All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry

Replying To jimbodub:  "Sure the cry babies are still whinging about 1983 haha

Dubs celebrate - "Look at thenm showing off"

Dubs win - "Look at the robots not caring"

Never change country boys.. yiz ALWAYS make it so much sweeter..

The same gombeen that gave out about Dublin players showing respect for the Bloody Sunday dead.. good aul Baire.."
Jimbo that's a very bitter post and it's posts like that that cause division like them and us. City and Country. "Never change county boys" is an ignorant comment. When tourists are attacked in the city do we say "typical Dubs".? If you have a problem with a particular poster fine but would appreciate if you did nt tar us all with the same brush. P. S. As you are well aware only for the "country boys Dubin would nt have all those great players and I'd say you more than likely have country blood yourself Jimbo.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 04/08/2023 15:08:31    2499051

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "You are totally correct Mick…. I know 2/3 guys who supplement their income quite handsomely by reffing several games a week especially in summer time when there are a lot of evening games… I would not begrudge them one penny as it is no easy job at present but it's totally wrong to say referees don't get paid…."
Yes indeed FB and while they do look after umpires etc. I'm sure on All ireland final croke park provide free food for umpires linesmen etc so the ref does not have to look after them.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 04/08/2023 15:11:38    2499053

Replying To realdub:  "Ah we were unlucky in '61 :D"
"Leave er out" We won the hurling all ireland in 1891 and have won one since.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 04/08/2023 15:14:22    2499054

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Wow Forever i did nt know Galway had a Kerryman too but yes it was Galway they beat. Those times it was too hard for Guards or teachers to travel long distances so they declared for the counties they worked on That's great trivia about Bobby Beggs and was he Galway or Dublin?"
Bobby Beggs was a Dub. Fisherman from Skerries and played for the Harps (Bryan Cullen) He was fishing in Claddagh when togged for Galway. Son won minor for Dublin in 50s or 60s. He had family about not that long ago, Its not a common name.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2652 - 04/08/2023 15:21:25    2499056

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Wow Forever i did nt know Galway had a Kerryman too but yes it was Galway they beat. Those times it was too hard for Guards or teachers to travel long distances so they declared for the counties they worked on That's great trivia about Bobby Beggs and was he Galway or Dublin?"
The 1942 captain did an interview that was rebroadcast on RnG last week. He was talking about the rule that meant that Gardaí, soldiers, teachers etc had to declare for Dublin. It made for a fiercely competitive county championship but it was dominated by clubs with inter county country lads. Standard made it very hard for Dubs to get on county teams, especially hurling. A stupid rule if understandable in 40s given the circumstances around travel.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2652 - 04/08/2023 15:25:51    2499057

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "He did stop in error as he did nt know 2 players were fouling each other until after he spoke to his umpire. So yes he did stop the game in error as he awarded a free in (which he then decided he erred on) so an indirect free should ve been given to Kerry where the ball was originally kicked from. I know you ré a ref but I was told this from a ref too last night (and the ref is from Dublin)."
When a foul is committed, regardless of who is committing it, or if multiple players are at it at the same time, the ref is entitled to stop play. The only time that an indirect free kick is allowed is when play is stopped for an injury when no foul is committed. BTW, indirect free kick is not the terminology of the rule book but as the GAA don't like borrowing from soccer!

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 04/08/2023 16:54:24    2499064

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "You are totally correct Mick…. I know 2/3 guys who supplement their income quite handsomely by reffing several games a week especially in summer time when there are a lot of evening games… I would not begrudge them one penny as it is no easy job at present but it's totally wrong to say referees don't get paid…."
Refs get €40 or €50 per game at club level depending on County. At National and Provincial level they have to pay for umpire coats and radios when joining the panel for the first time. One such ref told me it cost him about €800 upfront and that is not refunded. They get a milage allowance allowance at that level and have to cover umpires out of that. That's five officials so two cars that could be travelling across the country.
Ditto for refs who are championship club games at County level though radios are not always used but they do bring and provide for their own umpires.

I can't talk about players at intercounty level with any certainty but they get their mileage and fed presumably.

The original post on this implied that refs are professional and players are not so refs should not make mistakes!
Perhaps I should have given this answer originally but no ref I've heard of improves their game for the big money of reffing at National Level!!

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 04/08/2023 17:08:35    2499067

Replying To baire:  "85 years since Dublin won the McCarthy cup, our native game, and you gloriers have the audacity to talk about a loser mentality!"
It's almost as though money can't buy you success while whingers like yourself seem to think that it can. Maybe we need more money. I'll get onto Tom Ryan on Mon and tell him that the Dubs need more funding for the stick game.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 04/08/2023 17:32:12    2499069

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "He did stop in error as he did nt know 2 players were fouling each other until after he spoke to his umpire. So yes he did stop the game in error as he awarded a free in (which he then decided he erred on) so an indirect free should ve been given to Kerry where the ball was originally kicked from. I know you ré a ref but I was told this from a ref too last night (and the ref is from Dublin)."
That would makes sense to me as it would result in a "reset" rather than Kerry having a 50/50 chance of being in front of the Dublin goal with possession. It's just as well that Fitzy pulled him back because the umpires didn't highlight the original foul from Clifford which was a failing on the officials part. It should have been a free out initially with a card for Clifford.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 04/08/2023 17:40:49    2499071

Mick, here's a link with some great info about Kerry-Galway connections.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-40924397.html

Galway had 3 Kerry men in 1942. They actually beat Kerry in the semifinal that year: Jackie Flavin Moyvane), Dunquin's Dan Kavanagh and South Kerry's Johnny Clifford.

Bobby Beggs was a Dub.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1943 - 04/08/2023 21:13:20    2499082

When Kerry beat Galway in the 2000 final, Aodán MacGearailt kept up a family tradition of beating Galway in a decider. His granduncle Joe MacGearailt showed the way in 1942 - the Ballydavid man captained Dublin to victory, with his midfield partner being Dingle's Mick Falvey. More remarkably, one of Galway's midfielders was Dunquin's Dan Kavanagh.

An extract from the link.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1943 - 04/08/2023 23:23:05    2499087

Can I just express my admiration for a poster I consider as exceptional. He is insightful, honest and despite being bitterly disappointed at his county's loss last Sunday has retained his dignity and integrity throughout all his discussions since,
He is a civilising influence who is passionate yet tries to see both sides of very argument- a true sign of intelligence. I mean that genuinely.
You probably won't thank me Ciarrai Mick but I feel you deserve some acknowledgement for being a a brilliant poster here. Fair play and as you would say, you're a chap I'd love to have a few pints with.
Keep up the good fight.
The Kingdom will rise again,

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 05/08/2023 01:54:07    2499090

just a word on Gough.A lot of people say he had a great game.I beg to differ.After watching the game 3 times aswell as being there for the game I see a different angle on Gough.Now he getting great praise for letting game flow but fouls are fouls so letting game flow if there are fouls is not good reffing.Also on the Clifford /Fitz overturned free.While i agree it was the right decision i think its weak to allow a player influence a ref to overturn a decision.Gough did the same in 16 semi final between Dublin and Kerry when the umpire waved a ball wide Kevin McMenamon challenged Gough who overturned the umpires despite being 40 yards away himself.Gough gets rattled at times. i think and gets overwhelmed.Now while Gough let alot of physical stuff go he booked both Clifford and Fitzsimmons for the overturned free.Now that was a pure cop out.He got rattled after giving the free and then reversing his decision so he booked the two lads.Now it was two lads running for a ball jostling with eachother.Now that could have affected dubln more so than Kerry as a back on a yellow is dodgy.However there was no way either of two players deserved yellow for that incident and that for me is bad adjudicating.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 05/08/2023 10:15:49    2499103

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Bobby Beggs was a Dub. Fisherman from Skerries and played for the Harps (Bryan Cullen) He was fishing in Claddagh when togged for Galway. Son won minor for Dublin in 50s or 60s. He had family about not that long ago, Its not a common name."
Thanks Barney

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 05/08/2023 11:54:30    2499107

Replying To avonali:  "Can I just express my admiration for a poster I consider as exceptional. He is insightful, honest and despite being bitterly disappointed at his county's loss last Sunday has retained his dignity and integrity throughout all his discussions since,
He is a civilising influence who is passionate yet tries to see both sides of very argument- a true sign of intelligence. I mean that genuinely.
You probably won't thank me Ciarrai Mick but I feel you deserve some acknowledgement for being a a brilliant poster here. Fair play and as you would say, you're a chap I'd love to have a few pints with.
Keep up the good fight.
The Kingdom will rise again,"
Ah thank you so much for your kinds words Avonali and that means a lot to me.I was very sorry at our tiff and glad it all sorted out.Same back at you and yes maybe we can have a few pints together sometime,Thanks so much.A lovely touch Avon.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 05/08/2023 11:59:21    2499108

Replying To foreveryoung:  "When Kerry beat Galway in the 2000 final, Aodán MacGearailt kept up a family tradition of beating Galway in a decider. His granduncle Joe MacGearailt showed the way in 1942 - the Ballydavid man captained Dublin to victory, with his midfield partner being Dingle's Mick Falvey. More remarkably, one of Galway's midfielders was Dunquin's Dan Kavanagh.

An extract from the link."
Ah thanks Forever I love the history

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 05/08/2023 12:02:25    2499109

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "The 1942 captain did an interview that was rebroadcast on RnG last week. He was talking about the rule that meant that Gardaí, soldiers, teachers etc had to declare for Dublin. It made for a fiercely competitive county championship but it was dominated by clubs with inter county country lads. Standard made it very hard for Dubs to get on county teams, especially hurling. A stupid rule if understandable in 40s given the circumstances around travel."
Never knew that.I thought they declared as it was too hard re travel those times.Thanks for all the info Forever.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 05/08/2023 12:10:09    2499110

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Never knew that.I thought they declared as it was too hard re travel those times.Thanks for all the info Forever."
You had to declare for the county that you lived in. A relative of mine won 2 All Irelands with Tipp but declared for Dublin and was on losing side in All Ireland. Then went back to play for Tipp but had to declare for Dublin again later.

He won a good few Dublin countys on a team that i don't think had any Dubs on it. Which of course was not good for the game overall. Vincents were the first Dublin team to break that monopoly in the late 1940s and early 50s. In what were ferocious battles in which being a Garda was of no protection whatsoever!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2652 - 05/08/2023 12:37:13    2499116

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "You had to declare for the county that you lived in. A relative of mine won 2 All Irelands with Tipp but declared for Dublin and was on losing side in All Ireland. Then went back to play for Tipp but had to declare for Dublin again later.

He won a good few Dublin countys on a team that i don't think had any Dubs on it. Which of course was not good for the game overall. Vincents were the first Dublin team to break that monopoly in the late 1940s and early 50s. In what were ferocious battles in which being a Garda was of no protection whatsoever!"
As they say we learn something new everyday. Funny enough you mentions Vincent's being the team to buck the trend cos I remember reading years ago that Heffo badly wanted to win an All ireland with all Dublin born players.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 05/08/2023 13:57:17    2499127

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "As they say we learn something new everyday. Funny enough you mentions Vincent's being the team to buck the trend cos I remember reading years ago that Heffo badly wanted to win an All ireland with all Dublin born players."
The initial spur was to win a Dublin championship. Vincents were fortunate to have an unbelievable well of talent in Joey's school in Fairview in 40s and 50s during which they totally dominated underage football and hurling in the county. That then transferred to minor inter county, senior club and of course senior inter county.

As someone who prefers hurling, it can only be a source of sadness that at county level Heffo steered the club towards football. Could have been the other way around. They beat the Glen Rovers with Ring et al in club games which is an indication of what might have been.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2652 - 05/08/2023 14:29:51    2499132