Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "re team strength - Oh without a doubt TF, and Cork did have a very strong team out. I was just responding to the poster who was stating that Wexford had no interest in winning - why would ye want to lose? what do ye gain from that? was the point I was trying to make."
https://m.independent.ie/regionals/wexford/sport/gaa/keith-rossiter-says-wexford-hurlers-lacked-bite-in-heavy-defeat-to-cork/a1325052445.html

It will be a big worry if Ryan isn't back fully fit for the Championship. Seems a long time to have a calf issue.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 19/03/2024 12:59:32    2532119

Replying To Viking66:  "I don't think we wanted to lose. Maybe I phrased that wrong. I just think we could've done alot of things differently if we really wanted to win that game."
Sometimes the devil is in the detail of how exactly you say something all right!

Personally, I wouldn't say it was a case of not wanting to win. More a case of not going to be overly concerned if we didn't win. The selection and set-up clearly showed it wasn't going to be all guns blazing approach like you'd expect in a real "must win" match.

Having said, we hardly wanted to lose in that manner either.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2337 - 19/03/2024 14:14:14    2532149

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "So Wexford didn't want to win this one? Ah stop...No more waffle please. This is the type of blinkered nonsense that gives fans (only a small few) a false sense of security. Wexford were just blown away on the day, and had no response to Corks' aggressiveness and sharpness.
Of course it's great for Wexford that it's happened now, and gives them plenty to work on for championship, but to suggest they had no interested in winning, in front of their home fans, is pure and utter nonsense.."
You are right no one wants to go out and lose a home game in ftont of their own fans . Don't ever think we would nt want to beat anyone at any stage, its a habit we haven't had the pleasure of in long time.
In my humble opinion I think he rested a few with the hope that the others would step up as the other lads had done in previous games .
If you are tryimg to build a panel as well as re introduce some established players . It was the perfect situation . All be it backfired as Cork were far superior on the day no question. Think what most wexfird fans would say is where we ve seen improvement we are a long way from a finished article .
It's a work in progress and we hope that last Saturday was blip and we are going to be more competitive and pride will be restore in the Jersey and in wexford hurling .
We live in hope and will be optimistic for our future .
Cork a god bit father down the line . Say we both be happy if we meet later in championship as would mean both have progressed through the early stages. But would say ye be odds on favourites in that situation .

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 228 - 19/03/2024 14:21:12    2532150

Let's be honest,i hope for Wexfords sake we have a plan B and C!!! For all games to-date bar Offaly game for around 20 mins of the first half,Wexford have be LET run the ball 40 yards or more and give the nice pass into space for our small forward!!! Now for the first time this year cork pushed up on Wexford for 60 mins or more,cork played a different formation for 10 mins the just left Horgan inside on his own,in that period we got our short puckout but ran into trouble on the middle third got the odd few balls inside to no avail!!! But for me even tho we had a weak team out,when cork pushed up we looked like Joe McDonagh standard!!! Absolutely not able for the physicality no ball winners,terrible in the tackle!!!! Dublin Kilkenny and Galway have to have seen that Saturday!!! I hope we have a full hand to play from, because when the squeeze came on we looked at sea!!!! Hopefully they have a couple of set ups worked on going forward!!! To date happy to be promoted yes be great for this new generation,s and c going to be massive for them for next year's league,there will be huge learnings for them next year which will stand to them please god!!! We are a mile off it still!!!!

theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 229 - 19/03/2024 16:27:42    2532195

Replying To theboys:  "Let's be honest,i hope for Wexfords sake we have a plan B and C!!! For all games to-date bar Offaly game for around 20 mins of the first half,Wexford have be LET run the ball 40 yards or more and give the nice pass into space for our small forward!!! Now for the first time this year cork pushed up on Wexford for 60 mins or more,cork played a different formation for 10 mins the just left Horgan inside on his own,in that period we got our short puckout but ran into trouble on the middle third got the odd few balls inside to no avail!!! But for me even tho we had a weak team out,when cork pushed up we looked like Joe McDonagh standard!!! Absolutely not able for the physicality no ball winners,terrible in the tackle!!!! Dublin Kilkenny and Galway have to have seen that Saturday!!! I hope we have a full hand to play from, because when the squeeze came on we looked at sea!!!! Hopefully they have a couple of set ups worked on going forward!!! To date happy to be promoted yes be great for this new generation,s and c going to be massive for them for next year's league,there will be huge learnings for them next year which will stand to them please god!!! We are a mile off it still!!!!"
Our main big men weren't playing against Cork. Not that we have many. Joe isn't a ball winning half forward and he was probably the only one of our starting forwards who is over 6ft tall. Charlie Mcguckin would be about the best in the air that we had available. More importantly we were too slow to the breaking ball, and Cork won all the 50/50 rucks. Short puckouts need to be played faster.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 19/03/2024 17:07:05    2532206

Replying To Viking66:  "Ok. I'm only speculating based on team selection and set up. These were both quite different to the previous 11 games I've been at this year. So what's your opinion on these? Why do you think he didn't start lads like Niall Murphy, Corey Byrne Dunbar, Tucker Kinsella, Richie Lawlor, James Byrne etc who all played in most or all of the League games up to now and who did well so far this year? Chin and Jacko have minor niggles so there was no point starting them. But he could've started Dwyer, Mac and Mogie the 3 subs he brought on in the 2nd half if he really wanted to win the game. He even gave a starting debut to a 20 year old, who in fairness did ok! He played 3 inside for large chunks of the game which gave your halfback line the freedom of the Park to run through as well as time to play good ball inside, and no sitting midfielder. He went man on man most of the game for the 1st time this year, which he'd of known wouldn't be the best way to play against Cork with their running game. Obviously it would've been great to keep the "not losing" run going, but there wasn't a single Wexford supporter I know there that thought we would win that game after seeing the changes to the team. And that was before we even got to see what way we set up against you."
Agreed lad, I think Rossi made a big mistake tactically. That was the same kind of rubbish went on with last year with Egan. Even if it's an understrenght team you still try to set them up to be some bit competitive. Drop lads back and turn into a scrap. It was unfair to leave things as is and have Cork walk through us at will. Still 6 weeks to championship so I think he could have chanced a few more with minor niggles too. I think we were very fortunate the final score was not a lot worse.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 257 - 19/03/2024 21:17:09    2532250

Replying To Fulgrim:  "I have no idea why, it might just a perception issue on my part.

I always thought Conor Cleary and Geroid McInerney in particular were absolutely going out to wrestle instead of hurl.

It might be crazy but I'd love to see Mac used as an option at centre forward. We struggle on puck outs but a half forward line of Chin, Rory, and himself would be a good platform for long puck outs."
Mac played in the half forward line under Davy but his lack of mobility was an issue even then. I wouldnt write him off, he had a poor year for club and county last year but turned it on in the county final destroying Shane Reck. I think he developed some bad habits that weren't addressed when he was younger. Namely his lack of movement and his first touch, he does a fair amount of lazy fouling himself too. Casey isn't a speedster either but the ball sticks to him when he gets it and he's always on the move. Cian Byrne is the same, not as strong obviously but first touch is superb. Far too often for me Mac's first touch let's him down. Playing against usually an extra defender that ball simply has to go to hand if the forward gets to it first.
In saying all that Mac is still a huge threat in the air if he gets isolated one on one with a full back with quick diagonal ball. Couple of years back v Dublin and KK unfortunately he missed two huge goal chances from these situations but he won the ball brilliantly. He did very well on Daithi Burke that year too in Wexford park. I think Mac could do with watching a bit of how Gillane wins so much ball in the air, some times by being a bit cuter with defenders. With doubts over Rory's fitness maybe this is the year he could fulfil some of his potential.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 257 - 19/03/2024 21:53:44    2532255

Replying To Timbertony:  "Mac played in the half forward line under Davy but his lack of mobility was an issue even then. I wouldnt write him off, he had a poor year for club and county last year but turned it on in the county final destroying Shane Reck. I think he developed some bad habits that weren't addressed when he was younger. Namely his lack of movement and his first touch, he does a fair amount of lazy fouling himself too. Casey isn't a speedster either but the ball sticks to him when he gets it and he's always on the move. Cian Byrne is the same, not as strong obviously but first touch is superb. Far too often for me Mac's first touch let's him down. Playing against usually an extra defender that ball simply has to go to hand if the forward gets to it first.
In saying all that Mac is still a huge threat in the air if he gets isolated one on one with a full back with quick diagonal ball. Couple of years back v Dublin and KK unfortunately he missed two huge goal chances from these situations but he won the ball brilliantly. He did very well on Daithi Burke that year too in Wexford park. I think Mac could do with watching a bit of how Gillane wins so much ball in the air, some times by being a bit cuter with defenders. With doubts over Rory's fitness maybe this is the year he could fulfil some of his potential."
A lot of crap wrote here since the big defeat. We even had a lad saying we didnt want to win.We are absolutely starved of success and would take the hand of anyone for a league semi final. My god what rubbish. Ursula and tom Dempsey all over podcasts last week.
Like most years we draw with kk and follow that up with a draw with offally. The only point offally got all league.This is rossi biggest job to beat the weaker teams. Theres kk in a league semi final again and they are saying they are going very poorly.we are as good as them but they have consistency and we dont.
No team can be judged on one game but it was a huge eye opener and alot of nonsense wrote here about the lads missing. Wexford will absolutely need their leaders in the championship and when these lads go the lads that played Saturday will need to step up.id be shocked if liam ryan would let Connolly score 3-3 off him.If we want to finish in the top 3 we'll need everyone.Oillie baker and bubbles were laughing at what eoin ryan done pulling him down then saying it was outside the box. They said he should learn the rules on wollys podcast.
As i said the other day this is a reality check and now is the time to get it but thankfully waterford were useless this year and we didnt get relegated. The cork match wont be forgotten about if we beat dublin. No difference no one was talking about the walsh cup or progress walking out of wexford park.

Slowandshortsighted (UK) - Posts: 39 - 19/03/2024 23:17:25    2532268

Replying To Slowandshortsighted:  "A lot of crap wrote here since the big defeat. We even had a lad saying we didnt want to win.We are absolutely starved of success and would take the hand of anyone for a league semi final. My god what rubbish. Ursula and tom Dempsey all over podcasts last week.
Like most years we draw with kk and follow that up with a draw with offally. The only point offally got all league.This is rossi biggest job to beat the weaker teams. Theres kk in a league semi final again and they are saying they are going very poorly.we are as good as them but they have consistency and we dont.
No team can be judged on one game but it was a huge eye opener and alot of nonsense wrote here about the lads missing. Wexford will absolutely need their leaders in the championship and when these lads go the lads that played Saturday will need to step up.id be shocked if liam ryan would let Connolly score 3-3 off him.If we want to finish in the top 3 we'll need everyone.Oillie baker and bubbles were laughing at what eoin ryan done pulling him down then saying it was outside the box. They said he should learn the rules on wollys podcast.
As i said the other day this is a reality check and now is the time to get it but thankfully waterford were useless this year and we didnt get relegated. The cork match wont be forgotten about if we beat dublin. No difference no one was talking about the walsh cup or progress walking out of wexford park."
We absolutely didn't have any of our leaders starting except Damien and Matthew the last day. And Kevin who had an off day misshit 3 shots at the posts pretty badly. That's the whole point. Mogie, Mikie and Mac all made a difference even though they weren't match sharp when they came on. Chin, Ryan, Dee and Rory would've made a huge difference also. Cork had nearly all their big players playing. That made a huge difference.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/03/2024 07:28:07    2532278

Replying To Slowandshortsighted:  "A lot of crap wrote here since the big defeat. We even had a lad saying we didnt want to win.We are absolutely starved of success and would take the hand of anyone for a league semi final. My god what rubbish. Ursula and tom Dempsey all over podcasts last week.
As i said the other day this is a reality check and now is the time to get it but thankfully waterford were useless this year and we didnt get relegated. The cork match wont be forgotten about if we beat dublin. No difference no one was talking about the walsh cup or progress walking out of wexford park."
And if we beat Dublin of course the Cork result will be forgotten about. I don't see why anyone would think it wouldn't be. Bottom line is not only were most of our big name players not starting, some of the better players who likely won't be starting come championship who did well in the League and Walsh Cup up to that point weren't starting either. Murphy, CBD, Richie, Tucker, Molloy etc didn't start. If the game last week had of been the Dublin game I'd say alot of the missing men nursing minor niggles would've started. The point I was making is noone in their right mind would've risked them in a meaningless game against Cork when the primary objective for the League had already been achieved.
And we didn't get any more in injuries like we did in the corresponding fixture last year in PUC. That time in a meaningless League game coming up to the end of the League around 5 or 6 of our best players picked up injuries. Not picking up injuries was way more important than winning last Saturday.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/03/2024 07:55:59    2532280

Probably taking negativity to the extreme there.

I certainly don't think we went out to lose, and I was very disappointed with the manner of defeat to be honest.

On the other hand, we've key players to come back, and to be fair we could have beaten Kilkenny, Offaly and Clare, albeit they each had chances too.

Ultimately our objectives are achieved. We stayed up, I knew we would.

We found a few players which is great for the panel, and the next two years.

We're fitter, and have more guts and method than last year.

A lot done, quite a bit more to do.

This league has been a success, now let's move on.

Bring our a game for the end of April and get the monkey off our back with Dublin who by some miracle keep getting results against us.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2961 - 20/03/2024 08:34:05    2532284

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Probably taking negativity to the extreme there.

I certainly don't think we went out to lose, and I was very disappointed with the manner of defeat to be honest.

On the other hand, we've key players to come back, and to be fair we could have beaten Kilkenny, Offaly and Clare, albeit they each had chances too.

Ultimately our objectives are achieved. We stayed up, I knew we would.

We found a few players which is great for the panel, and the next two years.

We're fitter, and have more guts and method than last year.

A lot done, quite a bit more to do.

This league has been a success, now let's move on.

Bring our a game for the end of April and get the monkey off our back with Dublin who by some miracle keep getting results against us."
Agreed we got out of the league what we wanted. Need to get our big players back over the next 2 weeks and get games into them before Dublin game which will define our season. Any challenge games planned over coming weeks? I see Keith said they have a few training weekends planned but arent going abroad like some counties

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 20/03/2024 09:50:59    2532291

If we played cirk the week before and had same result and then warerford last week and won . We'd be in same position in league table and qualified for div 1 next year .
Would it be doom and gloom or whooping and hollering ?
We in Wexford are surely the best protagonists of you are only as good as your last game . .
Maybe it's because of lack of success and belief .
Stay positive we are improving hiw much is only a guess time will tell.

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 228 - 20/03/2024 10:12:07    2532294

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Agreed we got out of the league what we wanted. Need to get our big players back over the next 2 weeks and get games into them before Dublin game which will define our season. Any challenge games planned over coming weeks? I see Keith said they have a few training weekends planned but arent going abroad like some counties"
To be honest I'd usually get a lot from the lads I know who are involved but they're all pretty tight lipped at the minute which is probably a good thing.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2961 - 20/03/2024 10:32:03    2532298

The problem I see it, as a de-facto Wexford supporter, is you can't give anyone a free pass after a performance like that. People paid €20 in to see that. I was raging after spending €18 last year v Clare.

It probably tempers expectation with supporters and so on but the damage from the Clare hammering in the league last year I never thought Wexford recovered from.

Its all well and good saying we didn't have A, B and C but that just casts doubt over the subs especially if you might not have some of them in the championship.

Breaking it down, Wexford drew with Clare and Kilkenny and both of those were better results than the Waterford result because Waterford are rubbish so far this year. Call a spade a spade. Offaly was a poor result and Cork desperate one.
People always say "Why don't people rate Wexford". Results like Saturday are why. Its all well and good and yes the league has been a success but what does a capitulation like Saturday say for where the team are at? By all accounts, it could have been another 10 points. When did you see any of the Munster counties or Kilkenny/Galway get a pasting like that? Its the league even, teams are at half pelt.

Come back with "We're in 1A next year, Dublin are not" if you want and yes Wexford will be favourites to beat Dublin but all the talk was about winning Leinster a week ago. You can't just keep giving a free pass if you want to be the top.

No matter how or when Wexford lose, at any level from Tony Forristal up, this board is awash with excuses. This happened, that happened, if only......

To be the best, you have to think and have the attitude of them. I come across a lot of people from hurling counties in the course of my work and none would give their county any form of free pass for a result like Sunday. You run out of road with excuses eventually.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1242 - 20/03/2024 15:04:25    2532343

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "The problem I see it, as a de-facto Wexford supporter, is you can't give anyone a free pass after a performance like that. People paid €20 in to see that. I was raging after spending €18 last year v Clare.

It probably tempers expectation with supporters and so on but the damage from the Clare hammering in the league last year I never thought Wexford recovered from.

Its all well and good saying we didn't have A, B and C but that just casts doubt over the subs especially if you might not have some of them in the championship.

Breaking it down, Wexford drew with Clare and Kilkenny and both of those were better results than the Waterford result because Waterford are rubbish so far this year. Call a spade a spade. Offaly was a poor result and Cork desperate one.
People always say "Why don't people rate Wexford". Results like Saturday are why. Its all well and good and yes the league has been a success but what does a capitulation like Saturday say for where the team are at? By all accounts, it could have been another 10 points. When did you see any of the Munster counties or Kilkenny/Galway get a pasting like that? Its the league even, teams are at half pelt.

Come back with "We're in 1A next year, Dublin are not" if you want and yes Wexford will be favourites to beat Dublin but all the talk was about winning Leinster a week ago. You can't just keep giving a free pass if you want to be the top.

No matter how or when Wexford lose, at any level from Tony Forristal up, this board is awash with excuses. This happened, that happened, if only......

To be the best, you have to think and have the attitude of them. I come across a lot of people from hurling counties in the course of my work and none would give their county any form of free pass for a result like Sunday. You run out of road with excuses eventually."
I'd 100% agree with your synopsis. I don't believe the 'we weren't trying' or 'we are building a panel' .. My opinion would be that the 15-18 lads that hurled last Saturday knew it was their last chance to impress and to be honest quite a few lads probably wrote themselves out of contention.

I also don't understand what type of a game plan we were trying to play. We had 2 man full forward line and both were camped inside the square with an acre of space to their left and to their right but neither made any run into space to give a midfielder / half back the chance to deliver a ball .. This looked very intentional and that they would only make a run when the ball reached a particular area of the field .. There were times when the Cork half back line were well up the field .. We had possession but never tried once to deliver the ball .. Very Gaelic Football like

Our striking was also woeful - yes it was a bad day but it was the same for both teams. We missed at least 6-8 scorable points.

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 136 - 20/03/2024 15:57:01    2532353

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "The problem I see it, as a de-facto Wexford supporter, is you can't give anyone a free pass after a performance like that. People paid €20 in to see that. I was raging after spending €18 last year v Clare.

To be the best, you have to think and have the attitude of them. I come across a lot of people from hurling counties in the course of my work and none would give their county any form of free pass for a result like Sunday. You run out of road with excuses eventually."
I was working on Saturday so couldnt make the game. Was it as bad as the Clare game last year? I think Saturday we had already achieved our goal of staying in 1A. I will reserve judgement now until championship

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 20/03/2024 16:13:53    2532357

We weren't missing A,B and C. We were missing A, B, C, D, E, F, G. Only 4 lads who started our last Championship game started against Cork. And as for reserves only 8 of the lads who started against Kilkenny in the League, a team with only 2 starters from our last Championship game, started against Cork. These aren't excuses. They are facts. Check them for yourself.
As regards Cork we beat them 2 years ago with more like our A team, and should've beaten them last year also, when we were unlucky with injuries, which then badly impacted our Leinster performances. If we make it out of Leinster and play them again with our A team in the All Ireland series, I'd have absolutely no fear of them, although I do admit they will likely be favourites to win.
As regards what way pundits look at us you are talking nonsense. Same as them. Other counties have lost by 10 or so points. It happened to Kilkenny just last year. And Clare the year before. And that was in Championship games. Outside of the Covid year in 2020 Wexford have only lost one championship game in 70 minute by 7 points in the last 7 years as far as I can remember. And not by more than that even once.
Which brings me to my last point. Noone I know thinks we will definitely win Leinster. Or definitely will reach the final. Or even will definitely beat Dublin. I don't either. But that was the same before the Cork game.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/03/2024 16:17:47    2532358

I would be the first to say not happy with our situation and results.However to use the term "useless" is pretty disrespectful and not true anyway. Lets just deal with some facts. Waterford lost four gave with total of 9 points and a one score difference in all four games. Losing four out of five but ending up plus 3 points. Playing most of the time with half the first team selection. Went head to head with the All-Ireland finalist last week who were close to their best selection with 10 of last years finalist playing. In fact refereeing decided this game or at least a draw. If that adds up to being useless I guess Waterford are useless.
Good luck to Wexford and I believe they will get it right with Keith. Impressed with him in Walsh Park. No jumping up and down on the side line like a mad man but making good decisions on the run. Jammie Barron was beating Wexford on his own but Keith corrected that. That is what makes the difference being able to make decisions in the heat of battle.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2800 - 20/03/2024 16:22:22    2532359

We weren't missing A,B and C. We were missing A, B, C, D, E, F, G. Only 4 lads who started our last Championship game started against Cork. And as for reserves only 8 of the lads who started against Kilkenny in the League, a team with only 2 starters from our last Championship game, started against Cork. These aren't excuses. They are facts. Check them for yourself.
As regards Cork we beat them 2 years ago with more like our A team, and should've beaten them last year also, when we were unlucky with injuries, which then badly impacted our Leinster performances. If we make it out of Leinster and play them again with our A team in the All Ireland series, I'd have absolutely no fear of them, although I do admit they will likely be favourites to win.
As regards what way pundits look at us you are talking nonsense. Same as them. Other counties have lost by 10 or so points. It happened to Kilkenny just last year. And Clare the year before. And that was in Championship games. Outside of the Covid year in 2020 Wexford have only lost one championship game in 70 minute by 7 points in the last 7 years as far as I can remember. And not by more than that even once.
Which brings me to my last point. Noone I know thinks we will definitely win Leinster. Or definitely will reach the final. Or even will definitely beat Dublin. I don't either. But that was the same before the Cork game.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13070 - 20/03/2024 16:36:32    2532365