Replying To leitrim4sam: "I think the ocean fm commentator hit the nail on the head today, he said- and I'm ad-libbing here - but he basically said: "Cox, Honeyman, mc namara, foley, guckian, prior- all under 22, all under 20 years old if you exclude foley and prior: are tremendous footballers but they don't have the power or physique against 30+ years old Antrim footballers and are being bullied off the ball"
I have to agree. Have Leitrim the youngest squad in the country? I'd have to think we have. Are these footballers going to get to play for our under 29's this year? Because I really think a u20 title Connacht title is within grasp for them.
I think poachers concept is to get these guys to commit and then in 5-6 years when they have the power and physique of the teams they are facing now then we move up the divisions. Fair play to him, and them - they are the future" Typo-
*Are these footballers going to get to play for our under 20's this year? Because I really think a u20 title Connacht title is within grasp for them.
leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 683 - 22/02/2025 20:16:54
Replying To Boxtyeater: "You ever try that google yoke ? Great for finding information. Thank me later." Google only has important information!
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2136 - 22/02/2025 22:15:11
Replying To foreveryoung: "Google only has important information!" How's the USA gaa going?
boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 126 - 23/02/2025 08:46:09
Replying To Tacaí Liatroma: "Question for everyone. I think it's generally accepted that Leitrim were incredibly lucky to get promoted last year. If we had come up short, if we hadn't won that penalty against Wexford, if etc etc, how would we be getting on in Division 4?" Incredibly well managed and well motivated, and for the first time since the days of Johnno (RIP) had an acceptable level of cardio fitness. I am convinced that if Keith was playing they would would have won the final. However, the fact is, Croke park is a distant memory now. At this stage 4 games in with no points and 110 scores given away (27 per game) it is hard to see anything other than relegation. Surely Poacher has to start giving game time to players he expects to be involved in Connacht championship action. Finally, do ye believe that regardless of how the results go for the remainder of the season, that the current manager will be there for the long haul, or could he be replaced?
martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 526 - 23/02/2025 10:27:48
Replying To martinjoe: "Incredibly well managed and well motivated, and for the first time since the days of Johnno (RIP) had an acceptable level of cardio fitness. I am convinced that if Keith was playing they would would have won the final. However, the fact is, Croke park is a distant memory now. At this stage 4 games in with no points and 110 scores given away (27 per game) it is hard to see anything other than relegation. Surely Poacher has to start giving game time to players he expects to be involved in Connacht championship action. Finally, do ye believe that regardless of how the results go for the remainder of the season, that the current manager will be there for the long haul, or could he be replaced?" Most of the posters on this forum couldn't wait to see the back of Andy. They are now bemoaning the good luck which saw them them get promoted. They would be happier cursing their bad luck.
eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2021 - 23/02/2025 11:57:47
In relation to the U20s team (who we are all now pinning our hopes on as the Senior team is so out of it's depth for a variety of reasons) Does anyone know the panel for Barry McWeeneys men this year?
It can be tricky with Leaving Cert Students etc to get full commitment at this age group.
Off the top of my head (and missing one corner back position) I would guess our team could look like this. But I'm definitely forgetting a few names.
That being said this is an extremely strong team with a lot of them having been stand out performers in our club game in 2024, along with last years U20 experience, then with our school teams this year - they are all very positive experiences for any young team so it should leave them in good stead. Who else am I forgetting here? O'Rourke, McBrien, Lowe etc would all be good impact subs. Are the young Gardiner lads from St Marys eligible?
Brian Cull
Oran Foley Eanna McNamara
Jack Rowley? Jack Foley Colm McLoughlin
Ben Guckian Bailey McBride
Gavin Gallagher Darren Cox Tom Plunkett Brian Keaney Paul Honeyman Jack Kelly
LongBall94 (USA) - Posts: 6 - 23/02/2025 12:15:59
Replying To martinjoe: "Incredibly well managed and well motivated, and for the first time since the days of Johnno (RIP) had an acceptable level of cardio fitness. I am convinced that if Keith was playing they would would have won the final. However, the fact is, Croke park is a distant memory now. At this stage 4 games in with no points and 110 scores given away (27 per game) it is hard to see anything other than relegation. Surely Poacher has to start giving game time to players he expects to be involved in Connacht championship action. Finally, do ye believe that regardless of how the results go for the remainder of the season, that the current manager will be there for the long haul, or could he be replaced?" How many Leitrim games were you at last year Martin Joe? To say it was the best prepared Leitrim team since Johnno is an absolute joke. Moran and Morrison, Dolan, Dugdale and Breen, and Hyland far superior managers than Andy. So take off your green and red tinted glasses.
Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 188 - 23/02/2025 15:15:30
Replying To LongBall94: "In relation to the U20s team (who we are all now pinning our hopes on as the Senior team is so out of it's depth for a variety of reasons) Does anyone know the panel for Barry McWeeneys men this year?
It can be tricky with Leaving Cert Students etc to get full commitment at this age group.
Off the top of my head (and missing one corner back position) I would guess our team could look like this. But I'm definitely forgetting a few names.
That being said this is an extremely strong team with a lot of them having been stand out performers in our club game in 2024, along with last years U20 experience, then with our school teams this year - they are all very positive experiences for any young team so it should leave them in good stead. Who else am I forgetting here? O'Rourke, McBrien, Lowe etc would all be good impact subs. Are the young Gardiner lads from St Marys eligible?
Brian Cull
Oran Foley Eanna McNamara
Jack Rowley? Jack Foley Colm McLoughlin
Ben Guckian Bailey McBride
Gavin Gallagher Darren Cox Tom Plunkett Brian Keaney Paul Honeyman Jack Kelly" Where's senan mooney? A fine man for Annaduff during their time in senior last year. Oisin molloy is another talent from down south Leitrim, a fine midfielder whom towers over Bailey, a trait which is a necessity for the middle of the park under these new rules.
Ross1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 12 - 23/02/2025 15:46:20