Meath v Armagh

Thought the negatives today was too many looose passes in particular by tormey and Harnan, not sure about either of them going forward, Newman needs to up performance but he was improved today .
Keoghan burke and osullivan Rooney did very well.
Armagh were very poor though. Bit without Reilly we won which is a massive bonus, I think Armagh will struggle not to get relegated without the cross lads, it's baby steps but they in right direction.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/01/2016 20:33:33    1821026

Thought the negatives today was too many looose passes in particular by tormey and Harnan, not sure about either of them going forward, Newman needs to up performance but he was improved today .
Keoghan burke and osullivan Rooney did very well.
Armagh were very poor though. Bit without Reilly we won which is a massive bonus, I think Armagh will struggle not to get relegated without the cross lads, it's baby steps but they in right direction.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/01/2016 20:33:58    1821027

Good win. Keogan reminded me of Fay when he got that point.

cggreene (Meath) - Posts: 2 - 31/01/2016 20:40:15    1821036

Well the thing is keoghan us a corner back not a cetre back . No one in Meath would play him in that position apart from mod last year, it was crazy. A few of the lads looked like boys against men in size today and going forward against bigger teams that's might be a worry, however today is a positive move, but I feel we played worst team in this division, something I didn't think of say. But Armagh were woeful

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/01/2016 21:21:01    1821071

Good win today like most I taught Keoghan was a class act MOM. I taught Newman played well spilled a few balls and kicked a few wides but played well. Why when the ball was breaking in front of Newman especially in the first half Meath players didn't try to in front of him to pick up the lose ball ? Instead there was a Armagh player to mop it up. The goal was a really bonus in the first half. Armagh where able to isolate the Meath defense in the first 20 mins and got some really good quality ball in to there inside forward line and got some really good scores from it. But we kinda got to grips with playing a sweeper and Armagh scores dried up. With better accuracy Meath could have won by more. I over heard Armagh supporter saying the same. Great to see Mickey Newman working hard right to death as people have all ready pointed out.. Tormey as-well but in nice shoulder challenge. Hopefully This game will have brought on the like of Mc Gill, Mc Mahon and Haran etc.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1267 - 31/01/2016 21:42:52    1821083

Graham ... I think you are allowing one freak result (albeit deserved on the day) vs. a Dublin team (in transition; that subsequently went on to much higher level, winning All-Irelands in 2011/13/15) cloud your judgement. We will not go into the Leinster final of 2010, but the AI QF vs. Kildare showed they weren't so great after all. The game itself has moved on so much since 2010.

Stephen Bray was our best player of the last decade, yet was on the field of play vs. Westmeath only last Summer. Joe Sheridan was a very good player (most of the time), but in his last year or so he was poor. Brian Farrell didn't have too many consistently good years at IC level; both of them looked well past it vs Tyrone in 2013. And all three played vs. Wexford and Limerick in 2008. You are looking back a few years with rose-tinted glasses.

No point living in the past. We have had some major injuries in recent years. We may not have had much competition for midfield places for the last decade, but we always had two or three players to choose from for most games. Not now with Conor Gillespie and Adam Flanagan unavailable. We need to address this predicament sooner rather than later. When Donnacha Tobin is back fully fit and hopefully if Bryan Menton returns we will be in a much better position. Our younger players throughout the squad should be given plenty of game time to develop as IC players and gain experience against better/tougher opposition. Cillian O'Sullivan and Darragh Smyth both playing in the half-forward line can kick pass effectively, but they need more movement from our corner forwards, otherwise we will play too much of the running game, passing through the hands.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 31/01/2016 21:47:07    1821086

Well the thing is keoghan us a corner back not a cetre back . No one in Meath would play him in that position apart from mod last year, it was crazy. A few of the lads looked like boys against men in size today and going forward against bigger teams that's might be a worry, however today is a positive move, but I feel we played worst team in this division, something I didn't think of say. But Armagh were woeful

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts:8516 - 31/01/2016 21:21:01

Totally agree with your point about men against boys a lsome Meath players where very soft in tackle and Armagh bulled us in a lot of positions. Mc Mahon was basically bullied out of the game. Defo need to improve in this area. Its been a problem for years now.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1267 - 31/01/2016 21:52:08    1821092

relatively good display. It is good to see momentum being built over the last few games. We really should have won by more but the main aim is to get the win and we did that. If you patch in all of the players missing you would add to yesterday i would be very happy. Positives.
Keoghan, no brainer, one of the best corner back around.
Mc Gill was tidy enough and did well
Burke a bit lose and i would rather not see him attacking. He is taking the ball in the forwards and working it back, forwards need to be on this
Finn, lose but overall if hecan get away with his lack of height (will be a struggle) is a good addition
Harnan, IMO long term postion but he has got to hold the middle. Very lose today but early days
Power, not convinced but he tried his best
Rooney, good catches but needs help there. He needs to get rid of the ball as soon as he gets it
Tormey, Meath need this guy firing in all cylinders. Tough time for him but he did well. Needs to add a few scores to his game. Physical which helps
Smyth, not convinced at all. Very lightweight
Sullivan, good game IMO. Got stuck in and wanted the ball. Few more games and this man will be flying
Newman, he has upped his game considerable and if he continues to get his touch back i would be happy. He is a game changer and needs to work on the frees. dont forget he was marking a very good player and was alway out on front
Mc Entee, poorish game by his standards but he will improve
Lenihan, needs to score. Has the potential and needs to start showing it
Mc Mahon, tough day yesterday for him. Tobin probably should have started but this is a man you need for the summer

When you put Menton, Tobin, Gillespie (hopefully), Reilly, and a few more in there i would be very hopefully. They need to cut out the handling errors but in no doubt they should beat Fermanagh and set themselves up nicely. 5 wins and you will get promoted. One down

pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 01/02/2016 08:24:37    1821109

Did anyone cop on to what the Armagh midfielder (not sure which one) was doing to Rooney when trying to catch the ball ? He seem to be in front of Rooney and had his elbow around Rooney shoulder/neck got a free every-time. It seemed to some sort of clever strategy that worked, hopefully Harry will learn from it.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1267 - 01/02/2016 09:16:39    1821126

Once again Glenny not too far out. Meath won by a little more but who would have expected Armagh not to score at all in 2nd half.

glenny (Meath) - Posts: 1119 - 01/02/2016 09:32:43    1821130

Not sure why some people are moaning to be honest....

I was pleased with that.First of all we won the game,conditions were not great,so we had to show some fight and we did that.Armagh thought they could just push us around,but we did not allow them to do that,we were well able for the physical battle.Another plus was that we won it without Graham Reilly.At times we defended aggressively and in packs.As for individual players,well it was a workmanlike performance,but Keoghan had an excellent game and some people have to get off Newmans back.He won almost every ball that went into him in tricky conditions.Was always available for a pass,scored a super goal too.He was by far our best player in the full forward line.Lenihan struggled a bit and it wasn't a day that suited McMahon.
But overall a pleasing display and great to get the win.Great opportunity for another two points next week too.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/02/2016 09:57:39    1821141

Oh those who say Armagh were poor,that was mainly due to the fact that we did not let them play and I think they were surprised that we stood up to them physically.I loved hearing some Armagh fans moaning about our apparent over physical challenges too!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/02/2016 09:59:30    1821142

Best 15 going Forward

O'Rourke
Keoghan
McGill
Burke
Tobin
Harnen
Finn
Rooney
Menton
Reilly
O'Sullivan
Tormey
McMahon
Newman
Lenehan

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1176 - 01/02/2016 10:34:08    1821168

Good team Graham,I might go with Wallace ahead of Lenihan though

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/02/2016 10:56:47    1821178

grahamc, why are you picking Menton? No indication at all that he in on the way back. Tobin, I agree with picking as he is reported to have been warming up etc with panel before louth game. it is unfair on players on the panel to be picking someone (even though he is a no brainer to be on the team) that has said he is taking a year out and no indication that he is making himself available. Let's pick players that are availale, otherwise people would continue to pick Gillespie. I agree with picking Lenihan but would also go with S Tobin ahead of McMahon.

I think this is what I would go with, I would have a bit of a concern about Smyth, McMahon and Finn at the moment but would hope they would be ones for the future of they bulk up a bit.

O'Rourke
Keoghan
McGill
B. Tormay
Burke
Harnan
Douglas
Rooney
Tobin
Reilly
O'Sullivan
Tormey
S. Tobin
Newman
Lenehan

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 01/02/2016 11:26:43    1821194

That would be the team I would pick oldsam. Would like to see B. Tormay get his chance in the league, thought he was good in the O'byrne cup just a pity he picked up the red. Am I the only one who would prefer Douglas over Finn?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 01/02/2016 11:38:13    1821203

I'd go Douglas over Finn too. Great man to deliver a pass into the inside forward line. Solid in the O'Byrne Cup & deserves a chance.

RedMeath12 (Meath) - Posts: 117 - 01/02/2016 11:51:00    1821209

Wasn't aware Menton was out for the year!! Would replace him with Tormey at Midfeild maybe bring in Sean Tobin of Eamon Wallace!! Would like to see Eamon Wallace play Midfeild!! Worth a shot he has pace and could carry the ball too,himself and Tormey could swap at times

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1176 - 01/02/2016 12:21:28    1821222

Finn hasn't done a lot wrong but I do like Douglas and I'd like to see him getting a run in the team, see how he gets on. Douglas is a big physical lad and he's not afraid of a bit of contact, we could really that at the minute because there are a few small players knocking about.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/02/2016 12:22:01    1821223

Anybody else get a warm fuzzy feeling seeing Meath get into fraccas with armagh lads? Great to see, and shows desire to win and teamwork ie. An attack on one of our lads is an attack on all

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1821 - 01/02/2016 12:34:45    1821228