Wexford Club Hurling 2025

Replying To Doylerwex:  "He wasn't injured at all this year. He got dropped after a brilliant performance in thurles."
I saw him play at home v KK and he was simply miles off the pace that evening. Far from the only one don't get me wrong.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 436 - 15/07/2025 16:25:50    2625879

Replying To countyman2022:  "You really haven't a clue."
Stop will ya. There's nothing happened in Wexford hurling since the 90s that I'm not aware of.

Knowledge going back to the 50s wouldn't be bad either.

Be that as it may I'm willing to humour you. What's wrong with what I said?

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3836 - 15/07/2025 17:22:45    2625905

Replying To Doylerwex:  "He wasn't injured at all this year. He got dropped after a brilliant performance in thurles."
He played ok in Thurles for sure. Hardly pucked a ball the following game in the Park against Kilkenny, although in fairness neither did plenty more of our lads. He was on the panel for the Clare and Galway games after that. Seem to be alot of myths floating around on here.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16567 - 15/07/2025 18:19:31    2625921

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Stop will ya. There's nothing happened in Wexford hurling since the 90s that I'm not aware of.

Knowledge going back to the 50s wouldn't be bad either.

Be that as it may I'm willing to humour you. What's wrong with what I said?"
I wouldn'nt give you the satisfaction of knowing the the in's and out's of it tbh. Embarrasing making up stories just to have your few words on here though.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 847 - 16/07/2025 09:00:46    2625977

Replying To countyman2022:  "I wouldn'nt give you the satisfaction of knowing the the in's and out's of it tbh. Embarrasing making up stories just to have your few words on here though."
Whatever you think yourself mate.

Nothing of it made up. This is one example of many in terms of good lads not getting a fair shake.

The same as duggan and Lawlor "walking away".

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3836 - 16/07/2025 09:12:42    2625982

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Whatever you think yourself mate.

Nothing of it made up. This is one example of many in terms of good lads not getting a fair shake.

The same as duggan and Lawlor "walking away"."
Again, false. One was not asked into panel due to age at this stage of career. The other due to differences with the other goalkeeper. Stop making things up, please. Its embarrassing. Its the false rumors like what you are spreading that drag things down.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 847 - 16/07/2025 09:37:52    2625991

Not sure it's fair to say he didnt get a fair shake. He didn't play well against Kilkenny, and his starting position was given to Kevin Foley for the subsequent Clare game. Seamus Casey and Cian Byrne also started against Clare in Ennis. I was there. Seamus had a game up there, and Cian got sent off for trying to score a goal by pulling on the ball.
For the Galway game after that Keith went strong, both with an eye on the Championship, and also to try to stay up in 1a.
Conall wasn't on a panel after that I dont think.
In what way was he treated unfairly? Who should he started instead of against Clare or then Galway? Or who should he have come on instead of?
I think hes a very good player, but at intercounty level you have to take your chance when it's there. If he'd of done well against Kilkenny I'm sure he'd of started against Clare. Then if he did well in Ennis, he'd of started against Galway. That's the way top level sport goes.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16567 - 16/07/2025 09:42:31    2625992

Replying To countyman2022:  "Again, false. One was not asked into panel due to age at this stage of career. The other due to differences with the other goalkeeper. Stop making things up, please. Its embarrassing. Its the false rumors like what you are spreading that drag things down."
Ok lad.

Your summary of the second goalkeeper is nonsense anyway. I know both of them personally.

You of all people accusing me of dragging things down is the ultimate irony.

People on here can have differences of opinion here with the underlying point being that we all want the best for Wexford hurling.

It is clear from the content of your posts that you do not.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3836 - 16/07/2025 10:22:25    2626008

Replying To Viking66:  "Not sure it's fair to say he didnt get a fair shake. He didn't play well against Kilkenny, and his starting position was given to Kevin Foley for the subsequent Clare game. Seamus Casey and Cian Byrne also started against Clare in Ennis. I was there. Seamus had a game up there, and Cian got sent off for trying to score a goal by pulling on the ball.
For the Galway game after that Keith went strong, both with an eye on the Championship, and also to try to stay up in 1a.
In what way was he treated unfairly? Who should he started instead of against Clare or then Galway? Or who should he have come on instead of?
I think hes a very good player, but at intercounty level you have to take your chance when it's there. If he'd of done well against Kilkenny I'm sure he'd of started against Clare. Then if he did well in Ennis, he'd of started against Galway. That's the way top level sport goes."
I agree with that and would have given Casey motm in Ennis.

That logic is absolutely sound, but what is unfair is that there are others in the panel who couldn't get off it if they tried regardless of their performance levels.

How is it that some are invincible and others fall out of favour after one dip in performance?

We aren't spoiled with options in Wexford. We need to manage our talent better and not be falling out with lads if we can avoid it.

There's a discussion that takes place with all the extended panel at the beginning of the season as to what they can expect in terms of minutes. This has not been honoured.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3836 - 16/07/2025 10:27:37    2626009

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Ok lad.

Your summary of the second goalkeeper is nonsense anyway. I know both of them personally.

You of all people accusing me of dragging things down is the ultimate irony.

People on here can have differences of opinion here with the underlying point being that we all want the best for Wexford hurling.

It is clear from the content of your posts that you do not."
Of course you would know them both personally, more lies. You have absolutely zero knowledge of the actual insights of the current squad, mgmt and its workings. We can all see that from your posts. You have basically none of the background on whats happening. In fairness, you have good knowledge of the club scene. But your misinformation regards the hurling panel is ludicrous. Never near a county set up in your life.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 847 - 16/07/2025 12:11:11    2626033

Not sure it's fair to say he didnt get a fair shake. He didn't play well against Kilkenny, and his starting position was given to Kevin Foley for the subsequent Clare game. Seamus Casey and Cian Byrne also started against Clare in Ennis. I was there. Seamus had a game up there, and Cian got sent off for trying to score a goal by pulling on the ball.
I think hes a very good player, but at intercounty level you have to take your chance when it's there. If he'd of done well against Kilkenny I'm sure he'd of started against Clare. Then if he did well in Ennis, he'd of started against Galway. That's the way top level sport goes.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16567 - 16/07/2025 12:44:48    2626042

Replying To countyman2022:  "Of course you would know them both personally, more lies. You have absolutely zero knowledge of the actual insights of the current squad, mgmt and its workings. We can all see that from your posts. You have basically none of the background on whats happening. In fairness, you have good knowledge of the club scene. But your misinformation regards the hurling panel is ludicrous. Never near a county set up in your life."
Just to be clear. I know Mark and James. I don't know Aaron. They are the two I was referring to.

Seanie Flood is my cousin..I will admit there may be a bias on my part that has influenced my view.

I have been involved with Wexford underage teams throughout the early 00s.

I was also involved in an s and c capacity in Liam Dunne's first year as manager.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3836 - 16/07/2025 12:55:43    2626048

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I agree with that and would have given Casey motm in Ennis.

That logic is absolutely sound, but what is unfair is that there are others in the panel who couldn't get off it if they tried regardless of their performance levels.

How is it that some are invincible and others fall out of favour after one dip in performance?

We aren't spoiled with options in Wexford. We need to manage our talent better and not be falling out with lads if we can avoid it.

There's a discussion that takes place with all the extended panel at the beginning of the season as to what they can expect in terms of minutes. This has not been honoured."
It's not true to say anybody is guaranteed minutes at the start of the year. No manager could make such a promise. Intercounty isn't go games.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16567 - 16/07/2025 13:16:02    2626056

Replying To Viking66:  "It's not true to say anybody is guaranteed minutes at the start of the year. No manager could make such a promise. Intercounty isn't go games."
It's not a promise. It's a discussion about expectations and ambition. Fringe players are given an indication of what opportunities they can expect during the year.

For example, Lee Chin is going to be away. A conversation might take place with Jack Redmond saying you'll get x opportunities and this is what I need from you etc. Then discuss key performance indicators and measures of success. Fairly standard stuff.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3836 - 16/07/2025 13:48:13    2626066

Replying To Doylerwex:  "It's not a promise. It's a discussion about expectations and ambition. Fringe players are given an indication of what opportunities they can expect during the year.

For example, Lee Chin is going to be away. A conversation might take place with Jack Redmond saying you'll get x opportunities and this is what I need from you etc. Then discuss key performance indicators and measures of success. Fairly standard stuff."
Of course. And Conall did get playing time. More than Aaron did. And if he had scored a couple against Kilkenny he'd of started against Clare.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16567 - 16/07/2025 13:54:46    2626074

Replying To tearintom:  "Our entire set up is akin to an adult version of go games in all honesty.

No jeopardy, no pressure sure just hurl away boys and have a go for a few months.

Take a week off there for the fleadh aswell boys sure can't have ye missing that (although to be fair i think thats more and administrative reason) and there's session in a field in Laois there aswell, heaven forbid ye might have to take a bit of responsibility and make a tough decision or two. Sure it's grand lads go off an take your holidays, I know we changed the entire gaa calendar and threw out over 100 years of tradition so ye could know when to take a holiday but head off anyway in the middle of championship for your holidays.

We must have one of the softest touch championship set ups in the country and as the saying goes "soft times breed weak men"

We have basically developed a club culture around excuses, comfort and a lack of jeopardy, then wonder why we struggle as a county when the pressure comes on. We're breeding it.

We can complain about county boards and development squads etc etc all we like but this is on us, from the clubs."
Champo should be unforgiven have a straight knockout

Hurler20 (Wexford) - Posts: 3 - 16/07/2025 17:49:12    2626139