The State Of Hurling In 2024

Replying To Greengrass:  "In the Leinster Senior Hurling Championship there were 19 games played. How many attendances were above 10,000? Very, very few. How many attendances in the National Hurling League Division One were above 10,000? Very few. The final of the National Hurling League Division One drew a pathetic crowd of 12,000. Most inter county hurling matches in Divisions 2A, 2B, 3A and 3B and in the Joe McDonagh, Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard and Lory Meagher cups are played in front of very small to non existent attendances. The attendance at the combined Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard and Lory Meagher finals was tiny. Was there 1,500 in total there? You'd get a bigger crowd at Dublin Cumann na mBunscol finals. The big attendances at the Munster Championship and All Ireland series games are very much the exception to the rule. I agree with you that hurling itself needs very little change."
Sadly unlike yourself most people in Leinster are big ball only.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13322 - 29/06/2024 17:41:53    2555605

Replying To Viking66:  "Sadly unlike yourself most people in Leinster are big ball only."
I enjoy both games immensely Viking. I'm looking forward to being in Croker both tomorrow and next weekend.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6117 - 29/06/2024 18:03:14    2555612

Replying To Greengrass:  "Yawn. Another hurling snob who feels obliged to have a go at football. Firstly the criticism in relation to the throwing of the ball in hurling is legitimate. It is an issue that needs to be resolved. No big deal. Just sort it out. Secondly sport is about participation. Any sport that allows people to participate is a great sport. We are blessed in the GAA to have two great sports. I love both of them. They bring out the passion in our people at local , county and national. It's unfortunate that the wonderful game of hurling has some of the most conceited arrogant supporters imaginable. Their constant b******t is very hard to listen to."
Getting a little carried away aren't you. Just proves how much on the defensive you are. I wonder why??

aloneitstands (Limerick) - Posts: 74 - 29/06/2024 18:08:23    2555615

Replying To aloneitstands:  "Getting a little carried away aren't you. Just proves how much on the defensive you are. I wonder why??"
Not one bit carried away. I've been to 56 All Ireland Senior football finals and 52 All Ireland Senior hurling finals. I thoroughly enjoy both games. You'd always laugh when you'd hear hurling supporters say that "football is a game for lads who can't play hurling." I've noticed over the years an increasingly disparaging attitude amongst SOME hurling supporters to football. I've also noticed an increasing arrogance and conceit in relation to criticism of hurling. Dare you criticise the "greatest game in the world." Another one I heard last night is, " soccer and football are pure s***e. Hurling is your only game." Then you have the endless whinging and complaining that "we can't get our games on tv." It's got to the stage where people have had enough of the endless whinging, complaining and self pity about "our national game." You don't hear that nonsense from supporters of any other sport. I love sport. I'm a season ticket holder at my local League of Ireland soccer club. I was at the Leinster game in Croke Park. I'll be at the Ireland v England game in the Aviva in September. I'll head to the Irish Open in September too. I've been to world championship fights in boxing. I can honestly say that in the last number of years the most conceited, arrogant supporters I've come across are SOME hurling supporters. That has nothing to do with being defensive. That is based on extensive experience.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6117 - 29/06/2024 19:13:50    2555646

An incredible minor final there tonight. Outstanding victory for Tipp.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 29/06/2024 20:28:48    2555701

Replying To daveboy:  "An incredible minor final there tonight. Outstanding victory for Tipp."
Brilliant and I didn't see many throws.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1106 - 29/06/2024 20:47:30    2555718

It was a super game..not going to comment on ref as it would take from an outstanding performance from tipp..woodlock has a great record as tipp minor manager..I was shocked that kk just didn't seem to know what to do with 2 extra men..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2332 - 29/06/2024 21:42:33    2555751

Replying To gunman:  "Brilliant and I didn't see many throws."
I'd love to have seen it. I was watching Galway v Dublin. Too many games in too short a space of time.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6117 - 29/06/2024 21:44:16    2555753

Replying To Greengrass:  "I'd love to have seen it. I was watching Galway v Dublin. Too many games in too short a space of time."
It's absolutely worth a watch if you can access the player during the week. The last 10 minutes of normal time was outrageous from both sides. The effort. The hooking. The blocking. The drama was phenomenal. TG4 are the real gem of irish sport..The commentary albeit as gaeilge which luckily I don't mind added so much to it.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 29/06/2024 22:09:47    2555769

Replying To daveboy:  "I'll finish this debate as i started. Hurling is absolutely fine. All sports need a tweak here and there are I've posted several beneficial changes in last 10 years that have been good. There will be 80k in croke park for an AI semi final on Sunday. An outrageous crowd. The round Robin attendances are soaring. U 20s AI finals sell outs years now. The product is outstanding and people are putting their hard earned money up to show this in an incredibly tough time on the pocket.

Don't fall into the trap of change. As I've said other sports have gone way too far. Some posters here have anterior motives for whatever reason they have."
In your opinion!

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 708 - 29/06/2024 22:34:32    2555782

Replying To CTGAA10:  "It was a super game..not going to comment on ref as it would take from an outstanding performance from tipp..woodlock has a great record as tipp minor manager..I was shocked that kk just didn't seem to know what to do with 2 extra men.."
Both red cards looked justified on tv, second one especially was a nailed on red, first one was reported by linesman

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1812 - 29/06/2024 22:43:25    2555784

Replying To daveboy:  "It's absolutely worth a watch if you can access the player during the week. The last 10 minutes of normal time was outrageous from both sides. The effort. The hooking. The blocking. The drama was phenomenal. TG4 are the real gem of irish sport..The commentary albeit as gaeilge which luckily I don't mind added so much to it."
We are blessed to have TG 4 what wonderful coverage of a great game.I actually agree with much of our Louth friends comments(best of luck tomorrow).Hurling for me is the best game n the World but it like everything else is not perfect and Football when played well is still great entertainment.We are a great association and instead of competing need to nurture both codes.So Louthman help ypur hurlers.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1544 - 29/06/2024 23:11:01    2555793

Replying To Greengrass:  "Not one bit carried away. I've been to 56 All Ireland Senior football finals and 52 All Ireland Senior hurling finals. I thoroughly enjoy both games. You'd always laugh when you'd hear hurling supporters say that "football is a game for lads who can't play hurling." I've noticed over the years an increasingly disparaging attitude amongst SOME hurling supporters to football. I've also noticed an increasing arrogance and conceit in relation to criticism of hurling. Dare you criticise the "greatest game in the world." Another one I heard last night is, " soccer and football are pure s***e. Hurling is your only game." Then you have the endless whinging and complaining that "we can't get our games on tv." It's got to the stage where people have had enough of the endless whinging, complaining and self pity about "our national game." You don't hear that nonsense from supporters of any other sport. I love sport. I'm a season ticket holder at my local League of Ireland soccer club. I was at the Leinster game in Croke Park. I'll be at the Ireland v England game in the Aviva in September. I'll head to the Irish Open in September too. I've been to world championship fights in boxing. I can honestly say that in the last number of years the most conceited, arrogant supporters I've come across are SOME hurling supporters. That has nothing to do with being defensive. That is based on extensive experience."
I am of an age that I have seen them also. I was at an Ireland hurling final in 1973. You might be a little ahead of me. Forget the arrogance bit just trying to hold our own. I really think hurling supporters are trying to hold their ground and it is slipping away gradually. Hurling is a more expensive sport for small clubs particularly, with hurleys and sliothars and helmets etc. As the treasurer of my local club for a number of years I have never met people conceited or arrogant, always hopeful, that's what it's all about.

aloneitstands (Limerick) - Posts: 74 - 29/06/2024 23:24:03    2555798

Replying To ZUL10:  "In your opinion!"
Build a bridge lad

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 29/06/2024 23:50:05    2555809

Hats of to Tipp minors today.Absolutely outstanding with 13 men.Fair play to the cats but Tipp deserved it in a cracker of a game.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3840 - 30/06/2024 00:15:20    2555815

Replying To daveboy:  "It's absolutely worth a watch if you can access the player during the week. The last 10 minutes of normal time was outrageous from both sides. The effort. The hooking. The blocking. The drama was phenomenal. TG4 are the real gem of irish sport..The commentary albeit as gaeilge which luckily I don't mind added so much to it."
I'll get it on the TG4 player. Thanks very much.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6117 - 30/06/2024 02:23:03    2555838

Like you I will accept that I'm vintage at this stage. Close to being able to attend in '59 but deemed a risk to take. Many years later there has been no time this fabulous game has not excited me. To think we could or can go through all these years with out the game evolving in style and format is not reasonable. With this comes the necessity to modify rules. Anyone that thinks different has their head in the sand or an ulterior motive.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2847 - 30/06/2024 03:30:26    2555841

Replying To aloneitstands:  "I am of an age that I have seen them also. I was at an Ireland hurling final in 1973. You might be a little ahead of me. Forget the arrogance bit just trying to hold our own. I really think hurling supporters are trying to hold their ground and it is slipping away gradually. Hurling is a more expensive sport for small clubs particularly, with hurleys and sliothars and helmets etc. As the treasurer of my local club for a number of years I have never met people conceited or arrogant, always hopeful, that's what it's all about."
There's no need to worry about hurling. It's a great sport and it won't be let slip away. We are blessed with two great sports In the GAA. Look at what we saw Nowlan Park and Croke Park yesterday. We had unbelievable entertainment and drama in both venues. Ultimately aloneitstands we are all GAA supporters. Long may it continue.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6117 - 30/06/2024 08:00:41    2555846

Replying To jobber:  "We are blessed to have TG 4 what wonderful coverage of a great game.I actually agree with much of our Louth friends comments(best of luck tomorrow).Hurling for me is the best game n the World but it like everything else is not perfect and Football when played well is still great entertainment.We are a great association and instead of competing need to nurture both codes.So Louthman help ypur hurlers."
Will do jobber.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6117 - 30/06/2024 08:02:45    2555847

Ah wind your neck in a wee bit Greengrass. The hurling snob you talk about definitely exists but it'd be unwise to think all the eejits are on one side of the debate. As a Louth man I'm sure you will know there are plenty of good football gaels who would look down their noses at hurling and there would be those that go to see 'the town' that wouldn't be seen dead at a GAA match. Small-mindedness is for everyone not just hurling fans.

TheGreatRambo (Monaghan) - Posts: 81 - 30/06/2024 08:31:21    2555851