Meath v Armagh

BTW I will miss the Saturday night games,always nice to go for a pint afterwards.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/01/2016 21:31:11    1820561

The atmosphere at the Saturday evening games was much better even though it was fairly chilly more often than not! Everyone seems much more grumpy on a Sunday afternoon..

Coolnahinch (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 30/01/2016 11:36:41    1820602

I like Saturday night games under the lights too, but when Sunday afternoon arrives I miss them. Even more so if Meath have been defeated the night before and all your have is post mortems for the remainder of the weekend. Sunday games spread out the weekend that bit better as Saturdays are busy enough as it is.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 30/01/2016 11:59:10    1820609

Interesting team told ye we wouldn't play too many new players!

But anyway,I see Power is in midfield,perhaps he could be swapped with Harnan?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/01/2016 12:14:40    1820611

P O'Rourke;
D Keogan, C McGill, M Burke;
D Smyth, P Harnan, C Finn;
H Rooney, B Power;
G Reilly, C O'Sullivan, A Tormey;
B McMahon, M Newman, D Lenihan.

The happy medium!

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 30/01/2016 12:21:17    1820613

We're the subs named yet?

Goldstar (Meath) - Posts: 52 - 30/01/2016 12:33:06    1820616

Decent team, be very interesting to see how Smyth and Finn do on the wings, I think Harnan and Power might switch aswell other than that I'd say we'll line out more or less as selected but as we all know numbers mean very little these days. There'll be plenty of players (particularly the forwards) moving in and out the field, Lenihan needs a good run in the team to find his feet and also fingers crossed O'Sullivan can stay fit and get back on form.

Finally great to see Keogan back in his best position and for jaysus sake keep him there!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/01/2016 12:33:11    1820617

Think it's the first time I can really say that we have 6 forwards that are equally capable of contributing 2/3 points each. No passengers. Good to have McGill back. I'd imagine himself and Keogan will stay inside presuming Armagh play a two man ff line. You're probably right there Ziggy. Power and Harnan to switch with Biggy/Tormey perhaps dropping to midfield allowing Harnan to sweep up.

Coolnahinch (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 30/01/2016 12:46:23    1820622

Ziggy I completely agree about the Saturday night games. A couple of pints and analysis afterwards then home to a few bottles and fall asleep to the sound of Bob Dylan. Bliss! Anyway I think these Northern teams will be a beneficial test for Meath and hopefully the lads are relishing the challenge

JohnJoeRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 30/01/2016 13:26:36    1820625

yeah hope so,at least MOD has picked the majority of players were they are best suited.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/01/2016 13:30:06    1820626

Looking at that team I can see Tormey and Reilly alternating at midfield with Power switching to centre back and Harnan operating as a sweeper.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 30/01/2016 13:33:12    1820627

Ziggy I completely agree about the Saturday night games. A couple of pints and analysis afterwards then home to a few bottles and fall asleep to the sound of Bob Dylan. Bliss! Anyway I think these Northern teams will be a beneficial test for Meath and hopefully the lads are relishing the challenge

JohnJoeRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 30/01/2016 13:35:30    1820628

Douglas can feel hard done by, think he was one of the better debutants over the course of the OBC.....would have started him wing back and with option of smyth at 12. Expect there wing back on tormeys side too do a lot of damage tmoro

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 977 - 30/01/2016 13:37:31    1820629

Lads yous can drink away on a Sunday after the game, don't let the thoughts of Monday stop yous!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/01/2016 14:00:32    1820632

jackhackett - alternating between midfield and CB!! I would say that he is very luck to be playing (considering last week end!) and probably better players available.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 30/01/2016 14:10:52    1820634

JohnJoeRoyal

Are you my clone? Bob Dylan is my favorite artist.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/01/2016 14:14:45    1820635

JohnJoeRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 30/01/2016 14:27:46    1820639

Ziggy that's great to hear! I'm a massive fan. If Meath's football this year is as good as our taste in music I think we'll win Sam!!

JohnJoeRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 30/01/2016 15:10:36    1820644

RD-Don't forget the snack box and keep a good eye on it, as some of them boys could not alone empty the box but snatch it as well!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 30/01/2016 15:55:00    1820650

SMG, yes when Donnacha Tobin is fully fit to start and possibly play at midfield, you could play Darragh Smyth at 12 and the side looks stronger.

1. POR
2. Keogan
3. McGill
4. Burke
5. Harnan
6. Power
7. Finn
8. Rooney
9. D. Tobin
10. Reilly
11. COS
12. Smyth