Senior Football Championship 2024

Want to wish Conor McManus a very happy retirement.A truly brilliant player and a real sportsman.A player I loved watching.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3739 - 22/06/2024 22:42:23    2553840

Replying To Belclare7:  "You left out Sligo who I seriously would have ahead of Mayo...
They are having meltdowns over on Willie hoe's blog..
They want Ciaran Mc Donald's young lad called up next year!!! Like he is 16 ..
Madness"
Heard he is some prospect alright - but not yet....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3803 - 22/06/2024 22:46:18    2553844

Replying To RoryGall35:  "I know but they will be hell bend on revenge to take us down but hopefully they will be completely wrecked after tonight"
They will be wrecked after tonight albeit full of beans. It's physical as much as mental. Just feel we will be absolutely hopping out the gate in a week's time under Jim. Ready to run the legs off whoever. Whether that is good enough, who knows but possibly Galway would be the team I'm most wary of.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1355 - 22/06/2024 22:46:29    2553845

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "True and I just heard Kevin McStay being interviewed.He obviously very disappointed but really gracious in defeat and comes across as a real Gentleman."
That he certainly is. He's a mighty man. He's been a resident of Roscommon for over 30 years now and an honorary Roscommon man at that too. I feel very sorry for Kevin and the Mayo team and supporters this evening. They deserve better but that's how the cookie crumbles. Fair play to Derry. As one Mayo man declared before the match 'Derry are a beaten docket', well it turned out not to be the case. The sign of a good team. They'll give plenty of headaches to whoever draws them in the quarter finals. Here's hoping we can do likewise. Ros Comáin abú

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 120 - 22/06/2024 22:49:36    2553847

Congrats to Derry on a deserved win. We just don't have enough quality at the minute. GAA teams go in cycles and we are on the wrong spoke at this present time. That said the tactics and game management on our sideline was not at it today and learnt nothing from the Connacht final or Dublin game in how to close a game out.

Well done to our neighbours on getting through. It will be very tough for all teams especially Derry after playing ET to get a result next weekend. It's a bonkers championship structure but no point going down that road again.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11303 - 22/06/2024 23:00:47    2553852

Replying To Scenicparish:  "You can't draw teams that were in the same group. Previous matches don't count."
Ah cheers, must've picked that up wrong.I think yee are dark horses this year.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 275 - 22/06/2024 23:23:03    2553859

Replying To moros:  "Your playing puck now altogether!"
That's the stuff for them...
They bring it on themselves..
Mayo always bottle it at home as the supporters put huge pressure on their own players..
They will be potcasting the whole thing to death now..
Slagging ye all year and Davy Burke..
Who's laughing tonight?

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 49 - 22/06/2024 23:27:40    2553861

Off the 4 teams that will qualify to play the group winners, Derry our the only one that has a chance off winning regardless of the draw and even then with the effort they had to put in against Mayo that's even a big call.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 718 - 22/06/2024 23:55:44    2553869

Replying To LimerickForLiam24:  "Should be routine wins for Galway, Tyrone, Mayo Cork.
Mayo might rest a couple lads with a game next weekend."
Stick to the small ball

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 192 - 23/06/2024 00:32:18    2553874

Replying To ComainRos:  "That he certainly is. He's a mighty man. He's been a resident of Roscommon for over 30 years now and an honorary Roscommon man at that too. I feel very sorry for Kevin and the Mayo team and supporters this evening. They deserve better but that's how the cookie crumbles. Fair play to Derry. As one Mayo man declared before the match 'Derry are a beaten docket', well it turned out not to be the case. The sign of a good team. They'll give plenty of headaches to whoever draws them in the quarter finals. Here's hoping we can do likewise. Ros Comáin abú"
Kevin McStay. Always gracious in defeat and he had some bad days managing Roscommon as well. A true gentleman. Mayo paid the price for Dublin's late equaliser last weekend. The margins are tight. Mayo have beaten us twice in this year's championship but we're in a quarter final and they're out.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2233 - 23/06/2024 01:15:44    2553876

Replying To Belclare7:  "That's the stuff for them...
Mayo always bottle it at home as the supporters put huge pressure on their own players..
Who's laughing tonight?"
That's absolutely hilarious...?

We support our team as much as any other county does and it's hype?

By far the beat 2 games of whole season have been mayo v dubs and mayo v derry cause we being the never say die attitude.

The thing ya have that ye aways have to slag us off is pathetic.

We lost but we never gave till the lady second tonight and the video of our captain leading our team out on crutches says it all we a few family and be back next year as always...

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 84 - 23/06/2024 01:16:57    2553877

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "They will be wrecked after tonight albeit full of beans. It's physical as much as mental. Just feel we will be absolutely hopping out the gate in a week's time under Jim. Ready to run the legs off whoever. Whether that is good enough, who knows but possibly Galway would be the team I'm most wary of."
You are not nearly as good as you think you are believe me….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2181 - 23/06/2024 01:50:38    2553879

Well done Derry hard luck Mayo. Well done Roscommon, Tyrone are a pale shadow of a once great football County.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9728 - 23/06/2024 02:19:20    2553881

Can Derry play Donegal? They've already played in Ulster.

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 115 - 23/06/2024 02:19:33    2553882

Replying To Belclare7:  "That's the stuff for them...
Who's laughing tonight?"
We could do with some pot to listen to them pods Belclare. Congrats to Galway. Hope some of yer walking wounded can be fit to play next weekend.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7455 - 23/06/2024 05:44:00    2553886

Replying To Commodore:  "Back in April I would have been confident that Derry could beat Mayo in Championship, but I fully expect Mayo to put Derry out of Championship this weekend following Derry's recent lacklustre performances.

Derry aren't at the races, not sure what is going on behind the scenes since they won the National League, but they have lost their traction and are playing like a mediocre Division 2 team at the moment. Mayo just went toe to toe with Dublin and drew, massive gap here.

I expect Mayo to win by a large margin, probably >15 points, and it will likely end Micky Harte's reign."
Hope you didn't back that

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 221 - 23/06/2024 07:50:08    2553895

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Mayo have put out the slurry a bit earlier than normal this year."
You should put out yours instead of lying in it!

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 28 - 23/06/2024 09:05:24    2553913

Replying To S1234:  "That's absolutely hilarious...?

We support our team as much as any other county does and it's hype?

By far the beat 2 games of whole season have been mayo v dubs and mayo v derry cause we being the never say die attitude.

The thing ya have that ye aways have to slag us off is pathetic.

We lost but we never gave till the lady second tonight and the video of our captain leading our team out on crutches says it all we a few family and be back next year as always..."
Oh lord above... so Paddy Walked the lads out on crutches! ..
That doesn't help ye put the ball over the bar..
Mayo are seriously lacking marquee forwards like Comer, Walsh, Finnerty and Roscommons Daire Cregg...
And the three Galway lads all carrying serious injuries ..
Ah ref better get the podcast going.. lots to talk and yawn about

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 49 - 23/06/2024 09:10:20    2553916

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "You are not nearly as good as you think you are believe me…."
Okay, I believe you Cavan man.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1355 - 23/06/2024 09:15:03    2553919

Replying To Belclare7:  "Oh lord above... so Paddy Walked the lads out on crutches! ..
That doesn't help ye put the ball over the bar..
Mayo are seriously lacking marquee forwards like Comer, Walsh, Finnerty and Roscommons Daire Cregg...
And the three Galway lads all carrying serious injuries ..
Ah ref better get the podcast going.. lots to talk and yawn about"
Give them a break, the football championship would be much the poorer without Mayo. Galway may have top class forwards but they haven't played much football this year due to injury and at this stage it's hard to see a team that barely got the better of Monaghan yesterday going any further in this year's championship.

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 28 - 23/06/2024 09:24:17    2553927