Wexford Club Hurling Championship.

Replying To countyman2022:  "Appeal now anyway. How many more mistakes do they need to make."
I guess they will have two appeals, one they should have won the game and the second that there is no provision for winner on the day.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1887 - 07/10/2024 08:17:47    2573389

Replying To Viking66:  "1st game was poor enough. Second had more bite but ended controversially."
Anyone know why Chin got the red? A bit out of character for him. And the 20m free - justified ?

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1887 - 07/10/2024 08:19:05    2573390

St Martins were a level above Ferns and won comfortably in the end. Could be the start of a rebuild for this Ferns team. Was a poor enough spectacle to be honest plenty of aimless balls Daithi Waters cleaned up at the back and Rory O Connor was dangerous up front.

Second game Harriers down to 14 men Chin sent off for a harmless coming together. Extra man told in the end although Jack Cullen went for a goal from a fair distance out to level it deep jnto injury time. Richie Kehoe played very well for the Harriers on Conor McDonald. Best team probably lost. Gorey were without Cian Molloy and will have to improve if there gonna beat the Martins.

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 230 - 07/10/2024 09:07:38    2573394

Think Chin sending off was a poor decision, Obviously done on the umpires word, keeper pulled up Chins hurl. I think the referee should of looked at it objectively and said Chin isnt a dirty hurler and I didnt see the incident. Yellow at best, ruined the game as I'm sure if he had of stayed on the field, Harriers would of won. I'm a neutral, no vested interest in either team.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 430 - 07/10/2024 09:28:05    2573399

Replying To zinny:  "I guess they will have two appeals, one they should have won the game and the second that there is no provision for winner on the day."
Whatever about the first one in relation to scorekeeping on the day, they'd have absolutely no case if they claimed there's no provision for winner on the day.

The Rule Book (Rule 3.4 of Part 2) allows CCCs to decide when to use extra time, replays, and winner on the day, and the Wexford Competition Regulations for adult championships clearly state:

In the event of a draw in County Finals, County Relegation Finals or District Finals, extra time will be played followed by a replay if still level. In the event of a draw in the replay, Winner-on-the-Day regulations will apply.

In the event of a draw in all other knockout fixtures, Winner-on-the-Day regulations will apply.

On the other major talking point of the weekend - I was in Wexford Park yesterday all right, but genuinely didn't see the Lee Chin incident. Was distracted talking to the fella beside me as it happened.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2535 - 07/10/2024 10:10:23    2573409

I am also neutral with no vested interest in the game. It was NEVER a red card, better team lost even without Chin so no doubt they would be in a semi final only for the ref and his umpire.
Martins are still the team to beat and I expect them to live up to the expectations for once.

On vikings comment about maybe being time to go back and talk about the split season. It really amazes me because that is all alot of people have been doing anyway.
I get the idea that when you're playing all one code for a period of time that it will be slightly better maybe than if you're playing it every 2 weeks but the quality wasn't exactly top class the last few years in either code.

Every year people call for change , expecting the quality in the County to improve based on their version of what the perfect championship model is, sad fact is that people don't like to admit is that the actual overall quality in the county isn't as good as people think.
Most people will agree that club football in wexford is of a subpar standard but the same goes for hurling I'm afraid to say but the big hurling people can't see it through their rose tinted glasses.

How about come up with a proper league structure with promotion and relegation for 5 to 10 years, stick to one championship structure for the same period and invest in coaching at club level and see if that has more of a positive impact on the standard than just changing championship structures every year expecting some sort of unrealistic change in quality, while also having what is probably one of the least competitive or cared about club leagues in the country.

hurlin101 (Wexford) - Posts: 114 - 07/10/2024 10:31:08    2573413

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Whatever about the first one in relation to scorekeeping on the day, they'd have absolutely no case if they claimed there's no provision for winner on the day.

The Rule Book (Rule 3.4 of Part 2) allows CCCs to decide when to use extra time, replays, and winner on the day, and the Wexford Competition Regulations for adult championships clearly state:

In the event of a draw in County Finals, County Relegation Finals or District Finals, extra time will be played followed by a replay if still level. In the event of a draw in the replay, Winner-on-the-Day regulations will apply.

In the event of a draw in all other knockout fixtures, Winner-on-the-Day regulations will apply.

On the other major talking point of the weekend - I was in Wexford Park yesterday all right, but genuinely didn't see the Lee Chin incident. Was distracted talking to the fella beside me as it happened."
It was something of nothing.

Gorey keeper made an absolute meal of it, chins hurl was being held, he yanked it free and made the slightest contact, yer man then goes down like he's been hit by a sniper.

I've no affiliation to either club BTW just hate seeing that carry on and of course our IC referee never refuses an opportunity to make it all about him.

Feel sorry for the Harriers to be fair and it ruined another game.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1416 - 07/10/2024 10:36:40    2573416

Replying To alwaysasub:  "Think Chin sending off was a poor decision, Obviously done on the umpires word, keeper pulled up Chins hurl. I think the referee should of looked at it objectively and said Chin isnt a dirty hurler and I didnt see the incident. Yellow at best, ruined the game as I'm sure if he had of stayed on the field, Harriers would of won. I'm a neutral, no vested interest in either team."
Fairly sore over the whole thing to be honest.

The free being moved was dodgy too.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3072 - 07/10/2024 10:43:01    2573418

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Whatever about the first one in relation to scorekeeping on the day, they'd have absolutely no case if they claimed there's no provision for winner on the day.

On the other major talking point of the weekend - I was in Wexford Park yesterday all right, but genuinely didn't see the Lee Chin incident. Was distracted talking to the fella beside me as it happened."
Biggest talking point around where I was sitting was the Jack Doran incident. Even the Harriers fans around me didn't protest too much about Lee Chins sending off.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13556 - 07/10/2024 10:43:34    2573419

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Was at minor div 2 final today between cushinstown and ballyhogue. Cushinstown won by 15. 2.16 to 7 pts. Young Sean o Brien outstanding again. Impressive thing is 8 starting lads for Cushinstown are under 16 and only losing one to overage next year. Very strong up the middle. Under 16s in the division 1 final next week so hopefully the club is on the rise.

Think will be very tough against Liam mellows today but ya never know. John mullane over them hopefully the lads can get a boost out of this morning.

Just on another note why couldn't wexford gaa have put both games closer together. 2 hours to wait around for intermediate game could have played it at 3 could have given us a bit of time to get some food get to ferns pitch handy enough."
All the hard work is certainly paying off in Cushinstown and Sean is a super talent. Judging by the scoreline in the minor final and winning by 15 it was pretty one sided ???. I know its encouraged by the county board for player development and to reduce drop off that most clubs now try to play players that are up to the age regardless of ability.
So only minors play minor where possible...Super win for your minors but can if ask were there many older players that are actually minor not getting game time and sitting on the bench all year if half the starting minor team are under 16 players?

grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 174 - 07/10/2024 10:57:13    2573425

Replying To tearintom:  "

Gorey keeper made an absolute meal of it, chins hurl was being held, he yanked it free and made the slightest contact, yer man then goes down like he's been hit by a sniper.

I've no affiliation to either club BTW just hate seeing that carry on and of course our IC referee never refuses an opportunity to make it all about him.

Feel sorry for the Harriers to be fair and it ruined another game."
Would agree with everything said here. Referee didn't see the incident. Umpires call and ultimately decided the game. Harriers struggled to win any ball in the last 10/15 mins. Imagine the difference chin would've made in that area. Thought the officiating in both games was very poor. Hope the gorey and harriers players that picked up what looked like really serious injuries make a full recovery.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 528 - 07/10/2024 11:11:18    2573429

Out of character for chin never remember him getting a red before and plays an honest game and should be praised for that alone its unfortunate it destroyed the chance to turn them over sayingvthatvthey still should have won .
Was it red did nt look or sound great at the time ref blew it straight away so don't think umpire was the deciding factor . Once he blew and goalie went down ike someone said had veen shot don't think there was ever going to be any other conclusion .
If no red he gets away for being chin if red it because he's chin .
Ref backed himself into a corner and either way he was going to lose credit. Was very strange game swats waiting for gorey spring to life they did nt but just got bit momentum near enc when the pushed up rill need to improve dramatically if they are to hold on to title. Not taking anything from harriers thought they were the better team on the day and maybe they got their match ups and game plan right . Was 5 week break a factor. Their touch looked off completely at times but that does happen to them on occasion too I've noticed
From what I hear ref has more to.worry about now though is there anywhere to watch games agajn would love to see some of the incidents again

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 289 - 07/10/2024 11:21:29    2573433

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Fairly sore over the whole thing to be honest.

The free being moved was dodgy too."
Why was it moved did you hear?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13556 - 07/10/2024 11:47:06    2573440

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "
Replying To tearintom:  "[quote=Pikeman96:  "Whatever about the first one in relation to scorekeeping on the day, they'd have absolutely no case if they claimed there's no provision for winner on the day.

Would agree with everything said here. Referee didn't see the incident. Umpires call and ultimately decided the game. Harriers struggled to win any ball in the last 10/15 mins. Imagine the difference chin would've made in that area. Thought the officiating in both games was very poor. Hope the gorey and harriers players that picked up what looked like really serious injuries make a full recovery."]Hope so too. Never a good sign when a lad goes off on a stretcher.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13556 - 07/10/2024 11:48:18    2573441

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "
Replying To tearintom:  "[quote=Pikeman96:  "Whatever about the first one in relation to scorekeeping on the day, they'd have absolutely no case if they claimed there's no provision for winner on the day.

Would agree with everything said here. Referee didn't see the incident. Umpires call and ultimately decided the game. Harriers struggled to win any ball in the last 10/15 mins. Imagine the difference chin would've made in that area. Thought the officiating in both games was very poor. Hope the gorey and harriers players that picked up what looked like really serious injuries make a full recovery."]Hope so too. Never a good sign when a lad goes off on a stretcher.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13556 - 07/10/2024 11:48:24    2573442

Replying To Formertownie:  "Out of character for chin never remember him getting a red before and plays an honest game and should be praised for that alone its unfortunate it destroyed the chance to turn them over sayingvthatvthey still should have won .
Was it red did nt look or sound great at the time ref blew it straight away so don't think umpire was the deciding factor . Once he blew and goalie went down ike someone said had veen shot don't think there was ever going to be any other conclusion .
If no red he gets away for being chin if red it because he's chin .
Ref backed himself into a corner and either way he was going to lose credit. Was very strange game swats waiting for gorey spring to life they did nt but just got bit momentum near enc when the pushed up rill need to improve dramatically if they are to hold on to title. Not taking anything from harriers thought they were the better team on the day and maybe they got their match ups and game plan right . Was 5 week break a factor. Their touch looked off completely at times but that does happen to them on occasion too I've noticed
From what I hear ref has more to.worry about now though is there anywhere to watch games agajn would love to see some of the incidents again"
That story going around on Whatsapp about after the game is total nonsense.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13556 - 07/10/2024 11:49:47    2573443

Standard of play was very poor yesterday, think everyone will have their reasons as to why this is

When you have eight teams in with a genuine chance of winning Senior, then you're never going to have a stand-out team and we haven't had one for a while tbh

Some will think this shows how weak the County team is at the moment although our best starting team right now probably involves around 12 different clubs which is very high for a county side. You could have a club championship without any stand-out team but if each team had at least one star player, you'd expect the county team to be of a higher standard than the club championship IMO

Ferns gave an error-strewn performance (And Gorey were similar at times), would think both are capable of better rather than that being their level

But that brings you to the question as to why they under-performed. Gorey had been off for five weeks but Ferns only played two weeks ago. Personally, I think the format is the real issue; no jeopardy in the group stages had teams sleepwalking into the knockout stages. Ferns for instance played with zero intensity from the get-go, you'd nearly have thought it was a group game rather than a QF. I think a format with more jeopardy in the group stages would prepare teams a lot better for the knockout stages

Also, I was very disappointment by the amount of gamesmanship on show yesterday, I get testing the rules to the limits but yesterday seemed like a step too far. Lee Chin has never been a dirty player and you'd have to ask yourself why he would strike a slower GK coming out with the ball

Finally, the first match had zero intensity to it for the most part and yet there were a rake of yellow cards, was surprised no-one was sent off even though there was pretty much no dirt (or life) in the game at all

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 346 - 07/10/2024 12:48:41    2573455

Replying To Viking66:  "That story going around on Whatsapp about after the game is total nonsense."
What's that story?

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 430 - 07/10/2024 12:59:24    2573458

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Standard of play was very poor yesterday, think everyone will have their reasons as to why this is

When you have eight teams in with a genuine chance of winning Senior, then you're never going to have a stand-out team and we haven't had one for a while tbh

Some will think this shows how weak the County team is at the moment although our best starting team right now probably involves around 12 different clubs which is very high for a county side. You could have a club championship without any stand-out team but if each team had at least one star player, you'd expect the county team to be of a higher standard than the club championship IMO

Ferns gave an error-strewn performance (And Gorey were similar at times), would think both are capable of better rather than that being their level

But that brings you to the question as to why they under-performed. Gorey had been off for five weeks but Ferns only played two weeks ago. Personally, I think the format is the real issue; no jeopardy in the group stages had teams sleepwalking into the knockout stages. Ferns for instance played with zero intensity from the get-go, you'd nearly have thought it was a group game rather than a QF. I think a format with more jeopardy in the group stages would prepare teams a lot better for the knockout stages

Also, I was very disappointment by the amount of gamesmanship on show yesterday, I get testing the rules to the limits but yesterday seemed like a step too far. Lee Chin has never been a dirty player and you'd have to ask yourself why he would strike a slower GK coming out with the ball

Finally, the first match had zero intensity to it for the most part and yet there were a rake of yellow cards, was surprised no-one was sent off even though there was pretty much no dirt (or life) in the game at all"
Gorey put alot of time into football last couple of weeks surely played a part aswell. I don't think it's right that a club trying to juggle both are at a disadvantage either. At this stage I would nearly say the standard is worse than it ever was. All 3 QF have been scrappy enough games.

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 230 - 07/10/2024 13:17:57    2573461

The quality of our hurling championship has been poor for years, throughout numerous different structures and changes for a long long time it's been of poor quality. This isn't a new thing, it's been the same for nigh on a decade.

But we collectively made it even worse this year by introducing a structure that had practically zero jeopardy for the entirety of the group stage and really benefitted fhe worst teams more than anyone else. And it was entirely predictable.

From whispers I've heard from wexford park the prevailing thought is that we shouldn't go forward with the same structure next year and rightly so.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1416 - 07/10/2024 14:18:37    2573465