The State Of Hurling In 2024

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Both red cards looked justified on tv, second one especially was a nailed on red, first one was reported by linesman"
First red card looked harsh. After watching it a few times, I'm not sure the KK player was actually struck. It seemed like the Tipp lad just flicked and knocked the hurley from the defender's hand, and in fairness, the KK lad didn't show any signs of having been hit. The ref apparently acted on the linesman's advice, but maybe he should have seen the incident himself. He certainly should have had a good view of the second incident but still deemed it necessary to consult the same linesman who was no nearer to the incident. Maybe it was, as you say, a nailed on red, but there were many differing views on David Burke's red card against Dublin and this didn't seem as bad, as it wasn't a late hit. Later, in extra time, it looked like he was about to send off a KK player on a second yellow card, which would have been harsh because it wasn't a yellow card offence. But he did put his hand in his pocket and then (thankfully) seemed to have second thoughts. In general the game was played in a good spirit but I'm not sure he would have coped well with an over-physical game.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 578 - 30/06/2024 13:06:24    2555924

I'm far from a hurling snob but that was a tough watch there today. Hurling definitely needs a bit here and there but by god its some game to watch.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 30/06/2024 16:57:07    2555988

Replying To daveboy:  "I'm far from a hurling snob but that was a tough watch there today. Hurling definitely needs a bit here and there but by god its some game to watch."
First game was a really good game. Second game was a really tough watch. The hurling quarter finals and the Leinster Final were also a poor watch. .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6117 - 30/06/2024 23:01:00    2556098

Replying To TheGreatRambo:  "Ah wind your neck in a wee bit Greengrass. The hurling snob you talk about definitely exists but it'd be unwise to think all the eejits are on one side of the debate. As a Louth man I'm sure you will know there are plenty of good football gaels who would look down their noses at hurling and there would be those that go to see 'the town' that wouldn't be seen dead at a GAA match. Small-mindedness is for everyone not just hurling fans."
Nah you're wrong with that.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6117 - 30/06/2024 23:04:34    2556100

Replying To Greengrass:  "Nah you're wrong with that."
What part have I got wrong?

TheGreatRambo (Monaghan) - Posts: 81 - 01/07/2024 14:06:35    2556258

Replying To Greengrass:  "First game was a really good game. Second game was a really tough watch. The hurling quarter finals and the Leinster Final were also a poor watch. ."
Last 10 minutes of Cork Dublin was pretty good. And the first approximately 40 minutes of Clare v Wexford was pretty even with Wexford coming back into it after a poor start. Think it was level when Ryan came back on. Leinster Final was poor OK.
In football Donegal Louth was pretty good, as was Dublin Galway. Other 2 games weren't very exciting tbh. Less said about the Leinster Football Final the better. Very defensive boring game.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13322 - 01/07/2024 15:12:25    2556288

Replying To Viking66:  "Last 10 minutes of Cork Dublin was pretty good. And the first approximately 40 minutes of Clare v Wexford was pretty even with Wexford coming back into it after a poor start. Think it was level when Ryan came back on. Leinster Final was poor OK.
In football Donegal Louth was pretty good, as was Dublin Galway. Other 2 games weren't very exciting tbh. Less said about the Leinster Football Final the better. Very defensive boring game."
At least the Leinster football final was competitive to right to the very end. The Leinster hurling final was a complete non event. It was over as a contest after twenty minutes. It was impossible to find any reason to stay watching it. I tried very hard to do so.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6117 - 01/07/2024 16:42:52    2556323

Replying To Greengrass:  "Nah you're wrong with that."
Pretty much everything in the second part of your post.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6117 - 01/07/2024 17:59:51    2556346

Instead of arguing over the respective faults associated with hurling and football, maybe we should concentrate more on the good points of both games. The football over the weekend wasn't great, admittedly, but there was much to admire in the Galway-Dublin game, especially the quality of the points kicked by Galway in the second half. Both Donegal and Louth also kicked some memorable long-range points, which are great to watch. But the best action of the weekend was surely in Nowlan Park on Saturday night. Here we had 30+ lads of 16/17 years of age giving their all for their county. As usual, the RTE highlights concentrated mostly on the scores, and there were some memorable ones, but the lasting memory for me will be the quality of the hooking and blocking by both sets of players, skills which never seem to get the attention they deserve. This was a game to savour, and all the players should be commended for the courage and honesty of their efforts throughout the 80 minutes.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 578 - 01/07/2024 19:24:01    2556367

Replying To Greengrass:  "Pretty much everything in the second part of your post."
Greengrass. v Greengrass.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2978 - 01/07/2024 20:49:45    2556376

Replying To Greengrass:  "At least the Leinster football final was competitive to right to the very end. The Leinster hurling final was a complete non event. It was over as a contest after twenty minutes. It was impossible to find any reason to stay watching it. I tried very hard to do so."
It was competitive so in that regard it was far better than the Hurling final for sure.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13322 - 01/07/2024 21:10:10    2556381

Replying To midlands:  "Instead of arguing over the respective faults associated with hurling and football, maybe we should concentrate more on the good points of both games. The football over the weekend wasn't great, admittedly, but there was much to admire in the Galway-Dublin game, especially the quality of the points kicked by Galway in the second half. Both Donegal and Louth also kicked some memorable long-range points, which are great to watch. But the best action of the weekend was surely in Nowlan Park on Saturday night. Here we had 30+ lads of 16/17 years of age giving their all for their county. As usual, the RTE highlights concentrated mostly on the scores, and there were some memorable ones, but the lasting memory for me will be the quality of the hooking and blocking by both sets of players, skills which never seem to get the attention they deserve. This was a game to savour, and all the players should be commended for the courage and honesty of their efforts throughout the 80 minutes."
Here here

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 01/07/2024 21:13:59    2556383

Replying To TheGreatRambo:  "What part have I got wrong?"
Pretty much everything in the second part of your post

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6117 - 02/07/2024 11:42:59    2556461

Replying To supersub15:  "Greengrass. v Greengrass."
Oh dear. Well spotted supersub. You'll be on my top 15 from now on. I posted that when I was out walking. Must have been distracted.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6117 - 02/07/2024 11:44:46    2556463

Replying To midlands:  "Instead of arguing over the respective faults associated with hurling and football, maybe we should concentrate more on the good points of both games. The football over the weekend wasn't great, admittedly, but there was much to admire in the Galway-Dublin game, especially the quality of the points kicked by Galway in the second half. Both Donegal and Louth also kicked some memorable long-range points, which are great to watch. But the best action of the weekend was surely in Nowlan Park on Saturday night. Here we had 30+ lads of 16/17 years of age giving their all for their county. As usual, the RTE highlights concentrated mostly on the scores, and there were some memorable ones, but the lasting memory for me will be the quality of the hooking and blocking by both sets of players, skills which never seem to get the attention they deserve. This was a game to savour, and all the players should be commended for the courage and honesty of their efforts throughout the 80 minutes."
Very well said and very true. Unfortunately our friends in the media both journalists and punters love to accentuate the negative most especially when it comes to football. The minor hurling final was marvellous. Those young players deserve their day in the sun. That match should have been played in Croke Park on All-Ireland final day.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6117 - 02/07/2024 11:47:44    2556464

Replying To Greengrass:  "Very well said and very true. Unfortunately our friends in the media both journalists and punters love to accentuate the negative most especially when it comes to football. The minor hurling final was marvellous. Those young players deserve their day in the sun. That match should have been played in Croke Park on All-Ireland final day."
In which case approx 25-35% of Saturday's attendance would have had the opportunity to watch the match, minor finalists get 3,000 tickets per county, the quality on show is linked to the atmosphere in the stadium, maximum 10,000 people in Croke Park for a minor dilutes every aspect of the contest.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1812 - 02/07/2024 14:28:59    2556534

Replying To Greengrass:  "Very well said and very true. Unfortunately our friends in the media both journalists and punters love to accentuate the negative most especially when it comes to football. The minor hurling final was marvellous. Those young players deserve their day in the sun. That match should have been played in Croke Park on All-Ireland final day."
That post makes no sense.
They did have their day in the sun , it was a stand alone fixture, on front of a big crowd who generated a brilliant atmosphere.
They'll never forget it.
Are you honestly suggesting that because the game wasn't played in a near empty croke park as a warm up it somehow doesn't count as being a day in the sun.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 02/07/2024 20:58:47    2556608

Replying To Galway9801:  "That post makes no sense.
They did have their day in the sun , it was a stand alone fixture, on front of a big crowd who generated a brilliant atmosphere.
They'll never forget it.
Are you honestly suggesting that because the game wasn't played in a near empty croke park as a warm up it somehow doesn't count as being a day in the sun."
100% correct.
The minor final getting its own day has been fantastic. Some of the most memorable have been in recent years

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 02/07/2024 21:05:36    2556609

I was wondering how the minor being a separate fixture would work,think this is one the Gaa got right..last 3 minor finals have been excellent.huge crowds now attending these games..being played before senior finals was putting huge pressure on these young fellas,I know it was all part of all Ireland final day but with minor at inter county now under 17,means a lot of these boys are only 15/16 years of age..I also think that the supporters are now taking more notice of these games..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2332 - 02/07/2024 23:45:07    2556637

Replying To Galway9801:  "That post makes no sense.
They'll never forget it.
Are you honestly suggesting that because the game wasn't played in a near empty croke park as a warm up it somehow doesn't count as being a day in the sun."
In all fairness the crowd wasn't big. The stand on the far side of the field was far from full. The seated area at one of the ground was less than half full and the terraced end of the ground was empty. Given that the match was played in Nowlan Park the attendance was disappointing to say the least and it was a far, far cry from the attendance and the atmosphere at the U20 hurling final at the same ground. I have no doubt that the young players will never forget the experience but to describe minor finals in Croke Park as "a warm up" is as inaccurate as your assertion about there being "a big crowd" in Nowlan Park last Saturday.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6117 - 03/07/2024 03:57:42    2556645