Taylor Swift Versus All Ireland Quarter Final Weekend

So Taylor is playing the Aviva Friday-Sunday whilst GAA will have double header in Croke Park clashing on Saturday and Sunday.

GAA fans won't know which day they are playing until Monday afternoon by which time they will find out that....

Hotels start at 400 euro minimum if you can even find a bed.
Trains at the right times are already sold out.
Parking will be a bloody nightmare too.

The GAA is going to come off second best here. Expect attendances to be way way down on previous years. And this is a year they have increased the prices too and you still cannot even buy them yet.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 284 - 20/06/2024 12:01:44    2553168

Replying To shaggykev:  "So Taylor is playing the Aviva Friday-Sunday whilst GAA will have double header in Croke Park clashing on Saturday and Sunday.

GAA fans won't know which day they are playing until Monday afternoon by which time they will find out that....

The GAA is going to come off second best here. Expect attendances to be way way down on previous years. And this is a year they have increased the prices too and you still cannot even buy them yet."
"GAA will have double header in Croke Park clashing on Saturday and Sunday."

There are no games being played in Croke Park on Saturday.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2643 - 20/06/2024 12:48:59    2553185

Replying To shaggykev:  "So Taylor is playing the Aviva Friday-Sunday whilst GAA will have double header in Croke Park clashing on Saturday and Sunday.

The GAA is going to come off second best here. Expect attendances to be way way down on previous years. And this is a year they have increased the prices too and you still cannot even buy them yet."
It is all about the condensed season. is there anything to be said for meeting the clubs half way and finishing intercounty by mid august? Probably not.
Would not be blaming Taylor Swift, she is easy on the eye even if he music makes my ears bleed

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 534 - 20/06/2024 12:57:47    2553189

GAA people have reached peak moaning if this is an issue to be complained about.
Are there not concerts all the time in the summer? Dublin is a city, there is more than GAA on.
Are you thinking Taylor should have checked with the GAA before she put on the concert?

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1250 - 20/06/2024 14:09:10    2553205

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""GAA will have double header in Croke Park clashing on Saturday and Sunday."

There are no games being played in Croke Park on Saturday."
Saturday week is when I'm talking about.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 284 - 20/06/2024 14:13:58    2553206

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "GAA people have reached peak moaning if this is an issue to be complained about.
Are there not concerts all the time in the summer? Dublin is a city, there is more than GAA on.
Are you thinking Taylor should have checked with the GAA before she put on the concert?"
Like gaelsboy, the condensed season is the big contributing factor here.

4 teams fans know they are playing that weekend but cannot get tickets yet or know what day they're playing. In the past provincial champions would have three weeks to plan.

4 teams need to get through this weekend and only then will people cop on what a nightmare Dublin will be in 9-10 days time. Unfortunately this lass is a bit bigger than a normal concert.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 284 - 20/06/2024 14:17:51    2553209

there are always concerts in Dublin during the summer and this has happened before without any impact to GAA attendances. Trains being sold out won't impact anyone in Donegal, the last time a train went to Donegal was more than 50 years ago

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 546 - 20/06/2024 14:22:10    2553211

Maybe the GAA should stop playing games altogether!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1795 - 20/06/2024 14:32:03    2553213

Maybe the GAA will do well out of it. Mammy and Daddy need to drive their little Swifties to Dublin anyway so may as well go to the Donegal match while they are down in the big schmoke.
400, I knew me da should have done an AirBnb for the weekend.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1250 - 20/06/2024 15:15:57    2553220

Replying To gaelsboy:  "It is all about the condensed season. is there anything to be said for meeting the clubs half way and finishing intercounty by mid august? Probably not.
Would not be blaming Taylor Swift, she is easy on the eye even if he music makes my ears bleed"
I'll not hear a bad word being said against Cardigan.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1099 - 20/06/2024 17:43:44    2553244

GAA fans I'm afraid will have to shake it off.

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 288 - 20/06/2024 18:08:33    2553249

Croke park knew of Taylor Swifts concert dates long before they they arranged the said fixture list.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2976 - 21/06/2024 12:08:18    2553371

taylor WHO???

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2211 - 21/06/2024 12:15:47    2553372

Ye're guaranteed to be there, regardless. Fair play to ye, Jimmy is doing mighty. Hotel prices any weekend in Dublin and most of the country are crazy even without Taylor Swift or games in Croke Park. So if attendances are down there'll be no bother for you getting tickets. Try booking Maynooth Campus for reasonably priced accommodation, train in and out to Drumcondra, and a good town for food and drink. It's actually a good complaint for a lot of businesses in Dublin next weekend in times when money is tight.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7564 - 21/06/2024 12:36:43    2553380

Agent: "I see you have a blank space next fortnight. My client will play then. Say yes or you'll have a cruel summer, as you know all too well."
GAA: "Sorry, who are you?"
Agent: "You need to calm down."
GAA: "Who's your client?"
Taylor: "Me-ee-eeee!"
GAA: "I knew you were trouble when you walked in."

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1099 - 21/06/2024 13:53:47    2553406

Croke Park is a great venue for concerts and big rugby and soccer matches like the next Euros, I hope they continue to let us play the All Ireland final there in years to come.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2934 - 21/06/2024 14:08:57    2553413

Replying To Trump2020:  "taylor WHO???"
Swift. It's in the Title

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 288 - 21/06/2024 14:37:27    2553428