Did The Rugby Steal A March On Gaa During Presidents Biden Visit

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "ExiledinWex here (just in case)
Yes, they should have had Stephan White from great Louth teams way back when, so the whole world can see Joe Biden and internationally reknown GAA star Stephan White.
Paddy Keenan either. The whole Irish diaspora in the US would have heard of them."
It's an attempt to reinvent his style of trolling. Now that Tom's embraced his Monaghan identity, he is no longer merely targeting Cavan.

Fontofwisdom (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 13/04/2023 19:44:14    2470890

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "'Come out ye All Blacks, Come out and fight me like a man' - doesn't quite have the same ring to it."
No but The Tries of The Old Brigade does.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 13/04/2023 20:17:44    2470893

Replying To cluichethar:  "You obviously know nothing about Biden. You obviously are easily led by what you read and hear in the media. In what way is Biden better than Trump?"
You obviously know nothing about Trump.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 13/04/2023 20:19:03    2470894

At least Michael D's dog showed what some of think of all the fawning, over your man. Good instincts, the bowlers.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2556 - 13/04/2023 21:01:08    2470901

Tomsmith here

I see a Rugby well represented at the Banquet as the current Ireland soccer team manager.
Dident see any Gaa people from Croke Park

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3857 - 13/04/2023 21:34:03    2470907

Replying To cluichethar:  "You obviously know nothing about Biden. You obviously are easily led by what you read and hear in the media. In what way is Biden better than Trump?"
social policies, gun rights policies, any number of other areas.

How is trump better?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 13/04/2023 21:42:33    2470909

Why is a low life trump being discussed on this thread

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 14/04/2023 08:35:08    2470914

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here

I see a Rugby well represented at the Banquet as the current Ireland soccer team manager.
Dident see any Gaa people from Croke Park"
Joe Brolly had a very prominent seat at the banquet.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 14/04/2023 09:05:27    2470916

Replying To minor77:  "Why is a low life trump being discussed on this thread"
A "low life" compared to the other fella's family and friends! Seriously ...

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2556 - 14/04/2023 09:33:55    2470921

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith here

Dident see any Gaa people from Croke Park"
Fair play tom, you did well to swing an invite to that banquet.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 14/04/2023 11:00:57    2470948

No fan of Biden, but you obviously know nothing of Trump. And as bad as you think the media may or may not be its infinitely better than believing conspiracy theories on social media.

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 14/04/2023 11:28:21    2470953

Replying To PattyONeill:  "I don't like Trump as a man but Biden's far left agenda isn't something that i would want to be involved in."
If Biden is far left then I'd hate to see what is right wing! There is nothing remotely socialist about Biden or the political mainstream of America.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 14/04/2023 12:48:39    2470974

Fair play tom, you did well to swing an invite to that banquet.
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 621 - 14/04/2023 11:00:57

Tomsmith here from Cavan

Naw Naw its odious of you to think that I was invited to this Banquet, sure rubbing shoulders with the luminaire that was present would be away above my head.
Coupled with the travelling expense, Tolls, lock hards fee for parking , and sure Bed and Breakfast ( and sure would could catch anything ) would all add up an expensive trip away up to Dublin..
Once we Cavan Folk pass Whitegate Cross Roads you are into money or should I say you are out money..
But back to the Post I feel that the organisers of this Circus omitted the Gaa

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3857 - 14/04/2023 16:31:32    2471001

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "If Biden is far left then I'd hate to see what is right wing! There is nothing remotely socialist about Biden or the political mainstream of America."
Socialism failed 50 years ago. So the sort of state nannies who used that as an excuse to interfere with people's lives have changed over to all the other nonsense they are pushing now.

Such as pretending that a man can just decide off the top of his head to be a woman. Biden supports all of that so in current terms he is a leftist. As are 90% of our own politicians. Hence the love for Joe.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2556 - 15/04/2023 21:03:08    2471111

Tomsmith here

As a person who has seen many Sports played by different social Classes / creeds or people , I wasent lost on me that the Gaa lost out ( Big time ) in being on the invitee lists both away up in Belfast Co Louth Dublin and Mayo. But sure we will survive as we have done since the founding of the Gaa . Despite strong opposition from from other professional sports. Lets not forget the Play for pay brigade who tried to put an end to our Volunteerism.
Sure it was probally led by people who would do nothing Voluntary themselves.
But rant over and as the great Mts t said in Bed last last night ,,,,, why worry about them Joe must have got the message in his ear that Tomsmith had written on Hogan stand about the Gaa being shunned/excluded during this visit when he uttered the words... Mayo for Sam...... At least it wasn't Ireland for the world cup or European championship. As a County that had a lot of Guards, Custom men Teachers, Agr men in Ballyhaise, construction fellows all worked in Cavan in the past we will all be behind Mayo in the All Ireland provided Cavan is not in the final.. Up the Gaa

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3857 - 16/04/2023 10:11:52    2471149

What a bizarre thread this is

Báireoir (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 16/04/2023 10:26:14    2471153

Replying To Báireoir:  "What a bizarre thread this is"
Báireoir (Dublin) - Posts: 30 - 16/04/2023 10:26:14 2471153, what a Bizzare post this is

Tomsmith hereoir you of 300 posts

Well I remember when I had 300 posts I also thought at times that other posts were not up to my high standards, and lately I co,me to the conclusion IO was correct .
Your posts is typical of aDublin City slicker, who would not see that the Rugby fraternity were very much to the forefront of President Bidens visit.
I feel that but for the fact that he must have read the Hogan Stand item (or some of his advisers did) he clawed back some ground when shouted Mayo for Sam at the end of his Ballina Speech

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3857 - 21/04/2023 18:33:35    2472270

Replying To tomsmith:  "Báireoir (Dublin) - Posts: 30 - 16/04/2023 10:26:14 2471153, what a Bizzare post this is

Tomsmith hereoir you of 300 posts

Well I remember when I had 300 posts I also thought at times that other posts were not up to my high standards, and lately I co,me to the conclusion IO was correct .
Your posts is typical of aDublin City slicker, who would not see that the Rugby fraternity were very much to the forefront of President Bidens visit.
I feel that but for the fact that he must have read the Hogan Stand item (or some of his advisers did) he clawed back some ground when shouted Mayo for Sam at the end of his Ballina Speech"
Biden ruined a wonderful visit by spouting that nonsense at the end!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1417 - 22/04/2023 11:13:55    2472345

There was a bag of marbles found outside the Imperial bar in Cavan town if anyone knows who lost them.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 22/04/2023 12:24:39    2472362

Replying To Saynothing:  "There was a bag of marbles found outside the Imperial bar in Cavan town if anyone knows who lost them."
Saynothing frommCounty Tyrone

Tomsmith here
Indeed as one that often bought my bags of Marbles in Pat Mc Governs shop , and played them in the POst Office square beside Townhall street I have heard that marble playing is on the way back for a lot of Gasuns. Its odious that you should have found them, but haul on ta them as you may be short a wheen sometime .
But I take it that that comment about a good speech being ruined by the Mayo for Sam comments was made in Jest.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3857 - 22/04/2023 14:24:16    2472393