Wexford Hurling 2025

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Great news lads. Lee is an outstanding player I love seeing him in the purple and gold. I hope we really go at it next year for his sake"
Would be great see him win something again for sure

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16457 - 02/07/2025 12:37:33    2623123

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I see Jack Redmond scored 7 points from play and Simon Roche scored 6 from play over the weekend. I really hope we can get these two lads firing next year and really step up and earn their places . I would love us to at least get to another Leinster final before Lee retires . He is the greatest Wexford hurler I have ever seen and deserves more than one Leinster hurling title. Our first aim next year has to be to win division 1b of the league. Young lads really need to step up in the early rounds of the league and we need to show more hunger and intensity from the word go"
If there was ever such a thing as a Wexford Way in real life it was that never say die attitude that the lads collectively had in the early/mid 90s, then diminished through the noughties as more and more lads who didn't seem to have that 6th gear started replacing those lads who had. And that we only seem to bring consistently when we are playing Kilkenny these days. Dublin are showing it against us the last few years, and sometimes Galway. It was great to see them get that result against Limerick, insofar as it showed where that attitude can get you against fancied opponents.
Absolutely Jack and Simons performances were excellent, hopefully both keep that up for the rest of the Championship, and bring that form into the League next year.
Hopefully also the lads who will be eligible for u20 next year have really good club seasons. Kian O Connor had some good moments for Oulart too.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16457 - 02/07/2025 12:59:37    2623128

Yes Chin needs more of the lads to step up and show the level of commitment and desire that he showed since he committed solely to hurling. If more lads step up and share the load then we might be in a better place next year.
We were underdogs for a game at the weekend here and we won it, not quite Dublin v Limerick but a big result.
We worked our balls off for the game and the opponents didn't.
Our coach came out with this in the dressing room afterwards : "Hard work beats talent when talent doesn't work hard". I had never heard it before but it quote sums up Wexford at so many levels for me. It might explain why we win at u14 and u15 but not at minor and upwards because I think at minor and above teams out-fight and out battle us. I think it was also a hall mark of the great Oulart team in their prime, they had both talent and warriors to use the talent.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1886 - 02/07/2025 13:46:43    2623145

Chins interview with GAA.IE is an interesting read. He is staying on in the hope he can have one more day like in 2019. He believes we are a team in transition and said himself we need young lads to really step up and bring us forward.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 668 - 02/07/2025 14:13:57    2623156

Replying To Viking66:  "If there was ever such a thing as a Wexford Way in real life it was that never say die attitude that the lads collectively had in the early/mid 90s, then diminished through the noughties as more and more lads who didn't seem to have that 6th gear started replacing those lads who had. And that we only seem to bring consistently when we are playing Kilkenny these days. Dublin are showing it against us the last few years, and sometimes Galway. It was great to see them get that result against Limerick, insofar as it showed where that attitude can get you against fancied opponents.
Absolutely Jack and Simons performances were excellent, hopefully both keep that up for the rest of the Championship, and bring that form into the League next year.
Hopefully also the lads who will be eligible for u20 next year have really good club seasons. Kian O Connor had some good moments for Oulart too."
Did Eoin Whelan or Rowley play any part of club games last week or are they still injured ling term. I qas hoping to see a bit of them this year as both probably prospects for senior team.

Hopefully Simon Roche and Redmond improve their physicality over the winter b3ciawe they'd be great additions and bring much needed freshness to forward line.

I thought Tucker Kinsella would have gotten more minutes this year as I thought he looked bright anytime I saw.him last season. He's a biggish lad that could bring something also.

Simon did look smallish but he's classy enough

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 429 - 02/07/2025 14:35:47    2623163

Replying To WEXILE:  "Did Eoin Whelan or Rowley play any part of club games last week or are they still injured ling term. I qas hoping to see a bit of them this year as both probably prospects for senior team.

Hopefully Simon Roche and Redmond improve their physicality over the winter b3ciawe they'd be great additions and bring much needed freshness to forward line.

I thought Tucker Kinsella would have gotten more minutes this year as I thought he looked bright anytime I saw.him last season. He's a biggish lad that could bring something also.

Simon did look smallish but he's classy enough"
Rowley didnt play for Oylegate. Whelan didnt play for Fethard its a pity hes missed so much I thought he had the potential to be a potential starter for us by now but injuries have held him back.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 668 - 02/07/2025 14:59:26    2623172

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Rowley didnt play for Oylegate. Whelan didnt play for Fethard its a pity hes missed so much I thought he had the potential to be a potential starter for us by now but injuries have held him back."
David Clarke is another one for barntown. He was away last year but thought he was very impressive in 23 any time I saw him.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3790 - 02/07/2025 15:28:12    2623183

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Rowley didnt play for Oylegate. Whelan didnt play for Fethard its a pity hes missed so much I thought he had the potential to be a potential starter for us by now but injuries have held him back."
Think Dara Kehoe is the better Senior prospect of the 2 tbh.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16457 - 02/07/2025 15:30:09    2623184

Replying To Doylerwex:  "David Clarke is another one for barntown. He was away last year but thought he was very impressive in 23 any time I saw him."
Another of the class of 2018. Good player ok. Made a few errors when given his last shot at Senior, a bit like Eoin Murphy. Don't think either are as good as Niall Murphy tbh.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16457 - 02/07/2025 15:34:08    2623185

Replying To Doylerwex:  "David Clarke is another one for barntown. He was away last year but thought he was very impressive in 23 any time I saw him."
What age is David Clarke now?

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 668 - 02/07/2025 15:42:15    2623187

Replying To Viking66:  "Think Dara Kehoe is the better Senior prospect of the 2 tbh."
I agree Darragh Kehoe does look like a good prospect . Surprised he didnt feature at all this year

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 668 - 02/07/2025 15:43:03    2623188

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I agree Darragh Kehoe does look like a good prospect . Surprised he didnt feature at all this year"
He got injured playing Fitzgibbon and missed the League.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16457 - 02/07/2025 15:56:13    2623193

Replying To Afinestick96:  "What age is David Clarke now?"
Same age as Rory and Damien

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16457 - 02/07/2025 15:56:50    2623194

Replying To Viking66:  "Same age as Rory and Damien"
David Clarke is a year older than those two

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 591 - 02/07/2025 16:25:12    2623204

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Chins interview with GAA.IE is an interesting read. He is staying on in the hope he can have one more day like in 2019. He believes we are a team in transition and said himself we need young lads to really step up and bring us forward."
Lee played pretty well this year in fairness to him, Galway aside. Pity we have very few near his level and fair play to him for staying on. I think we need him to solve our black hole at 6 next season, like Conlan did for Clare. We have zero presence there and we are at nothing until it's addressed.

Hopefully a few more young guys step forward but it's difficult. Conor Foley struggled I would say to kick on this year (not a 3), maybe Eoin Ryan and even Cian Byrne too. Daragh Carley got a bit more involved, Cian Molloy was good despite not getting all that many chances. We need them and more like them to push a few more experienced guys off the team and panel. We have some lads in their late 20s on the panel, have been given umpteen chances and simply can't be replied upon. One of those sent off yet again last weekend, time to move on? We are effectively in the second division of the league and just above Joe Mac teams based on our championship results, I'm not sure what we have to lose.

Focus on developing competitors first and foremost at u20 and senior level, the lads with more ability can either step up on the basics or step away.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 432 - 02/07/2025 16:25:45    2623205

Replying To Viking66:  "Another of the class of 2018. Good player ok. Made a few errors when given his last shot at Senior, a bit like Eoin Murphy. Don't think either are as good as Niall Murphy tbh."
Always feel like Niall Murphy gets a bit of a raw deal to be honest.

I think we'd have done better with him this year, particularly in Parnell park. He's sticky, dogged, a good technical hurler and has really good instincts for covering space.

Looking at where we want to be over the next 3 years we need to be finding physically strong, athletic lads with plenty of hurling, the same sort of cut as Conor Foley and I'd probably place David Clarke in that category.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3790 - 02/07/2025 16:30:04    2623207

Replying To Viking66:  "Same age as Rory and Damien"
Any idea what's the story with Ian carty? Would absolutely love to have him back. Serious all round athlete.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3790 - 02/07/2025 16:31:28    2623208

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Any idea what's the story with Ian carty? Would absolutely love to have him back. Serious all round athlete."
Viking would know if Ian is coming back. A good player no doubt

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 668 - 02/07/2025 17:19:20    2623227

Replying To Timbertony:  "Lee played pretty well this year in fairness to him, Galway aside. Pity we have very few near his level and fair play to him for staying on. I think we need him to solve our black hole at 6 next season, like Conlan did for Clare. We have zero presence there and we are at nothing until it's addressed.

Hopefully a few more young guys step forward but it's difficult. Conor Foley struggled I would say to kick on this year (not a 3), maybe Eoin Ryan and even Cian Byrne too. Daragh Carley got a bit more involved, Cian Molloy was good despite not getting all that many chances. We need them and more like them to push a few more experienced guys off the team and panel. We have some lads in their late 20s on the panel, have been given umpteen chances and simply can't be replied upon. One of those sent off yet again last weekend, time to move on? We are effectively in the second division of the league and just above Joe Mac teams based on our championship results, I'm not sure what we have to lose.

Focus on developing competitors first and foremost at u20 and senior level, the lads with more ability can either step up on the basics or step away."
Would like to see Damien Reck moved to midfield next year and Cian Molloy at 6 . He has a bit of a dog about him which we need

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 668 - 02/07/2025 17:21:48    2623228

GK is a bit of question mark at the moment, Fanning has been around a long time and don't know when he's going to step away, his puck-outs have hardly been great though (His short ones at the weekend were poor enough), hard to know who his successor should be

I'd be happy enough with Eoin Ryan, a fairly dependable player although he needs to improve his on-ball ability. Donohoe has been a great servant and has a great attitude but we need to get younger. Shane Reck is 29 next year and while he's very good when fit, he's been getting way too many injuries and when you start getting them, you don't stop getting them. Similar for Jippo who I could see stepping away. It's a pity that Joe Barrett seems to have no interest in joining the senior panel, would be an ideal corner-back. I like Conor Foley but he's not a full-back and that's a problem position for us. I think Eoin Whelan is a better prospect than Darragh Kehoe but both are still options at 3 as is Michael Dundon who, if he is to play at Senior level, is a full-back rather than a centre-back

Damien Reck would be a lot better on the wing, his best year for us was in 2022 when on the wing. Molloy is a natural 6 and is good in the air, could have either Foley or Carley as the other wing-back (With the other maybe in midfield). Foley would give you more dog in the middle while Carley would give you more scoring power, Carley may be the long-term Conor Hearne replacement.

Outside of Chin, Hearne was probably our best hurler this year. Richie Lawlor is good in the air but others are better ball-strikers and he lacks scoring power so I'd rather him in the middle, has the ability to impact games at Senior level but has to go out and do it.

CBD has to bulk up, has all the talent in the world but you can't let yourself be physically manhandled. Can score from distance and is a really good playmaker, a free role at 11 or maybe midfield would suit him best but he has to earn the right to get a free role. Jack Redmond had the physical capabilities to be a good wing-forward, would like to see them work on him improving his speed, Tucker Kinsella has the frame to be a good wing-forward but he needs to bulk up and show more dog, has the ability to score at this level if he does those two things. Don't know what Seán Rowley's best position will be and would worry that a bad hamstring injury could hurt his speed which is his biggest asset. Like his attitude and has a good frame to him as well, bit raw but if he continues to improve his hurling, he has massive potential

Rory had an ok year but you're always left with the sense that there's meat on the bone with him, he has the ability to be one of the best forwards in Ireland. Cian Byrne wasn't as successful this year as he was in 2023 but I feel he was carrying an injury towards the end of the campaign, a bit like his brother who looked like he was playing injured at U20 level. Simon Roche looked on Saturday that he could be starting for Wexford next year, not that big but has a good build, could play him anywhere in the full-forward line or at 11. Conor Mac is Conor Mac, would say he didn't win most of the balls that went into him on Saturday but was still able to get 1-01, he's always had that goal-scoring ability and it's not to be sniffed at but if he's not able to physically bully the full-back, he's not going to be winning most of the ball that goes into him

Chin is Chin and needs no introduction, Kevin Foley had a good year but CBD will probably replace him soon enough (Or at least you'd be hoping that CBD kicks on enough for that to happen), Dunbar and Jacko are replaceable

I do think there's a good young spine to the team coming through but we're probably two years into that transition and there's likely another two years still to go. Will Chin be around then? Will ROC, Shane Reck, Damien Reck, and Conor Hearne be hurling to the same level then? What's really killing us now is our lack of good 24-26yos, they should be the backbone of any team and they'd have aided Chin and co but we pretty much had no-one come through

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 591 - 02/07/2025 19:51:04    2623263