Clare V Cork - All Ireland Hurling Final 2024

Replying To zinny:  "One thing for sure, had he refereed the Wexford game against Clare, Rory would never have been sent off."
Neither would even have been frees based on today. The chop on fitzgibbon was worse than either of Rory's and resulted in a Clare score

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3042 - 21/07/2024 22:30:39    2560444

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I am happy for you. You're obviously a hurling man and I've no doubt you'll appreciate this."
Thanks man

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2672 - 21/07/2024 22:32:46    2560445

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Thanks man"
Congratulations LohansRedHelmet. I felt as happy for you and Clare as if it was we won. A little bit sorry for Cork but Clare has given inspiration to the chasing pack with their grit,determination and perseverance. Both teams showed how the game should be played. Not a dirty stroke. If Clare were beaten there would probably been some executions as the ridiculous pulling of jerseys sent it to overtime and nearly a replay.
However ye got over the line in the best final I have seen watching since 1959.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2847 - 21/07/2024 22:49:46    2560449

LRH as a Limerick man heartiest congrats, worthy winners and the one team that consistently put up to our lads over the past four or five years Enjoy.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4458 - 21/07/2024 22:53:08    2560450

Replying To katser:  "Congratulations to the Banner.....where is your green and white now!!"
As many Hurling All Irelands won in six years as Galway have in the entire history of the GAA.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4458 - 21/07/2024 22:56:29    2560451

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Neither would even have been frees based on today. The chop on fitzgibbon was worse than either of Rory's and resulted in a Clare score"
Somebody had too many pints of smithwicks. LOL

CorkLiamMcCarthy24 (Cork) - Posts: 24 - 21/07/2024 22:58:41    2560452

Replying To Fionn:  "Congrats Clare - some comeback from a bad start and 7 points down.

What a game. Wow.

Deserved a reply to be honest.

Ref had a good game but 3 big decisions didnt go the way of Cork.
A free late on under the Hogan, the Black Card, and the free right at the death for the jersey pull, especially when he was giving them all day.

Hard luck Cork - hopefully next year will be your year.

Congrats again to Clare - what a year it turned out to be.
League Champions and now All Ireland Senior Hurling Champions.

Take a bow Brian Lohan.

Enjoy the celebrations.

A game that will be long remembered for many."
Just home from it. Great game! Was the best game of hurling Ive been to in many nany years. Best game of anything in fact.
Not sure about your view on the decisions though. Are you talking about the incident towards the end by black card incident? That was set up by a free out that should've been a free in. Tap over free for Clare.
He gave a free in for a foul by Cork inside the 21, when he clearly only raised his hand after play had gone on into the 21. That technically should've been a black card to the Cork defender and a penalty to Clare.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13322 - 21/07/2024 22:59:34    2560453

Replying To Setanta11:  "An epic match, fair play Clare….and some of the scores were unbelievable.
The ref definitely let it flow, but I'd say he (officials) got 6 big calls wrong (against Cork)…most of which not only deprived Cork of a score, but resulted in a Clare score (these include the jersey pull, the peno/ black card, the 65 not given, foul on Hoggy, chop on Fitzgibbon, high tackle on Barrett)…. Obviously some things even themselves out, but these were all massive calls.
This takes nothing away from Clare's performance"
Sure you weren't supporting Cork?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13322 - 21/07/2024 23:00:20    2560454

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Donal og tried to take the heat off him which was class, but it was an awful way to decide a fantastic final."
It was in no way decided on that. Every game will have missed frees but of course it is tougher when it's the last play. We know in Limerick exactly what it feels like from 2019. Game was won because Clare were the better team in what was an epic game and took their chances. Congrats to them and commiserations to Cork, it was an epic final. Tony Kelly was immense today and led his team to glory.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 407 - 21/07/2024 23:10:38    2560458

Tony Kelly's face should be printed on money.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2048 - 21/07/2024 23:30:02    2560460

Replying To katser:  "Congratulations to the Banner.....where is your green and white now!!"
You never give up do you. The green and white are shining a lot more brightly than the maroon and white in hurling of course. Best of luck next Sunday.

aloneitstands (Limerick) - Posts: 74 - 21/07/2024 23:31:09    2560461

Enjoy and forget the begrudgers.I had Cork backedbut Clare deserved the win.A few dodgy decosions but that happend on every final.Ask Mayo.Even the shout for Cork penalty sholud nt have hapoened as it shoild have been free into Clare other end forst for foul on Shanagher

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3840 - 22/07/2024 00:19:46    2560465

@lohansredhelme: delighted for you bud. Lived in Ennis for a couple of years working on the bypass and had an absolute blast. One of the best towns in the country.
Enjoy your night and tell the missus to put the foot down: time is a-wasting!

And I know I speak for all of us when I say we're looking forward to your final thoughts on the match several hours and many pints from now. ;)

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3143 - 22/07/2024 00:28:09    2560466

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Cheers man

Not joking, I can't stop crying

This means so much to us. True Clare fans know what Lohan has been building and he/we got our reward today.

Wife is driving me home now, straight to the pub in Ennis. Can't wait

Clare 2024 All Ireland Champions"
Hope you enjoyed the pints! Isn't hurling just a superb sport? It keeps on giving. It really needs to be packaged and marketed properly to the international audience! It also needs to be promoted properly in the counties outside the leading 8/9. Donal Og is very correct in what he says that we need real guardians of the game.

But that's for another day. Today belonged to the Banner. When I sat down to watch it, it was 50-50 for me and I didn't really care which side won. I just wanted a good game and my God did I get that in spades!

But as the game went on, it was Clare that I began to lean towards: fighting their way back into into; tigerish defence that fought man to man but where John Conlan was colossal. Shane O'Donnell, what a game! What a year! What a player! And what can be said about Tony Kelly? Cometh the hour, cometh the man; captain victorious and MOTM!

So, hearty congratulations to Clare. Commiserations to Cork, a particularly painful one to lose. But I'm sure the rebels will rise again!

And well done to Murphy the ref and his team, brilliant all round!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2068 - 22/07/2024 00:40:41    2560467

Congrats to Clare, masteclass from TK. Cork will justifiably be annoyed with ref, good few big calls at big moments went against them.

FearBeag (Mayo) - Posts: 83 - 22/07/2024 06:56:23    2560473

Well done Clare after chalking up their fifth all ireland senior title in an epic final.

Cuhullain (Kildare) - Posts: 285 - 22/07/2024 07:11:02    2560474

Corkman here, ref did **** us a bit but no pint cribbing about it now. As someone pointed out; against Limerick in Munster this year we got away with a puck-out that was taken too quickly at the end that allowed us to win the penalty to win the game. If the ref had called that back Limerick would not have been taken by surprise and would not have conceded the penalty I think. We would have lost and been out of the Munster championship.
Limerick might have gone on to win the AI then. That's the way the cookie crumbles.

madfeen (Cork) - Posts: 11 - 22/07/2024 07:48:01    2560475

Congrats to Clare on their fantastic win yesterday and thank you cork for your part in an epic All Ireland final. Some of the goals and points scored were out of this world. Tony Kelly …..what a hurler

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 527 - 22/07/2024 08:30:01    2560478

Johnny Murphy obviously had a road to Damascus moment ahead of yesterday's final. Like chalk and cheese comparing his interpretation of the game yesterday to the 2 games I saw him ref with my own county in the championship this year. No doubt he contributed the the free flowing nature of the game but he let a lot of stuff go yesterday which he never does.
I suppose the referee can never win. lol

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 527 - 22/07/2024 08:45:00    2560479

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Kelly was the difference today.

What a man, what a player and what a goal"
I think the point was even better. Possibly one of the best individual points ever, in so far as he won it back twice before the hop over and strike

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 928 - 22/07/2024 09:08:03    2560482