Wexford Hurling 2025

Joeseph mc Donagh

Jimbob96 (Wexford) - Posts: 23 - 08/02/2025 22:15:47    2590149

Don't think our fitness is as bad as it looks I think the problem is our basic hurling skills are so poor we create more work for ourselves and and have to grind out scores and then constantly chasing the game. The amount of times we miss pick balls, passes not going to hand,passing behind the man running off the shoulder, then ball breaks down and we have to work to get the ball back and when we do we have opposition players on top of us. Cian Byrne in particular stood out to me tonight for miss picking the balls so many times even though he holds the hurl with a short grip. Similar to what a poster said above we can do all the gym work in the world, be built like units but if we can't even pick up the ball,fast stick passing to hand or hit the target when all on our own from 65 yards we are going no where.

Free taking also has always been a problem with us. Intercounty level you need a free taker who will score 95% at a minimum. We haven't had that since Paul Codd I would say. Every other Liam McCarthy level team has a free taker hitting 95%. We leave so many points behind us due to missing frees.

Clare and limerick away and Galway at home still to come where we must win all 3 to stay up, relegation I'd say all but guaranteed. I'd be resting as many of our top players as we can and getting ready for 1st round of Leinster.

camánouttathat (Wexford) - Posts: 63 - 08/02/2025 22:19:33    2590150

Replying To beano:  "You can't puck a dumbbell over the bar. General skill levels are well below the top teams."
There's that too. Ball striking and first touch miles off it. But NHL this time of year is more about being able to mix it physically on heavier pitches. Many of our lads couldn't or wouldn't in that first half, that's unacceptable.

A fit Chin, Rory, Shane Reck and probably Mac start in championship. Liam Ryan would if fully fit but is unlikely to be. Sure it will improve matters but still no obvious 3, 6, 9.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 369 - 08/02/2025 22:35:30    2590155

The Kilkenny team pulled into ballinaboola centra and was talking to Derek lyng and I just said to him thanks for letting us into the game in the second half. He was not impressed not with my comment but with their second half performance. Interestingly the players were actually getting a few cans/bottles for the trip home so he was given them a night off to wind down fair play to them.

On the game itself no comment just yet

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 348 - 09/02/2025 00:58:41    2590163

Replying To beano:  "You can't puck a dumbbell over the bar. General skill levels are well below the top teams."
Its a lack of understanding of what S&C is about because everyone looks at the bigger players and wonder why the lads don't look like them. The first thing is that all S&C is player centric, someone who relies on pace and agility may find that if the add weight they loose that especially if they are a smaller player. The second thing is Hurling doesn't allow players to gain as much upper body mass as other games because of the game itself. So the reality is that all the players have their S&C and constantly doing it at all levels but if you are giving away 6/8/10/12 inches, physics come into play and there is little you can do about that. The Wexford game plan at the moment is to try and avoid the physical confrontation and therefore play the ball through the lines quickly - that is breaking down because of poor execution not because of S&C. Also we saw at time when perfect ball was put into the forwards and there was a Kilkenny back out first, I am sure in a straight sprint our forwards would win that race but its about anticipation and reading the play.
So yeah - lets focus on the areas we need to see improvement

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1928 - 09/02/2025 04:57:20    2590169

Chalk and cheese between the first and second half.

We were absolutely awful in the first and I would say devoid of confidence throughout.

Obviously much improved in the second half but a couple of wides at the wrong time sort of killed the comeback. Ryan, Foley, Lawlor and McGuckian did very well.

After about 2 minutes on the pitch it was very clear that Molloy has to be in our first 15. I can't understand what's going on there

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3423 - 09/02/2025 07:50:14    2590173

Anonymous positive actually. There was a stage in that game that felt exactly like the mid 00s as of we were going to be bet out the gate. Finding a way back into that was really good. If we'd thrown in the towel it could having done serious damage to our season

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3423 - 09/02/2025 07:58:51    2590175

Don't get the Richie Lawlor wing back thing!!! Don't think he's a back at all really especially at intercounty level maybe midfield!!! Took for 2 goals last night,I think he found himself a back because he was so poor in the forwards for his club!!! Charlie takes to much out of the ball would have to say he's just a very good club hurler,likes looking to do the spectacular as well and foyle maybe ok in half back line!!! Damien reck for me is a liability in the backs,when he's loose or sweeping he's ok but god he's a terrible defender has been for a few years now,he gives a lot of frees away!!! Looks spectacular when he's loose and goes on a solo but his actual duty to defend is terrible!!! Last nights first half was terrible absolutely we were way off our men,no movement anywhere no intensity and waiting for something to happen!!! The hurling was atrocious!!!Second half all we did was try harder,our hurling was still atrocious,the game was over as regards a contest at half time!!! Will the lads coming back make that much of an impact I'm not sure!!! Eoin Ryan for me played well and was our best player he's a defender first and foremost and knows his job and his limits!!! It's goin to be a awful last few games for us,most teams from now on will have just about there championship teams out from now on and we will be in big bother!!! I think 1b will be good for us because these young lads need to start at a realistic level to improve and maybe win a game or two for confidence!!! Bed in now for a few years till we figure it out!!! We will come again at some point but it could be a long time yet with no schools doing well in top grades,our big schools peters and good council away off it and all the rest down in the grades,there isn't a whole lot on the conveyor belts!!! Feel sorry for Keith a good wexford man who will find it very hard to get anything out of his time here as regards result but he will absolutely try his best to improve all these young lads!!!forwards are a huge problem too,not enough of them can win there own ball or really break tackles maybe it's because they are young and physically not able for this level to do it and it will come further down the line!!! Big problems that won't get better this year but I think in a few years maybe we will be at a level to compete again hopefully!!!

theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 253 - 09/02/2025 08:27:46    2590176

I give kk credit they came with 10/11 championship starters, their tacking and intensity were top notch and they were vocal all over the pitch, shouting amd cheering one another on, after every score, tackle free won etc..
That first half was shocking and not acceptable,we barley but a tackle in, work rate non existant and making mistakes after mistake with handling, controlling the ball etc.. a few of the regulars for years were their usual self, some went off early through injury and others stay on. It is very clear now to see who not up to it at this stage. There was no vocal voice from a wexford perspective on the pitch, we have scored 12, 15 and 15 points in 3 league games and created 2 possible goal changes in the 3 games.
I sat on my own at half time and said we are heading to the joe mcDonagh.
Then I saw a glimmer of hope, in the form of Eoin Ryan, Cian Molloy(can't for the life of me understand why hasn't been playing before now)C Foley, Lawlor, Hearne, Roche, Redmond and Cillian Byrne (even though he is still very raw). The senior men need to step up now, when they come back and just try and beat Antrim and Offaly and keep us in Liam McCarthy, because that what it is all about now, forget about Leinster final etc..

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1068 - 09/02/2025 08:49:43    2590177

Replying To Timbertony:  "There's that too. Ball striking and first touch miles off it. But NHL this time of year is more about being able to mix it physically on heavier pitches. Many of our lads couldn't or wouldn't in that first half, that's unacceptable.

A fit Chin, Rory, Shane Reck and probably Mac start in championship. Liam Ryan would if fully fit but is unlikely to be. Sure it will improve matters but still no obvious 3, 6, 9."
Kevin Foley, Jacko and Dwyer all likely starters if fit also.
First half was the worst half of hurling by a Wexford team I've been to since the 2nd half of the Westmeath game in 23.
Only 2 positives were we competed well in the 2nd half, missed 4 easyish chances that could've brought us to within 2.
And Kilkenny are going to struggle come championship that was near enough their championship team, TJ and John Donnelly aside and naybe Mullen if he comes back, and tbh I wasn't that impressed. We were so poor in the 1st half and yet we were only 12 down at halftime.
As regards players Eoin Ryan improved in the 2nd half For the 3rd straight game, Patsy and Jack Redmond didn't look out of place, Foley and Lawlor were decent, Dunbar was ok in the 2nd half. Reck will get better with more games too. Hearne put in a shift as usual.
I would like to see Kehoe and Whelan if they are fit for the Clare game, and a scoring forward or 2, dont know who but we havent really seen one yet.
Negatives include puckouts still, and some lads despite numerous chances over the last few years still hold the ball too long, and distribute it poorly.
We also aren't scoring near enough in any of our games. We need to work at creating more goal chances I think.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15066 - 09/02/2025 10:05:36    2590180

Replying To zinny:  "Its a lack of understanding of what S&C is about because everyone looks at the bigger players and wonder why the lads don't look like them. The first thing is that all S&C is player centric, someone who relies on pace and agility may find that if the add weight they loose that especially if they are a smaller player. The second thing is Hurling doesn't allow players to gain as much upper body mass as other games because of the game itself. So the reality is that all the players have their S&C and constantly doing it at all levels but if you are giving away 6/8/10/12 inches, physics come into play and there is little you can do about that. The Wexford game plan at the moment is to try and avoid the physical confrontation and therefore play the ball through the lines quickly - that is breaking down because of poor execution not because of S&C. Also we saw at time when perfect ball was put into the forwards and there was a Kilkenny back out first, I am sure in a straight sprint our forwards would win that race but its about anticipation and reading the play.
So yeah - lets focus on the areas we need to see improvement"
We have players who have been playing a while now who still can't or won't move the ball quickly and accurately, and cant read the pitch. And also we played too many loopy interceptable hand passes and stick passes with no fizz.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15066 - 09/02/2025 10:25:12    2590182

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Chalk and cheese between the first and second half.

We were absolutely awful in the first and I would say devoid of confidence throughout.

Obviously much improved in the second half but a couple of wides at the wrong time sort of killed the comeback. Ryan, Foley, Lawlor and McGuckian did very well.

After about 2 minutes on the pitch it was very clear that Molloy has to be in our first 15. I can't understand what's going on there"
I must've been at a different game to you Doyler with your list of lads who did well.
As regards the wides, we had 3 or 4 poor ones in a row when we had got back to within 6 . Killed our momentum.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15066 - 09/02/2025 10:27:16    2590184

Replying To zinny:  "Its a lack of understanding of what S&C is about because everyone looks at the bigger players and wonder why the lads don't look like them. The first thing is that all S&C is player centric, someone who relies on pace and agility may find that if the add weight they loose that especially if they are a smaller player. The second thing is Hurling doesn't allow players to gain as much upper body mass as other games because of the game itself. So the reality is that all the players have their S&C and constantly doing it at all levels but if you are giving away 6/8/10/12 inches, physics come into play and there is little you can do about that. The Wexford game plan at the moment is to try and avoid the physical confrontation and therefore play the ball through the lines quickly - that is breaking down because of poor execution not because of S&C. Also we saw at time when perfect ball was put into the forwards and there was a Kilkenny back out first, I am sure in a straight sprint our forwards would win that race but its about anticipation and reading the play.
Speaking of S&C, I would just use Cian Kenny as an example. He's bulked up a bit more it's more his ability to take a tackle without falling over or losing possession that stands out. It's not all about being 6ft4 and built like a power lifter. One for our Cian to take a look at, he certainly tried hard, too hard if anything, but miles off Cian Kenny's physical level.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 369 - 09/02/2025 11:10:32    2590191

Replying To Viking66:  "Kevin Foley, Jacko and Dwyer all likely starters if fit also.
First half was the worst half of hurling by a Wexford team I've been to since the 2nd half of the Westmeath game in 23.
Only 2 positives were we competed well in the 2nd half, missed 4 easyish chances that could've brought us to within 2.
And Kilkenny are going to struggle come championship that was near enough their championship team, TJ and John Donnelly aside and naybe Mullen if he comes back, and tbh I wasn't that impressed. We were so poor in the 1st half and yet we were only 12 down at halftime.
As regards players Eoin Ryan improved in the 2nd half For the 3rd straight game, Patsy and Jack Redmond didn't look out of place, Foley and Lawlor were decent, Dunbar was ok in the 2nd half. Reck will get better with more games too. Hearne put in a shift as usual.
I would like to see Kehoe and Whelan if they are fit for the Clare game, and a scoring forward or 2, dont know who but we havent really seen one yet.
Negatives include puckouts still, and some lads despite numerous chances over the last few years still hold the ball too long, and distribute it poorly.
We also aren't scoring near enough in any of our games. We need to work at creating more goal chances I think."
KK hardly broke a sweat in second half, lad. Didn't they take off all their half back line and Billy Ryan too. We made the score line a bit more respectable and maybe should have got it closer again but it was never a contest. They were able to draw handy scores off Reck particularly whenever they needed to.

Kevin Foley, Jacko, Dwyer havent been regular starters for some time and plagued by injuries too. We need to be moving on past them.

I'm seeing a lot of talk about Lawlor being decent...he was fortunate he wasn't taken off after about 20 mins. Clipped over a couple of nice points in second half but his use of the ball is nowhere near good enough. Amount of times his poor hand passes and touches got us into trouble. The difference between both half back lines was night and day.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 369 - 09/02/2025 11:22:30    2590195

Replying To Timbertony:  "Speaking of S&C, I would just use Cian Kenny as an example. He's bulked up a bit more it's more his ability to take a tackle without falling over or losing possession that stands out. It's not all about being 6ft4 and built like a power lifter. One for our Cian to take a look at, he certainly tried hard, too hard if anything, but miles off Cian Kenny's physical level."
Cian Kenny is only 5'8". He has really got better and stronger the last 2 years. He's 2 years older than Cian Byrne, with 2 more years done on a SenIor panel, so you would expect him to be stronger. When Byrne is 25 and Kenny 27 they will probably both be fully developed physically and around the same build.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15066 - 09/02/2025 11:28:38    2590197

Replying To Timbertony:  "KK hardly broke a sweat in second half, lad. Didn't they take off all their half back line and Billy Ryan too. We made the score line a bit more respectable and maybe should have got it closer again but it was never a contest. They were able to draw handy scores off Reck particularly whenever they needed to.

Kevin Foley, Jacko, Dwyer havent been regular starters for some time and plagued by injuries too. We need to be moving on past them.

I'm seeing a lot of talk about Lawlor being decent...he was fortunate he wasn't taken off after about 20 mins. Clipped over a couple of nice points in second half but his use of the ball is nowhere near good enough. Amount of times his poor hand passes and touches got us into trouble. The difference between both half back lines was night and day."
Lawlor and Ryan were both poor enough in the first quarter. Both got better though. There were other lads who stayed poor into the 2nd half or even til the end.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15066 - 09/02/2025 11:30:54    2590198

The most realistic post that explains why we are in this position and te reasons .
Our game reading , anticipation, being available to take ball , reflex reactions , unwillingness to put bodies on the line add in some players lack of touch and ball winning ability . We have serious problems .
How canxa team perform like it did in first half and then think it's OK to just turn up for the second half.
I hate knocking them and I will follow any team if I know they are trying and giving their all that's all I ask .
But performances like that and what we've seen during the league it's hard to justify travelling to far flung places and not knowing if the players are up for the fight .
I hope the lads look into themselves and realise this will be their legacies and what they will be remembered for and start to believe and give everything

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 340 - 09/02/2025 11:34:53    2590201

Replying To Timbertony:  "KK hardly broke a sweat in second half, lad. Didn't they take off all their half back line and Billy Ryan too. We made the score line a bit more respectable and maybe should have got it closer again but it was never a contest. They were able to draw handy scores off Reck particularly whenever they needed to.

I'm seeing a lot of talk about Lawlor being decent...he was fortunate he wasn't taken off after about 20 mins. Clipped over a couple of nice points in second half but his use of the ball is nowhere near good enough. Amount of times his poor hand passes and touches got us into trouble. The difference between both half back lines was night and day."
I agree about the 3 lads suffering from injuries, especially Dwyer. But we need lads that age with the hurling those 3 have and the strength built up over 4 years plus on a SenIor panel. Foley got a belt of a hurl, he's not especially injury prone. Jacko tweaked a hamstring. Mikey has a bad knee that has to be managed.
It's absolutely naive out of some posters here to expect a team who are mainly made up of lads who were playing u20 2 years ago to compete physically with lads on a SenIor panel for 4 or more years.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15066 - 09/02/2025 11:35:16    2590202

Anyone know what's the story is on the following absentees through injury or otherwise?how long they are out etc...
Whelan
Kehoe
Mac
Jack
Ryan
Reck
Foley
Chin
Rowley

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1068 - 09/02/2025 11:38:57    2590204

Kilkenny took Deegan off in the 63rd minute, and Carey in the 67th. Blanchfield stayed on til the end. Not sure who you thought was playing halfback for Kilkenny.
Kilkenny teams don't do coasting, Im sure they'd have loved to put a 20 plus points winning margin on us, lay down a marker .
All the talk up there was how they hadn't won a game down here in 10 years, they didn't like that statistic.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15066 - 09/02/2025 11:39:16    2590205