Wexford Hurling 2025

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Good post. Director of hurling, Games Development officers etc , millions spent on a centre of excellence and no progress being made on the playing side of things. Our senior team is being carried by one man, same probably can be said for the minors as well while our U20's supposedly the feeder to the senior team has been nothing short of shambolic for the last 2 years.
I honestly fear for the future of Wexford hurling."
Firstly Ferns is a sham - Clubs are expected to pay €250 - €300 a night to use these facilities. Clubs paying a levy for the last 30 years through model county tickets and then separate levy's last year and this year to fund the further expansion of it. In KIlkenny (and quite a few other counties), Clubs have access to COE facilities for free once they win their respective championship.

What does our director of hurling do - and that is an honest question? .. Is his role for the development of our county teams or development of club players.

What about our coaches - I haven't seen or heard mention of a coach contacting our primary school or GAA club in the last 2 years asking do we need help or advice. Where are all these coaches.

New Ross is on its knees with regards to participation levels, Enniscorthy not too far behind. Our post primary schools are not competing at Senior Colleges hurling and haven't for the last number of years - By competing I don't mean winning a game or two, I mean been involved in and winning Leinster A titles.

But still we are putting 'record investment' into coaching in Wexford.

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 180 - 06/05/2025 09:27:29    2607006

Replying To tearintom:  "Yep.

My thoughts went to the Cork league game as being defensively pretty dire. We conceded 2.21, 23 scores and 27 points in total. We finished the league relegated with the 3rd worst score difference.

Fast forward to last Saturday night and we've gone on to concede 3.26, 29 scores and 35 points in total. To a team a division below us thus year who will remain a division below us next year and a team minus some of their best players. A

I believe it's the most we have conceded in a leinster championship game since Davys last game in charge of us in the leinster championship when Kilkenny annihilated us.

So defence is a huge issue, how can you say otherwise is beyond me."
I don't disagree with your analysis that we have defensive issues but fairly inaccurate to say Kilkenny annihilated us in Davy's last game in charge in Leinster considering we lost after extra time and would have won in normal time only for Hawkeye pulling back Conor Mac's goal at the end as the ball had gone over the bar before Eoin Murphy knocked it down.

Ancamánbriste (Wexford) - Posts: 3 - 06/05/2025 09:30:39    2607007

Offaly won the Minor All-Ireland three years ago (Beat Laois in the Leinster Final) and won the U20 All-Ireland last year but Dublin beat them by 4-12 to 0-17 yesterday, goes to show that we shouldn't really place that much importance on group games in this current format

Don't know whether that means we under-performed yesterday, whether Offaly under-performed yesterday, or whether Dublin under-performed against us; one thing's for sure, Laois chronically under-performed in the group stages

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 473 - 06/05/2025 09:37:02    2607009

Replying To Avondhu86:  "After ye lost the first round of the u20 championship to Kilkenny, one poster stated that the match was meaningless and was used by Wexford to try out lads for next years team.
It's the first round of your championship! Surely the objective is to go out and win it regardless of the structure of the Leinster u20 hurling championship and the seeding for the knock out stages.
Point I'm making is that if Wexford management are treating championship games against Kilkenny as meaningless then it can't bode well for the rest of the competition.
You had 2 group games before the knockout today. Surely be to the Lord you want to be getting as much championship game time into your starting 15 as possible?
Same was said about the minor game the other day too - that the game was meaningless!!??"
Excuse after excuse will be trotted out down here. Like we haven't won a minor all ireland since '68 etc. etc. Simple answer to that is that the investment in underage is supposed to change all that . As far as I can see we are no nearer to achieving that aim.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 546 - 06/05/2025 09:40:46    2607010

It should improve going forward now that dev squads players from u14 can only play the one code .
Should nt it

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 353 - 06/05/2025 09:41:51    2607011

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Feeling pretty low after today.

Wexford hurling badly needs an injection of hope now like Liam Dunne, JJ Doyle and Davy delivered.

The Galway game next week now feels like "playing for a way of life" territory."
Fully agree with you Doylerwex. Feeling low after the results over the weekend. In fairness thought the minors were unlucky to lose by that much in the end. Sean O Brien is a great talent but we needed someone else to step up. I know Viking was saying that a few lads from Peters were away on their school tour. Was their many starters missing ? To be honest I think they shouldn't be missing a championship match with wexford unless they had already paid for a trip abroad. The u20 was extremely disappointing . Laois were by far the better team. Simon Roche is the only positive he will be a starting for our seniors in the not too distant future.
After the weekend we just had its hard to feel too positive about what's to come for Wexford hurling. Back 10 years ago it felt like we were on the way back again. What has changed in our structures or have we not improved them ?
We are back in the 2023 relegation game against Kilkenny kind of territory now 'playing for a way of life'
We need to stand up for ourselves on Saturday. No weak mentality bull dropping to heads if one or two things go against us. We need to be much tighter at the back no letting Galway run through us at will like Dublin did. Hopefully Jippo back at 3 can help with that. We need other lads like Cian , Rory , Jacko to really stand up and give Lee a hand he cant do it all on his own.
Time to deliver now on Saturday another timid showing is not an option here .
I expect Keith to have the lads raring to go and a big performance

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 571 - 06/05/2025 09:43:04    2607012

Replying To tearintom:  "I personally think Liam Ryan has to start, no ifs or buts.

One thing I noticed against Dublin was the lack of organisation. Everyone was hurling their patch. Chin in the forwards was hurling his game but also organising those around him. But from midfield back this was non existent.

O Hanlon was very good at that, calling lads back into position, coaching and organising from the back. Ryan does it too but without them no one was doing it. It's a crucial part of the game, Players need to organise but we aren't doing it.

And lastly I'd throw Mc Donald in from fhe start, people have been kinda writing him off a bit but if yeremeber the Kilkenny game last year he was virtually unplayable that day, he caused Kilkenny all sorts of problems.

And lastly we can't be as naive as we were on the line against Dublin, we really can't, if plan a isn't working don't just keep doing plan A, adapt and switch it up, if that means a sweeper then do it for portions of the game, if it means pulling back en masse then do it."
I agree with you if Mac is fit he has to start Saturday. I also think we need management to make the hard calls fast i.e positional and personnel changes. Look at Limerick Saturday Kiely had no problem taking Byrnes off after 20 mins for the good of the team. We wait too late to make changes when the damage is already done. I think given the players we have the management team have done a decent job but that's one thing they have to improve

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 571 - 06/05/2025 09:50:51    2607013

Replying To MyOhMi:  "Firstly Ferns is a sham - Clubs are expected to pay €250 - €300 a night to use these facilities. Clubs paying a levy for the last 30 years through model county tickets and then separate levy's last year and this year to fund the further expansion of it. In KIlkenny (and quite a few other counties), Clubs have access to COE facilities for free once they win their respective championship.

What does our director of hurling do - and that is an honest question? .. Is his role for the development of our county teams or development of club players.

What about our coaches - I haven't seen or heard mention of a coach contacting our primary school or GAA club in the last 2 years asking do we need help or advice. Where are all these coaches.

New Ross is on its knees with regards to participation levels, Enniscorthy not too far behind. Our post primary schools are not competing at Senior Colleges hurling and haven't for the last number of years - By competing I don't mean winning a game or two, I mean been involved in and winning Leinster A titles.

But still we are putting 'record investment' into coaching in Wexford."
Our "record investment" is only a little over half what Clare spend on coaching and games.
As regards coaches visiting your club your coaching officer needs to arrange these. Our club have had several good coaching the coaches sessions over the last couple of years arranged by our current and previous coaching officers.
Our usual 2 PP A schools performance at PP level will only improve if the majority of parents pay to send their kids there if they are good hurlers, as in pay to get them there as free buses are only available to children going to their local school, and if they can get a place there with the new Dept of Education guidelines introduced a few years ago. As it is they aren't, and they can't. In Kilkenny they do and they can, as geographically more of their population are around Kilkenny City, and they have less rural secondary schools near there. We have way more schools competing and winning at B especially, but also at the lower grades again, than Kilkenny do.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15639 - 06/05/2025 10:46:06    2607028

Replying To Formertownie:  "It should improve going forward now that dev squads players from u14 can only play the one code .
Should nt it"
Hopefully. The style of training/coaching has changed too for u14s up in the last year or 2. Hopefully that will help. Found out an interesting stat about our u20s though, and minors they only get together twice a week during school times, and one of those would likely be for a challenge match. I'm pretty sure all other counties get together more than this, I know for a fact Wicklow and Clare do. Nearly all other counties start back at underage earlier each season than we do too.
When you consider how competitive we are at u14 to u16 with the top counties, and how uncompetitive we are at minor and u20 even with middle tier counties some years, maybe how often our 17-20 year olds get to train and play together as a team might have to be looked at also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15639 - 06/05/2025 10:53:14    2607031

Replying To Viking66:  "Hopefully. The style of training/coaching has changed too for u14s up in the last year or 2. Hopefully that will help. Found out an interesting stat about our u20s though, and minors they only get together twice a week during school times, and one of those would likely be for a challenge match. I'm pretty sure all other counties get together more than this, I know for a fact Wicklow and Clare do. Nearly all other counties start back at underage earlier each season than we do too.
When you consider how competitive we are at u14 to u16 with the top counties, and how uncompetitive we are at minor and u20 even with middle tier counties some years, maybe how often our 17-20 year olds get to train and play together as a team might have to be looked at also."
Don't think that's accurate.

I know someone involved at minor level over the past few years and they were getting together twice during the week and once at the weekend pretty much from October straight through

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1495 - 06/05/2025 11:23:57    2607043

Replying To Viking66:  "Hopefully. The style of training/coaching has changed too for u14s up in the last year or 2. Hopefully that will help. Found out an interesting stat about our u20s though, and minors they only get together twice a week during school times, and one of those would likely be for a challenge match. I'm pretty sure all other counties get together more than this, I know for a fact Wicklow and Clare do. Nearly all other counties start back at underage earlier each season than we do too.
When you consider how competitive we are at u14 to u16 with the top counties, and how uncompetitive we are at minor and u20 even with middle tier counties some years, maybe how often our 17-20 year olds get to train and play together as a team might have to be looked at also."
Sorry minors train together 3 times a week

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15639 - 06/05/2025 11:29:13    2607047

I'm sure people out there who have the perspective to can correctly diagnose the issues with Wexford hurling but to me its a mystery but I have some thoughts on the matter. The stat at stands out for me in minor, just a single all ireland at this grade in 57 years.

Others have questioned the investment we've made in coaching, I think this investment is a must but its also right to ask whether the spend is being used to maximum impact. My limited exposure to Wexford GAA coaching staff is overwhelming positive, the ones I met were committed and able they cannot of course be everywhere. I think we're in difficultly in urban areas, where populations growth is happening, while in many rural areas, especially the southern half of the county, is experiencing depopulation. I see lads from families who backboned town clubs, with other (rural) clubs now as they no longer live in the town and much of the population growth this is occurring is people who do not have a connection or tradition of playing GAA (many coming from overseas) which makes is tough even on the most organised clubs to engage. I think the standard of hurling across the board in Ireland has risen so the benchmark we're trying to pass continues to rise too, and given we are coming from behind this is a significant challenge. I'm not convinced that enough of recognise what's required to be successful. To my mind Clare are a useful benchmark for Wexford, size and history but they have had a much more successful last 30 years than us.

I strongly suspect 3rd level and access to this is a factor, I've tried to get the numbers but anecdotally the Munster counties have FAR more players experiencing Fitzgibbon than Wexford. I think this is having an impact.

I think we need a clear set of skills that children should be equipped with at u8, u10, u12 etc it should be crystal clear to coaches what they should work. I think feedback and 'prefect practice' - doing the right things well - should be emphasized. The weaker lads need work put into them rather than allowing to fall at the wayside, we do not have the luxury of losing potential senior players and if we focus on the u10 'super stars' only we shouldn't wonder why we are struggling for numbers at minor. We should factor and recognize attitude, grit and not just skills.

wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 92 - 06/05/2025 12:10:25    2607060

What Id like to see Saturday:

Fanning
Ryan
Jippo
Shane Reck
Foley
D Reck
Molloy
Hearne
Donohue
Jack
Chin
Foley
Rory
MacDonald
Byrne

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 249 - 06/05/2025 12:45:38    2607073

Not long to go now before our season defining game on Saturday. We need a proper backs to the wall performance aka Kilkenny 2022, 2023 and Galway game last year. What team would you go with for the game Saturday?
I see Keith has confirmed he expects Mac and Jippo to be available. I cant see him starting Mac he always seems to wean lads in coming back from injury. I expect Jacko to start instead of Lawlor. Jippo will come in maybe for Charlie McGuckin with Conor Foley moving to wing back. Wouldnt expect too many more changes. Id start Mac myself if he is fit enough. Surely if there is anything in us at all we will see a big performance on Saturday

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 571 - 06/05/2025 12:57:13    2607079

Replying To Formertownie:  "It should improve going forward now that dev squads players from u14 can only play the one code .
Should nt it"
This is an old survey now so maybe players are selected better, but at the time only 5% of clare players that played Tony Forristal went on to play intercounty.

https://www.irishnews.com/gaa/the-only-guarantee-around-player-development-is-that-there-are-no-guarantees-FBU43CBAIFAUTNBTVNZDY6G2UQ/

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 495 - 06/05/2025 13:46:37    2607097

Replying To tearintom:  "Don't think that's accurate.

I know someone involved at minor level over the past few years and they were getting together twice during the week and once at the weekend pretty much from October straight through"
3 times a week from the 1st December. They're a good group, hopefully they can get a couple more wins together this year. Best of luck to them, and fair play to them all for putting the time in.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15639 - 06/05/2025 14:08:36    2607106

Replying To wexford2012:  "I'm sure people out there who have the perspective to can correctly diagnose the issues with Wexford hurling but to me its a mystery but I have some thoughts on the matter. The stat at stands out for me in minor, just a single all ireland at this grade in 57 years.

Others have questioned the investment we've made in coaching, I think this investment is a must but its also right to ask whether the spend is being used to maximum impact. My limited exposure to Wexford GAA coaching staff is overwhelming positive, the ones I met were committed and able they cannot of course be everywhere. I think we're in difficultly in urban areas, where populations growth is happening, while in many rural areas, especially the southern half of the county, is experiencing depopulation. I see lads from families who backboned town clubs, with other (rural) clubs now as they no longer live in the town and much of the population growth this is occurring is people who do not have a connection or tradition of playing GAA (many coming from overseas) which makes is tough even on the most organised clubs to engage. I think the standard of hurling across the board in Ireland has risen so the benchmark we're trying to pass continues to rise too, and given we are coming from behind this is a significant challenge. I'm not convinced that enough of recognise what's required to be successful. To my mind Clare are a useful benchmark for Wexford, size and history but they have had a much more successful last 30 years than us.

I strongly suspect 3rd level and access to this is a factor, I've tried to get the numbers but anecdotally the Munster counties have FAR more players experiencing Fitzgibbon than Wexford. I think this is having an impact.

I think we need a clear set of skills that children should be equipped with at u8, u10, u12 etc it should be crystal clear to coaches what they should work. I think feedback and 'prefect practice' - doing the right things well - should be emphasized. The weaker lads need work put into them rather than allowing to fall at the wayside, we do not have the luxury of losing potential senior players and if we focus on the u10 'super stars' only we shouldn't wonder why we are struggling for numbers at minor. We should factor and recognize attitude, grit and not just skills."
That's a good post.

Just on the Fitzgibbon, SETU not entering it this year was a cause of our reduced numbers overall, along with DIT and Trinity. They are 3 third level Institutions where alot of Wexford people attend.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15639 - 06/05/2025 14:12:25    2607110

Replying To OpenStandWall:  "What Id like to see Saturday:

Fanning
Ryan
Jippo
Shane Reck
Foley
D Reck
Molloy
Hearne
Donohue
Jack
Chin
Foley
Rory
MacDonald
Byrne"
I'd go with that also if I was Keith. But I'm not. Hopefully whoever starts will be motivated to put a big shift in, stay covering ground, plenty hooks, blocks and tackles, from the Inside Forwards back. And hopefully the line will be sharp enough to replace lads when they are too tired to put that shift in.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15639 - 06/05/2025 14:15:06    2607113

Replying To Viking66:  "3 times a week from the 1st December. They're a good group, hopefully they can get a couple more wins together this year. Best of luck to them, and fair play to them all for putting the time in."
Looking at Laois' results they have had 4 extremely comfortable wins so our minors have a big task ahead in Portlaoise Saturday

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 571 - 06/05/2025 14:54:28    2607124

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Fully agree with you Doylerwex. Feeling low after the results over the weekend. In fairness thought the minors were unlucky to lose by that much in the end. Sean O Brien is a great talent but we needed someone else to step up. I know Viking was saying that a few lads from Peters were away on their school tour. Was their many starters missing ? To be honest I think they shouldn't be missing a championship match with wexford unless they had already paid for a trip abroad. The u20 was extremely disappointing . Laois were by far the better team. Simon Roche is the only positive he will be a starting for our seniors in the not too distant future.
After the weekend we just had its hard to feel too positive about what's to come for Wexford hurling. Back 10 years ago it felt like we were on the way back again. What has changed in our structures or have we not improved them ?
We are back in the 2023 relegation game against Kilkenny kind of territory now 'playing for a way of life'
We need to stand up for ourselves on Saturday. No weak mentality bull dropping to heads if one or two things go against us. We need to be much tighter at the back no letting Galway run through us at will like Dublin did. Hopefully Jippo back at 3 can help with that. We need other lads like Cian , Rory , Jacko to really stand up and give Lee a hand he cant do it all on his own.
Time to deliver now on Saturday another timid showing is not an option here .
I expect Keith to have the lads raring to go and a big performance"
Agree with your last few paragraphs there Afinestick and I'd say you can even throw 2024 after Corrigan Park into that I'd be pretty certain the narratives on the 2024 forum around this time last year weren't any more positive than they have been here the last 10 days, it's becoming a worrying annual trend that it comes to this.

Winning on Saturday isn't beyond the realms of possibility and I don't think on paper there's a whole lot between ourselves and them as the league game showed and I think that 11/15 which started the league game in February started against Offaly in the last round. Even a draw would at least put us back in the hunt to some degree.

You're right regarding Chin -The senior players on the panel who've been there the last 10 years or so badly need to step up on Saturday and be counted for either starting or from the bench - Jippo, two Recks, Donohue, Foley, MacDonald and the two OConnors.

Going up here and trying to land 20/25 puck outs down on top of him won't work with the likes of Grealish, Fintan Burke and P Mannion.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 249 - 06/05/2025 14:54:36    2607125