I agree on GAA but Catholic Church the one true religion? Don't make me laugh. I suppose all the other religions are wrong…fact is it's all fairytale No matter what code you follow. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11426 - 09/12/2024 11:30:14 2582870 Link 3 |
De Valera has risen!!! Hopefully John Charles Mc Quaid will turn up soon as well. Can't beat a bit of zealotry. Keeps the natives in check.
ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 144 - 09/12/2024 12:39:04 2582880 Link 1 |
I am more than surprised the mods let that post of yours through. That's nothing shot of provocative and atheistic.
supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3082 - 09/12/2024 12:41:14 2582881 Link 2 |
Probably moving away from the subject matter s bit but I'll bite. All religions contain truth. Only the Catholic faith contains the entire truth. It's also full of hypocrisy but the truth is still preserved. You shouldn't say it's all fairytale. That's disrespectful and mean spirited. By all means say you disagree. You also shouldn't say it's a fact if you don't know it to be true. I'm a believer. I wouldn't dream of saying it's a fact. I believe. I couldn't possibly know. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3223 - 09/12/2024 15:30:07 2582899 Link 5 |
How do you know it's the truth though? Surely it's your faith that tells you the truth? GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7702 - 09/12/2024 18:56:34 2582919 Link 0 |
Yes I said that. I don't know. I believe. To be honest the initial reply was more tongue in cheek than anything but once we got into this conversation I was being sincere. Again, I can't possible say I know for sure, but I've spent quite a bit of time studying all religions and if you have a good grasp of it it's the doctrine that makes the most sense. I will admit of course that it could be purely because of my own world view and upbringing but I do think so. I've tried very hard to be objective about it and was quite angry with the church at one point in my life. I'll give you a few examples if you'd like to talk about them but I won't force the issue. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3223 - 09/12/2024 19:37:24 2582925 Link 0 |
No need. I admire anyone of any faith who is devout. There's a Mosque in my hometown and in my mind the Muslim minority seemed more devout than the Catholic majority but in truth both communities had devout people. But non-believers can be good people too. I don't like how, I think, many wars happen for a power struggle in the name of religion. Live and let Live as they say in AA. There's great strength for many in the Serenity Prayer.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7702 - 09/12/2024 21:15:17 2582946 Link 0 |
How depressing. A thread about unique GAA camaraderie turns into an argument about religion. I hope I never run into any of ye types at a GAA match. Can do without your "camraderie". PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1964 - 10/12/2024 08:35:44 2582969 Link 1 |
Not intentionally blowing my own trumpet here but if this qualifies..... at the 2005 All Ireland hurling final I exchanged a Premium level Hogan Stand ticket for a Hill 16 ticket. Knew a Cork man with a learning disability who was a fanatic hurling fan and he wanted to attend the hurling final to see his beloved Cork team play. I didnt have a ticket sorted for myself but brought my friend along on spec to see if I could get 2 ground tickets. A good friend of mine managed to get me one Hill 16 ground ticket and he also had a Premium level ticket which he handed over to me. (Come to think of it,it's his trumpet I'm blowing here if anybody's!) So then I had the rather surreal situation of walking through the Big Tree pub shouting out: " Anyone willing to trade a Hill 16 ticket for a Premium Level ticket". A young Cork man approached me rather dubiously and we did the exchange for face value. Not a good day for me cos we lost the match but my Cork friend enjoyed his day and I presume the other Cork lad enjoyed his day too! PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1964 - 10/12/2024 09:17:50 2582972 Link 0 |
That's the beauty of conversation. Sometimes it leads to other things. I'd say GAA is a religion to many. I can't count the number of times I've seen guards of honour holding hurls at weddings and funerals. Nicky rackard had what you'd describe as. GAA funeral. The first thing I gave my chap when he was born was a hurl. He was one day old in hospital. Every food and drink he consumes is documented and he plays with his hurl every day of his life. He'll become whoever he's meant to be but hurling will be a massive part of his life. We were hurling Galway in the championship when my mother was on her death bed. I was caring for her and hadn't slept in about three days. I also hadn't missed a championship match in 21 years. My wife, daughter, father, sister and mother practically forced me out of the house. Under no circumstances was I missing a match. By the time we were crowned Leinster champions my mother was gone. I felt unbelievably close to her in the Hogan watching Matt and chinner lift Bob I keeffe Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3223 - 10/12/2024 10:25:53 2582983 Link 3 |
Always remember Martin McHugh saying he ran on to the field in Hyde Park celebrating Leitrim winning Connacht in 94, him just two years after winning an All Ireland with Donegal! boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 40 - 13/12/2024 14:20:47 2583448 Link 0 |
Like yourself I'm a believer I have my faith and I'm happy with both, I also read your posts with interest. Christmas day is a little over a week away, so to whom it concerns and yourself allow me to wish you a happy Christmas, I use the word Christmas because it includes the word "Christ", whereas Xmas excludes the word "Christ," I just wanted to make that point as it is important to me. To everyone else Season's Greetings. Good health to all especially for 2025. supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3082 - 15/12/2024 09:50:52 2583572 Link 2 |
Thanks for that. A very happy Christmas to you and your loved ones. Best of luck for 2025 :) Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3223 - 15/12/2024 11:56:02 2583591 Link 2 |
2017 All Ireland football final, tight tense game but fair play to Lee Keegan he was still generous enough and put rivalries aside to lend his GPS device to Deano just as he was about to kick the winner !
DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 939 - 17/12/2024 13:21:43 2583850 Link 0 |
You in the comedy club over the festive season with witty repartee like that????? Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1946 - 17/12/2024 16:55:52 2583873 Link 0 |
It was a good one though :-D
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14123 - 17/12/2024 19:03:19 2583896 Link 0 |
7 years later, ffs.
Cuhullain (Kildare) - Posts: 289 - 18/12/2024 10:22:47 2583955 Link 0 |
Aah just sweet memories!
DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 939 - 18/12/2024 11:30:58 2583968 Link 0 |
Good people are good no matter what their religion or if any at all. Or bad are bad. What has always bothered me through history is the amount of people killed and wars fought in the name of God. If he exists that would not make him so nice. Or is it organized religions and political operatives using his name to achieve their aims? Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, Happy Ramada or what ever you associate with spiritual. Or if not at all. You are probably a good person like the majority of people. Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2899 - 18/12/2024 18:04:28 2584023 Link 0 |
Kerry gave Derry the Sam Maguire cup for the weekend in 2008 for the Eamon Coleman memorial game. They handed over the cup in Limerick. It was some waste of time travelling back down with it as Tyrone ended up winning it 3 months later. PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 250 - 18/12/2024 19:23:56 2584031 Link 0 |