Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To theboys:  "Lee chin has never hurled centre back for his club wouldn't work,at least Hannon and Conlon hurled centre back for their clubs!!! I'd be confident that what we have available for centre back would be alot better!!!!"
Think so too. Think we need Lee at 11 or wing forward myself.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 25/07/2024 22:24:52    2561614

Replying To Timbertony:  "Conlan had the humility to go back into a completely new position late in his career. Not saying Chin wouldn't do it if asked but I always thought him playing in the full forward line was a bit more for his benefit than the team. To be fair I thought he worked like a trooper that day v Galway forcing turnovers etc but we got very little out of him v KK and Clare.

With other options, It might be a stretch to think P Foley can come back from Aus and be our starting 6. Not exactly sure what happened Molloy this year but from watching him at underage and club level, thought he was a cert to make step up to senior level. Damien Reck isnt a 6 anyway."
Hope Patsy is fully fit next year. Was our best minor in 2019.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 25/07/2024 22:25:34    2561615

Replying To theboys:  "Lee chin has never hurled centre back for his club wouldn't work,at least Hannon and Conlon hurled centre back for their clubs!!! I'd be confident that what we have available for centre back would be alot better!!!!"
Chinner played centre back for the harriers for at least three seasons. Liam Dunne played him at 6 for Wexford at the beginning too.

I don't think he should play there, but if we wanted to he's loads of experience.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3029 - 25/07/2024 23:35:22    2561629

Replying To Timbertony:  "Conlan had the humility to go back into a completely new position late in his career. Not saying Chin wouldn't do it if asked but I always thought him playing in the full forward line was a bit more for his benefit than the team. To be fair I thought he worked like a trooper that day v Galway forcing turnovers etc but we got very little out of him v KK and Clare.

With other options, It might be a stretch to think P Foley can come back from Aus and be our starting 6. Not exactly sure what happened Molloy this year but from watching him at underage and club level, thought he was a cert to make step up to senior level. Damien Reck isnt a 6 anyway."
Damien Reck is the best hurler we have bit 100% centre back is not his best position. Assuming paudie comes back he's most suited there naturally I think.

Agreed about Molloy too. Seriously skilful, physically strong, athletic and very confidential. I can't believe he didn't nail it down this year but had a good few injuries in fairness. If he stays fit in pre season next year he's 100% in our best 15

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3029 - 25/07/2024 23:38:52    2561631

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I think it is overly negative as well DoyleWex.

Wexford just need to get the knack of seeing out matches, not conceding 2 goals like they did v us. And just beating the likes of Antrim because they are better hurlers.

And as someone said above, start standing up for yourselves. Nobody has your back in competitive sport. Demand answers as to why their request months in advance of the quarter final fell on deaf ears. Demand answers to the questionable refereeing decisions. Demand answers as to why the linesman didn't tell Johnny Murphy the players were encroaching at the start of the Clare game. Demand answers about the u20 farce. Figure out the schools hurling situation
and find out HOW a combined colleges SHOULD be structured to work. Find out how Offaly made it work.

Because if you tolerate this, then your children will be next as the song goes.

But I am adamant the whole of Leinster is trailing Munster so everybody in the whole province and Galway need to up our game. Only Kilkenny can hold their head high and even they would view the year as a disappointment with their 2nd half display v Clare. If Wexford got that far and lost it would be "great year, won Leinster, fell short in semi" but Kilkenny bar is on one thing. "Did we bring home Liam McCarthy"? And anything else is a failure."
Is Leinster now structurally disadvantaged? Munster are all top teams, they won't even consider allowing Kerry into Munster should they win the Joe Mac! Does playing Carlow, Westmeath really lift all boats and help prepare the counties to challenge their Munster counterpart's?

wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 88 - 29/07/2024 11:54:37    2562540

Replying To wexford2012:  "Is Leinster now structurally disadvantaged? Munster are all top teams, they won't even consider allowing Kerry into Munster should they win the Joe Mac! Does playing Carlow, Westmeath really lift all boats and help prepare the counties to challenge their Munster counterpart's?"
I dont think so

There are pros and cons and on any given year you could argue the otherside. I cant be of much benefit to Munster teams having to stretch themselfs to the limit in largely do or die macthes every week. You can afford a day or 2 off in Leinster but not Munster. I just think that at the moment the Munster teams are stronger. I felt we were a better team than KK the last 2 years but we didnt show it on the pitch.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2672 - 29/07/2024 13:46:35    2562618

Replying To wexford2012:  "Is Leinster now structurally disadvantaged? Munster are all top teams, they won't even consider allowing Kerry into Munster should they win the Joe Mac! Does playing Carlow, Westmeath really lift all boats and help prepare the counties to challenge their Munster counterpart's?"
Massively so. Hurling in Munster is at a different level and no team in Munster would not beat Antrim or Carlow as Wexford and Kilkenny did this year.
The level of hurling is just off the charts in Munster and the rising tide is for everybody. Leinster is slipping badly behind. There is no world where Wexford, Galway or Dublin would finish in the top 3 in Munster and likely would finish behind Waterford and Tipp if there was such a structure.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1777 - 29/07/2024 14:19:54    2562646

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I dont think so

There are pros and cons and on any given year you could argue the otherside. I cant be of much benefit to Munster teams having to stretch themselfs to the limit in largely do or die macthes every week. You can afford a day or 2 off in Leinster but not Munster. I just think that at the moment the Munster teams are stronger. I felt we were a better team than KK the last 2 years but we didnt show it on the pitch."
I agree with you, but I think the question of why are they stronger is a valid one.

In my opinion the longer we've had the round Robin the more pronounced that Gap has become.

Like you said the Munster teams have to be on it all the time.

We had two fairly bad performances in Leinster and probably still should have made the final which probably did nothing for our form..

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3029 - 29/07/2024 14:38:33    2562657

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Massively so. Hurling in Munster is at a different level and no team in Munster would not beat Antrim or Carlow as Wexford and Kilkenny did this year.
The level of hurling is just off the charts in Munster and the rising tide is for everybody. Leinster is slipping badly behind. There is no world where Wexford, Galway or Dublin would finish in the top 3 in Munster and likely would finish behind Waterford and Tipp if there was such a structure."
What are you basing that on though? No Munster county has played a Round Robin game against Antrim or Carlow. Galway have beaten Tipp and Cork in Championship games in the last 26 months, and have only lost to one county from Munster in that time. Limerick. Kilkenny have only lost to 2, Clare and Limerick.
I do agree that Munster is a bit ahead of Leinster right now, insofar as there were 3 Munster teams in the AISFs this year, but Clare didn't hammer Kilkenny. Coming into injury time it could've gone either way, same as our game against Kilkenny, or Galways or Dublins games against Kilkenny. There was nothing much between Clare and Cork, or Cork and Limerick either.
On the other hand Tipp were thrashed by Cork and Limerick, and beaten well by Clare, though there were only 3 points between them at the final whistle.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 29/07/2024 15:06:16    2562676

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Massively so. Hurling in Munster is at a different level and no team in Munster would not beat Antrim or Carlow as Wexford and Kilkenny did this year.
The level of hurling is just off the charts in Munster and the rising tide is for everybody. Leinster is slipping badly behind. There is no world where Wexford, Galway or Dublin would finish in the top 3 in Munster and likely would finish behind Waterford and Tipp if there was such a structure."
What are you basing that on though? No Munster county has played a Round Robin game against Antrim or Carlow. Galway have beaten Tipp and Cork in Championship games in the last 26 months, and have only lost to one county from Munster in that time. Limerick. Kilkenny have only lost to 2, Clare and Limerick.
I do agree that Munster is a bit ahead of Leinster right now, insofar as there were 3 Munster teams in the AISFs this year, but Clare didn't hammer Kilkenny. Coming into injury time it could've gone either way, same as our game against Kilkenny, or Galways or Dublins games against Kilkenny. There was nothing much between Clare and Cork, or Cork and Limerick either.
On the other hand Tipp were thrashed by Cork and Limerick, and beaten well by Clare, though there were only 3 points between them at the final whistle.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 29/07/2024 15:33:29    2562686

Lads will ye stop going on about Paudie foley. He has missed 3 out of the last 4 years it will take him a long time to get up to speed with modern hurling. Even at that how good was he went missing in games I can't remember a game he was outstanding. I'd love to see him come back and prove me wrong but genuinely think time has passed him by by travelling …. And the man is entitled to do that

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 299 - 29/07/2024 15:35:22    2562689

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Lads will ye stop going on about Paudie foley. He has missed 3 out of the last 4 years it will take him a long time to get up to speed with modern hurling. Even at that how good was he went missing in games I can't remember a game he was outstanding. I'd love to see him come back and prove me wrong but genuinely think time has passed him by by travelling …. And the man is entitled to do that"
He would need to come back and do a full pre season, and then it would be up to management to see what they thought. He opted out before as well, remember. As you say he's perfectly entitled not to commit if he doesn't want to.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 29/07/2024 15:52:11    2562696

Replying To Viking66:  "He would need to come back and do a full pre season, and then it would be up to management to see what they thought. He opted out before as well, remember. As you say he's perfectly entitled not to commit if he doesn't want to."
Would be great to see him in the fold consistently he has the size we need in the half back line, as I said last year I'd like to see Mike Kelly being brought in also.

Don't have any insider knowledge but hard to see Paudie Foley back next year.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 132 - 29/07/2024 17:14:46    2562726

Not exactly the same sport, I know, but Armagh's win on Sunday showed the importance of mentality when it comes to winning. Over time, McGeeney got rid of the talented lads who had questionable work ethics and instead brought in lads who some in Armagh might have questioned whether they were in the Top 30 best footballers in Armagh yet these players had a huge amount of dog in them. I don't think anyone here would've considered Armagh All-Ireland winners at the start of the year in terms of ability but there's what you're capable of doing and there's what you actually do and Armagh ended up winning it all because they were able to stick in there even when not playing well plus they were able to get 100% out of every player.

I know some on here malign the standard of Leinster hurling and openly point out that we're not good enough to compete with the top Munster teams. But if we persist with such an attitude, we'll only continue to do one thing and that's lose. Better to take a leaf from Armagh's book and to believe in ourselves; who's to say our perceived lack of ability is not a lack of ability as such but rather an inability to fully play to our potential due to a lack of belief in ourselves?

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 341 - 29/07/2024 22:37:28    2562804

Replying To OpenStandWall:  "Would be great to see him in the fold consistently he has the size we need in the half back line, as I said last year I'd like to see Mike Kelly being brought in also.

Don't have any insider knowledge but hard to see Paudie Foley back next year."
Mike was on the panel this year and played in a few games I was at. He definitely has the size but needs to work at his speed I think. He's definitely got potential.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 29/07/2024 23:18:36    2562817

Replying To Viking66:  "Mike was on the panel this year and played in a few games I was at. He definitely has the size but needs to work at his speed I think. He's definitely got potential."
Was he dropped off the panel or opted out himself? Thought he done okay in the walsh cup games he played and as you say we badly need size

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 342 - 30/07/2024 09:14:27    2562852

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Not exactly the same sport, I know, but Armagh's win on Sunday showed the importance of mentality when it comes to winning. Over time, McGeeney got rid of the talented lads who had questionable work ethics and instead brought in lads who some in Armagh might have questioned whether they were in the Top 30 best footballers in Armagh yet these players had a huge amount of dog in them. I don't think anyone here would've considered Armagh All-Ireland winners at the start of the year in terms of ability but there's what you're capable of doing and there's what you actually do and Armagh ended up winning it all because they were able to stick in there even when not playing well plus they were able to get 100% out of every player.

I know some on here malign the standard of Leinster hurling and openly point out that we're not good enough to compete with the top Munster teams. But if we persist with such an attitude, we'll only continue to do one thing and that's lose. Better to take a leaf from Armagh's book and to believe in ourselves; who's to say our perceived lack of ability is not a lack of ability as such but rather an inability to fully play to our potential due to a lack of belief in ourselves?"
100%. We need to believe for sure. We also need to develop a panel of 30 lads, 2 for each position, who can all play well in at least 2 positions, and who all will work hard, individually and as a team. Just because a lad isn't the finished article at 21 or 22 doesn't mean he won't be come 25 or 26.
We need a joined up plan like Mcgeeney had, and stick with it for 5 or 10 years, like he did. Look at what attributes each position needs, and look at which players are coming from minor and u20 who might have these attributes, or who might develop them.
We need to lose the defeatism. And get more patient. Behind the scenes good things are happening. We need to see them through.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 30/07/2024 09:15:32    2562854

Think ye forgetting one thing.
Who would be our mcgeeney.
Different game too not comparing both but what you can do.in foitball with fitness alone u would nt get the same effect in hurling u need a certain level of skill for inter County. Armagh being dominantly football . I m not saying footballers don't need skill they do as is very evident and more selfless .. but pure workrate and athletism in football will bring u further than it would in hurling.
The ball moves a lot faster than the man where in football it moves faster but possession is pivotal.
Our problem is some of out better hurlers dont have that workrate . And being honest don't nt see any better around at present . That would have the workrate fitness athletism physicality you would need for to go down that route . Thats without throwing in the level of skill required .
We need to find our own system that suits us and the players we have and potentially will have over next 5years + . Can only assume Rossi is doing this as we speak with club jn full swing .
I wonder will he learn much about players at moment when realistically is the intensity as high as it could be if more at stake . Yiu only see what's in a player when there is high stakes competition and losing has severe consequences. That's when u see who's up to it not in mediocre round Robin games where everyone gets second bites at the cherry

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 257 - 30/07/2024 10:28:26    2562883

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Was he dropped off the panel or opted out himself? Thought he done okay in the walsh cup games he played and as you say we badly need size"
Think he was still on the panel during the League at least. He did pick up an injury though apparently.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 30/07/2024 13:17:42    2562978

Replying To Viking66:  "Think he was still on the panel during the League at least. He did pick up an injury though apparently."
I presume the management team have given our younger lads gym programmes they need to continue to follow before they meet up again in November/December

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 342 - 30/07/2024 17:25:18    2563091