Clare V Cork - All Ireland Hurling Final 2024

Replying To county man:  "Yes, when the All Ireland final wiinners roll of honour is being complied, the word "tainted" will forever more be put beside Clare for 2024!!

I hear they are half way up to M7 to return it to Croke Park as we speak..."
Im just in Obama Plaza having a coffee. It will be dropped back in 2 hours.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2672 - 23/07/2024 15:51:26    2560967

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Nail on the head! Mr. Viking just does not like Cork - he will say otherwise, Cork friends, etc.. but no fooling us.
I'm wondering was it a Clare jersey he had on for the match???"
No but I was going to wear our club jersey up but didn't have time to change it after the u8 game! Our club plays in yellow and blue;-)
I've lots of friends in Cork. It's arrogant, entitled Cork hurling people I enjoy winding up!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13322 - 23/07/2024 15:52:05    2560968

Replying To topcorner4:  "No such thing as a tainted all ireland !! Not clares fault limerick weren't in the final"
Dont entertain his nonsense. Just laugh at it. He has a complete hatred for Clare.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2672 - 23/07/2024 15:52:49    2560970

Replying To Crashingwaves:  "Would you bet against KK winning the next 5?"
Yes

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13322 - 23/07/2024 15:54:23    2560971

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "ah man this is so good.......

I have read this over and back with a smile on my face.

Clare - Senior Hurling Champions 2024!!!!!!

Im 38 years of age and have been at 4 All ireland finals Clare have won. That is a very good return given our history pre 1995. Its a pity that you would have clowns here trying to knock it but cest la vie. Thats more on them than anything else."
Congratulations to Clare and they are great champions. Limerick were beaten by Cork twice and can have no complaints.

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 362 - 23/07/2024 16:00:09    2560977

Replying To Viking66:  "Yes"
Who is going to beat them? Can't see Galway beating them any time soon. The years have caught up with a good few of the Galway lads and some of your own top players are getting on in years too. Dublin's record against them is poor.

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 70 - 23/07/2024 16:07:31    2560979

Replying To Viking66:  "No but I was going to wear our club jersey up but didn't have time to change it after the u8 game! Our club plays in yellow and blue;-)
I've lots of friends in Cork. It's arrogant, entitled Cork hurling people I enjoy winding up!"
Blah blah blah. Lots of friends in Cork.

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 362 - 23/07/2024 16:20:17    2560987

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Dont entertain his nonsense. Just laugh at it. He has a complete hatred for Clare."
Not too many people have a hatred for Clare. I like the county, nice skillful players, pleasure to watch Tony Kelly in full flight! Limerick supporters have got used to bragging …especially on here..,and it irks them to see another team winning. They were well beaten this year by the Rebels, and long May it continue!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 362 - 23/07/2024 16:23:54    2560990

Replying To Ryanteam:  "We don't need a history of your life. You're an anonymous poster on an anonymous forum, and we don't need to know what you had for breakfast!"
That was just in answer to you implying I only started following Limerick in Munster since they were successful. You don't know what I had for breakfast any morning, or even if I have breakfast at all.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13322 - 23/07/2024 16:27:23    2560992

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Yes, it was a great game but I did see Hoggy question the referee, who incidentally had a bird's eye view. It's irrelevant if Cork missed scores or not. I'm not questioning the integrity or competence of the referee, or his umpires, but a jersey pull under the nose of a referee is a free!"
It is if he sees it. I'm sure he would've given it if he saw it. Just as I'm sure Gordon wouldn't have given Kilkenny a penalty against us if had of seen it was 2 yards outside the box. And wouldve thrown the ball in, or blown the game up in fact, when Mark Rodgers took the last 65 against Waterford from inside the 65. All winning teams need that small bit of luck with refereeing decisions to go their way.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13322 - 23/07/2024 16:37:27    2560997

Replying To Oldtourman:  "AH go away with your auld Begrudgery. Ye have never got over 18."
Calling Galway supporters begrudgers? You say yourself over and over again, that you resent the successful record of the big 3! You're the biggest begrudger on this forum. Kilkenny, Cork and Tipp have successful traditions, and yes Cork did beat Limerick twice this year. Great to see Clare winning it this year, and proud of the Rebel team! We'll be back!!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 362 - 23/07/2024 16:45:31    2561000

Unbelievable victory. One to saviour. Lots of bad days (usually at the hands of Cork or Limerick) and quiet walks home from thurles, make these victorious days all the sweeter. Our record in Munster finals against both teams is shocking. My father died wanting to see us beat Cork in a munster final and I'm still waiting. I guess these 2 All-irelands will have to do ;-)

Even though we won out in extra time I believe there should have been a replay. Was it a free at the end? Yes. Not given though and we got away with it. Cork played very well and you'll have better days.

Buachaillbui (Clare) - Posts: 124 - 23/07/2024 16:47:55    2561001

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Im just in Obama Plaza having a coffee. It will be dropped back in 2 hours."
Great, I just found the original posters dignity too... Would you mind diverting to Wexford on the way down to give it back to him!

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1117 - 23/07/2024 16:49:04    2561002

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Dont entertain his nonsense. Just laugh at it. He has a complete hatred for Clare."
I was delighted for Clare. Its just a pity they wernt able to do it against Lim on Sunday if they were good enough to, nor in any the 3 Munster finals. Hopefully next year they might. Be a great team then.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 682 - 23/07/2024 16:49:19    2561003

Ryanstream did you see the jersey pull at the time or was it on replays shown??I know I didn't see it in normal time..yes it was a free but wasn't seen which is a shame as I'd love to have seen another match..I listened to Paul Murphy,James skehill and Richie hogan and they didn't see it in normal time..again I'll say such a pity that it's that one decision everyone is talking about..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2332 - 23/07/2024 16:50:31    2561004

Replying To topcorner4:  "is clares winning the all ireland without playing the great limerick team hurt there legacy ?"
Undoubtedly.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 682 - 23/07/2024 16:53:00    2561005

Replying To Viking66:  "No but I was going to wear our club jersey up but didn't have time to change it after the u8 game! Our club plays in yellow and blue;-)
I've lots of friends in Cork. It's arrogant, entitled Cork hurling people I enjoy winding up!"
You don't wind up anyone except yourself. I guess the best thing that happened this year, was Limerick and their supporters coming down to earth.

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 362 - 23/07/2024 16:56:14    2561008

There is no such thing as a "tainted all Ireland" and anyone who says there is, must be a total gobshite.

Total rubbish to say because you didn't beat this team or that team its somehow tainted. Using that logic 95% percent of the All Irelands in the pre-round robin and pre back door would be "tainted".

Clare are deserving Champions this year and good luck to them.

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 89 - 23/07/2024 17:26:01    2561021

Replying To Viking66:  "Haha thats a good one- an attention seeker on an anonymous forum! I dont think I've ever read anything so stupid in my life!!!!
I've been following Limerick in Munster since before 1996. Since the early 90s in fact. Most of the teams I follow in any sport haven't been very successful truth be told. In soccer I've followed Millwall since the early 80s, and Cliftonville since 1990. In MLB I've followed the Cubs since the 80s, and in NFL the Bears since then also, on account of AFKN being the only English language tv station in Korea at the time. In cricket I follow South Africa and Zimbabwe unless they are playing Ireland, in rugby Ireland and Ulster, and South Africa if Ireland arent playing them. I lived in Botswana in the 70s.
Tbh like most people down your way you have been very dismissive of Wexford in several posts, so I get great joy out of winding you up. Some questions for you-
A- Which of Wexford and Cork most recently won any Championship silverware?
B- Who won the last Championship meeting between Wexford and Cork?

Obviously you have a far better record historically than we do, but maybe you should consider the above 2 questions when cutting at me about 1996;-)"
Cool story bro

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2048 - 23/07/2024 17:31:49    2561023

A brilliant win for Clare and it's in no way tainted because of a bad decision by the referee… Clare had no act or part in this… If Murphy had blown for a free in not one Clare person would have a complaint about it whatsoever…. It's just something Murphy has to deal with… A huge error

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2729 - 23/07/2024 18:41:39    2561037