All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry

Replying To Joxer:  "Fair enough Mick but we're talking about Spillane here. If we wanted to widen the debate to bias punditry in general then we could talk about a lot of the Kerry media cohort also. I listened to the game back on Radio Kerry with Tim Moynihan and Ambrose O'Donovan where Moynihan was crowing on about Gough not giving frees against "the townies". Kerry media people have form here with Gough and it leaves a bad taste in the mouth. But on Spillane, he knew what he was doing, trying to influence public opinion (including Dubs) on the decision to bring back the greatest. I was at every game that Cluxton played and bar one or two slips, he was flawless, immaculate distribution, some fantastic reflex saves, solid under the high ball, 2 arrowed points in a final. He's on the team of the year and will likely get an all-star. Beggan is the only keeper who comes close IMO. Spillane's comments backfired on him and the joke remains on him."
Poor TOS was as sick as a parrot.

IMO I think kerry fans and ex players fully expected them to win - I know Gooch did anyway.

As for Spillane - yes he and others ridiculed Stephen coming back in - but what a masterstroke.
Will never forgive him for the witch hunt on Dermo tbh.

Kerry fell over the line last year with a score for the ages with the last kick of the game in injury time, against an under strength Dublin team.

The Dubs had a point to prove this year and did so.
I will leave it at that.

They was the sweetest one of all and it seems the Dublin players feel the same.
Determined to put a wrong, right....

But what a game - it had everything.

When the dust settles - it will be considered a classic.

On DC - people need to back off him or he could end up doing a Jack or Mannion on it.
And this is aimed at Kerry folk also. Far too much pressure and expectation from 1 player on a team, even from when he was 19. Proclaiming him as the Greatest of ALL time, is very premature. Time will tell but let the lad play without all the constant hype and narrative. In time he may prove to be so, but let him breathe ffs....

Right, back to to Autobahn to continue the celebrations.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3743 - 01/08/2023 22:01:38    2498490

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "There is nothing worse as you say as a biased ref and I think Gough favoured Dublin in the game…. And it must be difficult when a ref knows he made a mistake which cost a team in a big game but it seems to be a lot more difficult for them to come out afterwards and admit their blunders…."
How come all your posts, at least the last few in this thread, get 'one' like. Never two and never zero? You either have one diehard support or...!

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 01/08/2023 22:15:55    2498492

I get the feeling for this Dublin era of success this is the most satisfying win. This was a final against the other really strong team and they pushed home from a tough position in final quarter. Dublin have shown great balls this year. I was at the Monaghan game and at a certain point it was so impressive the way Dublin pushed them aside late in decisive later stages of the game.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1365 - 01/08/2023 23:01:04    2498496

Replying To Sindar:  "How come all your posts, at least the last few in this thread, get 'one' like. Never two and never zero? You either have one diehard support or...!"
Must be you so….lol

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1974 - 02/08/2023 10:10:20    2498527

Replying To baire:  "After all the medals and AIs these Dublin players have won, more than most counties have won in their history, it's hard to fathom the moaning and baby crying from 'some of them' in the last two or so years, behaving like spoiled children whose toys were taken off them. Then the bawling, navel gazing and bragging after the final whistle yesterday...yuck! Spare a thought for the great footballers and hurlers from other counties who would die happy to have won just once...
No wonder Colm O' Rourke told James McCarthy, after the last time Dublin trounced Meath, to **** Off and retire and give other teams a chance to win."
I'd say Colm O'Rourke said that alright. He played until he was 38!

James McCarthy should go on for another 5 years so. That's a horrible post from you.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 02/08/2023 14:33:03    2498635

Replying To cavanman47:  "You didn't just write "solid under the high ball" did you? Dear lord!"
Speaking as somebody who was at every game, yes. What's your own assessment based on, a 30 second segment on TSG while you were having your cupán tae and digestives? Good Lord is right.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 02/08/2023 14:41:10    2498638

Replying To Fionn:  "Poor TOS was as sick as a parrot.

IMO I think kerry fans and ex players fully expected them to win - I know Gooch did anyway.

As for Spillane - yes he and others ridiculed Stephen coming back in - but what a masterstroke.
Will never forgive him for the witch hunt on Dermo tbh.

Kerry fell over the line last year with a score for the ages with the last kick of the game in injury time, against an under strength Dublin team.

The Dubs had a point to prove this year and did so.
I will leave it at that.

They was the sweetest one of all and it seems the Dublin players feel the same.
Determined to put a wrong, right....

But what a game - it had everything.

When the dust settles - it will be considered a classic.

On DC - people need to back off him or he could end up doing a Jack or Mannion on it.
And this is aimed at Kerry folk also. Far too much pressure and expectation from 1 player on a team, even from when he was 19. Proclaiming him as the Greatest of ALL time, is very premature. Time will tell but let the lad play without all the constant hype and narrative. In time he may prove to be so, but let him breathe ffs....

Right, back to to Autobahn to continue the celebrations."
The sweetest of wins.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 02/08/2023 14:49:04    2498643

Replying To Sindar:  "How come all your posts, at least the last few in this thread, get 'one' like. Never two and never zero? You either have one diehard support or...!"
Well you have to bear in mind that this lad has more than one account. There is a ForeverBlue also. I mean what a coincidence. There is also a Foreveryoung. At one stage ForeverBlue was replying to his own posts with ForeverBlue2. Gas.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 02/08/2023 14:52:35    2498645

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Of course Kerry radio is biased. It's local. So it's a joke now on Pat. Not disputing Cluxton at all but note you did nt give any mention to Shane Ryan who was outstanding too even in the final and might have saved Smalls shot only for the deflection. On Gough if you look back on posts b4 final alot of Dublin posters were giving out about Gough and the booing on Sunday came mostly from Dublin supporters afterwards. Honestly Gough could gave put off Jamesie but he did nt and on today fm yesterday Dick Ckerkin and Ray Silke felt Gough did nt as Jamsie was captain só Gough did nt do Dublin too much harm. Anyway I'm glad that diid nt happen tbh. James Mac plays on the edge but I can't think of many players I admire more. I will admit I'm taking this defeat worse than any since 2011 but I'm glad James Mccarthy got to lift Sam (wish it was nt v Kerry though) and secretly I'm glad for Dessie too who I always felt was treated unfairly."
TBH Mick, I was at all of Cluxton's games and saw a lot of Beggan this year. I didn't see much of Ryan bar the final and he didn't do much that I can remember. I still think that Cluxton and Beggan are the best around although Beggan's forays almost cost Monaghan a goal in the semi. He and Cluxton are excellent strikers of the ball though. Cluxton almost got to Geaney twice for his goal but the extra hop helped Geaney no doubt. Ryan may be good but you've seen more of him than I.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 02/08/2023 15:05:25    2498653

Replying To Joxer:  "Well you have to bear in mind that this lad has more than one account. There is a ForeverBlue also. I mean what a coincidence. There is also a Foreveryoung. At one stage ForeverBlue was replying to his own posts with ForeverBlue2. Gas."
Where did you see that Joxer…. I think your brain might be full of gas… not much else there it seems..!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1974 - 02/08/2023 15:23:22    2498667

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Where did you see that Joxer…. I think your brain might be full of gas… not much else there it seems..!"
Too much celebrating lad. Sure ye know yourself. What are the chances of lads picking the same user name? Ha.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 02/08/2023 16:20:19    2498696

Replying To Joxer:  "Too much celebrating lad. Sure ye know yourself. What are the chances of lads picking the same user name? Ha."
Well I didn't…. but enjoy the celebrations Joxer.. they are something we can only dream off..!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1974 - 02/08/2023 17:17:36    2498721

Replying To baire:  "After all the medals and AIs these Dublin players have won, more than most counties have won in their history, it's hard to fathom the moaning and baby crying from 'some of them' in the last two or so years, behaving like spoiled children whose toys were taken off them. Then the bawling, navel gazing and bragging after the final whistle yesterday...yuck! Spare a thought for the great footballers and hurlers from other counties who would die happy to have won just once...
No wonder Colm O' Rourke told James McCarthy, after the last time Dublin trounced Meath, to **** Off and retire and give other teams a chance to win."
Hope you cleaned down your ketboard/ phone after spewing that pile of rancid horse manure. The bang of begrudgery of that post would knock you out.
Who cired l;ike a baby? Nobody. You're just a bitter little liar.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/08/2023 17:47:54    2498729

Replying To CC2020:  "I'd say Colm O'Rourke said that alright. He played until he was 38!

James McCarthy should go on for another 5 years so. That's a horrible post from you."
O'Rourke did actually say that to McCarthy.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 02/08/2023 18:41:56    2498739

Replying To gahfan:  "I'd be a bit disillusioned with it all, dublin and kerry dominating and even the fact that the big referee calls seem to go their way against other teams. Note McCarthy's comments about the hurt from the last two years. Talk about a lack of self awareness towards all those from other counties."
The only thing he was aware of was that Dublin won and he had made history and won a 9th All Ireland medal. It's a competition at the end of the day. Would you have preferred Dublin and Kerry to throw matches to give other counties a chance to get to a final

Liffeylad (Dublin) - Posts: 74 - 02/08/2023 20:37:33    2498753

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Of course Kerry radio is biased. It's local. So it's a joke now on Pat. Not disputing Cluxton at all but note you did nt give any mention to Shane Ryan who was outstanding too even in the final and might have saved Smalls shot only for the deflection. On Gough if you look back on posts b4 final alot of Dublin posters were giving out about Gough and the booing on Sunday came mostly from Dublin supporters afterwards. Honestly Gough could gave put off Jamesie but he did nt and on today fm yesterday Dick Ckerkin and Ray Silke felt Gough did nt as Jamsie was captain só Gough did nt do Dublin too much harm. Anyway I'm glad that diid nt happen tbh. James Mac plays on the edge but I can't think of many players I admire more. I will admit I'm taking this defeat worse than any since 2011 but I'm glad James Mccarthy got to lift Sam (wish it was nt v Kerry though) and secretly I'm glad for Dessie too who I always felt was treated unfairly."
I think this "McCarthy could have/should have" been sent off is being overplayed. If James was booked for the first high challenge it is highly likely he would have backed off from the subsequent fouls. A small cohort believe/contend that the first challenge deserved a straight red, I don't agree.
I didn't hear Silke and Clerkin but if they said Gough refrained from applying the rules because James is captain, well that's a bigger show of disrespect to Gough than any booing after the game.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 687 - 02/08/2023 20:46:59    2498754

I just watched final again for the 3rd time. This time using pause button rewind etc. Now anyone that watches game again will see that while Clifford left his shooting boots at home his misses had zero to do with Mick Fitz. Now Fitz is a top defender but Clifford ghosted by him everytime and Fitz never won one ball off him. In fact Clifford had free shots as he got by Fitz easily. Even for the goal he wrong footed Fitz who thought David was going to use his left leg but tricked him using the right. Calls for Fitz to be motm were ridiculous. Also it was James Mccarthy poorest game I ever saw him play. Fentonn gad a good second half and Mannion had a fine game. Paddy Small played alot better than I originally thought as did Basquel in 2nd half. For Kerry Morley Paudie Clifford were very good and Geaney had a fine game. Both keepers were excellent and Brian Howard was fab.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 02/08/2023 21:23:10    2498757

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I just watched final again for the 3rd time. This time using pause button rewind etc. Now anyone that watches game again will see that while Clifford left his shooting boots at home his misses had zero to do with Mick Fitz. Now Fitz is a top defender but Clifford ghosted by him everytime and Fitz never won one ball off him. In fact Clifford had free shots as he got by Fitz easily. Even for the goal he wrong footed Fitz who thought David was going to use his left leg but tricked him using the right. Calls for Fitz to be motm were ridiculous. Also it was James Mccarthy poorest game I ever saw him play. Fentonn gad a good second half and Mannion had a fine game. Paddy Small played alot better than I originally thought as did Basquel in 2nd half. For Kerry Morley Paudie Clifford were very good and Geaney had a fine game. Both keepers were excellent and Brian Howard was fab."
Mick, is it just me or is there a distinct lack of talent coming through in Kerry at the moment? I was struck by the standard of their bench which was quite poor I thought. Nobody that you could say was going to provide a spark or turn a game on its head. No young fella with bags of skill which was a trademark of Kerry football. There was always the next superstar on the horizon. The fact that any of the Kerry substitutions on Sunday, was met by any roar from the crowd told its own story.

I also think they need to find a new midfielder fast as the jury is out on the 2 that are currently there. Jack Barry's race is run. Great servant but time waits for no man and O'Connor has had 1 good game and was anonymous for lots of the Championship. Same could be said for O'Brien and Moynihan too. I just don't think this Kerry team are that good and the brilliance of the Cliffords and Sean has carried them.

Meridian (Westmeath) - Posts: 602 - 03/08/2023 12:08:10    2498819

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Must be you so….lol"
Don't worry I just put a second like on your comment now ha ha...

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3686 - 03/08/2023 12:47:31    2498827

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I just watched final again for the 3rd time. This time using pause button rewind etc. Now anyone that watches game again will see that while Clifford left his shooting boots at home his misses had zero to do with Mick Fitz. Now Fitz is a top defender but Clifford ghosted by him everytime and Fitz never won one ball off him. In fact Clifford had free shots as he got by Fitz easily. Even for the goal he wrong footed Fitz who thought David was going to use his left leg but tricked him using the right. Calls for Fitz to be motm were ridiculous. Also it was James Mccarthy poorest game I ever saw him play. Fentonn gad a good second half and Mannion had a fine game. Paddy Small played alot better than I originally thought as did Basquel in 2nd half. For Kerry Morley Paudie Clifford were very good and Geaney had a fine game. Both keepers were excellent and Brian Howard was fab."
For the Kerry Goal fitzsimmons stayed on Clifford's left boot to prevent David from looping out and pointing with his left. If, as he did, Clifford puts in a low pass with his right it's up to the defenders inside to deal with it. In this case excellent defence by Mick.
Interesting stat, in his last 6 "knock-out" championship games David has scored 1-14 from play, average less than 3pts a game. What was missing on Sunday was his usual couple of marks that he often catches on his own in space. He was never let wander into these spaces on Sunday. Clifford is always going to win possessions, marking him from in front is not an option.
Goalies excellent but shaded by Cluxton(assisted by Howard) with Ryan losing 3 restarts.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 687 - 03/08/2023 12:51:17    2498829