2024 League Finals Predictions

Replying To Matthew:  "Not one person here picked Westmeath! Absolutely hilarious…."
Indeed. They were clearly confident and there was no reason why Down were 4/9 favourites! Not a single line of form to stand up those taking that price.

I didn't wet my own beak but I'm sure a few punters who ignore the superficialities of the "pundits" did.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2590 - 31/03/2024 10:00:28    2534755

Replying To rorysboys:  "You're some donegal man. No loyalty"
If you look at the top of the page you'll see this is called a 'predictions' competition. It's not a loyalty competition. I'll be delighted to be proven wrong if Donegal win but with injuries we have I just can't see it today I'm afraid.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 809 - 31/03/2024 11:28:50    2534770

Replying To peiledoir20:  "If you look at the top of the page you'll see this is called a 'predictions' competition. It's not a loyalty competition. I'll be delighted to be proven wrong if Donegal win but with injuries we have I just can't see it today I'm afraid."
I'd say Donegal are the one team today that will definitely be keeping one eye on prep for the championship. Should still be interesting game I think.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2590 - 31/03/2024 12:13:19    2534777

Derry deserved to win the 2nd game.

I felt Armagh left the first game behind them in that 2nd half tbh. But fair play to Donegal getting those last 2 points.

Who would have thought last year that McGuinness and Harte would be managing the winners of the Div 2 and Div 1 League titles. Certainly not me.
Congrats to both of them.

Looking at both games, I really can't see Derry being stopped in Ulster - think they will make it 3 in a row.

Great days entertainment in Croker and that wind was surprisingly very strong. But other than that, perfect playing conditions.
Approx 33,500 in attendance.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 31/03/2024 21:35:08    2534886

Hi lads, as I mentioned previously I'm away at the moment so won't get a chance to tot up the scores & put together the final leaderboard until later in the week.

But just to confirm the TG4 MOTM's while they're fresh in people's memories...I believe were as below. Correct me if I'm wrong. Thanks.

Div 1: ?
Div 2: Ciarán Thompson
Div 3: Sam Macartan
Div 4: Evan O'Carroll

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9165 - 01/04/2024 06:34:54    2534929

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Hi lads, as I mentioned previously I'm away at the moment so won't get a chance to tot up the scores & put together the final leaderboard until later in the week.

But just to confirm the TG4 MOTM's while they're fresh in people's memories...I believe were as below. Correct me if I'm wrong. Thanks.

Div 4: Evan O'Carroll"
Eoin McEvoy Lockjaw.

2-01 from CHB, fully merited.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 809 - 01/04/2024 09:28:44    2534939

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Hi lads, as I mentioned previously I'm away at the moment so won't get a chance to tot up the scores & put together the final leaderboard until later in the week.

Division 1 was Eoin McEvoy

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 590 - 01/04/2024 11:50:20    2534962

Replying To Matthew:  "Not one person here picked Westmeath! Absolutely hilarious…."
It is so easy to be wise after an event. Where are your predications, I can't seem to find them?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2481 - 01/04/2024 12:07:06    2534964

Correct on the MOM, it was a Derry player who got the Div1 award, of course I can't think of his name,
A great match , went to penalties. Derry won 3-1.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1751 - 01/04/2024 12:20:46    2534968

Armagh yet again prove themselves to be wildly overrated.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 01/04/2024 12:30:12    2534970

Mc Evoy was MOTM I believe.
Congrats Derry, contenders for sure.
I think Glass was wrong to criticize Conor Lane who had a great game bar
the questionable free given to the Dubls to tie it in regulation and the penalty
given to Derry seemed to be an error but Lane did consult the umpires.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 01/04/2024 13:19:37    2534978

I did.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12113 - 01/04/2024 15:29:35    2535003

Replying To thelongridge:  "Correct on the MOM, it was a Derry player who got the Div1 award, of course I can't think of his name,
A great match , went to penalties. Derry won 3-1."
Eoin McEvoy Derry. Scored 2-2 yesterday. MOM

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1751 - 01/04/2024 17:50:09    2535039

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Dublin v Derry Dublin by 3. - B Fenton
Armagh v Donegal Armagh by 2 - R Grugan
Westmeath v Down Down by 6 - C Doherty
Laois v Leitrim Draw - R O'Rourke"
I scored 0 points in this round. Did anyone else do as bad? My overall score for the competition is also very poor.
Some of you may be thinking 'What would a Kilkenny man about football', but I studied the form and read the opinions of the pundits. Alas, to no avail.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2481 - 03/04/2024 14:52:21    2535383

2 right and the only one that mattered westmeath winning happy days

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1807 - 03/04/2024 15:11:03    2535386

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I scored 0 points in this round. Did anyone else do as bad? My overall score for the competition is also very poor.
Some of you may be thinking 'What would a Kilkenny man about football', but I studied the form and read the opinions of the pundits. Alas, to no avail."
That was your mistake listening to pundits, if the pundits you listened to were anything like the 2 lads on the Sunday Game there the last night then I wouldn't be surprised they'd lead you astray, never heard such a load of oul waffle.
They'd want to get a few of the recent generation of retired players on, fellas that know the craic nowadays, not oul fellas taking about how it was in their day.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2760 - 03/04/2024 20:44:42    2535445

Hi guys, the scores from last weekend's matches are below. A reminder of the scoring criteria.

5 points for calling the winner (normal time only) - so if you predicted Derry to win, unfortunately it would not count as the match was in effect a draw.

7 points for calling a draw

10 points for exact winning margin

10 points for MOTM

Username Week 8
SouthOfTheGap 20
rorysboys 20
Lockjaw 20
Fkd12 15
D.Hyde 15
peiledoir20 15
optimist 15
MesAmis 15
Barrowsider 15
tommy132 15
Viking66 10
mickcunningham 10
dave1988 10
Malonemagic 10
eoinog 10
banada 10
Temple56 10
SayNothing 10
CarlowRising 10
Tacaí Liatroima 10
Tirchonaill1 5
TobeaRossie 5
Byanthon 5
Gaa_Lover 5
St.Conleth 5
thestrapper49 5
letsgetgoing 5
CTGAA10 5
Dermy 5
thelongridge 5
Sligoman1234 5
ForeverBlue2 5
Ollie2 5
drumalee11 5
CiarraiMick 5
Brehonblonde 5
lilywhite1 5
katser 5
LosDodgers 5
Kerry15 5
New&Improved 5
LoughduffLad 5
foreveryoung 5
Glarg 5
jacktheboy 5
hypo 5
TheRock2121 0
Dunmore10 0
thereporter 0
royaldunne 0
Laoisvillain 0
Cockney_Cat 0
Jardonnay 0
KingdomofBreifne 0
ninjasmith 0
Auldleitrimgael 0
lugdrum 0
LeitrimforLiam 0
Selwyn 0
INTOTHEWEST1 0
PSMurphy 0
caltra04 0
Route1ball 0
achara 0
ORIELMAN85 0
Liftball 0
Rolo2010 0
wexfordgaa 0
Trump2020 0
beidhmeanseo 0
carlovia 0
JahTribe 0
roseyinthegarden 0
YourJoking 0
Headbutter 0
iarmhi_an_mhaith 0
donegaldouble 0
Royal.Legend 0
Sweetspot 0
24Seven 0
GAAHQ1 0
fantasybrown 0
hyperache 0
The_Fridge 0
p_play 0
sourmilk93 0
batitout 0
bh78 0
local.royal 0
howmanystepsref 0
97cavans 0
republican 0
erne12 0
grahammc9897 0
martyW 0
Whestofthewest 0
Commodore 0

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9165 - 04/04/2024 10:04:55    2535509

Final Leaderboard. Congratulations to peiledoir on his win. Very consistent throughout & a deserving winner. Thanks to all who participated. Stay tuned. I'll see if I can knock something together for the Championship as well. I know that rorysboys is eager to demonstrate his prowess.

Username Overall Score
peiledoir20 154
Gaa_Lover 141
tommy132 141
LoughduffLad 135
Byanthon 131
Viking66 129
Laoisvillain 129
Lockjaw 127
Trump2020 126
ForeverBlue2 124
drumalee11 124
Auldleitrimgael 124
SouthOfTheGap 122
Barrowsider 122
CarlowRising 122
D.Hyde 121
Tacaí Liatroima 121
katser 119
Glarg 119
banada 117
thelongridge 115
Kerry15 115
mickcunningham 114
dave1988 114
letsgetgoing 113
Sligoman1234 113
optimist 113
MesAmis 112
Tirchonaill1 111
SayNothing 111
PSMurphy 111
New&Improved 111
TobeaRossie 108
Malonemagic 108
CTGAA10 108
St.Conleth 107
thestrapper49 107
lilywhite1 105
Fkd12 104
rorysboys 103
Temple56 103
CiarraiMick 102
Brehonblonde 102
lugdrum 102
Jardonnay 100
JahTribe 100
eoinog 99
Royal.Legend 99
KingdomofBreifne 98
hypo 98
TheRock2121 97
Dermy 96
LosDodgers 96
YourJoking 96
achara 95
ninjasmith 94
jacktheboy 94
beidhmeanseo 92
batitout 91
foreveryoung 90
Ollie2 88
97cavans 87
Headbutter 85
hyperache 85
Cockney_Cat 78
local.royal 73
erne12 68
grahammc9897 67
royaldunne 61
Dunmore10 58
The_Fridge 57
ORIELMAN85 56
p_play 51
donegaldouble 50
martyW 49
Selwyn 44
howmanystepsref 44
Rolo2010 40
thereporter 33
INTOTHEWEST1 31
Sweetspot 29
carlovia 25
Liftball 24
24Seven 24
iarmhi_an_mhaith 23
wexfordgaa 20
sourmilk93 20
fantasybrown 18
GAAHQ1 13
Whestofthewest 13
LeitrimforLiam 11
Commodore 11
bh78 8
caltra04 7
republican 6
Route1ball 5
roseyinthegarden 0

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9165 - 04/04/2024 10:08:08    2535510

Great stuff Lockjaw. Really enjoyed the competition again this year. Thanks for all your hard work. Hope the moderator will get a couple of All Ireland tickets for you.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 525 - 04/04/2024 10:27:27    2535517

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Final Leaderboard. Congratulations to peiledoir on his win. Very consistent throughout & a deserving winner. Thanks to all who participated. Stay tuned. I'll see if I can knock something together for the Championship as well. I know that rorysboys is eager to demonstrate his prowess.

Username Overall Score
peiledoir20 154
Gaa_Lover 141
tommy132 141
LoughduffLad 135
Byanthon 131
Viking66 129
Laoisvillain 129
Lockjaw 127
Trump2020 126
ForeverBlue2 124
drumalee11 124
Auldleitrimgael 124
SouthOfTheGap 122
Barrowsider 122
CarlowRising 122
D.Hyde 121
Tacaí Liatroima 121
katser 119
Glarg 119
banada 117
thelongridge 115
Kerry15 115
mickcunningham 114
dave1988 114
letsgetgoing 113
Sligoman1234 113
optimist 113
MesAmis 112
Tirchonaill1 111
SayNothing 111
PSMurphy 111
New&Improved 111
TobeaRossie 108
Malonemagic 108
CTGAA10 108
St.Conleth 107
thestrapper49 107
lilywhite1 105
Fkd12 104
rorysboys 103
Temple56 103
CiarraiMick 102
Brehonblonde 102
lugdrum 102
Jardonnay 100
JahTribe 100
eoinog 99
Royal.Legend 99
KingdomofBreifne 98
hypo 98
TheRock2121 97
Dermy 96
LosDodgers 96
YourJoking 96
achara 95
ninjasmith 94
jacktheboy 94
beidhmeanseo 92
batitout 91
foreveryoung 90
Ollie2 88
97cavans 87
Headbutter 85
hyperache 85
Cockney_Cat 78
local.royal 73
erne12 68
grahammc9897 67
royaldunne 61
Dunmore10 58
The_Fridge 57
ORIELMAN85 56
p_play 51
donegaldouble 50
martyW 49
Selwyn 44
howmanystepsref 44
Rolo2010 40
thereporter 33
INTOTHEWEST1 31
Sweetspot 29
carlovia 25
Liftball 24
24Seven 24
iarmhi_an_mhaith 23
wexfordgaa 20
sourmilk93 20
fantasybrown 18
GAAHQ1 13
Whestofthewest 13
LeitrimforLiam 11
Commodore 11
bh78 8
caltra04 7
republican 6
Route1ball 5
roseyinthegarden 0"
thanks very much for your great work lockjaw , it made the league very interesting

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1807 - 04/04/2024 10:41:57    2535524