The Musings Of Tom Smith

Replying To Galway9801:  "I don't think too many are worried about Jim,, not yet anyways.
The cynic in me thinks that the only reason he's yere manager to begin with is because he is not with a soccer team."
That is true! Jimmy's foray into soccer management was not impressive. However,I think he will get the donegal team primed, motivated, and extremely fit. The "2 boyos" now have control of donegal and Derry, and their meetup in the Ulster championship will be interesting.

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 217 - 31/12/2023 09:01:50    2517917

Replying To Ryanteam:  "That is true! Jimmy's foray into soccer management was not impressive. However,I think he will get the donegal team primed, motivated, and extremely fit. The "2 boyos" now have control of donegal and Derry, and their meetup in the Ulster championship will be interesting."
Hopefully, I'm not sure my enthusiasm for gaelic football can withstand another protracted kerry /Dublin duopoly.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1736 - 31/12/2023 11:51:12    2517928

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Cork certainly on upswing as shown by last year's performances in the all Ireland competition. They beat Mayo and Roscommon,and lost to Kerry by 2 points in group round robin competition,after gifting them a penalty, following Powter's sending off. Team then lost to Derry, who themselves have undergone a remarkable recovery last few years. Division 4 to division 1, and ulster champions."
There's always massive potential with Cork, they just need to get the best out of themselves, always a fair team to play against too with the best supporters in Ireland to mix with imo.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2761 - 31/12/2023 14:18:57    2517940

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "There's always massive potential with Cork, they just need to get the best out of themselves, always a fair team to play against too with the best supporters in Ireland to mix with imo."
Once upon a time Cork hurling supporters used to be full of their fun. They seem a tad more disgruntled these days; angry even. The Cork football crowd have always been very genuine, imo!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1937 - 31/12/2023 17:03:53    2517954

Tomsmith here

In conversation with the great Mrs T the other night she came up with the suggestion that County Gaa boards could supply buses for dedicated supporters to attend away league games.
She said that if would encourage supporters to travel and would bring colour to away games.
A Gaa friendly eating house enroute could be alerted to provide substance , it would all add up to a much cheaper family day out for County Gaa supporters .

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 31/12/2023 18:18:30    2517961

Provide substance? As in cocaine? I'm guessing it's sustenance you mean.

Rebel2020 (Cork) - Posts: 75 - 31/12/2023 18:39:09    2517963

Replying To Administrator:  "Tomsmith here

In conversation with the great Mrs T the other night she came up with the suggestion that County Gaa boards could supply buses for dedicated supporters to attend away league games.
She said that if would encourage supporters to travel and would bring colour to away games.
A Gaa friendly eating house enroute could be alerted to provide substance , it would all add up to a much cheaper family day out for County Gaa supporters ."
Suggestion has merit. A bus could do away with 20/30/40 car trips as many supporters may travel by car - alone, at least I often have done. Just thinking of this carbon footprint business.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1007 - 31/12/2023 18:45:22    2517965

Replying To Administrator:  "Tomsmith here

A Gaa friendly eating house enroute could be alerted to provide substance , it would all add up to a much cheaper family day out for County Gaa supporters ."
Forget to sign out of your other account Tom....

That's what a supporters club should be doing. Most counties have official supporters clubs and any season ticket holders should get membership as part of that

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3514 - 31/12/2023 22:00:28    2517978

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Once upon a time Cork hurling supporters used to be full of their fun. They seem a tad more disgruntled these days; angry even. The Cork football crowd have always been very genuine, imo!"
Happy New Year to you too!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 217 - 01/01/2024 11:24:31    2517984

Replying To KillingFields:  "Forget to sign out of your other account Tom....

That's what a supporters club should be doing. Most counties have official supporters clubs and any season ticket holders should get membership as part of that"
Forget to sign out of your other account Tom....

That's what a supporters club should be doing. Most counties have official supporters clubs and any season ticket holders should get membership as part of that
KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3394 - 31/12/2023 22:00:

Tomsmith here

Perhaps the administrator would deal with such scurrilous allegations made by that Killing Fields poster from LImerick that a senior poster of the caliber of Tomsmith ( assisted by the great Mrs T) would engage in such activity as posting under another handle.
I can say Tomsmith is the one and only who posts intelligent posts .
Back to the thing about County boards and supporters clubs. Perhaps Killing fields ( In your anxietyto pick holes in my post ) you missed my salient point and that is that County Boads put on buses. Not supporter clubs which charge.
What I am saying free buses to away games , and arrange a friendly Gaa house for a bit to eat on route .

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 01/01/2024 13:24:55    2517990

Replying To tomsmith:  "Forget to sign out of your other account Tom....

Tomsmith here

Perhaps the administrator would deal with such scurrilous allegations made by that Killing Fields poster from LImerick that a senior poster of the caliber of Tomsmith ( assisted by the great Mrs T) would engage in such activity as posting under another handle.
Back to the thing about County boards and supporters clubs. Perhaps Killing fields ( In your anxietyto pick holes in my post ) you missed my salient point and that is that County Boads put on buses. Not supporter clubs which charge.
What I am saying free buses to away games , and arrange a friendly Gaa house for a bit to eat on route ."
Who will pay for the buses then Tom?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12120 - 01/01/2024 17:52:47    2518013

Replying To Viking66:  "Who will pay for the buses then Tom?"
Who will pay for the buses then Tom?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 10411 - 01/01/2024 17:52:47

Tomsmith here

Viking 66 you are always preoccupied about paying sure between friends money aint matter.
But as I explained some Gaa friendly House could have a bit to eat and the Busman could have an honesty Box at the Bus door after the food and I am sure that the shortfall would be very very small .

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 01/01/2024 19:38:23    2518020

Replying To tomsmith:  "Who will pay for the buses then Tom?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 10411 - 01/01/2024 17:52:47

Tomsmith here

Viking 66 you are always preoccupied about paying sure between friends money aint matter.
But as I explained some Gaa friendly House could have a bit to eat and the Busman could have an honesty Box at the Bus door after the food and I am sure that the shortfall would be very very small ."
I'm pretty sure an honesty box isn't going to pay for any coach hire these days. And also absolutely certain that no pub or restaurant is going to feed a bus full of strangers for free, no matter how much they love the GAA.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12120 - 02/01/2024 13:22:50    2518057

Replying To Viking66:  "I'm pretty sure an honesty box isn't going to pay for any coach hire these days. And also absolutely certain that no pub or restaurant is going to feed a bus full of strangers for free, no matter how much they love the GAA."
Feed a crocodile and it's good night Arlene! ;)

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1823 - 03/01/2024 09:13:28    2518129

Replying To Viking66:  "I'm pretty sure an honesty box isn't going to pay for any coach hire these days. And also absolutely certain that no pub or restaurant is going to feed a bus full of strangers for free, no matter how much they love the GAA."
Viking 66

Tomsmith here

Now its Cavan supporters you are dealing with here , many have acquired an unfounded repudiation for being mean .
As any Cavan person ( and the great Mrs T will confirm ) will tell you most Cavan people may be tight with money but all will pay ones way . Now a Cavan man may not leave a big or no tip but sure that is optional.. Indeed I feel that reputation has been acquired by Cavan folks endeavoring to avoid some neighboring Counties from taking monetary advantage of Cavan folk in dealings.. It is often said that Cavan Lassies in the past would avoid these Lads in places of entertainment
Back to the original suggestion I feel it would work .
Its well worth a try and sure look at all the extra support that Galligan and the lads would have on away game.
Sure Lord knows it will all be needed.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 03/01/2024 11:23:27    2518152

Replying To tomsmith:  "Viking 66

Tomsmith here

Now its Cavan supporters you are dealing with here , many have acquired an unfounded repudiation for being mean .
As any Cavan person ( and the great Mrs T will confirm ) will tell you most Cavan people may be tight with money but all will pay ones way . Now a Cavan man may not leave a big or no tip but sure that is optional.. Indeed I feel that reputation has been acquired by Cavan folks endeavoring to avoid some neighboring Counties from taking monetary advantage of Cavan folk in dealings.. It is often said that Cavan Lassies in the past would avoid these Lads in places of entertainment
Back to the original suggestion I feel it would work .
Its well worth a try and sure look at all the extra support that Galligan and the lads would have on away game.
Sure Lord knows it will all be needed."
Why would they not support Raymond anyway? His father in law has a BSA Bantam, proper old fashioned Cavan style transport, although he hails from Donegal!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12120 - 03/01/2024 12:03:23    2518160

MessageID: 2519468
Board: National
User: tomsmith
Topic: Could We Have Gaa Friendly Eating Houses Declare That Supporters Are Welcome En-Route To League Fixtures
Tomsmith here

I see that the National League fixture list is out,
I see that Cavan supporters have to travel to Cork yes Cork city on 17th February to support Cavan.
This trip involves at least 8 tolls ( 4 in each direction ) , parking down in Cork , fuel and eats.
Thats where I say it a restaurant en-route was prepared to open for Gaa business on the way down or on the way back
I await a positive response

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 11/01/2024 07:22:57    2519524

Replying To Administrator:  "MessageID: 2519468
Topic: Could We Have Gaa Friendly Eating Houses Declare That Supporters Are Welcome En-Route To League Fixtures
Tomsmith here

I see that Cavan supporters have to travel to Cork yes Cork city on 17th February to support Cavan.
This trip involves at least 8 tolls ( 4 in each direction ) , parking down in Cork , fuel and eats.
Thats where I say it a restaurant en-route was prepared to open for Gaa business on the way down or on the way back
I await a positive response"
There must be dozens of places between Cavan and Cork to get something to eat. I'd recommend the Horse and Jockey myself.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12120 - 11/01/2024 08:37:32    2519530

Replying To Administrator:  "MessageID: 2519468
Tomsmith here

I await a positive response"
You forgot you switched accounts again Tom.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2761 - 11/01/2024 09:36:28    2519542

Replying To tomsmith:  "Forget to sign out of your other account Tom....

Tomsmith here

What I am saying free buses to away games , and arrange a friendly Gaa house for a bit to eat on route ."
You're good craic if nothing else. Did yo ever try getting trousers with shorter pockets or are your trousers to tight and ye get your hand stuck?

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2018 - 11/01/2024 10:34:16    2519559