I wouldn't underestimate the loss of Menton with injury. He has been a huge player for Meath all summer. I'd be concentrating on the final rather than worry about how good Galway which is a really strange take from the weekend…when Galway weren't playing
smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 546 - 14/07/2025 16:11:09 2625661 Link 0 |
Damo on sunday game last night cant imagine Jim McG letting a player on it who missed most of cship and after losing QF. They will be out at the galway races like celebs again this year when after watvching what donegal did to meath they should be sick to the core. Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 14/07/2025 16:11:18 2625662 Link 2 |
We bet Donegal 12 months ago, don't get ahead of yourself. We weren't miles behind Dublin, Derry or Armagh all be in not good enough.
hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 449 - 14/07/2025 16:27:11 2625667 Link 1 |
I would be concerned if a grown man had to ask another grown man if it was ok for him to appear on the telly.
gaillimhboy (Galway) - Posts: 377 - 14/07/2025 17:53:31 2625697 Link 7 |
He's well entitled as are all other current players they give enough time to the game His appearance has zero influence on team performance You're the kind who will be plaguing these "celebs" for a signature after a game and then on whats app sending messages if you see them on a night out. Do you cancel social plans if you don't play well at 5 a side. They put in serious sacrifice and however disappointed we are there's would be tenfold. They are entitled to social life and not have to live like hermits jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1627 - 14/07/2025 18:36:22 2625710 Link 2 |
I meant fully fit squad next year, when they're looking ahead.
jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 209 - 14/07/2025 18:59:02 2625712 Link 0 |
There are many outside managers who would have snapped your arm off to have this Galway team for the last 5 years. A golden generation we will lose gradually over the next few years. Padraig will gladly see them out and hand the scraps over to someone else. Outside managers need to be approached. Nobody is going to apply. We hand it to a homegrown hero with no managerial experience and we'll continue down that road. Everyone wants to be friends with Padraigeen.
StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 14/07/2025 20:03:31 2625719 Link 4 |
What an absolute load of seafóid. If Donegal were out of the championship, the players could fly to the moon if they wanted. Comer missed most of the championship because he was injured. Not because he was on telly. What has that even got to do with it? And finally, what business is it of yours if an amateur sports person who gives up a massive amount of his time and sacrifices a lot of social occasions during the year on behalf of his county, decides to go to the Galway races. It's none of your business what they do. Such an odd mindset. I can guarantee you the players were more sick to the core than anyone of us can imagine. They're the ones who put in the hard work, get hit with the set backs, do the training and rehab, give up a good chunk of their social life, take the hits on the pitch. They've given a lot more than some lad posting on a forum. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2424 - 15/07/2025 00:26:45 2625765 Link 4 |
Worst take ive seen so far. What are they supposed to do, heads down crying for months and only lift them to go gymming? the lads are back with their clubs now training away for a while, leave them at it. Sure they be at the races even if they got the final the way the dates are now. As for McGuinesss, who himself has been on The Saturday night Show as well as a pundit on Sky Sports GAA coverage, I dont think he'd mind too much, a player, in their offseason from intercounty doing some TV work.
The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 811 - 15/07/2025 10:20:54 2625792 Link 2 |
100%. The mindset of some "supporters" in this county is just plain weird.
ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1729 - 15/07/2025 10:27:42 2625793 Link 0 |
DJ Carey next Sunday?
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4320 - 15/07/2025 11:20:13 2625806 Link 1 |
I really hope you're not involved in any coaching of teams. Exactly the wrong mindset that unfortunately still exists in the GAA. Those Galway lads owe ye nothing and have to listen to the same **** in Roscommon because we're on a bad run the past two years. Power to them if they get a bit of media work, sponsorship or head to the races. They won't be thanked when their hobbling around and have to get hip replacements when they're 50
Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 548 - 15/07/2025 12:17:10 2625816 Link 1 |
God forbid he gets a huge opportunity to appear on the Sunday game which could result in a new career for him going forward. The jealousy of people like you is utterly embarrassing. He has made huge sacrifice for Galway Football. His intercounty season is over and he can do as he pleases. and its not absolutely NOTHING to do with you.
mr305 (Galway) - Posts: 74 - 15/07/2025 12:50:21 2625820 Link 0 |
This year's Senior Club Championship is shaping up to be a fascinating one and what it might tell us about the future of Galway football. A host of players who have shone in the underage ranks are now stepping onto the senior club stage, and for some, this could be the year they firmly put their hand up for county selection. WonTon5 (Galway) - Posts: 44 - 15/07/2025 13:11:15 2625825 Link 1 |
Despite photos he's not charged yet
jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1627 - 15/07/2025 13:17:16 2625827 Link 1 |
He played 40 minutes of football for Galway this year. I personally think he should retire as he is always around the panel and the air of uncertainty among fans and players if he will play or not is unsettling. I don't know why they keep selecting him every year when he barely plays. michael Murphy has played more minutes this year than comer has for the last 3. Joyce needs to get some clarity into the team.
Kew (Galway) - Posts: 242 - 15/07/2025 15:29:18 2625870 Link 1 |
Who are you to retire someone and who cares what fan thinks of panel I'm sure plenty on panel are happy to have him on board. Our championship season would have been a lot different last year if he wasn't introduced down in Sligo If he decides to move on that is his decision, but I think and hope he has plenty to offer albeit a more restricted role than in his 20s jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1627 - 15/07/2025 15:55:51 2625874 Link 0 |
Has any of the local media said anything? kevin walsh got a lot of abuse, but did well when you see what he had to work with and the lack of funding at the time. I think galway fans are more like mayo fans. Winning isnt the most important thing like it i for people in kerry or dublin, its more about enjoyment. mayo and galway fans like to enjoy the journey and be involved in exciting games and like coaches and players to entertain fans through the media. David brady is a great man for it in mayo and the media and fans love the one liners from joyce etc.
combo (Galway) - Posts: 13 - 15/07/2025 16:27:14 2625880 Link 2 |
We all seen what Jim McG did with Kevin Cassidy this is level of ruthlessness and mindset tht is needed to win Sam also it does not sit well with me that many players are on a flight a day or 2 later to play ball in U.S were they approached before champo etc.
Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 15/07/2025 16:53:57 2625892 Link 1 |
What about the lads that are on the panel remain uninjured all year and come the big do or die games, sorry step aside going with a lad who's played 40 min all year, talk about dejection. Coupled with pulling lads after 15 mins, lads playing well in games never to be seen again just mad stuff. Galway unlike Kerry, Donegal, Armagh , Dublin just have a spark missing
Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 234 - 15/07/2025 17:04:19 2625897 Link 0 |