All Ireland Football Final 2024 - Galway V Armagh

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "I got no ear full after the Donegal loss, couldn't fault them in that regard. Have seen a lot of cockiness among the fans and media bias towards Galway over the past coupls of weeks though. I could not unserstand it at all, Galway and Armagh have been nip and tuck over the last few years.
I can't understand anyone who didnt see this game as 50:50 and for some reason thought Galway were strong favourires. Were did that come from other than the media??"
Firstly your spelling is terrible.
Nobody in Ireland, media or any genuine GAA fan had Galway as strong favourites.
You seem to have a bone to pick on here for the last two weeks but now is the time to move on, concentrate on Donegal club football or wherever you are actually from!

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 29/07/2024 09:08:46    2562450

Replying To eoinog:  "They had 15 players camped in their own half."
Every team in the country has 15 camped in there own half its terrible watch.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1769 - 29/07/2024 09:16:30    2562452

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Unionists and Loyalists are going nuts at Armagh's win. Apparently a PSNI car had an Armagh flag on it and cue the usual outrage and indignation. You couldn't make it up."
The police officers are now under investigation for it.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 29/07/2024 09:30:55    2562462

Replying To LottoPlus:  "Joyce has to go. Relied on lads with past records. Woeful stuff today. Armagh deserved to win. On a sour not Jarlath Burns needs to realise that he ie the president of the full GAA not just Armagh. His speech was disrespectful to Galway. Joe McDonagh our last Galway GAA president would never say that. I presume he will apologise to Galway over his emotions getting the better of him and act properly going forward"
Oh would you stop, even as a galwayman I enjoyed watching him. Was a lovely moment.

His use of the podium to push a divisive political agenda after the hurling final was far more unprofessional and disagreeable.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 29/07/2024 09:47:24    2562466

Replying To Fionn:  "The police officers are now under investigation for it."
Amazing, the police in the north have spent the last couple of months safeguarding every parade and road block put in place to host the build up and aftermath of the loyalist marching season and they show one bit of support for a Gaelic team going for the biggest prize in the game and they're now under investigation. So much for serving the community.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2470 - 29/07/2024 09:51:50    2562469

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Amazing, the police in the north have spent the last couple of months safeguarding every parade and road block put in place to host the build up and aftermath of the loyalist marching season and they show one bit of support for a Gaelic team going for the biggest prize in the game and they're now under investigation. So much for serving the community."
Certain politicians came out strongly against them, condemning their actions and calling for an investigation.

They got their way.....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 29/07/2024 10:00:24    2562472

Replying To Fionn:  "The police officers are now under investigation for it."
The PSNI facilitate Orange Arches being put up every year, they close roads and stop traffic. No one says anything. The bitterness and hatred from elements of Unionism this morning is pathetic but unsurprising.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9778 - 29/07/2024 10:02:42    2562476

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Amazing, the police in the north have spent the last couple of months safeguarding every parade and road block put in place to host the build up and aftermath of the loyalist marching season and they show one bit of support for a Gaelic team going for the biggest prize in the game and they're now under investigation. So much for serving the community."
.. and I'm sure you're not one bit surprised by the noise either

For me, it just shows how delicate the feelings are of a certain %

The winds of change are giving them a right chill...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 29/07/2024 10:03:11    2562477

Replying To jimbodub:  ".. and I'm sure you're not one bit surprised by the noise either

The winds of change are giving them a right chill..."
You should hear BBC Radio Ulster this morning Jimbo. The absolute hatred is shocking.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9778 - 29/07/2024 10:10:46    2562481

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The PSNI facilitate Orange Arches being put up every year, they close roads and stop traffic. No one says anything. The bitterness and hatred from elements of Unionism this morning is pathetic but unsurprising."
... am I've no doubt you saw it coming from a mile away

Feck them, as if they are going to in any way bother any Armagh fan this morning with their noodle arm patheticness.

They really do feel isolated now, any sort of reminder of that has them bleating nervously

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 29/07/2024 10:14:29    2562482

Replying To Fionn:  "Certain politicians came out strongly against them, condemning their actions and calling for an investigation.

They got their way....."
If you can even call Jamie Bryson a politician, his statement yesterday labelled the GAA as 'a politically divisive organisation' while making a politically divisive social media statement at the same time. The irony is obviously lost on a clown like that but sadly that's the level he and some others still operate at day and daily up here. Thankfully the masses see him for what he is, a comedy act, so he can bark at the moon for the rest of his sad career if he wants.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2470 - 29/07/2024 10:15:39    2562483

Replying To jimbodub:  ".. and I'm sure you're not one bit surprised by the noise either

The winds of change are giving them a right chill..."
Yeah, well used to it Jimbo. It does provide a bit of entertainment but the sad thing is, there are some people who actually believe these half assed Paisley types. Thankfully only a minority all the same.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2470 - 29/07/2024 10:21:33    2562489

Congratulations to Armagh and commiserations to Galway. Both teams battled to the end.

Shearer (Louth) - Posts: 856 - 29/07/2024 10:36:15    2562498

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Every team in the country has 15 camped in there own half its terrible watch."
Yes but don't let the Monaghan mug ( ORIELMAN ) see you saying that…. He thinks football was never in a better place… God help him

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2729 - 29/07/2024 10:44:41    2562504

Replying To Ulsterman:  "You should hear BBC Radio Ulster this morning Jimbo. The absolute hatred is shocking."
Jeeze, I couldn't be listening to that level.. I can imagine it though

Lots of grandstanding bluster.. they only like things going their way, the bleating that starts when their stranglehold feels threatened.. I can imagine the noise alright, its grand though that Armagh GAA property is targeted with sectarian bigotry though..

Had it so good for so long, but alas, time is catching up..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 29/07/2024 10:48:52    2562505

Probably the police hierarchy had to say they are investigating to appease the usual crowd, as had been said heartening to see the progress that has been made that the police can in a fun way celebrate a huge achievement that resonates with part of the community they serve (assuming it was a PSNI officer driving the car (: )

Bainisteoir (National) - Posts: 553 - 29/07/2024 10:49:52    2562506

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Lucky???? Are you for real?"
I know you're normally completely blind to anything that doesn't paint everything Ulster in a bright light but even for you this is something.

Armagh were just about the better team but if you think they dominated that game you really are blind.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1462 - 29/07/2024 11:11:34    2562516

Replying To SaffronDon:  "If you can even call Jamie Bryson a politician, his statement yesterday labelled the GAA as 'a politically divisive organisation' while making a politically divisive social media statement at the same time. The irony is obviously lost on a clown like that but sadly that's the level he and some others still operate at day and daily up here. Thankfully the masses see him for what he is, a comedy act, so he can bark at the moon for the rest of his sad career if he wants."
Just read the signs banners and vans with flags etc were burned in area's of Armagh overnight.....

Shocking.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 29/07/2024 11:16:15    2562517

Replying To Ulsterman:  "You should hear BBC Radio Ulster this morning Jimbo. The absolute hatred is shocking."
Wait til they hear Marty Morrissey is moving to South Armagh. They really **** themselves then.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3829 - 29/07/2024 11:28:36    2562526

Congratulations to Armagh, deserving All Ireland Champions and enjoy the celebrations. Commiserations to our own lads, they gave us a number of great days out this year but just fell short at the final hurdle. Gutted but that's sport.

Life goes on and we go again in 2025! Gaillimh Abu.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1631 - 29/07/2024 11:33:51    2562531