All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2024

Replying To TomWex:  "So an arm tackle across the shoulder (not a pull down) is a yellow card now - its not even a free... and in the first 2 min.. that told our lads straight away how this was going to go"
Yellow card was harsh but to argue it's not even a free is beyond embarrassing

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1812 - 23/06/2024 20:21:43    2554140

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Yellow card was harsh but to argue it's not even a free is beyond embarrassing"
Do you even watch hurling

TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 85 - 23/06/2024 21:54:17    2554173

Seamus Hickey is a pain in the derrière. TJ is good. I like Dowling and his point today was well made. How in God's name can you let a man run 11 steps against the rules because he himself has been fouled and is on an 'advantage'. As soon as he hits the 4 steps the ref has to blow him up and give the free..he cannot let him tsje another load of steps illegally in some bizarre attempt at advantage. No other sport in the world allows an advantage like that. The throwing by Shane Barratt today was outrageous and the steps by O Donnell for his goal was crazy..

LimerickForLiam24 (Limerick) - Posts: 127 - 23/06/2024 23:04:13    2554189

Replying To daveboy:  "I understand your point and its well made but maybe they should bring it in as a set rule then. In other sports you do get advantage for an impingement but if you then foul a ball ie a knock on in rugby it's brought back for the initial decision of a free in for the holding in hurling. When does advantage become ridiculous? The black card is in for the reasons you say in fairness and I'm absolutely for it."
I agree if he fouls the ball after he breaks clear scores, that is an illegal score but if he has to take five extra steps to break away from the drag added to ones he took before getting impeded then that should not count in the number of steps. Discretionary I agree but so many decisions are and often totally inconsistent from ref to ref, game to game.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2847 - 23/06/2024 23:22:30    2554193

Replying To TomWex:  "Do you even watch hurling"
You're the only one claiming that Rory O' C first foul wasn't even a free let alone a yellow card. Imagine allowing every player on the pitch make that tackle throughout a game with no free given?

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1812 - 24/06/2024 04:39:36    2554206

Replying To LimerickForLiam24:  "Seamus Hickey is a pain in the derrière. TJ is good. I like Dowling and his point today was well made. How in God's name can you let a man run 11 steps against the rules because he himself has been fouled and is on an 'advantage'. As soon as he hits the 4 steps the ref has to blow him up and give the free..he cannot let him tsje another load of steps illegally in some bizarre attempt at advantage. No other sport in the world allows an advantage like that. The throwing by Shane Barratt today was outrageous and the steps by O Donnell for his goal was crazy.."
its up to the referee to call nothing about the wonderful skill and finish from SOD

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 958 - 24/06/2024 08:18:22    2554223

Replying To Claretandblue:  "You're the only one claiming that Rory O' C first foul wasn't even a free let alone a yellow card. Imagine allowing every player on the pitch make that tackle throughout a game with no free given?"
The fact that it occurred so early in the game is the kicker really. They were only introducing themselves.

This type of aggression is generally let go in Munster so the inconsistency is the issue, although it was a foul they're not always given.

It doesn't matter anyway. I thought the margin was flattering but the way we performed Clare were always going to win.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3042 - 24/06/2024 09:28:48    2554250

Replying To clooney:  "its up to the referee to call nothing about the wonderful skill and finish from SOD"
I am caught in 2 minds about it. yes it is a free and we wouldnt complain if a free is given. But if the GAA are really serious about getting rid of cynical tackles this needs to be looked at. By the letter of the law, the drag back is not a black card, but knowing SOD if he rounds his man, there is a strong possibility of a goal chance. This is not applicable to all forwards but with someone of the calibre of SOD, if he gets clear there is a chance of goal. If he gets called for overcarrying in that position you have rewarded the defender. The overcarrying occurred while he was still being fouled, once he got clear he took a touch. However as the rules stand it was a free in to Clare but, its not right that the defender is basically rewarded in that siutation when he is doing the fouling before SOD overcarries.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2672 - 24/06/2024 10:40:52    2554309

Is it time we made it mandatory for refs to wear helmets in hurling?

burt nally (Leitrim) - Posts: 6 - 24/06/2024 11:25:29    2554346

Replying To aloneitstands:  "Let's just say they have to get over Limerick first of all before your big statement comes into play. I would give Limerick a 50/50 chance. Big statements are grand but you need to back them up."
Firstly, can I say that Limerick are reigning All Ireland champions and very worthy of that honor, along with that 5 in a row is without doubt a possibility that's on the cards for them.

Never the less, the semifinal of Limerick v Cork is an all munster game, the semi final of Kilkenny v Clare is a munster and Clare game, straight away the dynamics change, it is an all-Ireland munster semi final that in itself is a Rebel rouser and lets not forget that a short few weeks ago Cork pipped Limerick by a couple of points in a high scoring game, my thinking is after seeing the game neither side wanted to lose while both sides tried their darndest to win, Cork are saying if they could do it then so too can they do it on July 7th.

The other semi between Kilkenny and Clare favors Clare a bit, Clare showed a lot of promise in the Munster final against Limerick losing out by 0-06, it's not a lot in hurling and they have been working on that, admittable they are not up to the same standard as in the days of Davy, Ger and the Sparrow etc. Never the less they are in the all Ireland semi final 2024.

Kilkenny reached the 2023 All Ireland final and fell short by 0-09 at the finish, this year they pipped Wexford by 0-01 they drew with Carlow in all honesty Carlow should / could have beaten them and there was a couple of other unconvincing results they had as well, however they too find themselves in the all-Ireland semi final.

Should Cork pip Limerick in that semi final and I believe they will they will be odd's on favorites to win it out. That said I think I have explained myself reasonably well and why I think Cork will win it out. It could very well be an all Munster final, if that is the case the dynamics will change yet again.

(The greatest field sport in the world.)

Cuhullain (Kildare) - Posts: 285 - 24/06/2024 11:44:55    2554356

Replying To Doylerwex:  "The fact that it occurred so early in the game is the kicker really. They were only introducing themselves.

This type of aggression is generally let go in Munster so the inconsistency is the issue, although it was a foul they're not always given.

It doesn't matter anyway. I thought the margin was flattering but the way we performed Clare were always going to win."
I agree, free unquestionably but card was a tad unnecessary. That said Rory needs to learn.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1812 - 24/06/2024 12:02:39    2554364

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I am caught in 2 minds about it. yes it is a free and we wouldnt complain if a free is given. But if the GAA are really serious about getting rid of cynical tackles this needs to be looked at. By the letter of the law, the drag back is not a black card, but knowing SOD if he rounds his man, there is a strong possibility of a goal chance. This is not applicable to all forwards but with someone of the calibre of SOD, if he gets clear there is a chance of goal. If he gets called for overcarrying in that position you have rewarded the defender. The overcarrying occurred while he was still being fouled, once he got clear he took a touch. However as the rules stand it was a free in to Clare but, its not right that the defender is basically rewarded in that siutation when he is doing the fouling before SOD overcarries."
Spot on.the attacking player must be rewarded. To penalise SOD in this instance would be farcical, he took steps because he was being fouled, so you'd be penalising him and therefore rewarding the defender for fouling.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 256 - 24/06/2024 12:05:35    2554366

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I am caught in 2 minds about it. yes it is a free and we wouldnt complain if a free is given. But if the GAA are really serious about getting rid of cynical tackles this needs to be looked at. By the letter of the law, the drag back is not a black card, but knowing SOD if he rounds his man, there is a strong possibility of a goal chance. This is not applicable to all forwards but with someone of the calibre of SOD, if he gets clear there is a chance of goal. If he gets called for overcarrying in that position you have rewarded the defender. The overcarrying occurred while he was still being fouled, once he got clear he took a touch. However as the rules stand it was a free in to Clare but, its not right that the defender is basically rewarded in that siutation when he is doing the fouling before SOD overcarries."
I think Matthew let go of him because there were so many backs between SOD and the goal. The dummy to wrongfoot the defender and keeper, all with the ball on the hurl as he couldn't catch it again, was pure class though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13322 - 24/06/2024 12:12:47    2554369

Only one way to stop O'Donnell and that is cut the supply of the ball to him.

If he gets it your best hope is to try and stop him running for goal. A point conceded is better than a goal.

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 89 - 24/06/2024 13:33:59    2554399

So because SOD is sooo amazing he should be allowed to take 11 steps before scoring a goal.
Just apply the effing rules farely.

TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 85 - 24/06/2024 13:52:03    2554408

And then there were four.......to be fair any of the four teams left are capable of winning it.

While I still believe Limerick are favourites to win, it if they are able to bring the same type of performance to Croke Park that they have over the last number of years. I'm watching hurling long enough to know anything can happen on a Day though and I think Cork will be a huge challenge for us. I know the narrative that Cork didn't play great the last two weeks etc. etc. but the point is they didn't have to. Against Offaly I felt they had more in them if needed, and last Saturday once they went 8 points up on Dublin the game over. The object of the exercise was to win both games and avoid any injuries and suspensions and they have done that. As Cork showed below in the Pairc versus Limerick they are more than capable of upping it a couple of gears when they have to and now once again is the time they have to. I said already on this forum previously that I believe Cork are the next hurling power who could dominate the game, but I'm hoping it won't start on Sunday week.

Kilkenny and Clare is hard to call. In some respects I think Kilkenny are the only team still under the radar a little. (If that's possible when you are already League and Leinster Champions this year). They had a lot of injuries this year and kind of stuttered though Leinster its hard to know where they are at. I believe Clare had the beating of Kilkenny in last years semi final but lost it on the line in the first half with their "sweeper". Seeing Shanagher and Reidy back in the mix last weekend it would seams that Brian Lohan may actually be taking action to rectify some issues of the that caught them out against Limerick in the munster final and on that basis Clare have a right chance or rectifying some issues. They do have to tighten up the middle and improve on their puckouts or Kilkenny will make hay.

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 89 - 24/06/2024 14:40:27    2554428

Replying To LimerickandProud:  "Only one way to stop O'Donnell and that is cut the supply of the ball to him.

If he gets it your best hope is to try and stop him running for goal. A point conceded is better than a goal."
Or hope some ref, some day, will actually start looking at the ridiculous volume of steps that O'Donnell very frequently takes, when 'taking on' his man, as he likes to do!! Not hard to spot, he's overcarrying in half dozens of steps at this stage, doesn't usually end at just one extra half dozen either.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3829 - 24/06/2024 14:53:44    2554437

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Or hope some ref, some day, will actually start looking at the ridiculous volume of steps that O'Donnell very frequently takes, when 'taking on' his man, as he likes to do!! Not hard to spot, he's overcarrying in half dozens of steps at this stage, doesn't usually end at just one extra half dozen either."
But are they small steps or big steps?

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2147 - 24/06/2024 15:05:08    2554441

Replying To daveboy:  "I understand your point and its well made but maybe they should bring it in as a set rule then. In other sports you do get advantage for an impingement but if you then foul a ball ie a knock on in rugby it's brought back for the initial decision of a free in for the holding in hurling. When does advantage become ridiculous? The black card is in for the reasons you say in fairness and I'm absolutely for it."
A sensible advantage rule should work just like the example you gave from rugby. i.e If the player with the advantage subsequently commits a foul before the advantage period has expired, then play should be stopped and the original free awarded. Crazily, the GAA advantage rule does not allow for the ref to do this. Instead, the rule includes the following statement:
If, during the advantage period, a foul is committed by a player of the team which was originally fouled then the advantage is cancelled and a free kick/puck awarded for the "second" foul.

So, according to a strict interpretation of the rule, the ref should have actually given a free out against O'Donnell for over-carrying. Now, O'Donnell was most likely unaware that the ref had given him an advantage (how would he know unless he was looking straight at the ref at the time?) and so he was simply playing to the whistle and trying to break the tackle as any good player would be expected to do. Giving a free against him for over-carrying in this scenario would be a ridiculous and unfair outcome but the only other option available to the ref is to allow him to get away with over-carrying, which is equally ridiculous. I don't blame the ref. The issue is a direct result of a poorly thought out and badly written rule. There is a quick and easy fix to this problem - just make the appropriate change to the wording of the above statement.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1011 - 24/06/2024 16:27:01    2554482

Replying To LimerickandProud:  "And then there were four.......to be fair any of the four teams left are capable of winning it.

While I still believe Limerick are favourites to win, it if they are able to bring the same type of performance to Croke Park that they have over the last number of years. I'm watching hurling long enough to know anything can happen on a Day though and I think Cork will be a huge challenge for us. I know the narrative that Cork didn't play great the last two weeks etc. etc. but the point is they didn't have to. Against Offaly I felt they had more in them if needed, and last Saturday once they went 8 points up on Dublin the game over. The object of the exercise was to win both games and avoid any injuries and suspensions and they have done that. As Cork showed below in the Pairc versus Limerick they are more than capable of upping it a couple of gears when they have to and now once again is the time they have to. I said already on this forum previously that I believe Cork are the next hurling power who could dominate the game, but I'm hoping it won't start on Sunday week.

Kilkenny and Clare is hard to call. In some respects I think Kilkenny are the only team still under the radar a little. (If that's possible when you are already League and Leinster Champions this year). They had a lot of injuries this year and kind of stuttered though Leinster its hard to know where they are at. I believe Clare had the beating of Kilkenny in last years semi final but lost it on the line in the first half with their "sweeper". Seeing Shanagher and Reidy back in the mix last weekend it would seams that Brian Lohan may actually be taking action to rectify some issues of the that caught them out against Limerick in the munster final and on that basis Clare have a right chance or rectifying some issues. They do have to tighten up the middle and improve on their puckouts or Kilkenny will make hay."
Kilkenny aren't League Champions (Clare are). I agree with you, Kilkenny and Clare is hard to call. The Leinster final win over Dublin, had Kilkenny's strongest 15 to start this year, with plenty of talent on the bench. Unfortunately, the win over Dublin didn't tell us a lot about the team and where they're at moment. Undoubtedly they are a very good team. But I wished they had had a stronger challenge in the Leinster final.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2643 - 24/06/2024 16:27:12    2554483