Club Championship 2025

Replying To Head4TheBlackSpot:  "The Meath Championship is in the gutter. Teams are finished playing by September, and the format is all wrong.
The team that finishes top of the group should go straight through to a quarter-final.
2nd and 3rd place should play in a preliminary quarter-final.
The bottom seed should go into relegation.
Groups should be seeded the following year based on this format.
Right now, you have situations like Ballinabrackey reaching a quarter-final while clubs like Dunboyne and Gaeil Colmcille are either relegation or finished for the year. How can you justify having the last four winners of the intermediate championship stuck in the same group? And teams are going through on just two points - it's no wonder Meath clubs never compete properly in Leinster or beyond."
Rubbish post, the only thing that needs to be added is seeding of groups.

having 3 out of 4 teams qualify from a group is nonsense, in that scenario a team can qualify on 1 point.

Dunboyne and Gaeil Colmcille are in relegation or finished because they haven't been good enough all year, its as simple as that.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 04/09/2025 08:26:15    2634834

Replying To Head4TheBlackSpot:  "The Meath Championship is in the gutter. Teams are finished playing by September, and the format is all wrong.
The team that finishes top of the group should go straight through to a quarter-final.
Right now, you have situations like Ballinabrackey reaching a quarter-final while clubs like Dunboyne and Gaeil Colmcille are either relegation or finished for the year. How can you justify having the last four winners of the intermediate championship stuck in the same group? And teams are going through on just two points - it's no wonder Meath clubs never compete properly in Leinster or beyond."
Completely disagree with this post, teams are done in September because they haven't won enough games simple as, they have no one but themselves to blame. Re- the last four intermediate teams includes the defending champions , who were full money for their championship last year and two other intermediate teams who bet the champions.

I agree Meath teams haven't done well in Leinster is a worrying sign but that's nothing to do with the championship structure just more indicative to the lack of quality which was evident to see with poor Meath
Sennior teams in the past. Hopefully this will change in the years to come

Faithfulmeath (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 04/09/2025 10:55:28    2634853

Replying To ratlag:  "Rubbish post, the only thing that needs to be added is seeding of groups.

having 3 out of 4 teams qualify from a group is nonsense, in that scenario a team can qualify on 1 point.

Dunboyne and Gaeil Colmcille are in relegation or finished because they haven't been good enough all year, its as simple as that."
You clearly don't have a clue what you're talking about, respectfully. They didn't fail to get out of the group because of their ability, but because of terrible non-seeding. In reality, both would have comfortably qualified from any of the other three groups.

The current format is ridiculous. At least with a preliminary quarter-final, every team would be guaranteed one more game. Having teams like St Colmcilles, Ballinabrackey, and Seneschalstown in the same group is a waste of time, while putting Rathkenny, Meath Hill, and Trim together makes no sense either.

This set-up is doing our county no good when it comes to club football, and that's being shown in Leinster. You can argue all you want, but the proof is there: some of the weakest senior teams are reaching quarter-finals every year because of the flawed format. What we need is a more competitive and balanced group stage.

DefenceWinsChampionships (Meath) - Posts: 49 - 04/09/2025 11:24:09    2634857

What exactly is wrong with Ballinabrackey reaching a quarter final? In previous years, the Bracks have sometimes had rotten group draws meaning they were involved in a relegation battle when they probably didn't deserve to be. This year, they didn't exactly have an easy draw either yet got two wins from three. But you seem to think that Dunboyne and Kells, who could only manage two wins between them, somehow deserve to be in a quarter final ahead of them? Kells have been in the relegation playoffs for each of the last three seasons (in one of those seasons, finishing behind Ballinabrackey in the groups) while Dunboyne were in the relegation playoffs in 2022 (again, finishing behind Ballinabrackey) and 2023.

And you complain about teams being able to qualify on two points yet in the same paragraph, want third place to qualify for the knockouts. This would mean that a team could conceivably qualify by drawing one game and losing two.

In my view, the Meath championship is one of the most competitive senior championships in the country. I'd wager that, since the turn of the century, Meath have likely the highest number of different SFC winners in the province. This means that there's never only a handful of clubs dominating but it also dilutes the overall strength of the eventual winners, meaning that our SFC winners very rarely compete. Even when Meath were at our peak from the late 80s to late 90s, no Meath club won the senior provincial title and only Seneschalstown (1994) made a Leinster final in that time.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1409 - 04/09/2025 12:03:08    2634864

I would disagree, I think the format of the championship is brilliant.

Group of deaths are my favourite.

Relegation is more cut throat now with only two games to save your bacon.

There are two ways to look at it, the last 4 intermediate teams all in the one group means a weak format.
The four groups each had a one winner from the last 4 senior championships it's very balanced.

Only change I would suggest is changing the championship to 12 teams and really make a bear pit.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 449 - 04/09/2025 12:42:23    2634874

Seeded draw is the only change needed. Semi finallist from the prior year as top 4 seeds. Intermediate champions and the 3 teams that survived the relegation playoffs from the previous year as bottom seeds. Open draw for the remaining 8 spots over 4 groups.
3rd place team into preliminary quarter final has to be a joke.

Amarach (Meath) - Posts: 65 - 04/09/2025 15:37:50    2634904

Is a intermediate quarter final in Dunganny Pitch 6 the height of disrespect to the 2 teams (Dunsany/Moynalvey) involved? Nice surface and all but surely there were more appropriate venues for a game of this calibre.

GoalsWinGames (Meath) - Posts: 309 - 04/09/2025 15:39:07    2634905

Replying To GoalsWinGames:  "Is a intermediate quarter final in Dunganny Pitch 6 the height of disrespect to the 2 teams (Dunsany/Moynalvey) involved? Nice surface and all but surely there were more appropriate venues for a game of this calibre."
Completely agree , dunganny's new pitch is lovely and one of the better surfaces in Meath but it's a terrible Venue, no real atmosphere whats so ever

Faithfulmeath (Meath) - Posts: 29 - 04/09/2025 23:11:44    2634945

Replying To DefenceWinsChampionships:  "You clearly don't have a clue what you're talking about, respectfully. They didn't fail to get out of the group because of their ability, but because of terrible non-seeding. In reality, both would have comfortably qualified from any of the other three groups.

The current format is ridiculous. At least with a preliminary quarter-final, every team would be guaranteed one more game. Having teams like St Colmcilles, Ballinabrackey, and Seneschalstown in the same group is a waste of time, while putting Rathkenny, Meath Hill, and Trim together makes no sense either.

This set-up is doing our county no good when it comes to club football, and that's being shown in Leinster. You can argue all you want, but the proof is there: some of the weakest senior teams are reaching quarter-finals every year because of the flawed format. What we need is a more competitive and balanced group stage."
Maybe not, but my opinion is definitely the more common one here and seems to apply the most logic to it.

Your opinion contradicts itself, giving out about teams qualifying on 2 points but proposing a system where the they can qualify on 1 point without even winning a game.

The only thing that could help improve things slightly (and I mean slightly is seeding of groups), although Defending champions Dunshaughlin this year were beaten by what would have been a 3rd and 4th seed team so there is still no guarantee of improvements for all teams.

And on you comment of Dunboyne and Gaeil Colmcille not being in Quarterfinals but Balinabracky getting there, based on a seeding process that group would have looked as follows:

Skryne - Seed 1 (Semi Finalist)
Dunboyne - Seed 1 (Semi Finalist)
Summerhill - Seed 2 (Quarter Finalist)
Kells - Seed 3 (Finished 3rd)

So you could swap Rathkenny in for Skyrne if you wanted, but as mentioned above they managed to beat Dunshaughlin and narrowly lose to Trim in their first 2 games so I'd say both could easily have missed out in Trim's group and in Would Tones group of NA Fianna and Ashbourne Simonstown

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 05/09/2025 09:00:30    2634952

Replying To ratlag:  "Maybe not, but my opinion is definitely the more common one here and seems to apply the most logic to it.

Your opinion contradicts itself, giving out about teams qualifying on 2 points but proposing a system where the they can qualify on 1 point without even winning a game.

The only thing that could help improve things slightly (and I mean slightly is seeding of groups), although Defending champions Dunshaughlin this year were beaten by what would have been a 3rd and 4th seed team so there is still no guarantee of improvements for all teams.

And on you comment of Dunboyne and Gaeil Colmcille not being in Quarterfinals but Balinabracky getting there, based on a seeding process that group would have looked as follows:

Skryne - Seed 1 (Semi Finalist)
Dunboyne - Seed 1 (Semi Finalist)
Summerhill - Seed 2 (Quarter Finalist)
Kells - Seed 3 (Finished 3rd)

So you could swap Rathkenny in for Skyrne if you wanted, but as mentioned above they managed to beat Dunshaughlin and narrowly lose to Trim in their first 2 games so I'd say both could easily have missed out in Trim's group and in Would Tones group of NA Fianna and Ashbourne Simonstown"
Just not tire but whatever you want to believe

DefenceWinsChampionships (Meath) - Posts: 49 - 05/09/2025 14:03:24    2635000

After three rounds of the Senior Championship Ratoath are the top team in overall scores with a total of 7-6-36 (69 points) followed by Wolfe Tones 5-4-42 (65 points).
Ratoath also top the charts in goals scored with 7, followed by Dunshaughlin (6) and Ballinabrackey (5) & Meath Hill (5).
Although Simonstown are in a relegation semifinal they are joint leaders with Summerhill in the most two pointers scored, both with 8, followed by Don/Ash, Dunboyne & Rathkenny all on 7.
Wolfe Tones are by far the leaders when it comes to knocking over single points, they scored 42, followed by Ballinabrackey on 37, Ratoath Trim & Skryne all hit 36 single pointers.

madmeath (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 07/09/2025 12:03:14    2635158

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "What exactly is wrong with Ballinabrackey reaching a quarter final? In previous years, the Bracks have sometimes had rotten group draws meaning they were involved in a relegation battle when they probably didn't deserve to be. This year, they didn't exactly have an easy draw either yet got two wins from three. But you seem to think that Dunboyne and Kells, who could only manage two wins between them, somehow deserve to be in a quarter final ahead of them? Kells have been in the relegation playoffs for each of the last three seasons (in one of those seasons, finishing behind Ballinabrackey in the groups) while Dunboyne were in the relegation playoffs in 2022 (again, finishing behind Ballinabrackey) and 2023.

And you complain about teams being able to qualify on two points yet in the same paragraph, want third place to qualify for the knockouts. This would mean that a team could conceivably qualify by drawing one game and losing two.

In my view, the Meath championship is one of the most competitive senior championships in the country. I'd wager that, since the turn of the century, Meath have likely the highest number of different SFC winners in the province. This means that there's never only a handful of clubs dominating but it also dilutes the overall strength of the eventual winners, meaning that our SFC winners very rarely compete. Even when Meath were at our peak from the late 80s to late 90s, no Meath club won the senior provincial title and only Seneschalstown (1994) made a Leinster final in that time."
Fair play to RatoathRoyal - someone whose opinions I've always respected. I think it's fair to say both of us have come a long way since Round 1.

As mentioned earlier, we've given everything at this level since 2021, and we're going to enjoy next Saturday in Pairc Tailteann. It's a brilliant occasion for the club.

There are plenty of frustrated voices from bigger towns and clubs who often try to undermine the achievements of smaller clubs. But what we've done this season is built on hard work and dedication from both players and management.

Best of luck to all clubs involved in the knockout and relegation battles.

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1124 - 08/09/2025 10:30:44    2635283

Replying To DefenceWinsChampionships:  "You clearly don't have a clue what you're talking about, respectfully. They didn't fail to get out of the group because of their ability, but because of terrible non-seeding. In reality, both would have comfortably qualified from any of the other three groups.

This set-up is doing our county no good when it comes to club football, and that's being shown in Leinster. You can argue all you want, but the proof is there: some of the weakest senior teams are reaching quarter-finals every year because of the flawed format. What we need is a more competitive and balanced group stage."
Your point on seeding is valid, I have always thought the group stages should be seeded to avoid lobsided groups.

I would seed the 8 previous years' quarter finalists 1-8. So Winners and Runners up are 1 & 2, beaten semi finalists are 3 & 4, and the 4 beaten quarter finalists are 5-8.

Each group would have a 1-4 seed team, a 5-8 seed team, and the other two can be an open draw. So that way you get balanced groups.

I completely disagree with 3 team going through though, the current format of 2 advancing, 3rd being safe and 4th going into relegation is by far the best format. I hated it when it was 2 go through, 2 go to relegation, feels like every game mattered this year.

Fix the seeding, and you fix the issue of 4 good teams been stuck in the same group.

Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 74 - 08/09/2025 10:59:01    2635289

Replying To Cabbagepatch1667:  "Your point on seeding is valid, I have always thought the group stages should be seeded to avoid lobsided groups.

I would seed the 8 previous years' quarter finalists 1-8. So Winners and Runners up are 1 & 2, beaten semi finalists are 3 & 4, and the 4 beaten quarter finalists are 5-8.

Each group would have a 1-4 seed team, a 5-8 seed team, and the other two can be an open draw. So that way you get balanced groups.

I completely disagree with 3 team going through though, the current format of 2 advancing, 3rd being safe and 4th going into relegation is by far the best format. I hated it when it was 2 go through, 2 go to relegation, feels like every game mattered this year.

Fix the seeding, and you fix the issue of 4 good teams been stuck in the same group."
Seeding was proposed i believe but rejected by Ashbourne i think and others, can't understand why it wouldn't be seeded, makes sense

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1509 - 08/09/2025 13:57:08    2635333

Replying To Cabbagepatch1667:  "Your point on seeding is valid, I have always thought the group stages should be seeded to avoid lobsided groups.

Fix the seeding, and you fix the issue of 4 good teams been stuck in the same group."
The matter of seeding was discussed at the county board earlier this year or maybe last year. The point was raised that this gave the bigger stronger teams an advantage and took away a lot of jeopardy in the earlier stages of the championship. I believe an open draw is the way to go as per this years set up as it has been very successful. The 2 bottom team to relegation was madness and just extended the championship for teams that were already out and disinterested in training. Some teams would have to continue training for 6 or 8 weeks after they were out of championship

Rickoshay (Meath) - Posts: 45 - 08/09/2025 14:00:23    2635336

Replying To Rickoshay:  "The matter of seeding was discussed at the county board earlier this year or maybe last year. The point was raised that this gave the bigger stronger teams an advantage and took away a lot of jeopardy in the earlier stages of the championship. I believe an open draw is the way to go as per this years set up as it has been very successful. The 2 bottom team to relegation was madness and just extended the championship for teams that were already out and disinterested in training. Some teams would have to continue training for 6 or 8 weeks after they were out of championship"
The reason for rejecting seeding doesn't really make sense, so do we want a championship where the 4 best teams are in the same group which can potentially happen, which is going to weaken the latter parts of the championship as a result. So get more dead rubber 1/4 finals.

The idea of seeding is fairly straight forward, and exists is basically every sport. You get the best teams in the later stages of the championship. Seeding the way I suggested wouldn't remove jeopardy. You'd still have strong groups, but it would mean you don't get completely lobsided groups.

Yes I agree the 2 going into relegation was a bad idea and I'm not sure whose braindead idea it was, but thank god it's gone. There was no incentive to try and finish third. We saw it at work a few times this year, Meath Hill for example despite losing 2 games could have finished 3rd by beating Rathkenny in the final game if results went their way and avoided the relegation playoffs. Whereas last year they'd essentially have been doomed to relegation regardless of what happened.

Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 74 - 08/09/2025 16:05:47    2635356

Replying To thelutch:  "Fair play to RatoathRoyal - someone whose opinions I've always respected. I think it's fair to say both of us have come a long way since Round 1.

As mentioned earlier, we've given everything at this level since 2021, and we're going to enjoy next Saturday in Pairc Tailteann. It's a brilliant occasion for the club.

There are plenty of frustrated voices from bigger towns and clubs who often try to undermine the achievements of smaller clubs. But what we've done this season is built on hard work and dedication from both players and management.

Best of luck to all clubs involved in the knockout and relegation battles."
Quite honestly, if some bigger clubs had the same mentality as the likes of Ballinabrackey (and others), they'd be unstoppable. I've been following Ratoath long enough to remember when even competing at the senior ranks was absolute fantasy so it'd be the height of disrespect to downplay other clubs' efforts.

We've both come a long way in general. We've had some amount of battles at all levels over the years. I remember ye beating us in a group game in Kiltale on your way to the junior title in 2010. Then our first season in Intermediate, we snuck through in the final, winner takes all group game (in Longwood). Ye beat us in Trim with 14 men in the semi final the following year before we gained some revenge in the quarter final on our way to the title in 2015. And now we've faced each other in Senior. Best of luck at the weekend. Hope we're both still alive by Sunday evening.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1409 - 08/09/2025 16:32:44    2635361

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Quite honestly, if some bigger clubs had the same mentality as the likes of Ballinabrackey (and others), they'd be unstoppable. I've been following Ratoath long enough to remember when even competing at the senior ranks was absolute fantasy so it'd be the height of disrespect to downplay other clubs' efforts.

We've both come a long way in general. We've had some amount of battles at all levels over the years. I remember ye beating us in a group game in Kiltale on your way to the junior title in 2010. Then our first season in Intermediate, we snuck through in the final, winner takes all group game (in Longwood). Ye beat us in Trim with 14 men in the semi final the following year before we gained some revenge in the quarter final on our way to the title in 2015. And now we've faced each other in Senior. Best of luck at the weekend. Hope we're both still alive by Sunday evening."
Some great battles over the years - I remember ye gave us a good clipping back in 2015! Ye've gone on to achieve great things since then.

I have a memory of playing Ratoath at underage level, and I could be wrong here, but wasn't the GAA pitch right beside the soccer pitch? I'm talking late '80s now.

It'll be great to be in the draw again come Sunday evening.

Best of luck to everyone over the weekend!

thelutch (Meath) - Posts: 1124 - 08/09/2025 16:59:45    2635365

Back to the games, I'll start with Ashbourne vs Ratoath

I reckon this is the last sting in the tail of both teams. Ratoath are a great side that achieved a lot and have plenty of young players coming through but for the likes of the 2 Wallaces, Gavin McGowan, Bryan McMahon, Bobby and Cian O Brien they are all 30 plus. They remind me of the Dublin team where they got a golden generation of players.
Ashbourne are similar, they have brought through a lot of young lads but that spine in Colgan, Curran, Melia, Menton, McGovern x 2, Deegan and Tormey seriously underachieved.
Melia will probably pick up Daithi McGowan with Curran on Bobby O Brien if he starts. Ashbourne are really missing Menton midfield and will need him here against Flynn. Ashbourne need to start Tormey at full forward and test out that Ratoath fullback line without McGill as they could make a bit of hay there. I would keep Deegan until half time or 20 minutes to go and take off Tormey as you can't play both of them in the same line. Think Wyer and Brazil will nullify whoever they pick up and if Ashbourne are to win it they will need 3/4 goals. Also Ashbourne need to push up on the Ratoath kickout, Sench got a good bit of change there when they done it. Still think Menton missing gives Ratoath the advantage in midfield. Ratoath by 4

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 449 - 09/09/2025 13:58:49    2635456

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Back to the games, I'll start with Ashbourne vs Ratoath

I reckon this is the last sting in the tail of both teams. Ratoath are a great side that achieved a lot and have plenty of young players coming through but for the likes of the 2 Wallaces, Gavin McGowan, Bryan McMahon, Bobby and Cian O Brien they are all 30 plus. They remind me of the Dublin team where they got a golden generation of players.
Ashbourne are similar, they have brought through a lot of young lads but that spine in Colgan, Curran, Melia, Menton, McGovern x 2, Deegan and Tormey seriously underachieved.
Melia will probably pick up Daithi McGowan with Curran on Bobby O Brien if he starts. Ashbourne are really missing Menton midfield and will need him here against Flynn. Ashbourne need to start Tormey at full forward and test out that Ratoath fullback line without McGill as they could make a bit of hay there. I would keep Deegan until half time or 20 minutes to go and take off Tormey as you can't play both of them in the same line. Think Wyer and Brazil will nullify whoever they pick up and if Ashbourne are to win it they will need 3/4 goals. Also Ashbourne need to push up on the Ratoath kickout, Sench got a good bit of change there when they done it. Still think Menton missing gives Ratoath the advantage in midfield. Ratoath by 4"
Is Menton nearly fit to play any part at all here. Anyone know extent of the injury he had?

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 793 - 09/09/2025 19:15:30    2635498