Meath v Armagh

And the great glenny has called it. Good man glenny

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1821 - 27/01/2016 21:11:05    1819870

Pace is needed up from. Wallace or Mc Mahon will have to come in and also i would find room for Mc Entee, all up front. Tobin lovely ball player but tacking and pace would not be his forte and he is the player who comes in with 20 left. Tormey will be in much better form and him and Rooney have the ability to at least break 50 50.

Harnan must play in the backs, end of

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 28/01/2016 08:10:30    1819888

Looking forward to the game on Sunday. If I bring a bodhrán, will everyone join in? Let me know if you've any tunes to suggest. First I was thinking of 'You'll never beat the Royals'. If things aren't going too well for us in the game we should focus the tunes on the Armagh lads

JohnJoeRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 56 - 28/01/2016 09:49:02    1819903

He certainly has not proved himself in defence and I would play him CF . I do not think that anyone who has not previously played has to come in until the proves themselves but again all this is the management's call.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 28/01/2016 10:03:45    1819908

I agree with the Pretender, I think one or two of them need to come in and I think that newman just has not given enough end product (scores from open play) to merit his spot. Fair enough he takes his frees but I have seen him miss some very simple yet crucial ones in past years. being a good free taker should not grant you the start in my opinion. We need to put some fire power back into the meath forwards, as biggy is allowed an off day once in a blue moon and with bray gone, we really need another 1 or 2 sources of scores from play. Perhaps Darragh row is ready to finnaly make the step up? I think he should be given as much game time sduring the league as possibly.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 651 - 28/01/2016 12:02:21    1819965

Lads in all honesty where has this "McEntee is forward" craic come from?

I don't think he's ever played as a forward for Meath, even as minor Andy used him as a sweeper, and now all of a sudden some posters are saying he should start in the forwards against Armagh? How can some say he should start there against Armagh when he's untested, yet in the same sentence say some of the new lads in defence can't start because they don't have enough experience?

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 28/01/2016 12:18:41    1819976

Looking forward to the game on Sunday. If I bring a bodhrán, will everyone join in? Let me know if you've any tunes to suggest.

We know what we are, we know what we arrrrrrrrreee. O'Byrne Cup champions. We know what we are.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 28/01/2016 12:21:35    1819979

I agree with the Pretender, I think one or two of them need to come in and I think that newman just has not given enough end product (scores from open play) to merit his spot. Fair enough he takes his frees but I have seen him miss some very simple yet crucial ones in past years. being a good free taker should not grant you the start in my opinion. We need to put some fire power back into the meath forwards, as biggy is allowed an off day once in a blue moon and with bray gone, we really need another 1 or 2 sources of scores from play. Perhaps Darragh row is ready to finnaly make the step up? I think he should be given as much game time sduring the league as possibly.

Drop Newman for Rowe
A free taker for a free taker, c'mon now that's a bit harsh.

Newmans contribution from open play might not be good enough for some and consistency is an issue but whats the point in dropping him in and out of the team and then say he's inconsistent when he's not getting game time.. He's a great guy to link play and why I'd put him out to 11 or midfield as someone else suggested
Rowe its too early, give him some game time as a sub during the league and see how he does. No use throwing another batch of young players in for the sake of it.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1981 - 28/01/2016 12:27:07    1819982

What part of my post said Swap Newman for Rowe, I love the way people try and twist things on here. Id certainly swap Eamonn Wallace for Newman or McEntee.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 651 - 28/01/2016 12:45:41    1819993

Uncle Fester

McEntee made his championship debut as a corner back,he is more of a forward than a corner back! If you watch him play you will know he is more suited to the half forward line,no debate.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/01/2016 12:49:19    1819996

I think I would start Newman,his ball winning skills and linkup play was good v Longford.He has the ability to score more,but we don't want a small full forward line v Armagh.I would start one of McMahon or Wallace and when one gets tired,bring one on for the other.Either way we should have a strong bench for Sunday and that could be vital.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/01/2016 13:02:47    1820004

Didn't McEntee play around the middle in the Tyrone game last year? He's probably best suited to this kind of box-to-box midfield role. He's very mobile, hard-working, well able to defend and is equally capable of making or taking chances at the other end of the field. Newman had been quite unsteady on the ball last year but his handling seems to have improved so far this year. If he can now think a little quicker on the ball, then he'll be well on his way back to his best form. Lenihan is an excellent ball winner and if he can start to contribute more on the scoreboard, then he'll be well worth his place in the team.

Coolnahinch (Meath) - Posts: 22 - 28/01/2016 13:19:33    1820011

Why is everybody putting tormey in midfield, he is far too immobile in my opinion to play there, we need someone with an engine to compliment Rooney. We're playing Armagh who will drop a lot of lads off for kick outs, POR will kick 70% of his kick outs too at least 3 free short options so there is no need for two big men. Tormey needs to up his workrate or there won't be a place on the team for him let alone such a pivotal role as midfield.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 977 - 28/01/2016 14:01:07    1820031

I think if MOD is thinking of playing mcdonagh ff then tormey may be an option there as he's far superior in that possition. Played a lot of football there and is strong and a good scorer. With bray and SOR gone were down too targets for the ff line for the year

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 977 - 28/01/2016 14:04:04    1820032

Ziggy, you're saying he's more of a forward and that's a fact, yet he's never played there. He was a corner back for the majority of last year and on the odd occasion when the opposition brought their corner forward out he followed.

If I'm being honest I thought he performed very well last year as a defender and as a ball carrier when he came out. Also, thanks for the info about McEntees début! I'm sure nobody was aware of that until you cleared it all up

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 28/01/2016 14:20:30    1820040

Who would you pick southmeathgael? I think most people are picking him there because there is no one else to pick from.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 28/01/2016 14:39:36    1820058

Uncle Fester

McEntee has pace,and is a strong runner,he can take a score too.He is not a natural defender and got caught out badly against Westmeath.
Its madness to play him corner back,you wouldn't mind if he was used a wing back possibly,but corner back no way and I would be stunned if he players there this year..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/01/2016 15:01:10    1820064

I totally agree with 'Southmeathgael' re Tormeys unsuitability for midfield. He just does not have the level of fitness required, The choke is always out on him after a few runs, I remember him taking a free against Westmeath just before halftime and he didn't have the energy to get up the pitch, I have seen him on several occasions over the past year or so where his legs are completely gone and he just becomes a passenger on the team while he tries to ease himself back into the match. I think if there is not a place for him in the full forward line then I don't think he will make the team.

Royal_Rover (Meath) - Posts: 72 - 28/01/2016 16:17:14    1820096

RoyalRover

Ya I tend to agree,he is probably lucky that we are missing some midfielders.If he plays on Sunday he will have to perform(no matter were he plays),otherwise he could well lose his place.
He plays a lot of his football for D/Ash at full forward.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/01/2016 16:40:53    1820107

So guys be brave,what team would we start on Sunday?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/01/2016 16:53:50    1820111