From what I've heard, Fanning has no intention of going anywhere, and is doing all he can to hold on to the goalkeeper spot.
Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2619 - 18/11/2024 11:21:18 2580121 Link 0 |
He's already been assured it's his.
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3142 - 18/11/2024 11:43:06 2580129 Link 0 |
You've maybe heard the same thing I have. I just don't want to go into details here!
Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2619 - 18/11/2024 12:34:18 2580137 Link 0 |
Assured is too strong of a word. But it is his currently, and he's been told as much. He didn't really make too many errors last year Personally I'd prefer a keeper who was more accurate with short to medium term puckouts, which I think are going to be vital to our chances going forwards. When they conducted their end of year review I'm sure theydve noticed that a common thread which ran through our defeats was over reliance on the long ball in phases of those games, long phases too, which made us predictable and easy to play against. Antrim, Kilkenny and to a lesser extent Clare put pressure on our short to medium length puckouts and won a few turnovers, which then led to our lads, including Mark, to revert to the default setting of look for the Red and Green helmets. Which was then very easy for those counties to defend against. We need to be able to vary our points of attack, using the long ball in still, but mix it up with shorter lower diagonal ball and even running through the lines, and be less predictable in order to score more. We need a keeper who doesn't just hit long puckouts, but who can also ping accurate fast passes to players who can then play better lower quicker ball inside for the forwards to run out onto. Forwards ball instead of backs ball. And I still don't think Mark is that man. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13853 - 18/11/2024 13:37:14 2580145 Link 0 |
Redmond have a case of getting his red card rescinded for Rathnure? Probably unlikley given the ref was fairly adament but looked a yellow from my point of view. Rathnure against Lisdowney or Borris would be a tasty Leinster final Redzer99 (Waterford) - Posts: 84 - 18/11/2024 17:09:55 2580187 Link 0 |
I'm not sure either about Fanning's ability to keep his cool under pressure with puckouts. But I'll say a couple of things in his defence. To play short and maybe risky puckouts you have to have defenders very comfortable with their first touch and ability to break a tackle. Especially in Liam Ryan's absence, we didn't have too many short options for Fanning that you could depend on. One of the coaching staff came down to Fanning v Clare after half time to tell him to stop pucking the ball long but as he said back to him, puck it short to who. Nobody wanted the ball short. Another reason to move Damien Reck out of 6 to the corner or wing to get free quickly for a pass. Secondly, even Limerick/Quaid have to go long sometimes when all routes are blocked up. We only have Chin as a puckout option, and I don't think he won a single puckout in our two biggest games v KK and Clare. Maybe Tucker Kinsella can develop here as another option given his size but we are simply going nowhere until that's addressed. Forwards have to be able to win their own ball. Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 301 - 18/11/2024 19:15:28 2580204 Link 0 |
Most of our forwards would be more likely to win lower quicker ball played out into the spaces. No point playing long high ball in on top of them. Tucker isn't a high ball winning forward either. And neither is Mac at intercounty level. Grand playing the odd long ball in, but when we haven't the forwards to win most of it we have to come up with something different as well. We did this year in the League, but then went away from it when the championship came around. Davys running game wasn't sustainable for 70 or 90 minutes, but we shouldn't have abandoned it altogether either. And on the occasions we do go long we need to get more lads around the breaking ball, preferably 4, 1 on each station, but minimum 2, which we didn't in the big games this year. The best teams, Clare, Limerick and Cork, mix in all 3 main types of attacking play, shorter faster stick passing forwards beginning with an accurate short/medium puckout, running/handpassing the ball into scoring positions after a similar puckout, and long puckouts. If we get turned over the odd time with the first 2 types and concede scores we shouldn't just give up on them, every other team gets turned over occasionally too. But you have to concede some of these scores if you want to score enough to win big games against the better teams. For all this we need high energy, high intensity, quick, heads up, hardworking players around the middle 3rd, which we have to a certain extent already. Rory, Dee, Mogie if he comes back, Damien, Conor Hearne all have those characteristics. Conor Mahoney, Tucker and Corey Byrne Dunbar have the potential, I think James Byrne also, wingback is a problem that way at the minute. Lads like Darragh Carley, Charlie and Dooley need to speed up mentally and get the head up, while lads like Cathal Dunbar need to work harder all the time they are on the pitch and not just in patches. Hopefully Patsy will be fully fit this year. It's not looking good as far as Ian Carty and Paudie Foley coming back. Matt, Chin and Jacko have the hurling to play all 3 ways to go with their size if they are up for the game as regards covering ground, Oisin Foley and Mikey Dwyer also if fully fit. Tbh Mark Byrne looked pretty good out around the middle for Crossabeg this year as well. Next year is a massive opportunity for us if we get things right and get a bit of luck as regards injuries. Kilkenny will be changing up their panel significantly, as likely will Galway. Dublin have lost their best player and manager, though they have seriously talented young lads coming through. Antrim will be better again but we have them in the Park, while Offaly are probably a year or 2 away still. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13853 - 18/11/2024 21:31:18 2580218 Link 1 |
A fit oisin Foley is a part of that solution. We should probably make a forward out of conal Clancy as well
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3142 - 18/11/2024 22:32:49 2580229 Link 0 |
Clancy is a great prospect, his workrate was pretty good any time I saw the Harriers this year.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13853 - 19/11/2024 09:31:17 2580255 Link 0 |
Quaid and Limerick have the best puckout game plan in the country but prior to Kiely/Kinnerk coming in Nicky would have received a lot of criticism for his puckouts being a long slow loopy puck which meant 4 or 5 players were under the landing ball and easy to defend. With Kinnerk's coaching he sped up Nicky's strike and he now drives the ball into space for someone running onto it or he takes a quick puckout to a 1 v 1 contest and our half forwards will win most 1 v 1 aerial balls. If a team falls back to crowd the half back line we have Barry Nash for a short puckout to work up the field or Byrnes can drop back to put a ball straight into the full forward line. My point is good coaching will improve the puckouts and you have 4 or 5 options which will make the keeper look a lot better also.
updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 847 - 19/11/2024 10:27:10 2580266 Link 0 |
https://www.balls.ie/gaa/gaa-team-of-the-weekend-3-616166 Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13853 - 19/11/2024 11:18:22 2580280 Link 0 |
I heard he's done his cruciate is that correct?
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3142 - 19/11/2024 12:04:51 2580289 Link 0 |
Yeah huge loss, Gillane's brother is probably the next man up. Nicky is the 1 player that always starts even if we need a win in a league match but they just have to move on now. We have lost players every year so it's not that they don't know what to do.
updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 847 - 19/11/2024 15:56:42 2580328 Link 0 |
Oisin Foley is a good player, definitely worth his place on panel and maybe starting team. But the previous year under Egan he was part of a half forward line wiped out in pretty much every championship game. He did well v Antrim but anonymous v Dublin and Galway. Far from the only one who struggled those days but he's not going to come in next year and hugely improve our ability to win hard ball. Lacks a bit of pace too. Clancy has lots of ability but needs to make his mark during the NHL.
Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 301 - 19/11/2024 20:37:29 2580367 Link 0 |
Nash was a forward underage wasn't he? We shouldn't be against putting a similar player into the full back line given how important short puckouts will be. Days like in KK last year, our half forward line collapsed in a key part of the game. Fanning tried to go short but it was obvious a number of our defenders were not comfortable with taking short passes under pressure. Liam Ryan and Damien Reck are but not sure on the rest. The same day we brought on Kevin Foley and a few more to start running the ball instead of lumping it, nearly got a draw out of it in the end with a change of tactics Onto Clare game and we wasted first 20 mins lumping it long into Chin and Mac again with no return! Strange tactics as others have said. Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 301 - 19/11/2024 20:46:47 2580368 Link 0 |
Agreed, tactically we were confused last year. League with likes of Casey up front we simply had to play shorter ball and we looked better for it. Championship, Chin was flying in early games but we became very predictable later on in the games that mattered by going direct too often. Chin himself hardly won a ball in last two games. Agreed on lack of ball players in half back line, look at McInerney for Clare, when he gets ball into his hand he isn't just lumping it, measured passes into space usually. Conor Foley sure can be developed, Molloy maybe, huge problem at 6 with no easy fix (wouldn't be against moving Chin back there like Conlan did without complaint). To be honest I thought we blew a great chance this year to make a Leinster final with Galway so poor in a very average Leinster championship. Despite the Antrim debacle, we were in a great position v KK and I thought we collapsed in key positions when the game was there for us. Same v Clare early on, they ran through us at will. Time to be bold I think and let some of the more experienced lads move on.. Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 301 - 19/11/2024 21:05:14 2580370 Link 0 |
I thought Conall Clancy would be a regular with Wexford seniors at this stage, mind you I didn't get to see him hurl much this year with the Harriers but he is a fantastic stick man and hurler. Kyle Scallan & Josh Shiel were always two other good stickmen in the club too. Past hurler (None) - Posts: 803 - 19/11/2024 22:17:51 2580379 Link 0 |
We were poor overall in both those games, but he had a great league and two excellent performances against Kilkenny in 22 and 23. 22 was a pure forwards goal, won the puckout cleanly, turn sprint bang green flag. 23 was an excellent bit of skill and a pass to cut them open. My point is he's a better option than what we currently have in taking the pressure off Chin when we go long. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3142 - 19/11/2024 23:43:36 2580386 Link 0 |
Shorter puckouts need alot of work. Noone is going to be free and unmarked at intercounty level. The keeper has to know where the player is supposed to be running to before he starts running. Paul Kinnerk at Limerick did the straight line of players up the middle before puckouts were taken for that reason. You have to make areas of space, not just one, then the keeper has to give a sign which one he's going to hit it into. Takes bravery too. There's always the risk of being turned over and conceding an immediate score. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13853 - 20/11/2024 06:49:20 2580389 Link 0 |
Kyle always struck me as being a better footballer. Shiel would be more of a stickman but wouldn't have Scallans strength. Both would need to improve on the heads up aspect, and taking the right options, and taking them faster. Not sure either are good enough for intercounty hurling on a side with ambitions of winning an AI tbh.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13853 - 20/11/2024 09:34:07 2580402 Link 0 |