Attendances 2025

Replying To TheFlaker:  "But our Cavan friend said hurling is fine and has big attendances and all is great?"
He might cop on when he turns 6.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 507 - 12/05/2025 13:59:28    2608842

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Not one bit but I'm afraid you might just be a bit dense… Hurling crowds have always been on the small side as most counties except Kilkenny draw from generally small areas of their county… Kilkenny/ Offaly would not bring a big crowd as it was a forgone conclusion… You are correct in saying football structures are wrong but that's down to the greed of the GAA when the crowds dropped to paltry amounts…. they just put on more games ( mostly meaningless ) to fool clowns into paying in… If Dublin had been in the Leinster Final there wouldn't have been 30k at it… The novelty effect brought the people out which was great.. The football championship won't start until it becomes knockout.. and anyone paying into games before that would need their head examined…!"
So you say hurling is really entertaining but has always had poor attendances ? Makes sense

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8385 - 12/05/2025 14:27:09    2608855

2025 GAA Championship Attendances:

65,786 - Louth vs Meath (Croke Park) (F)
43,243 - Cork vs Tipp (Páirc Uí Chaoimh) (H)
32,295 - Tipp vs Limerick (Thurles) (H)
28,778 - Donegal vs Armagh (Clones) (F)
27,137 - Mayo vs Galway (Castlebar) (F)
21,288 - Armagh vs Tyrone (Clones) (F)
20,778 - Clare vs Cork (Ennis) (H)
20,685 - Clare vs Tipp (Ennis) (H)
16,120 - Monaghan vs Donegal (Clones) (F)
15,023 - Donegal vs Derry (Ballybofey) (F)
14,358 - Cork vs Kerry (Páirc Uí Chaoimh) (F)
13,181 - Kerry vs Clare (Fitzgerald Stadium) (F)
12,101 - Waterford vs Limerick (Walsh Park) (H)
12,078 - Waterford vs Clare (Walsh Park) (H)
10,753 - Galway vs Roscommon (Salthill) (F)
10,126 - Meath vs Dublin (Portlaoise) (F)
10,073 - Offaly vs Galway (Tullamore) (H)
9,221 - Donegal vs Down (Clones) (F)
9,179 - Mayo vs Sligo (Castlebar) (F)
8,243 - Kilkenny vs Galway (Nowlan Park) (H)
7,734 - Dublin vs Wexford (Parnell Park) (H)
7,000 - Kildare vs Westmeath (Newbridge) (F)
6,791 - Tyrone vs Cavan (Omagh) (F)
6,670 - Louth vs Kildare (Tullamore) (F)
6,600 - Wicklow vs Dublin (Aughrim) (F)
6,000 - New York vs Galway (Gaelic Park) (F)
5,731 - Meath vs Offaly (Navan) (F)
5,394 - Dublin vs Offaly (Parnell Park) (H)
5,225 - Kilkenny vs Offaly (Nowlan Park) (H)
4,774 - Wexford vs Antrim (Wexford Park) (H)
4,531 - Leitrim vs Mayo (Carrick On Shann) (F)
4,157 - Fermanagh vs Down (Brewster Park) (F)
4,000 - Antrim vs Armagh (Corrigan Park) (F)
3,347 - Meath vs Carlow (Navan) (F)
2,893 - Clare vs Tipp (Ennis) (F)
2,042 - Limerick vs Cork (Gaelic Grounds) (F)

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 326 - 12/05/2025 14:34:59    2608861

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Not one bit but I'm afraid you might just be a bit dense… Hurling crowds have always been on the small side as most counties except Kilkenny draw from generally small areas of their county… Kilkenny/ Offaly would not bring a big crowd as it was a forgone conclusion… You are correct in saying football structures are wrong but that's down to the greed of the GAA when the crowds dropped to paltry amounts…. they just put on more games ( mostly meaningless ) to fool clowns into paying in… If Dublin had been in the Leinster Final there wouldn't have been 30k at it… The novelty effect brought the people out which was great.. The football championship won't start until it becomes knockout.. and anyone paying into games before that would need their head examined…!"
Your going around in circles lad. There isn't much wrong with the football structures and the rule changes have proved that. You don't need to constantly change the structure when the rule changes have made the competitions far more competitive. The only issue is that its far too tightly packed and need spacing out.

For those who think we need more tiers in football to eliminate so called meaningless games where you have to pay in... have a look at the hurling results at the weekend. Dublin won by 15 points, Kilkenny won by 15 points, Galway won by 10, Roscommon won by 17, Westmeath won by 10, Cavan won by 12, Mayo won by 15, Wicklow won by 10 and Derry won by 23. They look competitive? and this is across all 4 tiers.

Stop tinkering because at this point I don't think we are even sure of the problem we are trying to solve

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 555 - 12/05/2025 14:41:03    2608867

Football is dead and nobody likes it . But you think hurling is class but admit that only Munster draws a crowd. Some craic

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8385 - 12/05/2025 14:52:44    2608878

Too many games in too short a time but crowds are still going to football. Not easy on families so everyone should be applauded. Problem is it'll be over all too soon.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2295 - 12/05/2025 14:55:51    2608879

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "
Replying To dahayeser:  "Football
65,786 Louth Meath
28,778 - Donegal Armagh
1,900 Sligo Tipp

Hurling
20,685 Clare Tipperary
4,658 Galway vs Wexford
5,200 Kilkenny vs Offaly

Really small Leinster hurling crowds. I think Galway have given up for the year despite some good wins they have had a few damaging hammerings that have led supporters to believe they have no chance of silverware this year. Offaly still a long way off the pace has put there pending bandwagon on hold too. I'd say Wexford fans have seen enough to dampen down any enthusiasm there.

Could really do with Dublin getting a shock win over the cats next week and a Wexford repeating that the following weekend to give the competition any shot in the arm."
You think Galway have 'given up' and Munster teams haven't. Bur why haven't they? The Cork Tipp NHL and MHC games of recent weeks established beyond doubt really, that Tipp aren't within an asses roar of Cork currently. And Tipp along with KK are likely the 3rd best teams in the country, in light of Clare's falloff this season.

That's leads to one obvious conclusion, which is that despite the 'great' MHC and teams 'never giving up' in it, they're are only TWO contenders for McCarthy Cup 2025, Limerick and Cork. An improvement on 4or5 years back maybe, when there was only one contender."
I think it is just the way it has fallen to be honest that means all the Munster counties seem to have a bit of hope.

Look at Tipp first they had a great league up to the final. Limerick draw restored confident, can't read a lot into the second Cork game with 14 men. Look at how Cork coped against Clare with 14 foe less that half a game. They have now beaten the All Ireland Champions in Ennis. Their fans can see they are making progress.

Clare Defending All Ireland Champion

Limerick one of the greatest teams of all time. Big support. Plenty to keep them interested. Could lose to Cork and Clare and be eliminated.

Cork, Coming team, bandwagon in full flow.

Waterford - bit like the Leinster teams, nothing to indicate they were going to do anything and as a result tickets were slow to shift for Walsh Park. Definitely the poorest supported. Then they go and beat the All Ireland Champions in their first game.

The Munster Championship has been on a high for a few years but it has often fallen perfectly results wise. This year the 2 teams that could have tailed off the bottom Tipp and Waterford, have gone and beaten the All Ireland champions. Net result everyone has reason to be somewhat optimistic or worried

If Galway beat the Cats in a cracker in Nolan Park at the start of the Leinster Championship I'd imagine their support would double. If Offaly beat any of the big 4 teams the would have got massive support. Wexford go on a run - same. Unfortunately none of these things have happened and it's reflected in the crowd.

I don't care about this Munster v Leinster nonsense. I like hurling to be going well everywhere. We have got very lucky the way the Munster Championship has fallen in recent years. Great teams but results have fallen nicely to maintain interest too. It won't last for ever. If one or two teams tail off interest drops big time. Similarly Leinster has potential to get very interesting. Lets hope it does.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 370 - 12/05/2025 15:14:41    2608885

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Football is dead and nobody likes it . But you think hurling is class but admit that only Munster draws a crowd. Some craic"
That Walter Mitty lad from Cavan is so dense that he will never return from Cloud Cuckoo Land. Goes around in circles contradicting himself constantly. Sad when you can not go out and enjoy our games for what they are. How intelligent can one be when they cannot figure out that gaelic gootball and hurling are 2 totally different sports. I am not a lover of hurling but respect all who are. I do not go around throwing insults at them just because I do not get enjoyment from watching hurling.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 507 - 12/05/2025 16:39:47    2608927

Replying To StoreysTash:  "My father made a point last night, he was in Parnell Park 2 weeks ago and said he had no appetite to be in Salthill on Saturday afternoon at 3pm. He said it was time to look at an alternative championship structure or swap Galway and Waterford in their respective championships? Galway border Clare, Tipp and Limerick is down the motorway. Waterford border Kilkenny, Wexford and Offaly is not a million miles way. Dublin and Antrim are a bit of a hike obviously.
Call it "east" and "west" championship. Whatever.
The current structure is not working outside of Munster and it is killing the game everywhere else and the low crowds back this up. There has to be a better way."
East and West, or have you B and A in mind really.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4141 - 12/05/2025 17:03:47    2608935

Replying To Viking66:  "Galway have won 1 AI since they joined Leinster. They have only won 1 in over 35 years."
Wexford 1 in 56 years. Galway 4 in that spell.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4141 - 12/05/2025 17:07:39    2608937

Replying To dahayeser:  "
Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "[quote=dahayeser:  "Football
65,786 Louth Meath
28,778 - Donegal Armagh
1,900 Sligo Tipp

Hurling
20,685 Clare Tipperary
4,658 Galway vs Wexford
5,200 Kilkenny vs Offaly

Really small Leinster hurling crowds. I think Galway have given up for the year despite some good wins they have had a few damaging hammerings that have led supporters to believe they have no chance of silverware this year. Offaly still a long way off the pace has put there pending bandwagon on hold too. I'd say Wexford fans have seen enough to dampen down any enthusiasm there.

Could really do with Dublin getting a shock win over the cats next week and a Wexford repeating that the following weekend to give the competition any shot in the arm."
You think Galway have 'given up' and Munster teams haven't. Bur why haven't they? The Cork Tipp NHL and MHC games of recent weeks established beyond doubt really, that Tipp aren't within an asses roar of Cork currently. And Tipp along with KK are likely the 3rd best teams in the country, in light of Clare's falloff this season.

That's leads to one obvious conclusion, which is that despite the 'great' MHC and teams 'never giving up' in it, they're are only TWO contenders for McCarthy Cup 2025, Limerick and Cork. An improvement on 4or5 years back maybe, when there was only one contender."
I think it is just the way it has fallen to be honest that means all the Munster counties seem to have a bit of hope.

Look at Tipp first they had a great league up to the final. Limerick draw restored confident, can't read a lot into the second Cork game with 14 men. Look at how Cork coped against Clare with 14 foe less that half a game. They have now beaten the All Ireland Champions in Ennis. Their fans can see they are making progress.

Clare Defending All Ireland Champion

Limerick one of the greatest teams of all time. Big support. Plenty to keep them interested. Could lose to Cork and Clare and be eliminated.

Cork, Coming team, bandwagon in full flow.

Waterford - bit like the Leinster teams, nothing to indicate they were going to do anything and as a result tickets were slow to shift for Walsh Park. Definitely the poorest supported. Then they go and beat the All Ireland Champions in their first game.

The Munster Championship has been on a high for a few years but it has often fallen perfectly results wise. This year the 2 teams that could have tailed off the bottom Tipp and Waterford, have gone and beaten the All Ireland champions. Net result everyone has reason to be somewhat optimistic or worried

If Galway beat the Cats in a cracker in Nolan Park at the start of the Leinster Championship I'd imagine their support would double. If Offaly beat any of the big 4 teams the would have got massive support. Wexford go on a run - same. Unfortunately none of these things have happened and it's reflected in the crowd.

I don't care about this Munster v Leinster nonsense. I like hurling to be going well everywhere. We have got very lucky the way the Munster Championship has fallen in recent years. Great teams but results have fallen nicely to maintain interest too. It won't last for ever. If one or two teams tail off interest drops big time. Similarly Leinster has potential to get very interesting. Lets hope it does."]What you say is all true. But the grim reality is that Cork hockeyed Tipp twice in similar fashion in big games recently. They'll hockey them a third time in Croke Park this year, if the occasion arises. Tipp 2025 are probably the third best team in the country on 2025 form to date. You can talk about HOPE and OPTIMISM all you like, but there's REALITY too, and if hope and optimistim are boosting MHC attendances, that's great, but I won't be looking past Limerick or Cork as allireland '25 winners, and nobody else is either in truth.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4141 - 12/05/2025 17:24:02    2608947

Replying To Lúla571210:  "A cavan man saying people paying is mad no surprise there..."
Well spotted.....By the way well done Louth

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 490 - 12/05/2025 17:49:18    2608955

Ah now, are you not going to the Mayo v Cavan match in Castlebar?

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 490 - 12/05/2025 17:53:59    2608957

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Ah now, are you not going to the Mayo v Cavan match in Castlebar?"
That would be a long trip for a lad to make from England.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15766 - 12/05/2025 18:03:07    2608959

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Wexford 1 in 56 years. Galway 4 in that spell."
I'm not that old Pope ;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15766 - 12/05/2025 18:04:57    2608963

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Ah now, are you not going to the Mayo v Cavan match in Castlebar?"
No I don't need my head examined….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3856 - 12/05/2025 21:05:07    2609004

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "That Walter Mitty lad from Cavan is so dense that he will never return from Cloud Cuckoo Land. Goes around in circles contradicting himself constantly. Sad when you can not go out and enjoy our games for what they are. How intelligent can one be when they cannot figure out that gaelic gootball and hurling are 2 totally different sports. I am not a lover of hurling but respect all who are. I do not go around throwing insults at them just because I do not get enjoyment from watching hurling."
How intelligent can a person be who thought there was nothing wrong with the way football was being played and could see nothing wrong with the current Championship structure for football… How intelligent could someone be who think's basketball is a better game than hurling…? Oh dear o dear… Give your head a wobble… good lad

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3856 - 12/05/2025 21:10:16    2609006

Just another excuse for the tight Caaavan man not to dig into his long pockets and pay for something. Back to the football, massive crowds and great entertainment with more to come.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2295 - 12/05/2025 22:28:04    2609029

Replying To Saynothing:  "Just another excuse for the tight Caaavan man not to dig into his long pockets and pay for something. Back to the football, massive crowds and great entertainment with more to come."
Walter Mitty the tight Cavan gassoon. Has now a problem understanding Englush. He gets so frustrated reading posts, he replies to stuff I never mentioned. Though maybe I will now put basketball ahead of hurling as I have just returned from the Garden after watching à game of unbelievable skill between Boston and New York. Really makes hurling skills look a little mundane. At the atmosphere with 19,000+ in attendance compare with any of the Munster venues.. As for new football rules,I dont know if they have improved the game for the knowledgable fan but they have made it more like outdoor basketball. As for the new structure, if it does eventually come in it will be a one year wonderand then gone never to be heard of again.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 507 - 13/05/2025 05:38:11    2609048

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Walter Mitty the tight Cavan gassoon. Has now a problem understanding Englush. He gets so frustrated reading posts, he replies to stuff I never mentioned. Though maybe I will now put basketball ahead of hurling as I have just returned from the Garden after watching à game of unbelievable skill between Boston and New York. Really makes hurling skills look a little mundane. At the atmosphere with 19,000+ in attendance compare with any of the Munster venues.. As for new football rules,I dont know if they have improved the game for the knowledgable fan but they have made it more like outdoor basketball. As for the new structure, if it does eventually come in it will be a one year wonderand then gone never to be heard of again."
Back to your basketball…. Good lad… leave the GAA conversation to those of us in the know..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3856 - 13/05/2025 10:04:27    2609099