Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Magpie2:  "Yeah, hate saying it but we are quite simply not at the races when it comes to knockout championship hurling. Looking at Cork v Limerick yesterday and its plain to see where we are compared to them. I'm afraid that we have a long long way to go before we are anyway close to their standard.
Our problem at present is that we don't have lads that have the x factor with the exception of Chin and Rory. But even they have had bad days and lack consistency.
It's grand winning a few league games and giving Kilkenny a rattle in leinster but that's really it.
We have some good players coming through the u20 grade but yet untested at senior so it remains to be seen whether they make the step up.
I've been disappointed with some of our newer lads although I would have high hopes for Eoin Ryan and Conor Hearne but after that I'm not so sure.
As Rory Jacob said on the Wexford podcast last week that he was concerned by the lack of talent coming through and that he is worried for our prospects in the future. He said that the once strong clubs like the alley and Rathnure have no players on our senior team and our schools and colleges are falling back.
Tackling underage is the key. That's where it all starts. People will say that we done well at u20 last year and the year before but we failed to win silverware each year.
I'm sure managers and coaches are doing everything possible to get us competive and the players don't lack effort but maybe we need to reexamine the way we do things and start building in every way from the bottom up.
Staying as we are and hoping for a better year or years ahead will get us nowhere.
Nothing easy in all of the above I will accept but with hard graft, total commitment, proper coaching and improving skills will bring success, eventually."
I fancy Rathnure for the intermediate this year, but judging by what I saw last Friday night in Enniscorthy, it's a real possibility that the top 3 teams on the roll of honour in Wexford could be playing intermediate next year, probably the first time something like that has ever happened

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 132 - 08/07/2024 18:58:14    2557811

Replying To Magpie2:  "Yeah, hate saying it but we are quite simply not at the races when it comes to knockout championship hurling. Looking at Cork v Limerick yesterday and its plain to see where we are compared to them. I'm afraid that we have a long long way to go before we are anyway close to their standard.
Our problem at present is that we don't have lads that have the x factor with the exception of Chin and Rory. But even they have had bad days and lack consistency.
It's grand winning a few league games and giving Kilkenny a rattle in leinster but that's really it.
We have some good players coming through the u20 grade but yet untested at senior so it remains to be seen whether they make the step up.
I've been disappointed with some of our newer lads although I would have high hopes for Eoin Ryan and Conor Hearne but after that I'm not so sure.
As Rory Jacob said on the Wexford podcast last week that he was concerned by the lack of talent coming through and that he is worried for our prospects in the future. He said that the once strong clubs like the alley and Rathnure have no players on our senior team and our schools and colleges are falling back.
Tackling underage is the key. That's where it all starts. People will say that we done well at u20 last year and the year before but we failed to win silverware each year.
I'm sure managers and coaches are doing everything possible to get us competive and the players don't lack effort but maybe we need to reexamine the way we do things and start building in every way from the bottom up.
Staying as we are and hoping for a better year or years ahead will get us nowhere.
Nothing easy in all of the above I will accept but with hard graft, total commitment, proper coaching and improving skills will bring success, eventually."
Alot of that work has already started underage in the last few years. Hopefully it will come to something at Senior over the coming few years. 5 of our 6 teams at u14s, u15s and u16s won at the weekend. Our 2 U14 teams both beat both Tipps 2 teams over 4 games, u15A team beat a Clare u15A team well, by 17 points, without our best player, while the B team lost to Kerry A team, and the u16 teams beat Waterford u16A and Kildare u16A.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 08/07/2024 19:25:01    2557817

My thought exactly during the match yesterday was that the whole province is a mile off this level of intensity.
Hurling in Leinster needs every county to up the workrate and intensity to what we see in Munster.
We are a world off that level. Every one of us. Results like Carlow drawing with Kilkenny, or Wexford losing to Antrim, just would not happen in championship with the Munster counties.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1250 - 08/07/2024 21:08:03    2557856

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "To be fair, no-one was going on about how great Cork were after the AIQF so whilst not trying to suggest that they're not a great team or that they didn't play to an exceptionally high level yesterday, I think people can get a bit carried away by extreme performances

If you take our performance against Galway (Which represented an extreme on our end as did the Antrim game which represented the other extreme), I think we would've been competitive yesterday but would've ended up losing by in or around 6 points

This isn't me suggesting that we're that close to All-Ireland glory because we're not but at the same time, I don't think we're a millions mile off, put Paudie Foley into this year's side and we would've been as good if not better than 2019 and that 2019 team were not far off winning an All-Ireland

It's just that when you're at the level we're at now, you're depending on almost every single little thing breaking your way whereas if you have talent like Cork, Clare, or Limerick, you can afford a few little things to go against you throughout the campaign and still have a good chance at winning Liam McCarthy"
Brilliant post

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3029 - 08/07/2024 21:10:49    2557857

Replying To OpenStandWall:  "I fancy Rathnure for the intermediate this year, but judging by what I saw last Friday night in Enniscorthy, it's a real possibility that the top 3 teams on the roll of honour in Wexford could be playing intermediate next year, probably the first time something like that has ever happened"
Too early to say who will get relegated from Senior. Now is not the time to be peaking. Fethard will be best placed to challenge Rathnure come the business end of Intermediate I'd be feeling, and they lost at the weekend. They started slowly last year too and shouldve beaten Cloughbawn in the semi final.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 08/07/2024 22:35:33    2557884

Replying To OpenStandWall:  "I fancy Rathnure for the intermediate this year, but judging by what I saw last Friday night in Enniscorthy, it's a real possibility that the top 3 teams on the roll of honour in Wexford could be playing intermediate next year, probably the first time something like that has ever happened"
As it happens the top 4 on the roll of honour could be all in Intermediate next year, and the 5th don't exist any more.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 08/07/2024 22:37:59    2557886

Replying To Viking66:  "Alot of that work has already started underage in the last few years. Hopefully it will come to something at Senior over the coming few years. 5 of our 6 teams at u14s, u15s and u16s won at the weekend. Our 2 U14 teams both beat both Tipps 2 teams over 4 games, u15A team beat a Clare u15A team well, by 17 points, without our best player, while the B team lost to Kerry A team, and the u16 teams beat Waterford u16A and Kildare u16A."
That's positive viking, good to hear some of our underage sides are making progress.
Keeping them involved at those ages is usually difficult but it goes to show all the same that there are green shoots emerging.
Was this an all ireland series or a selection of teams from munster and leinster?
Fela didn't go well for us at all though, except for the shield for beaten teams.
Anyway let's hope the young lads keep it going.
The future of Wexford hurling depends on them.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 382 - 08/07/2024 22:56:38    2557888

Replying To wexford2012:  "Don't know about that Doyler! While I really enjoyed the game I was left wondering about the gap between where we are and they are now and overall I wasn't feeling so positive.

I'm convinced that a top class keeper is essential in today's era, puc out and not just shot stopping, its surely the most pivotal and difficult role on the pitch and if we didn't fully appreciate FitzHenry we should now.

Physically we're miles off, not all our lads but too many, this can be worked on but it takes 2+3 years really hard work to get to the level required.

Power, size, pace, I just don't see this in our team in the way Cork had it today, hard running, strong, direct, dangerous.

One thing I will say is, be slow to write off our experienced players, look at TJ and Patrick Horgan still doing it for their sides this weekend."
Afraid I agree, the intensity both Cork and Limerick played at yesterday were at a level our lads are nowhere near. Every player having to win their own ball, skills levels and ball striking at an incredibly high level. Great win for Cork, might be their All Ireland though, the fear has been if they won one they have the talent to win a number of them.

Other semi final was poor enough quality. Clare reminded me of us in the QF, they were very fortunate they were not 10+ points down at half time as even Lohan said. Miles off it, then it was KK's turn to collapse in the second half with no score last 15 + mins. Missed frees and just aimless stuff from play. Bringing on Walsh & Fogarty maybe said a lot, no impact from bench at all. Clare definitely used the ball a lot better but think the story is really about the KK collapse. Clare won't be as poor in the final, more a 50/50 game, Clare have beaten Cork a lot in recent years too.

As for us, focus has to be on player development and tactics that suit the players we will have over next few years, not the players we wished we had. The intensity of games lifts from league to round robin to provincial finals/QFs. Some of our most experienced players didn't perform in KK (win would have got us to a LF) and in QF v Clare when the pace lifted. They wouldn't have a hope competing last Sunday. I liked the way Cork stuck to a game plan that focused on getting the best out of their players rather than focusing on the opposition.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 262 - 09/07/2024 02:17:48    2557907

Replying To Magpie2:  "That's positive viking, good to hear some of our underage sides are making progress.
Keeping them involved at those ages is usually difficult but it goes to show all the same that there are green shoots emerging.
Was this an all ireland series or a selection of teams from munster and leinster?
Fela didn't go well for us at all though, except for the shield for beaten teams.
Anyway let's hope the young lads keep it going.
The future of Wexford hurling depends on them."
The finals are the Tony Forristal, Arrabawn and Michael Foley. Hopefully we do well in them, although it's more important we have some star players developing through those grades.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 09/07/2024 08:47:21    2557930

Replying To Timbertony:  "Afraid I agree, the intensity both Cork and Limerick played at yesterday were at a level our lads are nowhere near. Every player having to win their own ball, skills levels and ball striking at an incredibly high level. Great win for Cork, might be their All Ireland though, the fear has been if they won one they have the talent to win a number of them.

Other semi final was poor enough quality. Clare reminded me of us in the QF, they were very fortunate they were not 10+ points down at half time as even Lohan said. Miles off it, then it was KK's turn to collapse in the second half with no score last 15 + mins. Missed frees and just aimless stuff from play. Bringing on Walsh & Fogarty maybe said a lot, no impact from bench at all. Clare definitely used the ball a lot better but think the story is really about the KK collapse. Clare won't be as poor in the final, more a 50/50 game, Clare have beaten Cork a lot in recent years too.

As for us, focus has to be on player development and tactics that suit the players we will have over next few years, not the players we wished we had. The intensity of games lifts from league to round robin to provincial finals/QFs. Some of our most experienced players didn't perform in KK (win would have got us to a LF) and in QF v Clare when the pace lifted. They wouldn't have a hope competing last Sunday. I liked the way Cork stuck to a game plan that focused on getting the best out of their players rather than focusing on the opposition."
Agree 100% about the need for a suitable gameplan. I think the way we set up in the League this year will bring us more success going forwards than the way we set up up front in the championship.
As regards the AI final Clare have beaten Coek the last 3 meetings, although Cork are on a high right now. I think if Clare play their best hurling they will win, but if they dont, and they would be like us that way sometimes, then Cork could win well.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 09/07/2024 08:54:02    2557931

Any eye catching performances from players over the weekend lads? Seen Tucker Kinsella scored 2-4 from play for Askamore . He always seems to play well in the full forward line for them . Heard Corey Byrne Dunbar also showed good form for Ferns over the weekend

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 342 - 09/07/2024 11:51:59    2557989

Replying To Viking66:  "Alot of that work has already started underage in the last few years. Hopefully it will come to something at Senior over the coming few years. 5 of our 6 teams at u14s, u15s and u16s won at the weekend. Our 2 U14 teams both beat both Tipps 2 teams over 4 games, u15A team beat a Clare u15A team well, by 17 points, without our best player, while the B team lost to Kerry A team, and the u16 teams beat Waterford u16A and Kildare u16A."
Delighted to hear this BUT if I'd a euro for every time I heard about 'the great work going on' I'd be retired in some comfort!!

I hope a corner has been turned but every county is lifting the bar so for us to catch up, we need to rise faster which is not easily done.

I'd love to see our sides being more direct, attack with aggression at every opportunity, if we instill this as a core tenet of our underage teams I believe it would go a long way to addressing our issues. Attack like sharks who smell blood in the water at every opportunity, was Tony Doran the most skillful player, no but he was seriously effective.

Develop and screen for attitude, work rate and aggression, if in 10 years someone was able to say Wexford teams were characterized by these three things wouldn't that be something??

wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 88 - 09/07/2024 12:17:35    2557998

The big issue for me is not that we can't play with intensity, the real issue is that we can't sustain intensity both within matches and then from game to game

Feels like we've one game a year where we can go full-belt for 70+ minutes (Galway this year, Kilkenny in 2021, 2022, and 2023), also feels like we only ever do it when our backs are against the wall

That for me makes me think that it's a psychological issue; I remember a story someone told recently that Jim McGuinness once stopped a Donegal training session in early 2011 and was giving out that players were only operating at 80%, then asked them why they were holding back from giving 100%

Probably stems from a lack of belief or else an attitude like "Sure, if we make a Leinster Final or else win an AIQF and are competitive in the semis, sure, that's a great year, you never know what could happen, we could end up winning it all"

Don't think I've ever seen a team have consistent success with an attitude like that, you only reach lofty goals if you set lofty standards

KK had a year which would by our standards by a successful year and yet you get the feeling that they are (rightfully) treating it like an unmitigated disaster

And I can't imagine Limerick are consoling themselves that four-in-a-row was a great achievement and they just had the misfortune of running into a talented Cork team who gave a 10/10 performance, Limerick will probably look back on this year as a failure

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 341 - 09/07/2024 13:26:54    2558013

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "The big issue for me is not that we can't play with intensity, the real issue is that we can't sustain intensity both within matches and then from game to game

Feels like we've one game a year where we can go full-belt for 70+ minutes (Galway this year, Kilkenny in 2021, 2022, and 2023), also feels like we only ever do it when our backs are against the wall

That for me makes me think that it's a psychological issue; I remember a story someone told recently that Jim McGuinness once stopped a Donegal training session in early 2011 and was giving out that players were only operating at 80%, then asked them why they were holding back from giving 100%

Probably stems from a lack of belief or else an attitude like "Sure, if we make a Leinster Final or else win an AIQF and are competitive in the semis, sure, that's a great year, you never know what could happen, we could end up winning it all"

Don't think I've ever seen a team have consistent success with an attitude like that, you only reach lofty goals if you set lofty standards

KK had a year which would by our standards by a successful year and yet you get the feeling that they are (rightfully) treating it like an unmitigated disaster

And I can't imagine Limerick are consoling themselves that four-in-a-row was a great achievement and they just had the misfortune of running into a talented Cork team who gave a 10/10 performance, Limerick will probably look back on this year as a failure"
I've been banging on about sports psychology for years. I know we have one now.

Confidentiality as soon as Caroline Currid leaves Limerick lose a semi final?

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3029 - 09/07/2024 14:43:33    2558050

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I've been banging on about sports psychology for years. I know we have one now.

Confidentiality as soon as Caroline Currid leaves Limerick lose a semi final?"
Tbf, I'm not sure she was the difference between them winning and losing, they've won an awful lot of close games in the last few years in big games and sooner or later, you end up losing one on the law of averages

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 341 - 09/07/2024 15:36:49    2558062

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Tbf, I'm not sure she was the difference between them winning and losing, they've won an awful lot of close games in the last few years in big games and sooner or later, you end up losing one on the law of averages"
Probably not, but it's worth considering. When the game was in the melting pot they missed some chances they'd never have missed in the last five years when the pressure was on. That's precisely the role of a sports psychologist

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3029 - 09/07/2024 19:25:09    2558100

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Probably not, but it's worth considering. When the game was in the melting pot they missed some chances they'd never have missed in the last five years when the pressure was on. That's precisely the role of a sports psychologist"
Are you sure they don't have another one? See the footage of the team and background staff getting off the train in Limerick? I counted about 60 or more people in the whole set up

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 310 - 10/07/2024 09:12:10    2558153

Replying To WEXILE:  "Are you sure they don't have another one? See the footage of the team and background staff getting off the train in Limerick? I counted about 60 or more people in the whole set up"
Maybe but are they as good? I'd imagine like in any other job there are good ones and ones not so good.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13296 - 10/07/2024 12:00:31    2558190

Replying To WEXILE:  "Are you sure they don't have another one? See the footage of the team and background staff getting off the train in Limerick? I counted about 60 or more people in the whole set up"
They probably have but the importance of her input was highlighted in the winning speech last year. She was the second person thanked after kiely

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3029 - 10/07/2024 12:33:05    2558196

Replying To Doylerwex:  "They probably have but the importance of her input was highlighted in the winning speech last year. She was the second person thanked after kiely"
I think you are spot on. Caroline Currid has the midas touch - her track record is superb.

Punter72007 (Wexford) - Posts: 318 - 10/07/2024 13:07:27    2558204