise."
100%, the games are more high scoring which is good. I wasn't complaining about the new rules at all.

GreenMan1987 (Meath) - Posts: 84 - 15/07/2025 13:30:33    2625829

Best of luck to Kildare man Brendan Cawley who will be the referee for the 2025 All Ireland Football Final.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4461 - 15/07/2025 14:05:05    2625841

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Ah yea, Donegal/Louth, Kerry/Derry and Armagh/Roscommon were mihhty games last year in the knock out stages. Cop on, we aint going back."
To refresh your memory Tyrone v Roscommon, Galway v Dublin, Kerry v Armagh and Galway v Donegal wad four games in the knock out stages last year that was better. All games that went to wire with a few underdogs winning keeping neutrals very interested.

This year in the knock out stages

Play off games

Dublin v Cork a late rally won a poor quality error ridden match.

Donegal v Louth last year Donegal beat Louth by 8 in this game it was 16 points.

Cavan v Kerry a blow out and Mayo left to wonder how they allowed Cavan finish ahead of them in the group

Galway v Down best of the four games by some distance but serious questions about Galway after that win.

Quarter finals

Tyrone v Dublin a later rally won it, not a good game and was clear then Tyrone weren't going any further

Donegal v Monaghan contest over midway through the 2nd half

Galway v Meath low quality match and was clear Meath was going no further,

Kerry v Armagh contest over midway through the 2nd half

Then the two blow out All Ireland semi finals at the weekend.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 538 - 15/07/2025 14:57:42    2625860

Replying To Fionn:  "Best of luck to Kildare man Brendan Cawley who will be the referee for the 2025 All Ireland Football Final."
Best of luck to the man surely, I thought Referee Paul Faloon had a great game in our semi final with Meath, I thought Joe McQuillan wasn't great in the other semi final, not one of his best days but we all have them.
I expect to see plenty in the media from ex Kerry players in the run up to this final to put on any pressure they can.
Going to be a great occasion for us, our 4th ever final and Jim Mc Guinness has led us to 3 of them, that's some achievement, just hope the players can deliver on the day and bring Sam back home to the hills of Tír Chonaill for the party of the century.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3352 - 15/07/2025 15:07:11    2625864

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "To refresh your memory Tyrone v Roscommon, Galway v Dublin, Kerry v Armagh and Galway v Donegal wad four games in the knock out stages last year that was better. All games that went to wire with a few underdogs winning keeping neutrals very interested.

Play off games

Donegal v Louth last year Donegal beat Louth by 8 in this game it was 16 points.

Cavan v Kerry a blow out and Mayo left to wonder how they allowed Cavan finish ahead of them in the group

Galway v Down best of the four games by some distance but serious questions about Galway after that win.

Quarter finals

Tyrone v Dublin a later rally won it, not a good game and was clear then Tyrone weren't going any further

Then the two blow out All Ireland semi finals at the weekend."
Nkne of what you claimed made last years games better or more exciting.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 715 - 15/07/2025 20:22:28    2625941

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "To refresh your memory Tyrone v Roscommon, Galway v Dublin, Kerry v Armagh and Galway v Donegal wad four games in the knock out stages last year that was better. All games that went to wire with a few underdogs winning keeping neutrals very interested.

Play off games

Quarter finals

There is no question last year had better and more competitive games in the knock out stages, A bit strange that's happened when the theory we would be looking forward than at past with the new rules. A good final which it should be you'll have plenty that will ignore this years Quarter final and semi final was good quality viewing for neutrals.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3719 - 15/07/2025 21:15:47    2625949

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  ""Tyrone to win", sez the man who follows football, lol.

In my last 2 posts (8th and 11th July), I said, with reasons, that Kerry would win by 6.

It wasn't impossible that Tyrone might have won, but, to anyone who had looked at both team's form with a level head, a Tyrone win seemed very unlikely.

When looking at football (or anything), you'll generally fare out better if you keep the premature bragging out of it.

Otherwise, people who don't know you might mistake you for a blowhard.

Very often, it's better just to say nothing.

Good luck with the hunt for the final tickets ; )"
Tyrone still in the top 4 teams in Ireland, an off day on Saturday and Kerry playing out of their skins. Kicked too many wides and of course Joe didn't help. Calling plays back when advantage was being played cost a couple or 3 points. Tyrone will be back next year stronger and hoping for at least one retirement.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2387 - 15/07/2025 22:55:45    2625959

Play off games

Quarter finals

What a load of baloney.

Do we want close games or high quality first?
Obviously both is ideal but we've been getting loads this year.

Amazing games this year
Cork v Kerry in Munster
Meath v Dublin
Tyrone v Armagh
Connacht, Leinster AND Ulster finals
Derry v Galway, Galway v Armagh, Donegal v Mayo, Monaghan v Down.

Many other very good games as well

Meath v Galway was great second half, Kerry's points v Armagh was sublime to go from 5 down to lead by 8. Even Donegal showed serious heart to come from 7 down v Monaghan so each game had drama.?

Both semi finals were a little one sided.
However in 2014 we had three amazing semi finals and a stinker of a final between Donegal and Kerry.

This year the reverse may happen. Could be a game for the ages.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 404 - 15/07/2025 22:57:21    2625960