Donegals tactics have been very effective all year. But they took it to a new level yesterday. If I was a Donegal man yesterday no matter how much I backed mcguinness previously I would be livid that he didn't have the balls to push on and win the game. Whatever for their tactics which got them that far, it was the same tactics that lost them the match yesterday. Jim mcguinness bottled it yesterday because he was too frightened to take the game to Dublin. Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 29/08/2011 16:55:07 1022039 Link 0 |
On come on Hillman, don't miss the point. gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 29/08/2011 16:55:38 1022040 Link 0 |
gigoer thats exactly it in your last line until they met a better team hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/08/2011 17:05:11 1022052 Link 0 |
A very diverse set of views on this and valid points made by both sides. Dublin's experience at this level told yesterday. Bad days and harsh lessons at the hands of Tyrone, Kerry and Cork have been learned and the bad points made good. However, to completely write off Donegal's style of play is wrong in my view. I met Jimmy McGuinness a few months ago and had a decent conversation with him and the style of play came up. He said (and has repeated publicly since) that for years Donegal tried to play nice open football and got hammered. He said that they used to play against Tyrone, get plaudits for giving it a go and got hammered. As a result things had to change. He is also on record saying that they have to improve the attacking side of their game. This does not happen overnight. The main focus is making yourself hard to beat, which they have done and the next phase is to do probably what Tyrone mastered first and Dublin have now mastered as well, being able to attack and defend with numbers equally well. omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 29/08/2011 17:15:11 1022072 Link 0 |
There must have been a fantastic atmosphere there yesterday lads.....couldn't even hear the ref's whistle at times on the TV. Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 29/08/2011 17:19:33 1022083 Link 0 |
derry_ledd....How do you think glenties won their county championship by parking 15 behind the ball so their u 10s have probably beeen doing that for the last 6 years!!...Its amazing how everyone constantly has a go at mayo after every defeat at croke park...well at least we never resorted to the tactics witnessed yesterday and hand on heart i believe most most mayo people if they were given the choice between getting to the final and playing like that or losing in the semi fianl would take losing in the semin final any day...The bigger picture is unlike soccer when ireland were hoofing the ball forward is that it is a global game gaelic football is an indeginous game so the bigger picture is that even if 70% of soccer games are muck the exposure from the 30% decent games makes this irrelevent..If yesterday was the 2nd most important game played by 2 out of the 5 best teams in the country the game itself is in serious trouble jibber (Mayo) - Posts: 117 - 29/08/2011 17:23:45 1022089 Link 0 |
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/08/2011 17:38:12 1022113 Link 0 |
As I walked away from watching that game, all I could keep saying to myself was WOW, did I just actually witness that. It's challenging to come up with enough cogent adjectives to truly encapsulate one's feelings for what was truly an awful example, of sport of any kind. Gaelfan21 (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 29/08/2011 17:46:44 1022117 Link 0 |
yes jibber and we should lock up our daughters...if mayo still believe they can win an all ireland playing pretty football, they are living in the past...you should tell james horan that because he has definitely perfected the "dark art" of packing the defence...don't buy into all the nonsense written and said by the dublin based media...the final will be exactly the same with 2 teams packing their defence when they get their noses in front...don't be fooled by the spillane hyperbole about the utopian game..it doesn't exist,and never actually did...just watch the re-runs on tg4 of the tripe that was dished up in the seventies and eighties mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 29/08/2011 17:47:14 1022120 Link 0 |
Fantastic atmosphere alright, the Hill really came alive after the sending off. Definately worth 3 4 points a game to the Dubs. Our own fans made themselves heard also, it was great to be there to saviour the atmosphere. Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 29/08/2011 17:48:45 1022121 Link 0 |
jibber- thats exactly why we are where we are; ie not having won sam in 60 years. I'd certainly prefer to sacrifice this pure entertainment football lark for seeing a mayo man collecting sam in the hogan. To me winning is all that counts. Sure isnt Horan going down that road himself this year (granted its not as extreme as donegal)- the only difference is that he tried to take the game to the opposition when they fell behind. Did you see the county final last year with Ballintubber and Castlebar? very similar to yesterdays game- but i dont think the ballintubber lads are/were too bothered about that. I can totally see McGuinness' logic in what he's doing and agree with it to a certain extent- he just needs to get the players to realise when to attack and to tweak his plan a bit to get the best out of murphy et al don_juan (Mayo) - Posts: 26 - 29/08/2011 17:52:20 1022125 Link 0 |
Yesterdays game was fascinating from a tactical viewpoint. I cannot understand all this talk of anti football and Donegal should be ashamed etc. Jim McGuinness has come up with a new tactic and it is up to the opposition to counteract it. The Donegal followers like supporters in every county are just looking for success their footballers have done them proud this year in terms of effort and discipline. Donegal will probably need to get a better balance between defence and attack if they are to win an All Ireland but they made great strides this year. mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 29/08/2011 17:53:51 1022129 Link 0 |
I feel alot of people are being very harsh on Donegal. I felt Dublin didnt do enough on the day to break down that blanket defence and their shooting was very very wasteful. however they where patient and credit to them they came through , But ala Cork last year , Ultimately experience in the last 5-10 minutes of being in situations like Dublin yesterday is what got us over the line waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 29/08/2011 17:55:57 1022132 Link 0 |
There was a great atmosphere, and fair play to the Donegal supporters for coming in great numbers. 30,000 coming from Donegal is some support. And as always the Dubs bring great numbers and banter to CP. Hopefully yous will go on and win it now. The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 29/08/2011 18:03:56 1022139 Link 0 |
That is a very good post Omaghredhand, and not a bad one from the Dub Hill16no1 a page back. Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 29/08/2011 18:05:15 1022143 Link 0 |
The Donegal team done their best to kill the atmosphere with their style of play but they lost that battle also! PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 29/08/2011 18:19:34 1022150 Link 0 |
First of all I'd like to congratulate Dublin on their win yesterday , the Dublin supporters that I met are a credit to your county and very good winners. Best of luck to you in the final and hope you win. Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 29/08/2011 18:31:13 1022157 Link 0 |
PJ Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 29/08/2011 18:48:29 1022171 Link 0 |
I thought we were poor yesterday. We had weeks to prepare for donegal and it looked like we hadnt a clue? Just about fell over the line, thank God. People are being too harsh on donegal. We had to change after getting hammered by kerry and tyrone recently. I dont want to be on the end of a hammering just to entertain some pundit or the 'back in the good ole days' brigade. We need to cop on and try to replicate the quarter final form. Otherwise it'll be a turkey shoot for kerry. JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 29/08/2011 19:13:32 1022191 Link 0 |
Watched the game in Paidi O Shea's pub in Ventry. Paudi bursts in just before kick off grabs a seat in front of one of the tellys. Elbows on table his jaw propped up by his mighty fists he watches the game with religous intensity (For about 20 mins) then abruptly Paidi jumps up and walks out. Now maybe Paidi had to be somewhere else but to my mind he wanted to be somewhere else and to be honest I wouldn't blame him. That game was awful to watch, if teams continue to play like that they will have to change the rules to limit the number of players any team may have in either half of the pitch at any one time. In addition to the Ref/Linesmen and Umpires we will now have to employ "The Counters" to ensure we have a watchable product. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 29/08/2011 19:16:34 1022193 Link 0 |