Dublin Footballers v New Zealand Rugby team Monday

Replying To keeper7:  "You can be as PC as you like but is it not shocking to see a school in Ireland ban the playing of Irish games?"
Of course it is, any school in any country which bans the playing of the national sports should be a source of embarrassment for everyone involved. I had a look at Castleknocks website to see if the situation had changed in recent years. It states:
However rugby is not the only sport played at the college, there are many others to choose from. The college offers athletics, tennis, table tennis, cross-country running, cricket, basketball, soccer (for senior players), even golf and rowing.
Colaiste Eoin is clearly a school which promotes Irish language, music, sport and culture and I don't see anything wrong with that. However in some of Dublin's private schools every effort seems to be made to promote anything except that which is unique to Ireland which is a sorry state of affairs.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 12/11/2016 16:50:47    1933783

"However rugby is not the only sport played at the college, there are many others to choose from. The college offers athletics, tennis, table tennis, cross-country running, cricket, basketball, soccer (for senior players), even golf and rowing."

Wow...just wow...

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 12/11/2016 17:43:51    1933792

However in some of Dublin's private schools every effort seems to be made to promote anything except that which is unique to Ireland which is a sorry state of affairs.
Soma (UK) - Posts:1652 - 12/11/2016 16:50:47
That simply isn't true. And there is plenty of schools in Dublin that are fee paying that have church of Ireland/Methodist origins and many pupils will be from these backgrounds and will never have played GAA

"However rugby is not the only sport played at the college, there are many others to choose from. The college offers athletics, tennis, table tennis, cross-country running, cricket, basketball, soccer (for senior players), even golf and rowing."
Wow...just wow...
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts:3127 - 12/11/2016 17:43:51
They offer lots of sports. Which is great to see. GAA isn't played due to maybe no interest as all strong GAA players will be in other local schools?

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 12/11/2016 18:19:50    1933800

Ormond,

"GAA isn't played due to maybe no interest as all strong GAA players will be in other local schools?"

Can you stop already. Please.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 12/11/2016 18:32:06    1933808

Replying To keeper7:  ""However rugby is not the only sport played at the college, there are many others to choose from. The college offers athletics, tennis, table tennis, cross-country running, cricket, basketball, soccer (for senior players), even golf and rowing."

Wow...just wow..."
What's so wow about it. A rugby school doesn't do gaa. Who de f**k cares - let them do what they want, it's not the 1950s.
Going to a rugby school didn't do MDMA Conal Keaney Cian O Sullivan etc any harm

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 12/11/2016 19:04:29    1933818

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Could I be so bold as to ask why you do not believe Castleknock College has banned the playing of gaelic games? From speaking to alumni I believe playing rugby is not just encouraged but compulsory, and while there are many sports that can be competed in the College have banned the playing of gaelic games for close to 100 years now. To be honest I see this as something to be pitied rather than bothered about.
Soma (UK) - Posts:1651 - 11/11/2016 22:26:48
Because they don't. They don't focus on GAA but there has been teams in past competing in gaelic comps with other rugby playing schools.
Rugby is compulsory for all first and second years in the school bar those who physically cant play. I see no issue with that in any school as too often there is dozens of kids who don't take part in any physical activity.

Agreed but there are far more schools where the playing of foreign games like rugby are 'discouraged' to put it mildly
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts:4198 - 12/11/2016 08:05:26
Discouraged and banned. Saw it in one of the two secondary schools I attended and rugby was banned for quite some time before some teaching changes brought rugby into the school"
Not true Ormo that castleknock have competed in that GAA competition . GAA is banned in the school. The fact that they have players playing for Castleknock GAA clubs actuallt shows it is not down to lack of interest but any actual ban.

Schools should play whatever the pupils want where feasible be it rugby GAA soccer or anything else. Howevet it is wrong though to tar the rugby schools as the only ones who 'ban' other sports. Plenty of Gaa schools do them same in practice. Hopefully times are changing though. Xbox and playstation are the past times to be concerned about

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 12/11/2016 20:52:46    1933858

Replying To bad.monkey:  "
Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Could I be so bold as to ask why you do not believe Castleknock College has banned the playing of gaelic games? From speaking to alumni I believe playing rugby is not just encouraged but compulsory, and while there are many sports that can be competed in the College have banned the playing of gaelic games for close to 100 years now. To be honest I see this as something to be pitied rather than bothered about.
Because they don't. They don't focus on GAA but there has been teams in past competing in gaelic comps with other rugby playing schools.
Rugby is compulsory for all first and second years in the school bar those who physically cant play. I see no issue with that in any school as too often there is dozens of kids who don't take part in any physical activity.

Agreed but there are far more schools where the playing of foreign games like rugby are 'discouraged' to put it mildly
Discouraged and banned. Saw it in one of the two secondary schools I attended and rugby was banned for quite some time before some teaching changes brought rugby into the school"
Not true Ormo that castleknock have competed in that GAA competition . GAA is banned in the school. The fact that they have players playing for Castleknock GAA clubs actuallt shows it is not down to lack of interest but any actual ban.

Schools should play whatever the pupils want where feasible be it rugby GAA soccer or anything else. Howevet it is wrong though to tar the rugby schools as the only ones who 'ban' other sports. Plenty of Gaa schools do them same in practice. Hopefully times are changing though. Xbox and playstation are the past times to be concerned about"
i agree...no school should prevent people from playing whatever sport they want to..ormo is really scraping the barrel

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 12/11/2016 21:19:54    1933865

Replying To showforit:  "What's so wow about it. A rugby school doesn't do gaa. Who de f**k cares - let them do what they want, it's not the 1950s.
Going to a rugby school didn't do MDMA Conal Keaney Cian O Sullivan etc any harm"
That doesn't make it right. Anyway, calling it a "rugby school"...it's supposed to be an institution of education first & foremost. To go to the trouble of excluding Irish sports when practically everything else conceivable is catered for...

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 12/11/2016 21:28:42    1933871

Replying To keeper7:  "That doesn't make it right. Anyway, calling it a "rugby school"...it's supposed to be an institution of education first & foremost. To go to the trouble of excluding Irish sports when practically everything else conceivable is catered for..."
it is a fee paying private school - most people aren't going to consider going to it. Ye can't compel them to offer it. It's like going into an Audi dealership and insist he sells you a bmw.

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 12/11/2016 22:44:52    1933876

Replying To showforit:  "it is a fee paying private school - most people aren't going to consider going to it. Ye can't compel them to offer it. It's like going into an Audi dealership and insist he sells you a bmw."
And people question why rugby has a stigma...

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 12/11/2016 22:58:12    1933878

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Agreed but there are far more schools where the playing of foreign games like rugby are 'discouraged' to put it mildly"
there is no point having a school rugby team in most of rural Ireland, there are no other schools to play!

manfromdelmonte (UK) - Posts: 541 - 13/11/2016 18:18:38    1933969

Replying To keeper7:  "And people question why rugby has a stigma..."
You could go into any dealership and buy any type of car if you are willing to pay for it. It just shows that Snobbery is alive and well in parts of our capital city

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 13/11/2016 19:37:07    1933985

Seriously, who gives a toss? It's better that they corral themselves off like that, away from decent and half-decent folk, most who don't even know the twats exist

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 13/11/2016 19:44:33    1933988

Replying To flack:  "Seriously, who gives a toss? It's better that they corral themselves off like that, away from decent and half-decent folk, most who don't even know the twats exist"
Class!

Intentional pun.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7351 - 13/11/2016 21:38:02    1934020

So you think it is a good idea to force somebody into playing a sport in a place of education.What an enlightened school that seems to be.Do they not realize people go to school for an education not for sport. I can only imagine the reaction if people were forced into playing football or hurling in any school.

Believe it or not there are other ways to exercise besides playing rugby.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 14/11/2016 08:16:29    1934049

I am old fashioned and would prefer to see Dublin doing promotions in our own schools who have always supported the GAA Ethos and traditions.

But the Games are on a path towards complete or semi professionalism and it will be more about money. So if AIG pay for a gig they will call the tune.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 14/11/2016 09:38:02    1934065

Some amount of moaning begrudgers on here with the same old tired arguments about rugby. This event sounds like a good opportunity to showcase the GAA, our national sport (and unique to us) to the New Zealand people who would be interested.

stranmillis29 (Antrim) - Posts: 787 - 14/11/2016 12:30:33    1934113

I never realised this school didn't allow the playing of gaelic games.Sounds like the posh,boarding school i grew up near called Kings Hospital.Even though it had a Palmerstown address where i grew up,i didn't know one person who gad any connection to it

As young lads during the summer months we used to cross it's ample fields beside the M50 toll bridge and to drink down by the Liffey across from the Anglers Rest.We used to hide in the woods behing the tennis courts and collect all the balls that flew over the wire fences.Some days we went home with 100 balls and we got a few chases across the hockey pitches off the posh boys and their equally well-to-do teachers.
Rugby was a foreign game to us then.Hockey?We hadn't a clue.We couldn't understand a school like this.A boring place that stunk of superiority.I don't know if they even heard of GAA.We used to love taking the snake hiss with the snobby boarders.A total clash of culture and class.Another reason i have no time for rugby and it reminds me of this Castleknock place.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/11/2016 13:34:29    1934138

Replying To cuederocket:  "I never realised this school didn't allow the playing of gaelic games.Sounds like the posh,boarding school i grew up near called Kings Hospital.Even though it had a Palmerstown address where i grew up,i didn't know one person who gad any connection to it

As young lads during the summer months we used to cross it's ample fields beside the M50 toll bridge and to drink down by the Liffey across from the Anglers Rest.We used to hide in the woods behing the tennis courts and collect all the balls that flew over the wire fences.Some days we went home with 100 balls and we got a few chases across the hockey pitches off the posh boys and their equally well-to-do teachers.
Rugby was a foreign game to us then.Hockey?We hadn't a clue.We couldn't understand a school like this.A boring place that stunk of superiority.I don't know if they even heard of GAA.We used to love taking the snake hiss with the snobby boarders.A total clash of culture and class.Another reason i have no time for rugby and it reminds me of this Castleknock place."
* Across from the Strawberry Hall and not the Anglers as first stated.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/11/2016 13:38:57    1934140

I've met people who have gone to private schools who played club GAA at inter county level as well as playing senior rugby and hockey. I've also met people who were private schooled that were so ignorant about GAA, one middle aged guy who never saw a Hurley in the flesh.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1911 - 14/11/2016 13:54:54    1934149