All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry

Replying To galwayford:  "One thing I cannot understand, around the 60th minute the ball played in between D.Clifford and M.Fitzsimons, Clifford on ground, Fitzsimmons knees ball away, out over the end line. Looks like a 65 to me, but the Ref gives a free out to Dubs. Why was this. It was a 50/50 ball between Clifford and Fitz. Why no 65?"
Maybe because there is no 65 in football

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 30/07/2023 22:00:06    2497873

Replying To galwayford:  "One thing I cannot understand, around the 60th minute the ball played in between D.Clifford and M.Fitzsimons, Clifford on ground, Fitzsimmons knees ball away, out over the end line. Looks like a 65 to me, but the Ref gives a free out to Dubs. Why was this. It was a 50/50 ball between Clifford and Fitz. Why no 65?"
Samething happened first half with same umpire re Dublin.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4903 - 30/07/2023 22:01:55    2497875

Dublin Kerry played blanket defenses counter attacking football something Ulster teams have been lambasteed for if this was Derry V Monaghan it woud be called a terrible game

highdropingball (Donegal) - Posts: 100 - 30/07/2023 22:10:07    2497876

Replying To festinog:  "I would contend for that goal he was boxed into the corner so a pass was his only option. On the several shots on goal he took from slightly less acute angles a pass would have been a far better option.

And may I add your other comment on recently acquired mastery is worthy of a papal Bull."
To be fair, all those balls he kicked wide - 9 times out of 10 he would normally nail them. So don't blame him for shooting, well within his range. Just one of those days.

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 30/07/2023 22:13:17    2497880

Kerry beat Tyrone in Quarterfinal with David Clifford putting his weight about , and against Derry the same. no complaints. Today it was Dublin and as the panel say, took their tackling to the limit while Kerry stood back.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2023 - 30/07/2023 22:18:29    2497881

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Ah look I'm very disappointed but no complaints. Dublin deserved their win today in a tough battle. Hope Realdub Mesamis Avonali Username Waynol etc enjoying it all. While disappointed massive respect to Dublin and James Mac in particular. Enjoy folks"
Fair play Mick.

Sam will be back in Kerry soon enough.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13725 - 30/07/2023 22:34:25    2497885

Replying To sligo joe:  "Just a point, in all 9 all ireland wins by the lads they have never lost a game, no back door or defeats in groups or round Robins, some record, like that's Kerry's second loss this championship."
That is an unreal stat, unbelievable champions.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 809 - 30/07/2023 22:44:55    2497890

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "It will mostly opens the door for Kerry to win back the All Ireland. Derry,Galway,Mayo etc I can't see reaching the final if they are paired with Kerry or Dublin in the Quarter or semi final."
Kerry will definitely win again very soon but they will never be as dominant as this Dublin team. They have great players but far too reliant on D Clifford and other teams like Derry and Mayo will take them.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 809 - 30/07/2023 22:51:58    2497892

Puzzled by moments re ref not doing Kerry any favours, is that not a compliment to him? He's not meant to favour anyone surely. He contributed in a fair way Ashe usually does and Kerry had no complaints afterwards.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1514 - 30/07/2023 22:58:46    2497893

Well done to both teams on a good final.
Glad ot wasn't a northen team in the final cause they would say it was a defensive cagey game, when in fact it was just 2 great teams playing ball.
Best team won but wow it was close.
Winning of the game was in my opinion the MOTM Fitzsimions, he was just outstanding and I really hope he get the official MOTM.
Iv never ever seen a full back performance like it.

Well done to both teams and Monaghan for 2024

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 30/07/2023 23:03:54    2497894

Replying To highdropingball:  "Dublin Kerry played blanket defenses counter attacking football something Ulster teams have been lambasteed for if this was Derry V Monaghan it woud be called a terrible game"
Without a doubt.
But there not from Ulster.

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 30/07/2023 23:09:05    2497895

Replying To highdropingball:  "Dublin Kerry played blanket defenses counter attacking football something Ulster teams have been lambasteed for if this was Derry V Monaghan it woud be called a terrible game"
It's down to the speed of transmission, Dublin and Kerry can play both games in an attacking way.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 30/07/2023 23:58:13    2497900

Replying To galwayford:  "Ref did not do Kerry too many favours today. But also poor shooting by Kerry forwards in front of goal. Kerry slightly better team imho. But Dubs have hill16 and terrific support, who can literally will their team on. If this match had been played in any other ground Kerry might have won. But anyway, take your luck Dubs. Hope Galway can match both these teams next time out."
So where ru from lad.? U sound like u have skin in the game rather than being an actual Galway man

jackmeyhoffer (USA) - Posts: 148 - 31/07/2023 00:19:32    2497903

Replying To galwayford:  "Ref did not do Kerry too many favours today. But also poor shooting by Kerry forwards in front of goal. Kerry slightly better team imho. But Dubs have hill16 and terrific support, who can literally will their team on. If this match had been played in any other ground Kerry might have won. But anyway, take your luck Dubs. Hope Galway can match both these teams next time out."
Kerry lost because their opponents scored more than them, played with more intensity than them and once again shackled their star forward. There was no luck involved, only skill and hard work. Ifs, buts and maybes don't come into it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 31/07/2023 00:39:39    2497905

Replying To Saynothing:  "We know you meant 45 but the foul on Clifford earlier was overruled as well. Usually forwards get the benefit but he overruled himself after going to umpires."
Clifford pushed Fitzy in the back so it was a free out. Similarly Clifford was pulling the jersey off Fitzy's back at the Canal End, clear yellow and free out yet ref yellows both and hops the ball. Crazy decision. Having said that Fitzy proved again why he is the best man marker in the game. I think in the last 3 championship meetings Fitzy has held Clifford to 4 points from play, over 230m of football or thereabouts. He was putting so much pressure on Cliffords shots that Clifford just couldn't get that extra half second to compose himself. Great performance from a 9 times Celtic Cross winner now.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 31/07/2023 00:49:01    2497906

Fair play Mick. The Kingdom will rise again soon.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 31/07/2023 00:49:39    2497907

In the last 2 All Ireland Finals massive late on ref decisions changed the momentum of the game in favor of the eventual winners. Kerry benefited last year but the Dubs got the calls this time. The hidden pressure on refs to give the big calls to the big teams is huge as is clearly shown on the RTE documentary All Ireland Day which can be seen on youtube. Kerry were the big team last year, this year it was the Dubs. Strangely, the hidden pressure is not near as intense in semi finals, Dublin did not reach the final in 2022 or 2021, had they done so, I have no doubt they would have won both.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 501 - 31/07/2023 06:28:24    2497909

It wasnt a great game, what made it great for both sets of supporteers where the stakes being so high. But point taken.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4903 - 31/07/2023 07:23:25    2497910

Replying To Saynothing:  "Who can step up to the plate next to make it 4 different winners in 4 years?"
Meath :).
I wish. We as far off that standard as we have ever been. But I live in hope. Next 5 year's critical for Meath football. The all ire minor winners will be our main goal going forward. Let's hope they make the difference

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/07/2023 08:33:40    2497913

Because the ref adjudged that Clifford in an effort to get to the ball had fouled Fitz - he did collide with Fitz, in a lot of games it may not have been given but Fitz had just about got in front of Clifford in the race and so got the free

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1806 - 31/07/2023 08:41:49    2497914