All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry

Replying To sligo joe:  "It all depends where you're listening from. To me listening as a Dub any praise I've heard from Cavanagh, McConville and Canavan (obviously three great players) towards Dublin has been through gritted teeth whereas when they have an opportunity to criticise Dublin their glee is palpable."
Fair enough point Sligo tbh.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 03/08/2023 16:09:24    2498911

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I just watched final again for the 3rd time. This time using pause button rewind etc. Now anyone that watches game again will see that while Clifford left his shooting boots at home his misses had zero to do with Mick Fitz. Now Fitz is a top defender but Clifford ghosted by him everytime and Fitz never won one ball off him. In fact Clifford had free shots as he got by Fitz easily. Even for the goal he wrong footed Fitz who thought David was going to use his left leg but tricked him using the right. Calls for Fitz to be motm were ridiculous. Also it was James Mccarthy poorest game I ever saw him play. Fentonn gad a good second half and Mannion had a fine game. Paddy Small played alot better than I originally thought as did Basquel in 2nd half. For Kerry Morley Paudie Clifford were very good and Geaney had a fine game. Both keepers were excellent and Brian Howard was fab."
Great post Mick. Fitzsimons was not tight on Clifford and was lucky Clifford missed several chances when under little or no pressure. I can't recall Fitzsimons winning a single ball. James McCarthy is a great player who had a really poor game on Sunday. It happens and the pressure of the captaincy and going for his 9th medal might have had an effect on him. Fenton was there when it mattered and Mannion was excellent. I thought Lee Gannon was impressive in his first final. He has a big career ahead. He was taken off but he had picked up the yellow card. It was a game of fine margins that Dublin pushed on and won when it was there to be won. Have a feeling that a dry day might have suited Kerry and Clifford better but a wet July Sunday it was.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2185 - 03/08/2023 17:32:43    2498925

Almost 1,800,000 watched the final. 971,000 RTÉ and 800,000 BBC. Pretty impressive numbers. Another 180,000 watched the streaming service.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2652 - 03/08/2023 19:06:21    2498932

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "A but of trivia for the Dub posters. I always slag my workmates saying in my lifetime Dublin never won an all ireland without Kerry blood as in the sons of Kerry people like Brian Mullins Fenton Cian Ó Sullivan The Brogans and 95 Keith Galvin but one of my mates (a Dub) just texted me now with this. Dublin won the All ireland in 1942 and the team had 6 Kerrymen on it. The two midfielders were Kerrymen Joe Falvey and Joe Fitzgerald (who captained the team). If it was right players I'd be looking to have half an all ireland on our roll of honour."
And as far as I know Mick, Dublin beat Galway (mighty at losing finals even back then) who also had Kerry man mid-field for them. So, three of the four midfielders that day were Kerry men.

Another interesting piece of trivia about that final is Bobby Beggs. He'd lost to Galway in 1934, playing for Dublin. He'd won with Galway in 1938, playing against Dublin. And in 1942 he completed the circle, won with Dublin playing against Galway.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1943 - 03/08/2023 19:41:54    2498940

Replying To avonali:  "What a stupid comment!
Dubs need to do nothing but celebrate their great win. You're either a winner or a loser.
Maybe when you and your fellow Galwegians ditch the loser mentality your county might go on and actually win something. Failing that you may as well keep whinging and indulging your begrudgery."
Sure the cry babies are still whinging about 1983 haha

Dubs celebrate - "Look at thenm showing off"

Dubs win - "Look at the robots not caring"

Never change country boys.. yiz ALWAYS make it so much sweeter..

The same gombeen that gave out about Dublin players showing respect for the Bloody Sunday dead.. good aul Baire..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 03/08/2023 19:49:41    2498941

Replying To WestRules:  "How refreshing to read this honest perspective from a fellow Galwegian which paints the picture that the Dubs need to view from beyond their own wee inward-looking GAA settlement. I would love to add more but unfortunately it would just attract more moronic comments from the pram!"
How sad to see another bitter and twisted little Galway man , as for moronic comments from the pram really?
Sounds like you are still in the pram !

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2839 - 03/08/2023 19:50:57    2498942

Replying To WestRules:  "How refreshing to read this honest perspective from a fellow Galwegian which paints the picture that the Dubs need to view from beyond their own wee inward-looking GAA settlement. I would love to add more but unfortunately it would just attract more moronic comments from the pram!"
Has to be one of the dumbest comments I have ever read.

So what do you actually expect Dublin to do? Lose on purpose?

And let's say Dublin just disbanded after their first couple of All Irelands, would Galway have won a few in the intervening period?? No of course they wouldn't.

I just can't understand this commentary from counties who have hardly had a sniff of an All Ireland complaining about the Dubs dominance, as if it would have had any actual affect on their own success.

It's funny that we hear very little complaints from Mayo folk, even though they have had the most heartbreak due to the success of Dublin.

If Galway want Dublin to win less All Irelands they need to produce teams that are capable of regularly competing in semi finals and finals. For gods sake stop crying do something about it.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 03/08/2023 22:14:40    2498950

Replying To Sindar:  "Refs don't get paid. They get their expenses just like the players out of which they have to cover their 4 umpires. No difference.

Everyone has the right to express an opinion of course but you seem to suggest in your posts that Gough favoured the Dubs. Personally, I'd prefer to be called incompetent or blind rather than biased as a ref. It's the worst insult of all because it questions a person's integrity.

Thanks for the appreciation. I enjoy the job. I would have been a woeful Admin and a mediocre coach so reffing keeps me hands on. Mostly an enjoyable experience but you have the odd bad day for one reason or another. The worst is when you know you made a mistake that cost a team the game."
Well referees are paid in Dublin anyway and Kerry and a friend of mine in another Leinster county gets paid for reffing.Also teenagers are paid to ref juvenile games at home where there are no expenses as umpires are picked up from mentors/supporters so yes referees do get paid.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 03/08/2023 22:36:56    2498951

Replying To endgame:  "Ambrose is excellent but Tim Moynihan has only green and gold tinted glasses. They're great to listen to though. Such passion. I think a bit of bias on local radio is acceptable. Rte needs to have neutral commentary and analysis."
I actually saw footage today of Kerry radio with Ambrose and Timmy Moynihan on the last few minutes of the All ireland and while both were disappointed they said Dublin were a great team and gave Dublin great praise altogether.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 03/08/2023 22:50:17    2498953

Replying To TheUsername:  "We all know he is Mick, doesn't post under his old username nor County or origan anymore, always had multiple accounts as well."
Well the poster Foreverblue 2 is def a Cavan person as I read the Cavan and Meath forums every so often.They are the only two forums left on Hoganstand besides the main forum we on now.Foreverblue posts a good bit onthe Cavan forum and knows alot about the clubs etc and knows stuff about Cavan that many would nt know so id be fairly confident indeed the said poster is actually posting from their own county.I know all about infiltrators as we have a few on the Kerry forum pretending to be from Kerry but they usually slip up.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 03/08/2023 23:29:17    2498955

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Well referees are paid in Dublin anyway and Kerry and a friend of mine in another Leinster county gets paid for reffing.Also teenagers are paid to ref juvenile games at home where there are no expenses as umpires are picked up from mentors/supporters so yes referees do get paid."
You are totally correct Mick…. I know 2/3 guys who supplement their income quite handsomely by reffing several games a week especially in summer time when there are a lot of evening games… I would not begrudge them one penny as it is no easy job at present but it's totally wrong to say referees don't get paid….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1974 - 04/08/2023 10:09:14    2498970

Replying To avonali:  "What a stupid comment!
Dubs need to do nothing but celebrate their great win. You're either a winner or a loser.
Maybe when you and your fellow Galwegians ditch the loser mentality your county might go on and actually win something. Failing that you may as well keep whinging and indulging your begrudgery."
85 years since Dublin won the McCarthy cup, our native game, and you gloriers have the audacity to talk about a loser mentality!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1845 - 04/08/2023 12:02:34    2498998

Replying To Wally:  "Has to be one of the dumbest comments I have ever read.

And let's say Dublin just disbanded after their first couple of All Irelands, would Galway have won a few in the intervening period?? No of course they wouldn't.

I just can't understand this commentary from counties who have hardly had a sniff of an All Ireland complaining about the Dubs dominance, as if it would have had any actual affect on their own success.

It's funny that we hear very little complaints from Mayo folk, even though they have had the most heartbreak due to the success of Dublin.

If Galway want Dublin to win less All Irelands they need to produce teams that are capable of regularly competing in semi finals and finals. For gods sake stop crying do something about it."
You're right Wally... although I would not have always said that about Mayo supporters... it has been a long hard learning experience but eventually i think most of us learnt that complaining about the referee or the cynical fouling or what ever it might be gets you know where - a good look in the mirror would do everyone all the better.

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 04/08/2023 12:33:26    2499012

If Galway want Dublin to win less All Irelands they need to produce teams that are capable of regularly competing in semi finals and finals. For gods sake stop crying do something about it."
Great post , well said Wally .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2839 - 04/08/2023 12:34:19    2499014

Replying To foreveryoung:  "And as far as I know Mick, Dublin beat Galway (mighty at losing finals even back then) who also had Kerry man mid-field for them. So, three of the four midfielders that day were Kerry men.

Another interesting piece of trivia about that final is Bobby Beggs. He'd lost to Galway in 1934, playing for Dublin. He'd won with Galway in 1938, playing against Dublin. And in 1942 he completed the circle, won with Dublin playing against Galway."
Galway lost 3 All Ireland football finals in a row 1940, 1941 and 1942. Don't know if that ever happened with any other county. The neighbours took over then with Roscommon winning the All Irelands in 1943 and 1944.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2185 - 04/08/2023 13:00:40    2499023

any stats to back up this claim that Galway folks complain more than Mayo folks?
ridiculous post, lol.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 04/08/2023 13:16:59    2499027

Replying To baire:  "85 years since Dublin won the McCarthy cup, our native game, and you gloriers have the audacity to talk about a loser mentality!"
u mean the game where grown me go out to a field with sticks , stand only in certain parts of it and spend 70 minutes looking as if they are digging for spuds? that charade?

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2850 - 04/08/2023 13:18:29    2499028

Replying To baire:  "85 years since Dublin won the McCarthy cup, our native game, and you gloriers have the audacity to talk about a loser mentality!"
Ah we were unlucky in '61 :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 04/08/2023 14:22:48    2499038

Replying To endgame:  "Galway lost 3 All Ireland football finals in a row 1940, 1941 and 1942. Don't know if that ever happened with any other county. The neighbours took over then with Roscommon winning the All Irelands in 1943 and 1944."
London lost four All Irelands in a row at the start of the 20th Century.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 791 - 04/08/2023 14:36:48    2499043

Replying To foreveryoung:  "And as far as I know Mick, Dublin beat Galway (mighty at losing finals even back then) who also had Kerry man mid-field for them. So, three of the four midfielders that day were Kerry men.

Another interesting piece of trivia about that final is Bobby Beggs. He'd lost to Galway in 1934, playing for Dublin. He'd won with Galway in 1938, playing against Dublin. And in 1942 he completed the circle, won with Dublin playing against Galway."
Wow Forever i did nt know Galway had a Kerryman too but yes it was Galway they beat. Those times it was too hard for Guards or teachers to travel long distances so they declared for the counties they worked on That's great trivia about Bobby Beggs and was he Galway or Dublin?

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 04/08/2023 15:00:25    2499050