Dublin V Roscommon

Replying To Romell01:  "Well that didn't go as you hoped. Not taking the beating Ros dished out to you lot in Castlebar very well are you.
I can tell you one thing that is happening this summer. Ros will go further in the Championship than Mayo.
McStay is too gung ho & will be found out when it counts."
Lol no offence lad but for all the finals Mayo have lost they know how to win big games and they will be itching to get another go at the Rossies. Roscommon haven't won a big game in Croker for a long, long time.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 30/05/2023 14:14:28    2482900

Replying To Joxer:  "That's football these days for you. I used to enjoy watching it but gone are the days of releasing fast runners into the corner, lads running off the shoulder, rampaging wing backs and high fielding inside forwards. Give me the old days of Dublin v Mayo man to man games any day over this hand passing in your own half for 5m with your keeper playing in the half forwards. Lads training hard for 12 months of the year to play tag rugby."
Agree totally. Painful. I see it at club level, fellas spending hours hand passing the ball. How could that be called football?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 30/05/2023 14:51:16    2482927

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lol no offence lad but for all the finals Mayo have lost they know how to win big games and they will be itching to get another go at the Rossies. Roscommon haven't won a big game in Croker for a long, long time."
We probably never drew with Dublin before either.
We'd love another crack at Galway, Rhubarbs would love another crack at us, Kerry would love another crack at the Rhubarbs, Armagh might desire another crack at Derry......

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 30/05/2023 15:28:06    2482945

Replying To Joxer:  "That's football these days for you. I used to enjoy watching it but gone are the days of releasing fast runners into the corner, lads running off the shoulder, rampaging wing backs and high fielding inside forwards. Give me the old days of Dublin v Mayo man to man games any day over this hand passing in your own half for 5m with your keeper playing in the half forwards. Lads training hard for 12 months of the year to play tag rugby."
JOXER. Did Ciaran Kilkenny not act as quarter back for years implementing Jason Sherlocks basketball tactics? Circulating the ball over and back endlessly until the right gap appeared. I did not hear you complaining then!
Part of the problem last Sunday was all 15 Dublin players retreating very deep for much of the match. It takes two to tango.
I agree with you, that it is not as enjoyable as the old days. Jim McGuiinness and Rory Gallagher have a lot to answer for, but their players (Donegal) have All Ireland medals in their back pockets. Up to Dessie and the lads to come up with a new plan.

PS. If the GAA fix the Kildare v Roscommon match for Croke Park will Kildare have an advantage as Glen Ryan seems to think that they are too familiar with the pitch? (Playing too many games there)

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 494 - 30/05/2023 16:24:35    2482964

It was absolutely terrible to watch. Very effective for Rossies, and fair play to them for getting what they wanted out of the game, but omg - shocking to pay in for that...
On a side note - the Rossie fans on the Hill, didnt half give Mayo some stick... no songs about Galway but they gave Mayo plenty....

The only way to counter those tactics is, tackle hard and hope for turnovers, or get an early lead and force other team to come out an play - Dubs did neither in 1st half. Which in itself was alarming tbh.

I will hold judgement until after this weekend, but how the bookies had Dublin as AI favorites is madness imo.

After the moaning GR went on with the last day, I expect a much better finely tuned Dublin performance this weekend.
Looking forward to the trip down to Kilkenny.
For me, the performance this weekend will tell a tale.

Also, a word for the Hurlers. That first half performance v Galway was right up there with the best I have seen from a Dublin Hurling team. In the 2nd half, we didnt win enough puck outs or 50:50 balls imo but we fully deserved a draw out of it. They played some really top notch hurling in the game and some great scores. Good to see a good crowd of Dubs in early for the Hurlers also. Hoping for more but at least quite a few arrived in to shout the team on.

Anyway, hopefully both the Dublin Hurlers and Footballers kick on now after last weekend.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 30/05/2023 16:29:16    2482968

Replying To Fionn:  "It was absolutely terrible to watch. Very effective for Rossies, and fair play to them for getting what they wanted out of the game, but omg - shocking to pay in for that...
On a side note - the Rossie fans on the Hill, didnt half give Mayo some stick... no songs about Galway but they gave Mayo plenty....

The only way to counter those tactics is, tackle hard and hope for turnovers, or get an early lead and force other team to come out an play - Dubs did neither in 1st half. Which in itself was alarming tbh.

I will hold judgement until after this weekend, but how the bookies had Dublin as AI favorites is madness imo.

After the moaning GR went on with the last day, I expect a much better finely tuned Dublin performance this weekend.

Also, a word for the Hurlers. That first half performance v Galway was right up there with the best I have seen from a Dublin Hurling team. In the 2nd half, we didnt win enough puck outs or 50:50 balls imo but we fully deserved a draw out of it. They played some really top notch hurling in the game and some great scores. Good to see a good crowd of Dubs in early for the Hurlers also. Hoping for more but at least quite a few arrived in to shout the team on.

Anyway, hopefully both the Dublin Hurlers and Footballers kick on now after last weekend."
Dublin invented that style of play, now you know how the whole country felt watching ye play keep ball for minutes on end.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 772 - 30/05/2023 16:45:05    2482972

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lol no offence lad but for all the finals Mayo have lost they know how to win big games and they will be itching to get another go at the Rossies. Roscommon haven't won a big game in Croker for a long, long time."
True to a point but Mayo have lost 11 All Ireland Finals since 1989 and until such time as they win one, there will be doubts. Roscommon have not won a championship game in Croke Park since August 1980 so we have a lot to prove ourselves. We had another chance last Sunday but didn't close it out. Still it was good to go toe to toe with the mighty Dubs . It's an open championship with no clear favourite really.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 30/05/2023 17:14:59    2482979

Replying To Fionn:  "It was absolutely terrible to watch. Very effective for Rossies, and fair play to them for getting what they wanted out of the game, but omg - shocking to pay in for that...

Anyway, hopefully both the Dublin Hurlers and Footballers kick on now after last weekend."
Singing songs about Mayo….on one of their biggest days in years. Jesus that's pathetic. Watched the game in my local and everyone was cheering on Roscommon.

Wouldn't mind another meeting with them in Croke Park.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 30/05/2023 18:25:08    2483004

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Dublin invented that style of play, now you know how the whole country felt watching ye play keep ball for minutes on end."
Dublin only really reverted to that in 2019 and 2020 as counter to increasing negativity from others. And as corrective to loss of scoring power with departure of Brogans, Connolly etc. Ironically it was Kerry who shut up shop against Dublin in 2019 when a man up for 40 minutes.

Fair play to Roscommon for getting tactics right against Mayo and Dublin. They are under no obligation to entertain anyone :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2524 - 30/05/2023 18:34:02    2483010

Replying To endgame:  "True to a point but Mayo have lost 11 All Ireland Finals since 1989 and until such time as they win one, there will be doubts. Roscommon have not won a championship game in Croke Park since August 1980 so we have a lot to prove ourselves. We had another chance last Sunday but didn't close it out. Still it was good to go toe to toe with the mighty Dubs . It's an open championship with no clear favourite really."
Literally the point I was making to the over confident supporter on the Roscommon record in Croker. Mayo have a lot to prove if they get to a final. But if they meet Roscommon on the way there I would be very confident.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 30/05/2023 19:10:30    2483017

Replying To endgame:  "True to a point but Mayo have lost 11 All Ireland Finals since 1989 and until such time as they win one, there will be doubts. Roscommon have not won a championship game in Croke Park since August 1980 so we have a lot to prove ourselves. We had another chance last Sunday but didn't close it out. Still it was good to go toe to toe with the mighty Dubs . It's an open championship with no clear favourite really."
I'll take losing 11 All Irelands since 89 over not having a smell of an All Ireland since then.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 30/05/2023 19:14:29    2483018

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Dublin invented that style of play, now you know how the whole country felt watching ye play keep ball for minutes on end."
They came up with a system that dismantled the blanket after 2014 thus rendering it useless.

There's a reason, it wasnt invented for the laugh, it was in response to something, and your statement above is quite blatantly lacking of any sort of merit.

If it was a few years ago, they've have done the same to Roscommons approach last Sunday, but Gavin is gone and with it the discipline and system that would have exposed that approach.

Dublin just aren't your same beast.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/05/2023 20:14:35    2483033

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "JOXER. Did Ciaran Kilkenny not act as quarter back for years implementing Jason Sherlocks basketball tactics? Circulating the ball over and back endlessly until the right gap appeared. I did not hear you complaining then!
Part of the problem last Sunday was all 15 Dublin players retreating very deep for much of the match. It takes two to tango.
I agree with you, that it is not as enjoyable as the old days. Jim McGuiinness and Rory Gallagher have a lot to answer for, but their players (Donegal) have All Ireland medals in their back pockets. Up to Dessie and the lads to come up with a new plan.

PS. If the GAA fix the Kildare v Roscommon match for Croke Park will Kildare have an advantage as Glen Ryan seems to think that they are too familiar with the pitch? (Playing too many games there)"
Ha, yeah. The only difference is that Kilkenny played quarter back around the opposition 45 for a minute or too. He wasn't fist passing to his own goalkeeper in his own half for 6m. Canavan has called it out well this week, 77 hand passes for nearly 6m, most of it in their own half. It's within the rules and I blame Dublin for not pressing them. Gavin was able to unlock that style of blanket defence. Farrell has some work to do.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 30/05/2023 21:42:53    2483042

The dubs have been doing it for years. Running down the clock in big games, getting all their men behind the ball but ye were lucky the likes of Brolly and other pundits were eager to stay on the right side of the dubs so they never moaned. What's good for the goose, etc

timeforachange (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 31/05/2023 09:12:43    2483064

To be fair Dublin did not invent that style. What's played these days by all counties isn't FOOTball. It's more like basketball on grass with a few players still able to kick the ball.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 31/05/2023 10:10:06    2483078

Replying To baire:  "To be fair Dublin did not invent that style. What's played these days by all counties isn't FOOTball. It's more like basketball on grass with a few players still able to kick the ball."
Simple solution for you.. Dont watch it. As I've said before Statler and Waldorf from the muppet show springs to mind. If you dont like a show , criticise it once and then stop going, and let those of us that love the sport enjoy it.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 31/05/2023 10:33:20    2483089

Replying To yew_tree:  "Singing songs about Mayo….on one of their biggest days in years. Jesus that's pathetic. Watched the game in my local and everyone was cheering on Roscommon.

Wouldn't mind another meeting with them in Croke Park."
I was on the Hill and there was no singing by Ros fans and no singing about Mayo.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1078 - 31/05/2023 10:38:19    2483091

Replying To yew_tree:  "Singing songs about Mayo….on one of their biggest days in years. Jesus that's pathetic. Watched the game in my local and everyone was cheering on Roscommon.

In fairness Yew Tree I think the extreme stuff between Mayo and Ros is really based on a small section of fans from both teams. Probably from clubs bordering each other. Don't get me wrong we love to beat Mayo but in fairness I for one and plenty other Ros fans I know would always shout for Mayo when they are in the semi's, final etc. That goes for Galway too, I would like to think most Connacht teams will always shout for each other. I'm delighted that Connacht teams are doing so well at present and great to see Sligo improving all the time also. Hopefully in two to 3 years we'll have 4 Connacht teams in Div 1

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 103 - 31/05/2023 11:04:28    2483103

There looked to be about 10 Ros supporters in the Hill and were a bunch of young lads. Hardly a representative sample.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 772 - 31/05/2023 11:31:23    2483117

Replying To baire:  "To be fair Dublin did not invent that style. What's played these days by all counties isn't FOOTball. It's more like basketball on grass with a few players still able to kick the ball."
Wasn't it Jason Sherlock though who saw what could be transferable from basketball to football and did just that? I heard him talk in detail on off the ball about being heavily influenced by basketball in his GAA coaching.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 772 - 31/05/2023 11:38:29    2483121