100%. Missed it in real time but the clip is doing the rounds....
bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 366 - 02/02/2025 21:09:49 2589042 Link 0 |
Ya,as a limerick person he didn't look good at all..there was an awful lot going on off the ball from both sides,unless umpires and linesmen start taking action and informing refs it's going to continue..I'd prefer to see it all gone from the game..if my own county are involved I really don't want to see it..I know some of my own county posters won't be happy with what I said. CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2467 - 02/02/2025 21:10:04 2589043 Link 0 |
Look, it happens. Lots of players engage in it from time to time and there are absolutely no angels when it comes to top level hurling, or any sport for that matter. I wouldn't be to worried what your fellow county men think. We all think the same!!
bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 366 - 02/02/2025 23:35:38 2589105 Link 0 |
2 match ban for Seamus Flanagan. Cork are getting under Limerick skin. CorkLiamMcCarthy24 (Cork) - Posts: 114 - 03/02/2025 19:12:51 2589284 Link 0 |
Looks like we'll have to get the cameras out ourselves now to record what Gillane and Hegarty in particular have to put up with. If the refs and umpires do their job and start booking a few of the backs wrestling with the forwards then Flanagan or any other forward doesn't react like this. updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 881 - 04/02/2025 07:54:36 2589334 Link 0 |
If true then a right can of worms will be opened with evidence from phones or tik tok videos being accepted..officials tak action and deal with everything the right way.. CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2467 - 04/02/2025 08:32:41 2589340 Link 0 |
So it's the refs fault that Flanagan struck a guy in the groin?
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2182 - 04/02/2025 09:49:42 2589356 Link 1 |
If they're also getting struck with a hurl in the *****, then whoever's doing it should be banned as well. I've no issues with lads jostling off the ball, it's part and parcel of the GAA. But hitting a lad in the groin with the hurl is way beyond that. It's very cowardly and should never be accepted. Like spitting on another player. There are some things that you just don't do. In years of playing and watching at all levels, I've very rarely seen it done. It's seen as unmanly in most quarters. Whereas I've seen plenty belts given out. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2248 - 04/02/2025 10:28:21 2589368 Link 1 |
If you were there you would have seen the off the ball stuff which the umpires did see and notify the ref who wasn't strong enough in cutting it out. Hegarty went off to get stitches after ending up on the ground wrestling with a Cork defender- that incident wasn't reviewed on League Sunday, Shane OBrien was dragged around for 80 minutes and the puckout before Corks equaliser the ref is standing beside Cian Lynch watching his marker pulling at Lynch and holding his hurley and does nothing. Do you have a problem with Limerick fans filming Gillane and Hegarty in particular getting mauled off the ball by their markers? If this is the road we want to go down then bring it on and everyone can see what forwards have to put up with but this will be a game of 1 upmanship between supporters and the CCCC could be flooded with videos every Monday morning.
updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 881 - 04/02/2025 10:28:32 2589369 Link 0 |
Would Jackie Tyrrell be talking this up if a kilkenny player?? Yet again TSG selective in showing incidents. kerry pundits were same for years in football against opposition teams yet ignoring their own. LimerickForLiam24 (Limerick) - Posts: 158 - 04/02/2025 10:43:05 2589373 Link 0 |
The only thing I have a serious issue with on a hurling pitch is a deliberate strike to the groin, that's a far more serious matter than anyone getting mauled off the ball. It was shameful stuff. Would you prefer if that footage was ignored just because it wasn't an official camera? And he got away with it? Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2182 - 04/02/2025 11:03:13 2589381 Link 0 |
I've said if a player is caught doing this kinda thing then he should suffer a suspension..what I have a problem with is the use of supporters phones to record this and then for RTÉ to use such..cameras were covering the match so it wasn't picked up..it happened in front of 2 umpires who either thought nothing of it or turned a blind eye..there are 7 officials on the field of play and another off it,they should be able to see this kinda stuff..if we go down the road of supporters phones then one phone watching one player for a whole match could provide damning evidence..going by conversations so far on this forum,we are now enemy number 1 and it's going to be a long year..other counties posters throwing this at limerick maybe keep an eye on all the angels ye have playing in ye,re teams first!! CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2467 - 04/02/2025 11:28:55 2589391 Link 0 |
I was at the match on Saturday night and there was a awful lot of pulling and dragging going on, admittedly by both teams. LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 114 - 04/02/2025 11:36:04 2589393 Link 0 |
Fair play. A very objective assessment of it. This isn't an issue of my team vs yours. It's an issue of a player getting a strike to the groin with a hurl. If he'd given him a dig in the stomach or the side with the butt of the hurl, I would have said he probably had it coming and wouldn't even be posting about it. Every team has players who act the maggot off the ball. That includes Galway and every other intercounty hurling team. We all see what goes on off the ball at different stages. It's what he did that marks this one out. I can count on one hand, the number of times someone get hit there in either hurling or football. Lads just don't do it. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2248 - 04/02/2025 12:14:27 2589401 Link 0 |
I never said it should be ignored but if supporters making videos is now going to be acceptable evidence for the CCCC to hand down punishments then expect to see a ot more of these videos, I think you can agree this will now happen. As regards the video in question there was obviously something more going on before this for the supporter to take out his phone in the first place. The Cork fans in the background could be heard cheering on O'Leary will he was doing the pushing and holding so that's OK is it but you can't react? As someone said if the fans saw this surely the umpires must have aswell. updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 881 - 04/02/2025 12:34:50 2589412 Link 0 |
So you have a problem with coverage from phones being used by RTE, fair enough. Just wondering have you enough of a problem with Flanagan's action to condemn it and say if he gets a suspension he should accept it?
sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 851 - 04/02/2025 12:47:37 2589419 Link 1 |
So if I guy is pushing and holding you it's OK to jab him in the groin with your hurley? Why couldn't he have just pushed or shoved him back? Take off your rose tinted glasses and call it out for what it is. Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2182 - 04/02/2025 13:26:46 2589429 Link 1 |
I've already said that what he did is in no way acceptable and if he's suspended then it's fully deserved..I'd prefer to see a belt of a fist instead of what I saw.. CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2467 - 04/02/2025 13:32:31 2589430 Link 0 |
Why should any pushing and holding be acceptable, it's no advantage to the forward to be involved in this, only the back gets benefit from distracting a forward. What Flanagan did was wrong but we didn't see the full story in that small clip, Flanagan didn't just run on to the field and jab him-there was obviously a lot more that led up to that. How do we know O'Leary may have jabbed Flanagan before that but a Cork supporter is going to put that up online. We are going down a very dangerous road if supporters are going to start competing with each other for the 'dirtiest pull the opposition team did to my team' on videos and players then getting suspended for it. If Flanagan does get a couple of games suspended then it's open season on all teams and videoing what they do off the ball and getting other players banned.
updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 881 - 04/02/2025 13:57:16 2589440 Link 0 |
You'd wonder how lads can video anything when they are watching a game. Or do they just go in to make videos?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15047 - 04/02/2025 14:36:20 2589451 Link 0 |