Limerick Hurling thread 2024

Replying To daveboy:  "Very encouraging to see that second half performance. Psychologically another blow to Galway after one against tipp last weekend both of whom I expect to see in latter stages of championship. Once byrnes wod hego came in the game completely changed. Galway came with an over the edge performance today and Limerick only got better the worse the tackles got"
I'd actually take a few positives from that today as a Galway person. I was genuinely expecting a decent beating, given where we're at. Even at 15 vs 15 were playing well and competing. If anything, our work-rate dropped when we had the extra man.
The full-back line did well on Flanagan and Gillane, although conditions definitely favoured defenders today. It was very difficult for forwards to get the ball up into the hand quickly.
At the end when it looked like Limerick had taken over, we got the late couple of scores to level it.
We did hit some very poor wides in the second-half, but that goal is tricky even when there's a light enough breeze. Limerick missed a few in the firdt-half. Darach Fahy in goal has been another positive in this league.
For Limerick, Hannon really grew into the game and was very good in the second-half. Cathal O'Neill had some brilliant moments too. Great to see Sean Finn coming in, after his injury troubles last year.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2053 - 16/03/2024 18:08:50    2531446

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I'd actually take a few positives from that today as a Galway person. I was genuinely expecting a decent beating, given where we're at. Even at 15 vs 15 were playing well and competing. If anything, our work-rate dropped when we had the extra man.
The full-back line did well on Flanagan and Gillane, although conditions definitely favoured defenders today. It was very difficult for forwards to get the ball up into the hand quickly.
At the end when it looked like Limerick had taken over, we got the late couple of scores to level it.
We did hit some very poor wides in the second-half, but that goal is tricky even when there's a light enough breeze. Limerick missed a few in the firdt-half. Darach Fahy in goal has been another positive in this league.
For Limerick, Hannon really grew into the game and was very good in the second-half. Cathal O'Neill had some brilliant moments too. Great to see Sean Finn coming in, after his injury troubles last year."
There were positives for Galway yes but when limerick introduced the more physical type of hurlers like hegarty o donoghue and byrnes they took over. And that was with a man down. I think psychologically it's another blow for shefflin. Galway came with a very on the edge and over the edge approach and still didn't work.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1134 - 16/03/2024 18:52:58    2531477

Replying To munsterchamps:  "very good result considering we started the match minus 7 of the team that started last yrs all ireland and played most of the game with 14 men ....altho against a poor galway side .henry has a lot of work to do."
So the overwhelming favourites and "greatest team of all time" Limerick only managed a draw against a "poor Galway side" where "Henry has a lot of work to do". I wonder what would happen if it was a "good Galway side"? lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3381 - 16/03/2024 19:13:48    2531488

Replying To daveboy:  "There were positives for Galway yes but when limerick introduced the more physical type of hurlers like hegarty o donoghue and byrnes they took over. And that was with a man down. I think psychologically it's another blow for shefflin. Galway came with a very on the edge and over the edge approach and still didn't work."
Limerick going up a gear when bringing on top class players was expected in fairness, so I'd hardly call it a psychological blow. We still had plenty of the ball and opportunities even during Limerick's spell on top, but hit some poor wides from good positions. I'd say we had just as many shots from play, if not more, than Limerick in the second half.
Byrnes' excellent long-range frees were the real key in a game where scoring was difficult.
At the end, the game could have gone either way and the lads were battling right to the end. From my point of view the game told us a lot of what we already know. We lack ball winning forwards, especially when Whelan isn't playing and we're still very reliant on a lot of the older lads.
I don't think any of this will come as a shock to Shefflin.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2053 - 16/03/2024 19:25:53    2531490

Replying To tommy k:  "So the overwhelming favourites and "greatest team of all time" Limerick only managed a draw against a "poor Galway side" where "Henry has a lot of work to do". I wonder what would happen if it was a "good Galway side"? lol"
Thanks for the accolade pal.
But we're a humble lot in Limerick, we know we've a great team, but calling us the Greatest of all time is a bit much at the moment ..
Wait and see if we can do 5 in a row first.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1067 - 16/03/2024 19:40:32    2531496

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Limerick going up a gear when bringing on top class players was expected in fairness, so I'd hardly call it a psychological blow. We still had plenty of the ball and opportunities even during Limerick's spell on top, but hit some poor wides from good positions. I'd say we had just as many shots from play, if not more, than Limerick in the second half.
Byrnes' excellent long-range frees were the real key in a game where scoring was difficult.
At the end, the game could have gone either way and the lads were battling right to the end. From my point of view the game told us a lot of what we already know. We lack ball winning forwards, especially when Whelan isn't playing and we're still very reliant on a lot of the older lads.
I don't think any of this will come as a shock to Shefflin."
Fair points ya

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1134 - 16/03/2024 19:58:21    2531499

Replying To tommy k:  "So the overwhelming favourites and "greatest team of all time" Limerick only managed a draw against a "poor Galway side" where "Henry has a lot of work to do". I wonder what would happen if it was a "good Galway side"? lol"
tommy are yourself and kathy related by any chance.......?

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1101 - 16/03/2024 20:13:52    2531507

Replying To Doylerwex:  "That was a formidable Limerick performance.

Everything went against you and still managed to not lose"
Strange that you posted the below sentence on the Galway thread after the game Doyler! lol

Doylerwex: "I thought Galway were much better for the majority of the game."

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3381 - 16/03/2024 20:28:15    2531511

Replying To daveboy:  "There were positives for Galway yes but when limerick introduced the more physical type of hurlers like hegarty o donoghue and byrnes they took over. And that was with a man down. I think psychologically it's another blow for shefflin. Galway came with a very on the edge and over the edge approach and still didn't work."
Yo be honest, Galway clearly have a discipline problem. 3 off the last day and one definitely should have walked today.
Great heart by our lads to grind out a result

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 16/03/2024 21:18:54    2531534

Replying To tommy k:  "Strange that you posted the below sentence on the Galway thread after the game Doyler! lol

Doylerwex: "I thought Galway were much better for the majority of the game.""
I already replied to you over there but I'll do the same here.

Galway seemed to do everything right bar some poor shooting in the second half. They'd plenty of chances to win it but Limerick hung in there and in the end might have won themselves.

The Mark of a great team is to get a result when you didn't play well Which is what Limerick did.

The sum of the parts are important.

That was a big psychological victory for Limerick.

Lads will say it doesn't matter come the summer but it does.

Galway had a chance to beat them in their own patch when they had all the aces and the couldn't finish it.

That might be massively important in croke Park in an aisf for example.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2714 - 17/03/2024 10:45:00    2531614

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I already replied to you over there but I'll do the same here.

Galway seemed to do everything right bar some poor shooting in the second half. They'd plenty of chances to win it but Limerick hung in there and in the end might have won themselves.

The Mark of a great team is to get a result when you didn't play well Which is what Limerick did.

Galway had a chance to beat them in their own patch when they had all the aces and the couldn't finish it.

That might be massively important in croke Park in an aisf for example."
Good post and for what it's worth you're 100% correct

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1134 - 17/03/2024 13:16:33    2531649

from what i've seen in the league so far looks like clare are going to be our main threat again this year.......

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1101 - 17/03/2024 13:31:03    2531653

Replying To munsterchamps:  "from what i've seen in the league so far looks like clare are going to be our main threat again this year......."
Getting out of munster will be the main threat to limerick this year.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1134 - 17/03/2024 13:41:01    2531657

Getting out of Munster is huge..limerick travel to Ennis and cork,the first game is vital,a win sets us up but lose then under big pressure in other games..on yesterday,great result after playing most of game with 14..the battling shown in 2nd half was superb..byrnes and donohue looked up for it big time..thought Galway lucky to finish with 15,any of the two high challenges could have been red..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2231 - 17/03/2024 15:29:57    2531685

Replying To daveboy:  "Getting out of munster will be the main threat to limerick this year."
Ye are still ahead of the pack but the other two places will be a real dog fight. We have lost four games by a total of eight points and if and it's a big if the injuries come around will have a say. Waterford forwards are as good as any but scarce on defenders. Two only on the bench most of the time, during the league. I don't normally like dumping on referee but Johnnie was out to lunch yesterday. Some ridiculous frees with players sliding into to each other that helped T.J. win it for Kilkenny. Kevin Mahony's shirt was stretched off his back in the last minute and no penalty called. The two empires looked at each other in bewilderment at the no call but did not interject. A former star said it is obvious this ref does not understand the game and is obsessed with issuing cards.
Anyways we have the championship to look forward and when it is over hopefully Waterford will put someone in charge who has the best interest of Waterford hurling. It is late for this good bunch of players who have being ruined by recent managers.
Limerick will be my second choice and if it is ye then you can don the mantle of the greatest team ever and a notch up from being one of the greats.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2671 - 17/03/2024 18:46:29    2531731

I wonder will many travel to cork??it's hard getting in there at best of time,with a 4.30 start on a Saturday,could be very interesting..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2231 - 17/03/2024 19:25:24    2531746

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I wonder will many travel to cork??it's hard getting in there at best of time,with a 4.30 start on a Saturday,could be very interesting.."
Perfect time for a match..very child friendly. Great stadium. Great pitch. Two excellent teams. I'm going saturday with the kids. It was years we didn't get many at all. Youd hate to look back in time and say sure why we're we giving out. I know you're not saying that. I just don't get the giving out from some quarters. If you love the game of hurling it's worth every penny on the diesel and a good 20 minute walk never hurt anyone.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1134 - 17/03/2024 19:55:38    2531762

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Getting out of Munster is huge..limerick travel to Ennis and cork,the first game is vital,a win sets us up but lose then under big pressure in other games..on yesterday,great result after playing most of game with 14..the battling shown in 2nd half was superb..byrnes and donohue looked up for it big time..thought Galway lucky to finish with 15,any of the two high challenges could have been red.."
Getting out of Munster will be though alright but the biggest obstacle this year will be getting a fair deal from the refs, looking at the game yesterday Galway should have had at least 2 sending offs and on the other hand Limerick players are being penalised at every opportunity. If teams aren't playing on the edge against us we get teams diving against us winning handy frees and getting us yellow cards and reds.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 17/03/2024 20:02:07    2531766

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I already replied to you over there but I'll do the same here.

That might be massively important in croke Park in an aisf for example."
Don't worry about us Doyler but thanks for your concern (not). I don't think drawing against the overwhelming favourites and "greatest team of all time" will leave any emotional scars! Sorry to see poor Wexford lost their unbeaten run at home - hope it doesn't leave any emotional scars on ye! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3381 - 17/03/2024 20:24:58    2531778

Replying To updwell:  "Getting out of Munster will be though alright but the biggest obstacle this year will be getting a fair deal from the refs, looking at the game yesterday Galway should have had at least 2 sending offs and on the other hand Limerick players are being penalised at every opportunity. If teams aren't playing on the edge against us we get teams diving against us winning handy frees and getting us yellow cards and reds."
I agree updwell . I watched the match again today. The pull by Glennon was to try hurt Cian . Thats what started the scuffle and Shane had to go for what he did, but no yellow for Glennon was a poor call too. David Burke's challenge was very poor. Look at the way he had the hurley turned. It was very high. So effort to play the ball. Tuohey was a red all day too. Shoulder to head. The ref bottled both decisions.

Limerick2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 76 - 17/03/2024 20:26:51    2531780