Meath v Armagh

Lucky to be only a point down at half-time. Armagh much sharper in the first half and took some fine scores helped by loose defending and the breeze. Newman's first-half goal kept things close on the scoreboard. Our forwards struggled to hold onto the ball and break tackles. Meath were much improved second half and won comfortably enough in the end. Sean Tobin was a good substitution (should have started). Power struggled early on in particular. Great kickout/pass from POR to COS on the stand side second half.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 31/01/2016 16:53:25    1820891

Very importantly to get 2 points today . Armagh were very poor but we will take the win . Keoghan was a class apart , defence worked hard overall but very concerning that Harnan has to insist on taking the ball into the tackle and more often than not losses it and leaves us wide open . Rooney did well and made some good catches but needs a partner to support him . Upfront O Sullivan continues to impress , Tobin made big impression when he was introduced but Newman continues to flatter to deceive . For a big man he just cannot win a 50/50 ball and not the man for FF . Not even sure he should be our free taker as he's too hit and miss . Hopefully Biggy back next week for a game we could get something out of . Any word on Donnacha Tobin or Menton ?

royalpad (Meath) - Posts: 46 - 31/01/2016 17:13:12    1820905

Decent start to the campaign. We usually struggle against the northern teams. Plenty of scope for improvement. Keogan leads by example but for anyone to say Newman was poor is very unfair. Scored 1-4, tracked back when required and made one exceptional tackle near the end (a tackle Keogan would be lorded for).

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 31/01/2016 17:17:48    1820909

We got the win and that's the main thing, plenty to work on of course, I think we coughed up possession very softly on a number of ocassions and I think our inside forwards really need to move around a bit more, they seemed pretty static today.

Keogan was excellent again today, the man is class, also I thought we looked a fitter team than last year which is crucial. Armagh were awful in the second half (they didn't even register a score in the 2nd half) but at least our lads didn't look out on their feet after 60 mins.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 31/01/2016 17:21:41    1820911

Diego

We usually struggle against the northern teams. Plenty of scope for improvement.

We certainly used to struggle badly against northern teams and they still generally are difficult to break down (not just for us but for all teams), but we have to get it out of our heads that we specifically struggle against northern teams.

While it has taken us a ridiculous amount of time to work out how to play northern teams, I don't think we struggle now like we used to and let's be honest while the Ulster teams in our division are good, none of them are unbeatable, we shouldn't put them up on a pedestal.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 31/01/2016 17:49:47    1820926

It was very frustrating the amount of times we got turned over going into contact particularly in the first half...I expected more from the ratoath lads considering they've been playing all the way through the winter, thought they'd be sharper.....power gave Campbell the freedom of navan bar the odd decent tackle. Badly need biggy and tobin back. Restarts were an issue again. All in all can't complain too much, got the win....Armagh were woeful though and were just interested in physical engagements

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 977 - 31/01/2016 18:03:07    1820935

royal pad - very unfair on Newman, he was excellent, looked strong and powerful and essentially won the game with his contribution, what game were you watching...

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 411 - 31/01/2016 18:10:25    1820942

Am not sure Newman deserves the criticism he's getting for to days match, if am honest I've been very critical of both Newman and Tormey lately, newmans frees weren't good today but I thought overall he contributed a lot to the game, ahead of his man nearly every time and got a nice few scores. am not sure about his handling skills tho but I certainly think that was his best match in since possibly 2014. Also I thought Tormey worked quite hard today, one or two bad passes but he looked to me that there was a bit of pride back in the jersey. (Which he hasn't shown in a while) Keoghan first class as usual, thought Finn carried the ball into tackles to often but some very good running off the ball.well done all, the game was won in the first half.

Martinr5399 (Meath) - Posts: 10 - 31/01/2016 18:11:58    1820944

Also lads on here are very harsh on Newman....I'm happy enough for him too miss a few 50/50 balls if he contributes 7 or so points a game and he generally does. Fair too say tormey was much improved today too

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 977 - 31/01/2016 18:12:32    1820945

delighted with the win ,id love to see the goal again . Keogan was on top form as was Tobin. i taught times we could of played the diagonal ball f to both corner forwards as most of the armagh team we bogged down and this wasnt tried enough .Bryan mc Mahom was bullied all day long and i have to be convinced he is intercouny material .
nice win in the new gear had to recheck the eyes a few times to make sure i wasnt at a club game

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 31/01/2016 18:30:03    1820955

Good win today and win is a win. Armagh very poor and there will be stiffer opposition throughout campaign. Thought Newman very good though Sullivan was poor (not sure what Royalpad was watching), along with the two corner forwards- Tobin when he came on did more than the two of them combined for the hour. Our HB 's lack pace just like last year and will be caught as year goes on. Keoghan was the outstanding player on the field. The strongest opposition will be Tyrone and Derry. Looking at Dublin last night (even though Kerry were poor) it is lucky that we are not in Div 1.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 31/01/2016 18:32:36    1820957

Fair play took the points on offer, Armagh will struggle to remain in Div. 2 if this is their best. Good confidence boost for us going forward.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2214 - 31/01/2016 18:48:04    1820961

First of all delighted with the win and for Mick and selectors and panel. But Armagh were very poor today and really miss the Crossmaglen guys. Having gone to the O'Byrne games and today I had been expecting this to be our toughest test but Louth was a tougher / tighter game. Armagh are in serious danger of going straight back down based on today.

Regarding performances, I agree about Keoghan being excellent. As I've said before Keoghan, Burke and Reilly are the spiritual leaders of this team and Burke was also heavily involved today and he knows how to mix it physically and that is needed at the top level along with pace, talent and tactics etc. Paddy did ok and made a couple of decent catches but his distribution varies from erratic to fantastic, more consistency needed.

Full back line was good but I thought that the two wing backs were quite loose. Finn is a nice player but does he ever kick the ball? It is always a lay off handpass to a player beside him. Not tough enough in the tackle imo. I would have liked to have seen Douglas on in there longer than the minute he was put on for.

Midfield was good imo considering our injury plight, I was quite satisfied with Power's workrate considering he is out of position. Some good catches by Rooney. Neither are the finished midfield article but they seem to be our best option atm. I was also happy with Tormey's contribution. Much more involved than last week (when he probably should not have started).

I thought O'Sullivan had a good 1st half but game passed him by a bit in the second. However, the first half performance against the wind was crucial in the winning of the game. Up front Newman did work hard and I think he is also the best option we currently have there. Not consistent enough on frees though. Remember Newman got that crucial goal and he took it v well. Good performance in patches from Lenihan, he is a player I would certainly stick with, one or two very intelligent layoffs.

I would agree about McMahon just being too light and not physical enough for this level. We all realised that some ratoath / Curraha players should come back in but I cannot understand why he was sprung back in. Tobin did excellent when he came on and should start the next day.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 31/01/2016 18:57:36    1820968

Redser123 & brown cows I could ask yous the same question but I respect your views and reading of the game even if it different to mine . That's what makes the forum so interesting . For me O Sullivan is making steady progress and will be a key player for us this year . Showed good movement and awareness today . Still need convincing by Newman and hopefully he will prove me wrong and realize the potential he showed when he burst onto the inter county scene.

royalpad (Meath) - Posts: 46 - 31/01/2016 18:58:15    1820969

Power wasn't midfield oldsam....only named there, he was wing back. Tormey midfield but dropped back very deep as did harnan when we didn't have it.....harnan did well too break quickly and offer himself when we.did have it, we did look a lot fitter then Armagh, then again we looked fit this time last year and then we're blowing hard after 50 mins again westmeath in croker.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 977 - 31/01/2016 19:29:10    1820985

Missed the game, where did Keoghan line out? What did he do that was impressive?

PoppinPoints (Meath) - Posts: 225 - 31/01/2016 19:44:43    1820997

Funnily enough I thought we looked better in other games without the ratoath lads.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1821 - 31/01/2016 19:49:24    1820999

I have to say I was very happy with Newman today in that he contributed much more to the game than frees, Sulllivan showed flashes of brilliance and great eagerness, the guys been out for two years and the more games he gets the better he will get, very happy with our defensive work too some great tackling today and overall I could see an improvement in our strength and fitness even at this early stage of the year. The crucial thing now is to follow that up with two points in Enniskillen before the three week break, today was a good start, plenty to work on of course but a much more positive start to the year than in recent times.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 31/01/2016 19:59:10    1821005

Poppinpoints - re. Keoghan...think Darren Fay circa 1999 and you'll get the idea...

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1821 - 31/01/2016 19:59:23    1821006

Look lads call me crazy but this Meath team is on a hiding to nothing! No men in the team bar Keoghan!! Mick has turfed our players that should still be around panel! Armagh were beyond terrible today meath should have hammered them! The 2010 meath side would hammer the current team!! McGill is decent! Keoghan outstanding!! Rooney has potential! Biggy is biggy best forward we have!! Just don't see men like how sheridan brian Farrell bray list could go on!! If Meath get dublin this year we will be hammered

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1176 - 31/01/2016 20:12:47    1821017