GAA Nonsense

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "Sounds like you're not a fan of the GAA anymore so. As such, you should stop watching GAA and start watching the athletics full time instead, seeing as it's so fantastic. While you're at it maybe stop creating threads on a predominantly GAA website about all the things you don't like about the GAA."
Why are GAA people so sensitive when something negative is pointed out in relation to the GAA or when a comparison is made to other sports? That is one of the things that is wrong in relation punditry; ex players being paid to tell us that a game is fascinating when most of GAA people are bored which is borne out in terms of the atmosphere and this is based on games that I've attended at intercounty level. Equally, I hear all the time that we should be promoting games and then before this year's all ireland final; media nights were cancelled as management didn't want players divulging tactics; it is pure madness. There are a lot of managers in the GAA who yield too much power and are damaging the games but anyone who points it out are shot down for being anti-GAA. Maybe the GAA is a reflection of the wider world.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1926 - 25/08/2023 20:54:07    2502268

Replying To realdub:  "Our games are tribal warfare in a controlled environment, huge difference, no comparison."
Agree. Now I do miss the characters from football. Likes of vinny Murphy Charlie redmond, Ollie Murphy, Graham Geraghty, McDonald from mayo. Those guys had their supporters in a frenzy, and their opponents wanting to kill them. I can't think of one Meath player or even Dublin player that aspires that much love and loathing at the same time. Maybe I'm just getting too old. Last dubs player to have it was Conoly last Meath player was probably joe Sheridan and that had as much to do with louth in 10 rather than anything else. They all seem too nice these days. Where's the arrogance or swagger like with Geraghty?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/08/2023 21:33:28    2502273

Replying To Rebel2020:  "I've been watching the World Athletics Championships which I always enjoy and the contrast with some of the bull that goes on in GAA is striking.
Firstly, these are world class performers, and with all due respect to inter County players, on a different level. Yet they can walk out a couple of minutes before the start, (often in an event where they might have less than a minute to nail it ), smile warmly, wave to the crowd, blow kisses, and even throw in a few dance moves. On the way over to the track some if the athletes can be seen laughing and talking to their rivals.
Contrast this with GAA where players brows are furrowed, lads go round roaring aggressively, and any attempt to relax is considered a weak lack of focus. I've heard club managers say "I knew ye were in trouble when I saw ye laughing in the warm up". Give me a break ! If these players are so easily put off, then team psychologists are being paid too much.
Furthermore, after the race the graciousness in defeat is evident, there are warm embraces all round, and win or lose the athletes come smiling to reporters and conduct honest, conversational style interviews. Again in GAA the losers are bitter or its like a wake, and the winners talk in clichés and again are careful not to smile as that would be seen as getting ahead of themselves.
Personally I've been a GAA fan for 40 years, but I think the whole thing is full of its own importance now, and the days of individuality and characters of the game are long gone. Frankly it's boring.
Usain Bolt's tricks and messing and being an entertainer on the start line never impacted his performance.
I'm sure many might disagree with my views, but could I ask those people to start by telling us who ARE the characters and personalities of the game now?"
Really silly post. You have too much time on your hands.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 26/08/2023 19:30:52    2502353

Replying To royaldunne:  "Agree. Now I do miss the characters from football. Likes of vinny Murphy Charlie redmond, Ollie Murphy, Graham Geraghty, McDonald from mayo. Those guys had their supporters in a frenzy, and their opponents wanting to kill them. I can't think of one Meath player or even Dublin player that aspires that much love and loathing at the same time. Maybe I'm just getting too old. Last dubs player to have it was Conoly last Meath player was probably joe Sheridan and that had as much to do with louth in 10 rather than anything else. They all seem too nice these days. Where's the arrogance or swagger like with Geraghty?"
I agree Royaldunne. It is so rehearsed, the spontaneity has disappeared entirely and the characters are not tolerated by managers. If you don't follow the game plan, you are gone. There is much talk about Jim McGuinness returning to Donegal this week but he banished Kevin Cassidy from the squad for talking outside the dressing room and I don't think he divulged too much in the book. It is crazy how controlled the games and the preaparation around the games has become; it is like North Korea. Unfortunately I don't see it reverting to the days when supporters were involved in the game and baying for blood for the opposition's players like Charlie Redmond or Geraghty.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1926 - 26/08/2023 19:38:35    2502354

Replying To Greengrass:  "Really silly post. You have too much time on your hands."
Rather than speculating on how much time I have in my personal life, why don't you explain which parts of my post you disagree with, and make a rational argument to the contrary. "Silly" is a vague word.

Rebel2020 (Cork) - Posts: 75 - 26/08/2023 19:43:41    2502357

Replying To Rebel2020:  "Rather than speculating on how much time I have in my personal life, why don't you explain which parts of my post you disagree with, and make a rational argument to the contrary. "Silly" is a vague word."
I was being polite when I used the word silly. I can be more graphic if you so wish. I don't agree with what you wrote about people involved in inter county hurling or football. For example you disparage a perceived lack of "grace" in defeat. Did you ever happen to see players who have lost inter county championship matches staying on the field after the match to talk to, to take selfies or to sign autographs for the young children who have come on to the field to meet their heroes? Limerick eliminated Cork in the hurling championship this year yet the Cork players to a man stayed on the field to chat with, to take selfies, to sign autographs and yes to smile for the young supporters. They were a credit to themselves, their sport and their county. This behaviour is replicated the length and breadth of the country. How's that for a lack of "grace" in defeat

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 26/08/2023 22:48:22    2502389

Replying To Rebel2020:  "I've been watching the World Athletics Championships which I always enjoy and the contrast with some of the bull that goes on in GAA is striking.
Firstly, these are world class performers, and with all due respect to inter County players, on a different level. Yet they can walk out a couple of minutes before the start, (often in an event where they might have less than a minute to nail it ), smile warmly, wave to the crowd, blow kisses, and even throw in a few dance moves. On the way over to the track some if the athletes can be seen laughing and talking to their rivals.
Contrast this with GAA where players brows are furrowed, lads go round roaring aggressively, and any attempt to relax is considered a weak lack of focus. I've heard club managers say "I knew ye were in trouble when I saw ye laughing in the warm up". Give me a break ! If these players are so easily put off, then team psychologists are being paid too much.
Furthermore, after the race the graciousness in defeat is evident, there are warm embraces all round, and win or lose the athletes come smiling to reporters and conduct honest, conversational style interviews. Again in GAA the losers are bitter or its like a wake, and the winners talk in clichés and again are careful not to smile as that would be seen as getting ahead of themselves.
Personally I've been a GAA fan for 40 years, but I think the whole thing is full of its own importance now, and the days of individuality and characters of the game are long gone. Frankly it's boring.
Usain Bolt's tricks and messing and being an entertainer on the start line never impacted his performance.
I'm sure many might disagree with my views, but could I ask those people to start by telling us who ARE the characters and personalities of the game now?"
Your question is, could I ask those people to start by telling us who ARE the characters and personalities of the game now?"

In 2012 when Donegal won the All-Ireland senior football championship, they changed the way the game would be played from there on forever with their style of play, Dublin perfected the Donegal game and indeed brought the roll of the goalkeeper to a new level that contributes in no small way as to how their scores come about, Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone have worked hard on perfecting the same sort of game, that type of game in my opinion has no room to carry characters or personalities.

Characters / Personalities were mostly found in div.1 rarely in the other divisions and that is because those counties didn't get much if any TV or media exposure, that says only 25% (ish) of the country was affected.

Egos and personas may get more popular through time.

PS. Would you care to share with us who in your opinion are the characters and personalities of the game now?

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2913 - 26/08/2023 23:05:47    2502391

Young Ingebrigtsen might have a background or future in GAA? I didn't notice him looking excessively happy, or hugging anyone, after his 'shock' defeat to a Brit in another 1500m WC final.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3495 - 27/08/2023 10:16:49    2502414

Replying To supersub15:  "Your question is, could I ask those people to start by telling us who ARE the characters and personalities of the game now?"

In 2012 when Donegal won the All-Ireland senior football championship, they changed the way the game would be played from there on forever with their style of play, Dublin perfected the Donegal game and indeed brought the roll of the goalkeeper to a new level that contributes in no small way as to how their scores come about, Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone have worked hard on perfecting the same sort of game, that type of game in my opinion has no room to carry characters or personalities.

Characters / Personalities were mostly found in div.1 rarely in the other divisions and that is because those counties didn't get much if any TV or media exposure, that says only 25% (ish) of the country was affected.

PS. Would you care to share with us who in your opinion are the characters and personalities of the game now?"
The heavy fella that used to play full forward for Fermanagh a few years ago. He was purported to be 'a character' at the time, but his name escapes me at the minute!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3495 - 27/08/2023 10:32:21    2502415

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "
Replying To supersub15:  "Your question is, could I ask those people to start by telling us who ARE the characters and personalities of the game now?"

PS. Would you care to share with us who in your opinion are the characters and personalities of the game now?"
The heavy fella that used to play full forward for Fermanagh a few years ago. He was purported to be 'a character' at the time, but his name escapes me at the minute!!"
Seán Quigley?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 27/08/2023 14:23:05    2502450

Replying To Greengrass:  "
Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Your question is, could I ask those people to start by telling us who ARE the characters and personalities of the game now?"

The heavy fella that used to play full forward for Fermanagh a few years ago. He was purported to be 'a character' at the time, but his name escapes me at the minute!!"
Seán Quigley?"]Yes indeed. Another player that played with a smile on his face and carried a bit of timber. A few years back he got motm v Laois (i think) and posted a tweet or text after game teasing all the fitness fanatics with perfect diets saying something like "just got motm today and just letting you all know I had a 16 inch pizza at midnight last night". A charachter for sure!

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 27/08/2023 15:17:18    2502457

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "
Replying To Greengrass:  "[quote=Pope_Benedict:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Your question is, could I ask those people to start by telling us who ARE the characters and personalities of the game now?"

Seán Quigley?"]Yes indeed. Another player that played with a smile on his face and carried a bit of timber. A few years back he got motm v Laois (i think) and posted a tweet or text after game teasing all the fitness fanatics with perfect diets saying something like "just got motm today and just letting you all know I had a 16 inch pizza at midnight last night". A charachter for sure!"]Apologies and with respect to the man but was he a Meath or Louth player, can't place him.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2913 - 27/08/2023 18:48:03    2502478

Replying To supersub15:  "
Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Greengrass:  "[quote=Pope_Benedict:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Your question is, could I ask those people to start by telling us who ARE the characters and personalities of the game now?"

Seán Quigley?"]Yes indeed. Another player that played with a smile on his face and carried a bit of timber. A few years back he got motm v Laois (i think) and posted a tweet or text after game teasing all the fitness fanatics with perfect diets saying something like "just got motm today and just letting you all know I had a 16 inch pizza at midnight last night". A charachter for sure!"]Apologies and with respect to the man but was he a Meath or Louth player, can't place him."]Fermanagh and still plays with them. He played against Dubs in the championship in croke park in 2015 and scored 1-9 (1-4 or 1-5 from play. I think it might have been quarter final and than was year 1of Dubs 6 in a row.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 27/08/2023 20:51:11    2502505

Its very true. So much of modern GAA is bluster, waffle and nonsense from managers who think they are smarter than they are.
The dummy team is a good example. Who are you trying to fool? Its an insult to an opposing manager to think he'll be fooled by a dummy team.
But then there's coaches talking about "holistic overview of player performance" and similar bluster. What does that mean?
Players training from October and are knackered in May when the chips are down. All because the manager wants his few bob.
Interviews are boring, when did we last see a John Mullane type interview? A great era for GAA was the 90's (e.g. Johnny Pilkington, Clare, Wexford).
No new winner in either code in the last 20 years and never looked less likely than now.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1141 - 28/08/2023 16:51:22    2502690

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Its very true. So much of modern GAA is bluster, waffle and nonsense from managers who think they are smarter than they are.
The dummy team is a good example. Who are you trying to fool? Its an insult to an opposing manager to think he'll be fooled by a dummy team.
But then there's coaches talking about "holistic overview of player performance" and similar bluster. What does that mean?
Players training from October and are knackered in May when the chips are down. All because the manager wants his few bob.
Interviews are boring, when did we last see a John Mullane type interview? A great era for GAA was the 90's (e.g. Johnny Pilkington, Clare, Wexford).
No new winner in either code in the last 20 years and never looked less likely than now."
The dummy team is a bigger insult to the supporters who buy programmes. It's wrong and ignorant.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 28/08/2023 16:58:11    2502692

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Its very true. So much of modern GAA is bluster, waffle and nonsense from managers who think they are smarter than they are.
No new winner in either code in the last 20 years and never looked less likely than now."
Another one of the "blame the manager" brigade. If you don't like it then don't support it.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 28/08/2023 16:58:28    2502693

Limerick a newer winner in 2018 than Wexford were in 1996.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3495 - 28/08/2023 17:09:23    2502698

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "
Replying To supersub15:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Greengrass:  "[quote=Pope_Benedict:  "[quote=supersub15:  "Your question is, could I ask those people to start by telling us who ARE the characters and personalities of the game now?"

Seán Quigley?"]Yes indeed. Another player that played with a smile on his face and carried a bit of timber. A few years back he got motm v Laois (i think) and posted a tweet or text after game teasing all the fitness fanatics with perfect diets saying something like "just got motm today and just letting you all know I had a 16 inch pizza at midnight last night". A charachter for sure!"]Apologies and with respect to the man but was he a Meath or Louth player, can't place him."]Fermanagh and still plays with them. He played against Dubs in the championship in croke park in 2015 and scored 1-9 (1-4 or 1-5 from play. I think it might have been quarter final and than was year 1of Dubs 6 in a row."]Didn't Sean Quigley barge Cluxton over the line and tried to claim a goal? Some man

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 645 - 28/08/2023 18:17:16    2502712

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "The dummy team is a bigger insult to the supporters who buy programmes. It's wrong and ignorant."
not just people who buy programmes.
its an insult to everyone.
easiest solution is simply at start of every year for every inter county squad a player is given a squad number and they dont change from that number all year if player is dropped and another brought up then they get a new squad number and all prograammes simply list all players 1-32 or whatever and no messing
any coach who consistently deliberately names dummy teams is a joke anyway as it shows to me they havent the confidence in their own players as theyve to resort to this kind of mind games

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3523 - 28/08/2023 18:43:01    2502718

Your post doesn't stand up to any logical scrutiny, I'm afraid. See your main points below, with responses:

"Firstly, these are world class performers, and with all due respect to inter County players, on a different level."

Of course they're world class performers but the fact remains that very few (if any) if them could play a game of Gaelic football, or soccer either, for the following reasons:

1. Sticking with the track athletes (as the other athletic disciplines are obviously irrelevant, e.g., javelin, pole vaulting etc), all the track athletes run in essentially straight lines, to a pre-determined race plan. Whereas Gaelic football makes additional demands such as an ability to feint, side-step, swerve, jump, stop suddenly, accelerate suddenly, run backwards, compete in the air, and to do so repeatedly over 70 or 80 minutes, whilst being shouldered and tackled by opponents. As a result, Gaelic footballers (and other team invasion sportspeople) develop the kind of small stabiliser muscles and brain circuitry which is largely absent in a track athlete. Nothing wrong with that of course - all training is sport-specific. Track athletes do not need to be able to throw feints and side step etc etc. But the simple fact is that athletes who train primarily to run in straight lines to a pre-determined plan would be hopelessly out of their depth in a dynamic invasion sport situation.
2. The 100 metres runners are too muscly and have no endurance. They wouldn't even last a half.
3. The distance runners are too light and lack upper body strength - they'd be blown aside in a game.

Of course they're on a different level in relation to their specific disciplines, but they'd still look pretty silly in an Ulster final lol.

"Yet they can walk out a couple of minutes before the start, (often in an event where they might have less than a minute to nail it ), smile warmly, wave to the crowd, blow kisses, and even throw in a few dance moves. On the way over to the track some if the athletes can be seen laughing and talking to their rivals.
Contrast this with GAA where players brows are furrowed, lads go round roaring aggressively, and any attempt to relax is considered a weak lack of focus. I've heard club managers say "I knew ye were in trouble when I saw ye laughing in the warm up". Give me a break ! If these players are so easily put off, then team psychologists are being paid too much."

In you eagerness to have a pop at GAA teams, you miss (or deliberately ignore) several salient points:

1. This "game head on" approach is true of all invasion sports, not just the GAA. As Roy Keane said, he "never went onto a football pitch in a reasonable frame of mind". Remember that famous incident of him having a go at some team for playing the wrong sort of music on the team bus. Remember English rugby player Martin Johnson's well-publicised red carpet intransigence incident. Look at the All Blacks' famous haka - ritualised intimidation. You're essentially singling out GAA teams for doing something that every invasion team sport does as a matter of course - extremely unfair.
2. Track athletes from different nations often train together, and know each other quite well. Ultimately, every track athlete is in a personal battle with the clock. No other athlete ever does anything to impede you on a track. No track athlete expects to get into physical confrontation with an opponent on a track with a determine opponent who has studied videos of how you play with the express goal of neutralising your play and making you look inept. By stark contrast, other than briefly at college perhaps, Gaelic footballers from different counties do not train together. Very often, they do not even know each other. And your opponent is someone who will do all he can physically to challenge you on the field of play, and, ideally, to mark you out of the game and make you look stupid. Track athletes do not have any of that in-your-face pressure to contend with prior to an event. And if you took a former track athlete and trained them to play Gaelic football, rugby, soccer, or ice hockey etc, you can bet that all that best pals athletic routine would soon be discarded.
3. In any event, many athletes do not behave graciously to other track opponents before a track event. Look at the US 100 and 200 metres champion, who, in the relay event, kept everyone else waiting, and then went out and milked the crowd's applause, in an obvious mind games routine to get under the skin of the others. Think of Linford Christie who use to strut about before a race, flexing his guns, while scowling at everybody. And not a thing wrong with such mind games. They're there to win.

"Furthermore, after the race the graciousness in defeat is evident, there are warm embraces all round, and win or lose the athletes come smiling to reporters and conduct honest, conversational style interviews. Again in GAA the losers are bitter or its like a wake, and the winners talk in clichés and again are careful not to smile as that would be seen as getting ahead of themselves."

Not true. As a matter of course, in the vast majority of every GAA match I've ever seen, it's customary to shake hands / swap jerseys with your opponent! How have you managed to miss that? Did you see the Dublin fella down consoling Clifford at the end of the AI Final? And losers are extremely disappointed, not "bitter". Nothing wrong with being disappointed. Any player who's not disappointed after a loss in an event they've trained hard for usually is someone who didn't give their all in the first place. And I remember when Cormac McAnallen died, players from as far away as Kerry and from lots of other counties, all showing up at his wake. Winners careful not to smile? Did you even see the Dublin team at the end of this year's All Ireland? They were like kids on Christmas morning, beaming with delight. Really, your comments are extremely cherry-picked and quite unfair.

"Personally I've been a GAA fan for 40 years, but I think the whole thing is full of its own importance now, and the days of individuality and characters of the game are long gone."

Well that makes no sense. Generally, it's the characters who have the bit of ego and who are full of their own importance. Self-effacing moder players are the exact opposite.

"Frankly it's boring."

Well, don't watch it then. I've followed GAA for 50 years, and I still love it. I don't expect footballers to be comedians. Minor bonus if they are of course, but I'm not going to lose any sleep about that provided they deliver on the pitch. Francie Bellew rarely ever spoke at all as far as I could see, but he'd be in any team list that I'd pick.

I also love athletics, by the way. I dislike this sporting snobbery carry-on, where people try to elevate one sport over another. I've tried a lot of sports and been cheerfully rubbish at most of them. But one thing I did learn was that all sports are great, and achieving excellence in any sport is not easy. Anyone who truly loves sport has time for all sports.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 243 - 28/08/2023 20:42:10    2502732