Masters Over 50s Squad

First time i heard of an over 50s team squad on the Irish Compromise Rules team playing Australia next year ,fair play to them but id have thought fellows in their early 50s playing would be a recipe for something to go wrong although some rural clubs call on similar aged players to make up teams or be a sub at times. Cant help but think of the Father Ted over 80s team which was a very funny episode of the series .

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 683 - 19/12/2023 13:45:51    2517392

Replying To OpenStand:  "First time i heard of an over 50s team squad on the Irish Compromise Rules team playing Australia next year ,fair play to them but id have thought fellows in their early 50s playing would be a recipe for something to go wrong although some rural clubs call on similar aged players to make up teams or be a sub at times. Cant help but think of the Father Ted over 80s team which was a very funny episode of the series ."
I agree. It's a joke. Time for slippers and a pipe when you are over 50 not out in a field trying your best to get injured. At that stage in life the body won't do what the mind wants it to do

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1683 - 19/12/2023 16:47:31    2517411

There was a lad used hurl junior with Civil Service here up to mid 2000s. He must have been near 60. He played in goals but even so, they'd have to tie me to the post.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2652 - 19/12/2023 17:48:06    2517416

Replying To eoinog:  "I agree. It's a joke. Time for slippers and a pipe when you are over 50 not out in a field trying your best to get injured. At that stage in life the body won't do what the mind wants it to do"
Disagree entirely. You only get one shot at this life.
You're only as old as you feel.
These men obviously still love their football & feel fit enough to compete, so best of luck to them.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 19/12/2023 19:14:07    2517424

Replying To eoinog:  "I agree. It's a joke. Time for slippers and a pipe when you are over 50 not out in a field trying your best to get injured. At that stage in life the body won't do what the mind wants it to do"
You big woman's blouse you!

A 73-year-old woman has climbed Mount Everest!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1943 - 19/12/2023 20:58:37    2517432

It's not football though. It's a hybrid, compromise game of 2 totally different sports. If the players were in their 20ies I would use the same description.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1683 - 19/12/2023 23:29:54    2517436

Is this actually the first time for an over 50's?? Well good luck to it and why not. There's fellas out there at 50 and above who would run rings around some lads in their twenties.. I'm disappointed I didn't get that call but I'm still underage next year so here's hoping!!

Inatfullforward (Longford) - Posts: 93 - 20/12/2023 00:16:01    2517438

Replying To Inatfullforward:  "Is this actually the first time for an over 50's?? Well good luck to it and why not. There's fellas out there at 50 and above who would run rings around some lads in their twenties.. I'm disappointed I didn't get that call but I'm still underage next year so here's hoping!!"
You need to rephrase that statement. No point in been underage, you gotta be overage ))

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1683 - 20/12/2023 08:27:48    2517444

Some people want to have a bit of sport and social fun.
Best of luck to them and don't worry mind the anti enjoyment grouches!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1462 - 20/12/2023 09:08:47    2517449

Jaysus lads a load of soft townies in here!!

My auld lad played junior hurling up until he was 57 and the club lads were slagging him for retiring too young!!

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 745 - 20/12/2023 09:29:53    2517451

It will be interesting to watch. That hybrid game has a lot of high fielding and heavy tackles in it. I've no doubt that there will be many fit fifty plus yr olds to give it a go. The injury count could be a mite high though.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1018 - 20/12/2023 10:05:42    2517458

Replying To eoinog:  "It's not football though. It's a hybrid, compromise game of 2 totally different sports. If the players were in their 20ies I would use the same description."
What odds what the sport is....let them at it.

Recently watched Nyad on Netflix. What a warrior. A bit of a dose like but you'd have to admire her sheer bloody-mindedness to achieve her dream, swimming non-stop from Cuba to Florida and her well into her 60s.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 20/12/2023 10:19:47    2517461

We are not talking about junior here or individual sports. We are talking about 50 year old plus playing for Ireland. The masters football in GAA is over 40 and they can only be played on community pitches and they are not insured with the GAA either. So add on another 10 years . Have you noticed that you rarely see Married V Singles and novelty games played on St.Stephens Day anymore. Simple reason, the GAA won't insure them.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1683 - 20/12/2023 10:32:41    2517463

Replying To eoinog:  "We are not talking about junior here or individual sports. We are talking about 50 year old plus playing for Ireland. The masters football in GAA is over 40 and they can only be played on community pitches and they are not insured with the GAA either. So add on another 10 years . Have you noticed that you rarely see Married V Singles and novelty games played on St.Stephens Day anymore. Simple reason, the GAA won't insure them."
That's true I suppose. I guess each participant is expected to sign some kind of waiver are they? I assume that's what they do with the Masters anyway.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 20/12/2023 11:15:35    2517466

it's a bit of craic and that's what sport is meant to be

as long as they dont start gym programs and taking it too seriously!!

A drop of brandy before throw in to warm them up is all they need:-)

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1844 - 20/12/2023 12:44:29    2517470

Id have thought the chance of a heart attack would be the main issue, fine a crossbar challenge or penalty competition or come on as a sub for the last 5 minutes of a Junior B match but an International Compromise rules match againat Australia??..that Aussie small fellow with the long curly hair probably grey now who was alway causing trouble twenty years ago be jumping on your back etc even if hes about 60 at this stage LOL

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 683 - 20/12/2023 15:09:38    2517485

Replying To OpenStand:  "Id have thought the chance of a heart attack would be the main issue, fine a crossbar challenge or penalty competition or come on as a sub for the last 5 minutes of a Junior B match but an International Compromise rules match againat Australia??..that Aussie small fellow with the long curly hair probably grey now who was alway causing trouble twenty years ago be jumping on your back etc even if hes about 60 at this stage LOL"
I was at one of those games in Croker. It may have been the last series played in Ireland. 4 or 5 of ours were on the deck as soon as the ball was thrown in - and some of those on the deck weren't easily floored. One just in front of us on Hill 16 was a tidy footballer from Meath who wouldn't back off from anything. Let's hope that particular type of mindset isn't part of their game.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1018 - 20/12/2023 15:32:27    2517486

Id imagine the risk of a heart attack or serious injury is quite high at over 50. 40s might not be too bad. Are the GAA sanctioning this competition or is an independent body? Although the intention might be stay fit and the social aspect with 30 over 50s on a pitch it bound to lead to problems. On the social side there are plenty of ways for former players to stay involved through club administration or coaching with clubs crying out for volunteers. I know there a lots of marathon runners over 50 but that is running at a lower intensity pace that sprinting for a ball in Gaelic Football.

journeyman (Limerick) - Posts: 117 - 20/12/2023 15:42:43    2517488

Is the Australian team going to be made of up ex professionals?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1927 - 20/12/2023 15:43:33    2517489

Comical that they are starting over 50,s and done away with the original International rules and u17. The split season wouldn't have helped obviously.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 20/12/2023 16:19:52    2517491