Replying To Doylerwex: "I'm not saying our club championship is perfect right...but if it's poor at all levels how is it that last year we had two teams in Leinster finals, one winning it, and Martin's losing narrowly away from home to eventual all Ireland champions?
At underage level this year we've played Kilkenny clubs, Waterford clubs and Dublin clubs. We're beating them all, to the point we're having to instruct our best players not to take shots.....
The best games we're getting are from Martin's and Rathnure" Tbh Castletown were very unlucky too not to win the other Leinster Final also.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16063 - 30/05/2025 10:28:17
All ireland series hurling should be modelled on wexford club cfzmponship add 1 team to munster we say kerry as they are from munster. Play 5 round Robin games Top 2 in each province into provincial finals and into 1/4 finals winners top seeds for 1/4 final 3rd play 4th in opposite group in prelim 1/4 final winners into 1/4 final v provincial losers 5th plays 6th in opposite group prelim 1/4 final winners play provincial winners in 1/4 final and losers into relegation final . Winners of Joe mac promoted to whichever province team relegated from . As it stand this year assuming kerry lost all games in round Robin. Provincial finals Cork v Limerick Kilkenny v Galway 3rd v 4th Tipp v wexford Dublin v Clare 5th v 6th Waterford v Antrim Offaly v kerry . 10 teams at least 7 games Elongated season for most teams . Playing into mid June at least possibly Would it work. Does it punish in form teams Would they be playing games for the sake of playing games in round Robin. if yiu are from.munster would it be to ur advantage as you would feel they have measure of leinster teams anyway at present . Is it fair that u could finish 3rd or 4th winning possibly 3 games and go out befire 1/4 final. And finish 6th and make a 1/4 final winning only 1 game out of 6 with the chance of winning the all ireland The n u ask has it worked in wexford
Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 363 - 30/05/2025 11:17:44
Replying To icehonesty: "Lads ye are complaining about the preliminary QF's, which I agree are stupid. They aren't there very long, hardly to blame for the poor standard of hurling." I'm trying to make a point of the club championship structure sub consciously gives you too many chances . I don't care what anyone argues if u know there is a 2nd chance you won't be as fired up as if there's not and that's spread over 5 round Robin games which gets ingrained in your mind . If that becomes the norm it settles in the mindset and we lose the fighting spirit whicj can add tgat extra percentage to ur performance from not using it enough and when we need it, it may not be able to be achieved. How much do counties pay sports physiologist to try change their mindset to winning mentality . I feel our club championship up until. Prelim 1/4 finals falls into the sure we get another chance bracket no matter how bad we do in round Robin. Hiw much and how many sessions would it take to banish those thoughts and be extracted by sports physiologist.
Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 363 - 30/05/2025 11:32:49
Replying To icehonesty: "Everyone wants to win.
Few are prepared to do what it takes to win." That's true to a point. At the end of the day players are amateurs, and many have other things going on in their lives. You won't get buy in from a club panel to train like county players for any more than 1-3 years max.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16063 - 30/05/2025 11:46:25
Replying To Slowandshortsighted: "The club format is similar to kk i think and it doesnt do their club teams any harm winning. The record shows the wexford club champions at senior is awful. Rathnure should of never went down. Theres being plenty of close calls in the junior especially against kk teams where they have being unlucky Linerick are the benchmark when was the last time they won the all ireland. Na piarsaigh i think. Dublin clubs can win all irelands but yet wexford dublin games are very tight. Des had a really open and honest chat on the wexford podcast. The lads were fierce fired up for the kk match. I stated here already that simon donahoe was much better deployed in defense. He said they regret not bringing him back earlier but as he said himself the messing on the field caused the ball to go in. He was on about people dogging people on social media. Simon came into a bit but he has over 100 caps and has being some stalwart. He is a big farmer aswell. Criticise yes we all do that but dogging him is different. As des said for years hanlon was no good and now that he is gone he is a huge loss like the other 2 lads. Lads will go when they go and wont make the team if there bet management know this aswell. Of anyone who goes if lee goes id be fearful. Really fearful.hopefully there rumors and just rumors. If he wanted to go travelling to see matt for a few months keith wouldn't mind.He would be some loss to the game. There probably will be retirements but division 2 is a blessing in disguise. Blood players come in under the rador and be better prepared for championship Finally im not in favour of people coming out saying the championship needs to be extended. Yes its short but its the same for everyone. County players love the split season.plenty of teams dont quilify big counties tipp and galway last year. Leinster is as weak as its being for a long time and if cant finish in top 3 then whats the point playing cork and limerick." Limerick clubs have only won a club AI once, same as us. The system works better in Kilkenny because they run their Football championship at a different time of year entirely. I'm not on twitter, FB, Instagram, etc but any criticism of any player I've posted on this has been highlighting aspects of their game that they could improve, not running them down as individuals.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16063 - 30/05/2025 11:50:15
Replying To Spidey1: "Club hurling at all levels is a poor standard What would you expect with the format of preliminary q finals.Some so called hurling genius came up with this plan so a team can win 1 game out of 5 and probably avoid relegation. We need to take fixture decisions away from club. Top 4 in each group into qfinals 2 co finalists promoted Bottom 2 in each groups into relegation finals 2 losers relegated At least that would bring some intensity into the championships and teams would go hell for leather As for underage Get rid of co shields from u16 up It's embarrassing for players to be playing for them You are removing the reality that your not good enough So train harder to win a championship" Will probably get backlash for this, but the group stages probably since Covid have shown there's a gulf in class starting to appear.
Senior A and B is the way forward. It needs to be more cut throat from the get go. And you'd have far more competitive games.
A - Annes Martins Gorey Shels 2 of Ferns, Oylegate and the Harriers.
Would be pretty confident in saying that atleast 3 out of 4 of those first named teams name above will be in the semi finals barring injuries or lads travelling.
B- Oulart Crossabeg Barntown Rathnure One of the above Rapps
OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 271 - 30/05/2025 13:04:53
Replying To Viking66: "That's true to a point. At the end of the day players are amateurs, and many have other things going on in their lives. You won't get buy in from a club panel to train like county players for any more than 1-3 years max." If it's done right, you'll get more buy in from training properly. Lads train less and have less commitment when they think standards are low, or that it's not that important. Make it important and take it seriously and there's loads of buy-in.
I'm not advocating for training like county players anyway, just for lads at intermediate and senior level to train up to what the standard is in other comparable counties. Which isn't happening.
icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2581 - 30/05/2025 13:12:50
Replying To Slowandshortsighted: "The club format is similar to kk i think and it doesnt do their club teams any harm winning. The record shows the wexford club champions at senior is awful. Rathnure should of never went down. Theres being plenty of close calls in the junior especially against kk teams where they have being unlucky Linerick are the benchmark when was the last time they won the all ireland. Na piarsaigh i think. Dublin clubs can win all irelands but yet wexford dublin games are very tight. Des had a really open and honest chat on the wexford podcast. The lads were fierce fired up for the kk match. I stated here already that simon donahoe was much better deployed in defense. He said they regret not bringing him back earlier but as he said himself the messing on the field caused the ball to go in. He was on about people dogging people on social media. Simon came into a bit but he has over 100 caps and has being some stalwart. He is a big farmer aswell. Criticise yes we all do that but dogging him is different. As des said for years hanlon was no good and now that he is gone he is a huge loss like the other 2 lads. Lads will go when they go and wont make the team if there bet management know this aswell. Of anyone who goes if lee goes id be fearful. Really fearful.hopefully there rumors and just rumors. If he wanted to go travelling to see matt for a few months keith wouldn't mind.He would be some loss to the game. There probably will be retirements but division 2 is a blessing in disguise. Blood players come in under the rador and be better prepared for championship Finally im not in favour of people coming out saying the championship needs to be extended. Yes its short but its the same for everyone. County players love the split season.plenty of teams dont quilify big counties tipp and galway last year. Leinster is as weak as its being for a long time and if cant finish in top 3 then whats the point playing cork and limerick." I agree with you Slowandshortsighted, dogging him is very different and is not on. Now back to the hurling, I don't remember that many people being critical of Matthew O'Hanlon as a player? I always believed Wexford needed 5 more of him in the backs. He was tough as nails and used the ball wisely. He was not a full back was the only point. Wexford need to try to get everybody back involved for next year with home games to Galway and Dublin which lets be real define your season. Win those 2 and pick up a win away to Offaly and avoid the annual howler and you should make a Leinster Final. On the general point of hurling in Wexford, a few parents were wondering if there was training this week with the bad weather and my response to one of them was "there is, and has he picked up a hurl since the last one" and her response was the usual "oh no, he has homework to do and its hard to find the time" and this woman is a stay at home parent. Parents need to find time, make time, get them out hurling. The better even the middle of the road players are, the better the top players will be.
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1362 - 30/05/2025 13:13:18
Replying To OpenStandWall: "Will probably get backlash for this, but the group stages probably since Covid have shown there's a gulf in class starting to appear.
Senior A and B is the way forward. It needs to be more cut throat from the get go. And you'd have far more competitive games.
A - Annes Martins Gorey Shels 2 of Ferns, Oylegate and the Harriers.
Would be pretty confident in saying that atleast 3 out of 4 of those first named teams name above will be in the semi finals barring injuries or lads travelling.
B- Oulart Crossabeg Barntown Rathnure One of the above Rapps" It goes in cycles, in 5 years time there will be changes to the top and bottom 6 depending on lads coming through and lads travelling. The system you are proposing is what they have in Limerick, and the lads I know up there aren't entirely happy with it, they reckon it perpetuates elites. Not wanting to offend anyone but looking at who is coming through from underage, and the age profile of each clubs best players, I'd be guessing Oulart and Barntown will likely be replacing your club and Ferns in the top 6 in the not too distant future, although I also think both Oulart and Barntown are in danger of being the club relegated this year, along with Crossabeg.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16063 - 30/05/2025 13:41:24
Replying To icehonesty: "If it's done right, you'll get more buy in from training properly. Lads train less and have less commitment when they think standards are low, or that it's not that important. Make it important and take it seriously and there's loads of buy-in.
I'm not advocating for training like county players anyway, just for lads at intermediate and senior level to train up to what the standard is in other comparable counties. Which isn't happening." That's still generalising. Sure there are clubs in other counties doing more than many clubs here. But equally I know of clubs here who do more training at adult, even in winter, than some Senior and Intermediate clubs in other counties.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16063 - 30/05/2025 16:17:08
Replying To Doylerwex: "I can tell you the harriers are dying to win a county final." We were down there last night, ye made us play on the beach LOL
WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 536 - 30/05/2025 18:28:39
Replying To ExiledInWex: "I agree with you Slowandshortsighted, dogging him is very different and is not on. Now back to the hurling, I don't remember that many people being critical of Matthew O'Hanlon as a player? I always believed Wexford needed 5 more of him in the backs. He was tough as nails and used the ball wisely. He was not a full back was the only point. Wexford need to try to get everybody back involved for next year with home games to Galway and Dublin which lets be real define your season. Win those 2 and pick up a win away to Offaly and avoid the annual howler and you should make a Leinster Final. On the general point of hurling in Wexford, a few parents were wondering if there was training this week with the bad weather and my response to one of them was "there is, and has he picked up a hurl since the last one" and her response was the usual "oh no, he has homework to do and its hard to find the time" and this woman is a stay at home parent. Parents need to find time, make time, get them out hurling. The better even the middle of the road players are, the better the top players will be." I see what you did there LOL
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1851 - 30/05/2025 23:56:40
Was just listening to Des Mythen and the short puckout concessions was, as it usually is, an interesting part of the conversation. He quoted a stat that the Galway forwards made 73 tackles, Conor Whelan made 13 by himself. That's the kind of workrate we were lacking from some of our forwards in that game. He also talked the talk as regards the aim of a short game, i.e. to get the ball out to a better delivery point to play a ball inside, between our 45 and 65. We didn't help our own cause by having lads in the backs who couldnt decide what to do and execute what they decide faster and more accurately. For whatever reason. Again, this isn't a personal criticism in any way, we aren't helped by having a keeper who in a match situation can't play a low long hard 40-50 metre stick pass accurately to a halfback in 10 metres of space. Collins and Quaid do this a few times every game, we can't. Any time you can do this you are in position to play a ball inside straight away, by-passing the several or many passes in our own 45 where a turnover results in a score usually. Galway forwards wouldn't have been able to make 73 tackles if the ball hadn't been in our own 45/65 for as long as it was. It was all too slow out of us. He quoted another stat which was shocking and came as a result of our slowness getting the ball to a good delivery point, we only played 2 good balls inside, I think he said, while Casey was on the pitch.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16063 - 31/05/2025 09:43:27
Replying To WEX98: "We were down there last night, ye made us play on the beach LOL" The railway pitch? Sorry about that, the timing of the sand vs the rain wasn't Ideal haha
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3675 - 31/05/2025 09:47:04
Looking at the u20 final today I was amazed at the quality Tipperary brought along. They almost totally dominated from start to finish and were real class. Kilkenny were simply blown away by the power of the Premier County. A joy to behold. Unfortunately it just goes to show how poor we are. We have a lot of catching up to do I'm afraid. Today the cats were kittens and Tipperary were the lions.
Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 504 - 31/05/2025 19:39:25
Replying To Magpie2: "Looking at the u20 final today I was amazed at the quality Tipperary brought along. They almost totally dominated from start to finish and were real class. Kilkenny were simply blown away by the power of the Premier County. A joy to behold. Unfortunately it just goes to show how poor we are. We have a lot of catching up to do I'm afraid. Today the cats were kittens and Tipperary were the lions." Kilkenny had an off day too though. Many of their best players were as poor as I've seen them, and that's in Leinster PP A, minor and u20. Lauhoff looked terrible and he's an excellent player. Agree Tipp wanted it more, put the pressure on, won the breaks, and their basic hurling was cleaner.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16063 - 31/05/2025 20:36:04
Replying To Viking66: "Kilkenny had an off day too though. Many of their best players were as poor as I've seen them, and that's in Leinster PP A, minor and u20. Lauhoff looked terrible and he's an excellent player. Agree Tipp wanted it more, put the pressure on, won the breaks, and their basic hurling was cleaner." Have to agree viking Tipp were made look better than they were alot of kk lads didnt perform for one reason or another guess we will have to listen to Munster hype now again and lads saying how bad we must be.
Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 377 - 31/05/2025 21:39:01
Replying To Tiger1: "Have to agree viking Tipp were made look better than they were alot of kk lads didnt perform for one reason or another guess we will have to listen to Munster hype now again and lads saying how bad we must be." Of course! You'll need a hearing aid after the Munster crowd have finished with you! Well entitled to their noise though, even the Cork lads!
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2273 - 31/05/2025 22:57:25
Just finished watching, Kilkenny were just blown away by an excellent Tipp side. I think its important to be realistic, Wexford are a mile off the pace. Laois knocked us out and Kilkenny still beat them well. We need a team to come through and start breaking some of these glass ceilings for ourselves. I hate talk about an "off day" because its just another excuse. Its a bit like "Wexford hate Thurles" like its a pitch with 2 goals. The problem we have is that we are not good enough to beat many teams who we play there I.e Munster counties. Watching Brendan Cummins on the sideline this morning, he was absolutely up for it and I think Wexford are too calm in our sideline manner. I'm not promoting Davy antics but let the referee and linesman and 4th official know what you think. But before that becomes a decider, we need to produce better players and that is the long and short of it.
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1851 - 31/05/2025 23:35:23
Replying To Viking66: "Kilkenny had an off day too though. Many of their best players were as poor as I've seen them, and that's in Leinster PP A, minor and u20. Lauhoff looked terrible and he's an excellent player. Agree Tipp wanted it more, put the pressure on, won the breaks, and their basic hurling was cleaner." I'm no fan of munster teams or their arrogance but I think it was a matter of Tipperary been so much better rather than Kilkenny having an off day. The cats were totally reliant on Marty Murphy to get their scores. Tipp had more balance in the forwards and had a much better spread. Their backs were rock solid and were in control throughout. To be honest leinster as a whole were weak and it showed today. I think saying kilkenny had an off day is really papering over the cracks.
Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 504 - 01/06/2025 00:31:05