Football All Stars

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Is Coyne a Dub too or whats the reason he got a nomination?"
He surely isn't but, like Kilkenny, played well in 2025 despite his team underperforming. I was still surprised we got any nominations.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8252 - 25/09/2025 14:47:50    2637432

Replying To Commodore:  "Probably balances out if you consider the Provincial Championship Donegal had in comparison to what Kerry had."
Of the main All Ireland contenders, Donegal got the better of Armagh in the Ulster final and Mayo in the final group game. Trying to remove any biases, tinted glasses or anything like that, it doesn't balance out when compared with the impressive wins over Armagh, Tyrone and Donegal this summer.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9198 - 25/09/2025 15:11:24    2637438

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Ciaran kilkenny with all allstar nomination........ based on what exactly ????????"
Based on some great performances.Bugler should have got one too.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 349 - 25/09/2025 15:45:10    2637443

Replying To jacktheboy:  "How is Paudie Clifford not inthe running for poty, he controlled All Ireland Final, and .ajes David the best player in the Country, He shoukd be in there before Murphy who had a poor Final."
Well said and fair play.Murphy had a good year but was nt even Donegals best player.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 349 - 25/09/2025 15:47:03    2637444

Replying To The_analyser:  "Football of the year is based on a players years work not just one game. Paudie was sent off v Cork then missed out on action due to injury. The three nominations is fair and David Clifford will win once more."
Yip.Young Clifford poty for sure.A truly class act. Ive never seen his likes before.Best footballer since Connolly.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 349 - 25/09/2025 15:49:33    2637445

Replying To sligo joe:  "And how did a bang average Meath team that won nothing get 5 nominations, reward for failure?"
Ah will ya give over with your childish tit for tat nonsense. kilkenny shouldn't even be in a 2nd list of nominations. Its an awful selection and bizarre. Id imagine he is scratching his head himself as he knows how off it he was this year.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 1029 - 25/09/2025 15:55:11    2637446

Replying To S1234:  "Because he's a Dub I'd say ."
ID say you know very little about football if the truth be told

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 349 - 25/09/2025 16:04:14    2637451

Replying To The_analyser:  "Football of the year is based on a players years work not just one game. Paudie was sent off v Cork then missed out on action due to injury. The three nominations is fair and David Clifford will win once more."
Spot on

gaa.88 (Kerry) - Posts: 6 - 25/09/2025 16:10:17    2637453

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Is Coyne a Dub too or whats the reason he got a nomination?"
Coyne played really well this year hence the nomination . Kilkenney on the other hand did not and was off it this year . Sure suppose they always have to throe a Dub in there .

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 383 - 25/09/2025 16:29:22    2637458

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Ah will ya give over with your childish tit for tat nonsense. kilkenny shouldn't even be in a 2nd list of nominations. Its an awful selection and bizarre. Id imagine he is scratching his head himself as he knows how off it he was this year."
Go way out of that, your's is the churlish childish post, well deserved nomination for CK, congrats on winning the Dublin/Meath cup before the belly flop v Louth.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 25/09/2025 17:41:45    2637467

Mayo did make League Final and were only knocked out of Chsmpionship by Donegal by 1 point, do if Meath got 5 sn6d Louth got 3 surely Mayo were entitled to one.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 509 - 25/09/2025 19:00:54    2637473

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Mayo did make League Final and were only knocked out of Chsmpionship by Donegal by 1 point, do if Meath got 5 sn6d Louth got 3 surely Mayo were entitled to one."
We got hammered in the league final, a competition most teams weren't interested in playing in because they had eye on the championship. Could have been relegated on the day we qualified for the league final. Cavan put us out. Our worst year since 2010. Under Robbie Brennan's managament, despite losing two coaches, Meath got a lift in fortunes, put the setback of losing Leinster final as favourites behind them and reached the All Ireland semi final. They fully deserve 5 all star nominations.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8252 - 25/09/2025 20:10:25    2637476

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Mayo did make League Final and were only knocked out of Chsmpionship by Donegal by 1 point, do if Meath got 5 sn6d Louth got 3 surely Mayo were entitled to one."
A post that makes sense fair play . Donegal are well deserved of your all star nominations and after your year. Even though I was sickened when we got knocked out by you !

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 383 - 25/09/2025 21:05:58    2637479

Replying To legendzxix:  "Of the main All Ireland contenders, Donegal got the better of Armagh in the Ulster final and Mayo in the final group game. Trying to remove any biases, tinted glasses or anything like that, it doesn't balance out when compared with the impressive wins over Armagh, Tyrone and Donegal this summer."
Kerry will get the lions share of all stars when team is picked , donegal got alot of nominations because they played more championship games than anyone else, paudie Clifford who was excellent in the final played very little football over the Course of the championship

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1161 - 25/09/2025 22:56:51    2637484

Far be it for me to bang the Kerry drum, you are League Champions, Munster Champions and All Ireland Championsh then there is something very wrong with selectors. Also POTY should unanimous.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 812 - 26/09/2025 02:00:11    2637488

Replying To jacktheboy:  "How is Paudie Clifford not inthe running for poty, he controlled All Ireland Final, and .ajes David the best player in the Country, He shoukd be in there before Murphy who had a poor Final."
Paudie will get an All Star that I don't believe he deserves. Excellent footballer but between suspension and injury he played very little this year.

Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 214 - 26/09/2025 11:15:06    2637520

Replying To Taypot:  "Paudie will get an All Star that I don't believe he deserves. Excellent footballer but between suspension and injury he played very little this year."
I agree with you but of course he will get it because he's from kerry .

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 383 - 26/09/2025 12:31:24    2637534

Replying To legendzxix:  "Of the main All Ireland contenders, Donegal got the better of Armagh in the Ulster final and Mayo in the final group game. Trying to remove any biases, tinted glasses or anything like that, it doesn't balance out when compared with the impressive wins over Armagh, Tyrone and Donegal this summer."
Kerry's run to the All Ireland wasn't as stiff, so on balance, I don't think it a big deal that Donegal edged Kerry in nominations,

Donegal beat Derry, Monaghan, Down, Armagh in Ulster, lost to Tyrone, beat Cavan and Mayo, then beat Leinster Champions Louth, followed by Monaghan and Leinster runners up Meath, who had beat Kerry, Dublin and Galway.

Kerry will dominate the actual All Stars awards, but Donegal still had a really good year outside of that final.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1474 - 26/09/2025 12:47:15    2637542

Replying To Taypot:  "Paudie will get an All Star that I don't believe he deserves. Excellent footballer but between suspension and injury he played very little this year."
Should he get one it will be for his contribution in the All-Ireland final Donegal never got to grips of him at all.

In a year where the rules was changed to make the game more offensive and suit forwards than defenders the competition is strangely harder to call with the six defenders than forwards and I can imagine the midfield two will be Langan,Joe O'Connor

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3764 - 26/09/2025 14:28:04    2637553

According to a gaa website Paudie Clifford played 6 championship games this year and 8 league games.Thats the same amount of championship games Mayo played in.The older Clifford deserves his all star.When he was missing the Yerras were ordinary and when he came back the Yerras were powerful.

brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 349 - 26/09/2025 15:23:21    2637559