Wexford Hurling 2025

Replying To countyman2022:  "Did Peters not go back to B championship or is that next year? GCC is 1/2 & 1/2. Enniscorthy, FCJ, Gorey and Wex CBS all B?"
Enniscorthys Junior team are A. So in 2 years their Senior team will be A. FCJs Junior team won B, so their Senior team will be A in 2 years. Wexford CBS
were probably the next best team to FCJ at Junior PP B. Roughly speaking that equates to Junior cert age and Leaving cert age. I'm not sure which age group at Peters were in B, but I heard that too, but I heard last years 1st years went through the year unbeaten, and this years 1st years drew with Kierans a couple of weeks ago. Peters have been hit hard with the new secondary school admissions procedures, some of the lads doing well at Enniscorthy mightve gone to Peters in years past under the old system.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14507 - 04/02/2025 19:40:50    2589506

Replying To hunting:  "How far away are mac and ryan?I taught I say ryan pucking around with few players at the match Saturday but maybe it wasn't him, he was a bit away from me"
Yeah Ryan was in Thurles Sunday as well pucking around, fair play to him for travelling with the team

goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 125 - 04/02/2025 21:51:12    2589521

Replying To Timbertony:  "
Replying To Pikeman96:  "As one from a rural club myself, have never really understood or agreed with the notion that "Wexford GAA needs to do more for hurling in the towns". To my mind, they shouldn't show favouritism to any club(s) over others.

Take the example here. Let's say Oulart, Oylegate and Ballyhogue all clearly pass out the Rapps at underage in the coming years, thanks to the work those clubs have done themselves, while Rapps stagnate or even go backwards. Why should it then be expected that Wexford GAA swoop in with extra resources etc. for Rapps and Enniscorthy town in general? Resources that were never made available to the rural clubs. Should it not just be up to the Rapps to get their own house in order, utilising the same resources as available to all clubs, instead of expecting something extra just because they're a town team?"
Investment to a degree should follow demographics really. Census data confirms a 9% county population growth in 6 years from 2016-2022 with the bulk of that concentrated in the main towns. Not to invest in the towns is to disproportionately impact young people in those areas from a lifetime/youth of enjoyment/heartache with the GAA.

There's a different but related question on whether the clubs in the towns are doing all they can to maximise the increased resources at their disposal. But rapid population growth comes with its own challenges too. A few suggestions Id throw out just to get your thoughts

- County Board to treat the rebirth of New Ross GAA as a special 5 year project - I know there are challenges but to do nothing is shameful. A town bordering KK and Waterford (sort of) should be a source for multiple county players especially with schools etc in the town. Bring in the very best coaches, administrators etc and the tide will turn.
- Relax rules on kids inside town boundaries playing with clubs outside (e.g. parents clubs) - greater good
- Enforce rules on kids outside town boundaries not playing with town club (hard to enforce but widespread from what I can see, this will kill rural clubs on outskirts of towns if allowed continue)
- unfortunately hard discussions required with some rural clubs on merging based on demographics - planning permission will continue to get tougher etc, not addressing this will see more transfers or players drifting to other sports"
I'll answer your four suggestions/points here:

The first one - about New Ross - is exactly the kind of thing I'd get riled up over. If the County Board were to step in and send in the 'very best coaches, administrators, etc.' for the sole purpose of reviving Geraldine O'Hanrahans, after years of GOH allowing things to slip themselves, it would be patently unfair on all the other clubs in the District - e.g. Rathnure, Cloughbawn, Adamstown, Cushinstown, and so on.

Not to mention every other club in the county who finds themselves in the same division as GOH in any underage championship. Imagine an U14 match between GOH and somebody like Blackwater or Monageer or Bunclody. On one side - a team with probably a couple of Dads and maybe a recently-retired player over them. On the other side - a team being coached by some of the best personnel in the county, being paid for by the County Board.

GOH already have the same supports available to them as every other club in the county. It's up to them to make use of it.

On points 2 and 3 - about young players in or around town boundaries, etc. - not quite sure what you mean. Will just say I believe greater efforts should be made to ensure that all play with their 'proper' club. Players from outside the town shouldn't be going in to play with the town club (not sure that's actually happening to any great degree). Players inside the town boundaries shouldn't be going to play with neighbouring clubs outside the town.

Another poster gives the examples of Gizzy Lyng and Eoin Quigley, saying they should have played about Clonard. I don't know where exactly they grew up, but whatever about Clonard, they should at least have been with the Harriers if they were inside the Wexford town boundary.

On point 4, I agree. The years ahead will bring tough discussions and difficult decisions all right. But in a way, it harks back to point 1. How could you justify putting expert personnel in to support a struggling town club when you don't do the same with struggling rural clubs, to ensure they get the best out of their resources too?

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2679 - 04/02/2025 22:00:44    2589523

Replying To Doylerwex:  "
Replying To Pikeman96:  "As one from a rural club myself, have never really understood or agreed with the notion that "Wexford GAA needs to do more for hurling in the towns". To my mind, they shouldn't show favouritism to any club(s) over others.

Take the example here. Let's say Oulart, Oylegate and Ballyhogue all clearly pass out the Rapps at underage in the coming years, thanks to the work those clubs have done themselves, while Rapps stagnate or even go backwards. Why should it then be expected that Wexford GAA swoop in with extra resources etc. for Rapps and Enniscorthy town in general? Resources that were never made available to the rural clubs. Should it not just be up to the Rapps to get their own house in order, utilising the same resources as available to all clubs, instead of expecting something extra just because they're a town team?"
Harriers have lost a massive number of players to shells, Martins and barntown over the years.

It's not favouritism it's just enforcing the rules.

Gizzy lyng and Eoin Quigley should have been hurling with clonard."
To my mind, two different things. I even use your example in my post above.

There should be greater efforts made across the board to ensure that young players go to play with their "own" club, rather than a neighbouring one that they happen to prefer for some reason. That sort of thing happens all the time in rural areas too.

But it would be one thing to apply the catchment area rule equally in all places. Would be another thing altogether to put extra supports and resources into town clubs just because they're town clubs, while offering nothing extra to the rural clubs around them.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2679 - 04/02/2025 22:05:30    2589524

Replying To countyman2022:  "Did Peters not go back to B championship or is that next year? GCC is 1/2 & 1/2. Enniscorthy, FCJ, Gorey and Wex CBS all B?"
Creagh College were Senior B this year also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14507 - 05/02/2025 06:39:46    2589536

Replying To Pikeman96:  "
Replying To Timbertony:  "[quote=Pikeman96:  "As one from a rural club myself, have never really understood or agreed with the notion that "Wexford GAA needs to do more for hurling in the towns". To my mind, they shouldn't show favouritism to any club(s) over others.

Investment to a degree should follow demographics really. Census data confirms a 9% county population growth in 6 years from 2016-2022 with the bulk of that concentrated in the main towns. Not to invest in the towns is to disproportionately impact young people in those areas from a lifetime/youth of enjoyment/heartache with the GAA.

There's a different but related question on whether the clubs in the towns are doing all they can to maximise the increased resources at their disposal. But rapid population growth comes with its own challenges too. A few suggestions Id throw out just to get your thoughts

- County Board to treat the rebirth of New Ross GAA as a special 5 year project - I know there are challenges but to do nothing is shameful. A town bordering KK and Waterford (sort of) should be a source for multiple county players especially with schools etc in the town. Bring in the very best coaches, administrators etc and the tide will turn.
- Relax rules on kids inside town boundaries playing with clubs outside (e.g. parents clubs) - greater good
- Enforce rules on kids outside town boundaries not playing with town club (hard to enforce but widespread from what I can see, this will kill rural clubs on outskirts of towns if allowed continue)
- unfortunately hard discussions required with some rural clubs on merging based on demographics - planning permission will continue to get tougher etc, not addressing this will see more transfers or players drifting to other sports"

The first one - about New Ross - is exactly the kind of thing I'd get riled up over. If the County Board were to step in and send in the 'very best coaches, administrators, etc.' for the sole purpose of reviving Geraldine O'Hanrahans, after years of GOH allowing things to slip themselves, it would be patently unfair on all the other clubs in the District - e.g. Rathnure, Cloughbawn, Adamstown, Cushinstown, and so on.

Not to mention every other club in the county who finds themselves in the same division as GOH in any underage championship. Imagine an U14 match between GOH and somebody like Blackwater or Monageer or Bunclody. On one side - a team with probably a couple of Dads and maybe a recently-retired player over them. On the other side - a team being coached by some of the best personnel in the county, being paid for by the County Board.

GOH already have the same supports available to them as every other club in the county. It's up to them to make use of it.

On points 2 and 3 - about young players in or around town boundaries, etc. - not quite sure what you mean. Will just say I believe greater efforts should be made to ensure that all play with their 'proper' club. Players from outside the town shouldn't be going in to play with the town club (not sure that's actually happening to any great degree). Players inside the town boundaries shouldn't be going to play with neighbouring clubs outside the town.

Another poster gives the examples of Gizzy Lyng and Eoin Quigley, saying they should have played about Clonard. I don't know where exactly they grew up, but whatever about Clonard, they should at least have been with the Harriers if they were inside the Wexford town boundary.

On point 4, I agree. The years ahead will bring tough discussions and difficult decisions all right. But in a way, it harks back to point 1. How could you justify putting expert personnel in to support a struggling town club when you don't do the same with struggling rural clubs, to ensure they get the best out of their resources too?"]All spot on Pikeman, except Rathnure and Cloughbawn aren't in Ross District!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14507 - 05/02/2025 09:10:03    2589542

Looks like we might have ROC , Damien Reck and Dunbar available for Saturday. Team I would go with is
Fanning
Eoin Ryan
C Foley
N Murphy
R Lawlor
D Reck
McGuckin
Hearne
Dunbar
Jacko
J Redmond
Darren Codd
ROC
Flood
Cian Byrne

Whats the story with Cian Molloy lads he was very good in early rounds of league last year and hasnt been seen since

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 424 - 05/02/2025 09:17:39    2589543

Replying To Doylerwex:  "[quote=Pikeman96:  "As one from a rural club myself, have never really understood or agreed with the notion that "Wexford GAA needs to do more for hurling in the towns". To my mind, they shouldn't show favouritism to any club(s) over others.

Harriers have lost a massive number of players to shells, Martins and barntown over the years.

There should be greater efforts made across the board to ensure that young players go to play with their "own" club, rather than a neighbouring one that they happen to prefer for some reason. That sort of thing happens all the time in rural areas too.

But it would be one thing to apply the catchment area rule equally in all places. Would be another thing altogether to put extra supports and resources into town clubs just because they're town clubs, while offering nothing extra to the rural clubs around them."]I do agree with that to be honest. The point of coaching seminars and development officers etc. Is to assist the club's own people in improving, not just giving one club better resources.

To be fair we've done loads to raise funds for harriers facilities and it helps to have a TD who's a former player.

Still it would frustrate you how people carry on. Being stuck for volunteers and you end up with people who don't know the skills themselves.

Then you get mammy giving out that Johnny isn't improving enough only to be told the hurl has been in the boot since the last day.

We have absolutely huge numbers coming to training but they steadily drop off until they're all gone at 21.

Some of the numbers would shock you. From the minor team I was on only two of us ever played senior club. We had about ten on 14/16 county teams, 4 minors, one of whom was probably the best minor in the country ended up with sars in Cork, 3 21s and nobody played senior county.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3321 - 05/02/2025 09:32:41    2589548

Replying To Timbertony:  "[quote=Pikeman96:  "As one from a rural club myself, have never really understood or agreed with the notion that "Wexford GAA needs to do more for hurling in the towns". To my mind, they shouldn't show favouritism to any club(s) over others.

On point 4, I agree. The years ahead will bring tough discussions and difficult decisions all right. But in a way, it harks back to point 1. How could you justify putting expert personnel in to support a struggling town club when you don't do the same with struggling rural clubs, to ensure they get the best out of their resources too?"]I think the first point is not to equate reviving GOH with reviving GAA in the town. I don't know enough about the situation there within the club but it's obviously in dire straits going on results. If that's allowed to continue to drift they it will disband by itself.

They should be competing at the top level underage not against nearby smaller rural clubs. To do nothing, or to leave it to the club to sort themselves out, could be to write off a town of nearly 9k people!

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 335 - 05/02/2025 09:58:34    2589553

@Viking - about Rathnure & Cloughbawn - yup, obviously you're right that they're not actually New Ross District clubs.

But they're neighbouring clubs or near neighbours of GOH all the same.

I should have typed district with a lower case d instead of an upper case one! :)

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2679 - 05/02/2025 10:25:36    2589561

Replying To Doylerwex:  "
Replying To Pikeman96:  "[quote=Doylerwex:  "[quote=Pikeman96:  "As one from a rural club myself, have never really understood or agreed with the notion that "Wexford GAA needs to do more for hurling in the towns". To my mind, they shouldn't show favouritism to any club(s) over others.

But it would be one thing to apply the catchment area rule equally in all places. Would be another thing altogether to put extra supports and resources into town clubs just because they're town clubs, while offering nothing extra to the rural clubs around them."]I do agree with that to be honest. The point of coaching seminars and development officers etc. Is to assist the club's own people in improving, not just giving one club better resources.

To be fair we've done loads to raise funds for harriers facilities and it helps to have a TD who's a former player.

Still it would frustrate you how people carry on. Being stuck for volunteers and you end up with people who don't know the skills themselves.

Then you get mammy giving out that Johnny isn't improving enough only to be told the hurl has been in the boot since the last day.

We have absolutely huge numbers coming to training but they steadily drop off until they're all gone at 21.

Some of the numbers would shock you. From the minor team I was on only two of us ever played senior club. We had about ten on 14/16 county teams, 4 minors, one of whom was probably the best minor in the country ended up with sars in Cork, 3 21s and nobody played senior county."]That is absolutely shocking Doyler.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14507 - 05/02/2025 10:37:25    2589565

@Timbertony - so to get this straight - you'd be in favour of giving GOH extra supports and resources that wouldn't be available to other clubs, mainly just because GOH themselves aren't doing enough themselves?

Explain that one to a neighbouring club like Rathgarogue/Cushinstown, who've been making good progress of their own without getting any special treatment.

And where does that end up going in future years? Suppose Naomh Eanna take their eye off the ball for ten years, and all their underage sides start to struggle. Do you reward them by giving them extra supports and resources too?

I don't think County Board should show favouritism to any one club or even any one area over another. Surely it has to be equal supports for all.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2679 - 05/02/2025 10:42:23    2589568

Can I just say on goh there is massive issues. Since the like of Benny wall and the likes are not as involved with the club is in free fall. The brilliant team they had at the same age as Dessie mythen Rory Jacob and Keith Rossiter never pushed on and they didn't achieve their potential. Since then they have lost their influences. Mick cleere moved to cushinstown and helping there. Danny Conway has no involvement as far as I know. Brendan furlong has barely any club involving. These are all lads who played with wexford apparently 8 players are moving to oz. I think worst thing for Ross was losing to cushinstown in the intermediate final in 06 it might have spurred them on but it's gone flat ever since. The influx of polish and other immigrants and I'm not been racist here has hurt the gaa in the town

Soccer and rugby is huge in the town also especially with the likes of tadgh furlong been part of this successful Irish team. Soccer was always a huge part of Ross

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 335 - 05/02/2025 11:02:57    2589572

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Can I just say on goh there is massive issues. Since the like of Benny wall and the likes are not as involved with the club is in free fall. The brilliant team they had at the same age as Dessie mythen Rory Jacob and Keith Rossiter never pushed on and they didn't achieve their potential. Since then they have lost their influences. Mick cleere moved to cushinstown and helping there. Danny Conway has no involvement as far as I know. Brendan furlong has barely any club involving. These are all lads who played with wexford apparently 8 players are moving to oz. I think worst thing for Ross was losing to cushinstown in the intermediate final in 06 it might have spurred them on but it's gone flat ever since. The influx of polish and other immigrants and I'm not been racist here has hurt the gaa in the town

Soccer and rugby is huge in the town also especially with the likes of tadgh furlong been part of this successful Irish team. Soccer was always a huge part of Ross"
I get what you mean alright. Most of our lads who didn't hurl senior would have played junior cup with north end or LOI with Wexford FC.

Drink is a big factor as well.

Although on the subject of immigration we'd have loads of non Irish kids hurling with us. We had a polish young lad who was absolutely exceptional but ended up packing it in for MMA which his father was involved in. A shame because he wanted to keep hurling.

We've a little chap from Thailand who's parents are both working in the hospital who's very good and tough as nails. Every time he gets a belt the parents can't watch but they turn up every day which is great to see.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3321 - 05/02/2025 11:16:46    2589573

Replying To Pikeman96:  "@Viking - about Rathnure & Cloughbawn - yup, obviously you're right that they're not actually New Ross District clubs.

But they're neighbouring clubs or near neighbours of GOH all the same.

I should have typed district with a lower case d instead of an upper case one! :)"
They are of course. I couldn't help myself :-D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14507 - 05/02/2025 11:23:47    2589574

Replying To Pikeman96:  "@Timbertony - so to get this straight - you'd be in favour of giving GOH extra supports and resources that wouldn't be available to other clubs, mainly just because GOH themselves aren't doing enough themselves?

Explain that one to a neighbouring club like Rathgarogue/Cushinstown, who've been making good progress of their own without getting any special treatment.

And where does that end up going in future years? Suppose Naomh Eanna take their eye off the ball for ten years, and all their underage sides start to struggle. Do you reward them by giving them extra supports and resources too?

I don't think County Board should show favouritism to any one club or even any one area over another. Surely it has to be equal supports for all."
In fairness to GOH they are trying to improve things bit by bit. And they aren't looking for special treatment. The last couple of years they fielded their own teams at the younger age groups up to u16 last year, their u8s, u10s and u12s did weekly winter training all this winter, our GPO Jimmy Heavey, an excellent coach, is their coaching officer for 2025, and their GPO Dylan Lyne is an excellent coach also.
It's a bottom up rebuild that will take time, but they are definitely moving in the right direction.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14507 - 05/02/2025 11:36:22    2589576

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Can I just say on goh there is massive issues. Since the like of Benny wall and the likes are not as involved with the club is in free fall. The brilliant team they had at the same age as Dessie mythen Rory Jacob and Keith Rossiter never pushed on and they didn't achieve their potential. Since then they have lost their influences. Mick cleere moved to cushinstown and helping there. Danny Conway has no involvement as far as I know. Brendan furlong has barely any club involving. These are all lads who played with wexford apparently 8 players are moving to oz. I think worst thing for Ross was losing to cushinstown in the intermediate final in 06 it might have spurred them on but it's gone flat ever since. The influx of polish and other immigrants and I'm not been racist here has hurt the gaa in the town

Soccer and rugby is huge in the town also especially with the likes of tadgh furlong been part of this successful Irish team. Soccer was always a huge part of Ross"
Conor Fahy who went to GCC started for Irelands u20s last weekend also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14507 - 05/02/2025 11:41:27    2589577

Surely chin will play on Saturday.He would have done some training when in Australia and he has been with the squad for a couple of weeks now.
With Damien Reck, Rory and Chinner on board we should be able to be competitive against the cats.
Those lads are vital cogs in the setup.
Kilkenny will be anxious to get back to winning ways and its going to be tough but if Rory can keep his cool and if Lee plays like we know he can then a win is not out of the question.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 397 - 05/02/2025 12:03:02    2589579