Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Id Imagine the lads have a training camp over this long weekend ? Does anyone know if there is any challenge games lined up over the coming weeks?

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 25/03/2024 16:58:01    2533664

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Tipp and Limerick were beaten by better teams and will regroup after disappointing performances like you said but a disappointing performance from Wexford merits 1 of your predictable rants about culture, mindset and how your still ****** about paying 18E for a league game 13 months ago."
Its one thing to be beaten by a better team but still be hanging in there with 15 minutes to go, its another for the game to be over after as a contest after 15 minutes and the worry is by how much the gap will be by the end.
But fine if you found that match or the 20 you ponied up 2 weeks ago value for money.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1242 - 25/03/2024 16:58:31    2533665

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "I was told anecdotally but open to correction but the old adage of you'll get into a school because your mother or father attended it doesn't apply as much these days."
Not at all. Only siblings guarantee you will get into a school. But if you had a lad who applied to a few different schools, and say Peters, CBS, and Bridgetown accepted him, he could choose which he went to. Or wait for a place to open up at his preferred school in the subsequent rounds if he didn't get accepted first time. Afinestick was right to an extent as in that this stage of the draw lads from local national schools, the secondary schools primary catchment area, get 1st preference, then lads from further away. So if you were a good hurler from an area closer to other schools, you might not get offered a place at Peters in the 1st round of offers. It's pretty complicated. I had to go through it with my eldest year before last. Next one up is next year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 25/03/2024 17:27:39    2533677

Replying To OpenStandWall:  "Just going off of posts put in here regarding all Ireland favourites/ power rankings. Out of Limerick, Clare, Cork, Kilkenny, Galway, Tipp, Dublin and Waterford, on any given day in the championship with a full strength team - who do yous think we could beat?"
I think any of those teams can beat any other on a given day if at full strength. But if we played Limerick 10 times we might only beat them once or twice. We haven't played Galway with a full strength team since the draw in 2019. Had Chin played the last 2, and Reck the last one as well, we would've been alot closer to them, probably would've beaten them in 2022, and maybe last year. We beat Kilkenny the last 2 Championship games. I'd probably go, for US to beat if we were at full strength, toughest 1st-
Limerick
Clare
Tipp
Galway
Kilkenny
Cork
Dublin
Waterford
That's not how I rank the counties btw, just how I rank them if we were playing them.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 25/03/2024 17:35:35    2533679

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "We have not, you are right. I was talking about Kilkenny's mindset is the only problem."
What is their mindset when they play us since 2017 then? Or ours when we play them?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 25/03/2024 17:36:44    2533681

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Its one thing to be beaten by a better team but still be hanging in there with 15 minutes to go, its another for the game to be over after as a contest after 15 minutes and the worry is by how much the gap will be by the end.
But fine if you found that match or the 20 you ponied up 2 weeks ago value for money."
Wasn't that pretty much how the 2 League semifinals went? Obvious who was going to win both long before the end. Did you watch them?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 25/03/2024 17:39:21    2533683

Anyone here if the panel has been trimmed down and if so who has been dropped?? U 20s out say what is the make up of team any lads still underage from last year

gannett83 (Wexford) - Posts: 292 - 25/03/2024 19:04:48    2533709

Just a few things on some of the points made recently in this thread....

Kieran's are close enough to being a Kilkenny Schools team, mightn't affect Kilkenny CBS as much but the schools in Castlecomer, Ballyhale, and Thomastown end up being weaker than what they should be, a case of robbing Peter to pay Paul

I've seen it speculated on here that Peter's are going to drop down a grade but is this actually true? And is this just for Senior or is it also for Junior and Juvenile as well? If it is true, Wexford CBS being stronger would explain part of it but when you consider the clubs Good Counsel lads usually play for in both Wexford and Kilkenny, Peter's should still have a stronger pick than GC

Finally, I don't really think the Cork game will have any bearing on the Championship, a bad game here or there is not the end of the world. Cork could have beaten us by more given the goal chances they created but you can't really compare it to the Clare game from last year because the Clare defeat was the worst loss amongst a series of poor performances whereas the Cork loss this year was our only loss so far this year in what has been a season of relatively decent performances

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 25/03/2024 19:25:54    2533713

Is the under 20 the same format as last year lads?

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1013 - 25/03/2024 20:49:59    2533738

Replying To hunting:  "Is the under 20 the same format as last year lads?"
Group of 3, play Kilkenny away on Saturday and Laois at home April 13th, winner of the group straight into SF, 2nd place into QF, 3rd in a preliminary QF.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 25/03/2024 21:06:22    2533745

Replying To Viking66:  "What is their mindset when they play us since 2017 then? Or ours when we play them?"
Its no secret we rise our game for kilkenny but we seem happy enough to do this and after that performances go up and down.They have won 4 or 5 leinsters in a row and compete at all ireland stage very regularly. We are happy enough to hang our hat on getting something against them in a round robin or walsh cup match.I could say fairly confidently we will go to nowlan park and give them plenty of it and come away with something. I couldnt even say that about the other matches. Kk will blow Carlow and antrim away while id take a point win in the two matches now.
Im not pointing this at you but theres a huge obsession with kk here.This feeds into the "once we beat kk". I admire the way they go about their business and their honesty but this is a wexford page. there'll be enough talking done about them before we travel to nowlan park.
We would give anything for half their success and to be fair to them they just get on with their business.
A big match for the u20 next sat. Kieran joyce is involved with wexford. Kk were poor enough last year. Wexford went after their slow half back line and made hay. That line underage again so id be suprised if that isnt targeted again

Slowandshortsighted (UK) - Posts: 39 - 25/03/2024 21:09:13    2533746

Yes fairly sure it is

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 123 - 25/03/2024 21:12:40    2533749

It's a bit different this year

There are six teams in Tier 1, divided into two groups of three

Group winner goes straight to the SFs

Group runner-up goes straight to the QFs

Group 3rd goes straight to the Preliminary QFs where they play the top two teams from Tier 2

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 25/03/2024 21:13:20    2533750

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Just a few things on some of the points made recently in this thread....

Kieran's are close enough to being a Kilkenny Schools team, mightn't affect Kilkenny CBS as much but the schools in Castlecomer, Ballyhale, and Thomastown end up being weaker than what they should be, a case of robbing Peter to pay Paul

I've seen it speculated on here that Peter's are going to drop down a grade but is this actually true? And is this just for Senior or is it also for Junior and Juvenile as well? If it is true, Wexford CBS being stronger would explain part of it but when you consider the clubs Good Counsel lads usually play for in both Wexford and Kilkenny, Peter's should still have a stronger pick than GC

Finally, I don't really think the Cork game will have any bearing on the Championship, a bad game here or there is not the end of the world. Cork could have beaten us by more given the goal chances they created but you can't really compare it to the Clare game from last year because the Clare defeat was the worst loss amongst a series of poor performances whereas the Cork loss this year was our only loss so far this year in what has been a season of relatively decent performances"
The Clare game last season was a world apart and it was stark evidence of a team that was in real real trouble last season. It was plain to see that what was happening behind the scenes was not good, not good at all.

The cork game this year for me was a bad day at the office, which will happen every team at some stage.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1391 - 25/03/2024 21:20:57    2533754

Replying To Slowandshortsighted:  "Its no secret we rise our game for kilkenny but we seem happy enough to do this and after that performances go up and down.They have won 4 or 5 leinsters in a row and compete at all ireland stage very regularly. We are happy enough to hang our hat on getting something against them in a round robin or walsh cup match.I could say fairly confidently we will go to nowlan park and give them plenty of it and come away with something. I couldnt even say that about the other matches. Kk will blow Carlow and antrim away while id take a point win in the two matches now.
Im not pointing this at you but theres a huge obsession with kk here.This feeds into the "once we beat kk". I admire the way they go about their business and their honesty but this is a wexford page. there'll be enough talking done about them before we travel to nowlan park.
We would give anything for half their success and to be fair to them they just get on with their business.
A big match for the u20 next sat. Kieran joyce is involved with wexford. Kk were poor enough last year. Wexford went after their slow half back line and made hay. That line underage again so id be suprised if that isnt targeted again"
Firstly I don't anyone who judges the success of a season on pre season competitions or league, ultimately championship performances are the be all and end all, are people really happy enough once we beat Kilkenny? I genuinely don't know 1 person who taught last year was fine just because we beat Kilkenny, but I know plenty who taught it was disaster as we threw away the Dublin game and followed it up with the shameful display vs Westmeath which left us potentially facing the Joe Mcdonagh. Personally I'm not even thinking of Kilkenny game at the moment, its all about Dublin round 1 and Antrim the week after.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 25/03/2024 22:09:36    2533771

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Its one thing to be beaten by a better team but still be hanging in there with 15 minutes to go, its another for the game to be over after as a contest after 15 minutes and the worry is by how much the gap will be by the end.
But fine if you found that match or the 20 you ponied up 2 weeks ago value for money."
Think everyone agrees ticket prices are fair too expensive and its definitely a contributory factor in poor attendances this year, got the €75 for 5 games package myself. We just don't need to hear at nauseum that were annoyed at paying €18 for the Clare game last year, there was few thousand other people at that game who I'd imagine felt the same.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 25/03/2024 23:25:13    2533774

Replying To OpenStandWall:  "Just going off of posts put in here regarding all Ireland favourites/ power rankings. Out of Limerick, Clare, Cork, Kilkenny, Galway, Tipp, Dublin and Waterford, on any given day in the championship with a full strength team - who do yous think we could beat?"
We wouldn't be fancied against most of them, but on our best day I'd say anyone except Limerick we've a chance.

Would be most worried about tipp or Galway.

Last time we played Cork in championship we beat them.

Should have beaten tipp in 19, same for Clare in 22, just didn't have the bench.

Should have beaten Galway in 22.

Record fairly even with Waterford but we don't play that much.

We generally raise it for Kilkenny.

Dublin very much our bogey team. We keep not beating them. 22 and 23 the worst examples.

Having said that, we could easily not beat any of them on a given day.

With where we are now, assuming lads are fit we've a better panel, I think better fitness levels, 100% better attitude, and a more progressive game plan.

Dublin at home we just have to perform for 70 minutes. If we do that we'll win.

Antrim away is a nightmare fixture, but again, if we reach our best levels we'll win.

Not discounting Carlow but we have to win if we've any ambition.

Galway at home is probably the hardest fixture but we can give ourselves a chance.

We always perform against Kilkenny. Nothing certain but a performance will give us a chance, and could depend on what's at stake.

At a minimum we have to finish third.

With a bit of luck we can reach a Leinster final and you never know what can happen, but that's not essential for this year.

Momentum is a funny thing. We weren't fantastic in 19 but we were very hard to beat. We drew with the 3 main rivals, performed very economically in the final and came painfully close to the final.

In 21 we were probably better, but less efficient which cost us dearly. The issue with all this was a weak bench. Rossi has already done great work on this.

I can't wait to see us bringing on mogie, Dee or Mac late on in a close game.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2961 - 26/03/2024 00:04:01    2533778

Replying To gannett83:  "Anyone here if the panel has been trimmed down and if so who has been dropped?? U 20s out say what is the make up of team any lads still underage from last year"
Good few. Some lads are injured still apparently. Whelan, Kehoe, O'Tuama, Farrell, Murphy, Rowley, Byrne, Purcell, Purcell, still there. Probably a couple other panel players I've forgot.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 26/03/2024 09:04:14    2533792

Replying To Slowandshortsighted:  "Its no secret we rise our game for kilkenny but we seem happy enough to do this and after that performances go up and down.They have won 4 or 5 leinsters in a row and compete at all ireland stage very regularly. We are happy enough to hang our hat on getting something against them in a round robin or walsh cup match.I could say fairly confidently we will go to nowlan park and give them plenty of it and come away with something. I couldnt even say that about the other matches. Kk will blow Carlow and antrim away while id take a point win in the two matches now.
A big match for the u20 next sat. Kieran joyce is involved with wexford. Kk were poor enough last year. Wexford went after their slow half back line and made hay. That line underage again so id be suprised if that isnt targeted again"
Our u20s haven't been going well. I'm travelling to Nowlan Park more in hope than expectation tbh. As regards lads thinking the season has been grand once we beat Kilkenny I'm not sure you are right there. For me anyway the fact we can beat Kilkenny, and have done pretty regularly, means we aren't as bad a team as some on this reckon. Or we wouldn't be beating them. As you say, the disappointing thing is we don't bring that intensity against Dublin and tier 2 counties especially. The last 2 games against Munster counties, well Clare, we were better than them for 3/4s of each game, the last 3/4s in 2021, and the 1st 3/4s in 2022. And I think they have been the 2nd best team in Ireland in that time. If we can perform well against them, and against Kilkenny, we can't be as bad as most of us seem to think we are. We just need to get more consistent. But being as we are inconsistent since the early 90s, as long as I've been going to games, that's a tough problem to solve.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 26/03/2024 09:10:44    2533794

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Think everyone agrees ticket prices are fair too expensive and its definitely a contributory factor in poor attendances this year, got the €75 for 5 games package myself. We just don't need to hear at nauseum that were annoyed at paying €18 for the Clare game last year, there was few thousand other people at that game who I'd imagine felt the same."
Im not a rich man, I don't have savings as such, or stocks, shares, second properties etc. If I make the mistake of bringing the kids in the shop with me 18 yos is gone in seconds. If I go the pub 18 yos is gone in an hour. 5 of us got a day out for that 18 yos. Kids were free. The lads got to get their pictures taken with Tony Kelly, not once but on 2 different occasions over half an hour, Aidan McCarthy talked to 2 of them for a couple of minutes also. As regards the game itself it provided good learnings and experience for a good few lads who have done well this years League. Yes it was a poor result, but I can't believe anyone would give out about the 18 euro I really can't.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 26/03/2024 10:59:24    2533821